Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pigeon Shooting

• 13-09-2011 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

I am having no luck shooting Pigeons have any of the experienced shooters any tips on bagging a couple of these Birds I am only getting use to my Shot gun do I need to get Decoys and hide myself in a ditch what size shells at what distance do I set up you know the questions that keep going through your head, I did shoot 30 years ago but was Hunting Deer and this is totaly different type of hunting I would get a Deer quicker.

Thanks Tawny Owl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 widgeon78

tawny owl there is a season for pigeons nov-jan but you can shoot them if there damaging crops get yourself a couple of decoys put them in a u shape facing the wind and wear good camo clothing a pigeon has very good sight i also wear a face mask aswell and a stealth camo net for my hide best of luck sorry i forgot to say i use size 6 30gr shells for pigeons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    I am having no luck shooting Pigeons have any of the experienced shooters any tips on bagging a couple of these Birds I am only getting use to my Shot gun do I need to get Decoys and hide myself in a ditch what size shells at what distance do I set up you know the questions that keep going through your head, I did shoot 30 years ago but was Hunting Deer and this is totaly different type of hunting I would get a Deer quicker.

Thanks Tawny Owl.

Pigeon shooting can be very difficult at times. I consider myself an experienced shot and I still have those days where I would be better off staying at home in front of the telly. Firstly what crop are you shooting over? You need to take the following into consideration..

What ground are you shooting on, sewn , stubble, yet to be harvested etc.. and how does it compare to ground nearby that the pigeons may prefer to be feeding on. Example a freshly cut field of barley will have more birds than field cut 3 weeks ago. It really helps to stalk out the area and see where the birds are feeding before you go out shooting.

Also , Pigeons have exceptionally good eyesight and steer clear of anything that looks suspicious to them, so good camouflage is needed. you can build a hide out of natural branches in the ditch or you can buy camo netting or a pop up blind.

Decoys are very helpful as you can make them into different patterns to decoy the birds into a good position to shoot. Also it does attract pigeons rather than if you have 1 or 2 dead birds with the head propped up with a stick. Set them up about 25 yards infront or slightly to one side of your hide in a horse shoe shape facing into the wind. this will make the pigeons want to land in the middle of the "horse shoe" (hopefully) . Alot is just trial and error.

If you are still getting used to the shotgun then pigeon shooting is great practice. Buy some good quality 28g 7.5's for clay shooting as they wont break the bank. They are usually standard for pigeon/crow shooting. You may need to tighten the choke if your cartridge choice is poor (steer clear of Eley Olympic Trap) But most clay shooting cartridges are fine as they are High performance and do the job nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Thanks for the advice I did know the season on pigeons there having a great time on some land beside me but as I start the jeep up at my House there laughing I think they know I'am comming to get them but I will take the tips on board and try the Decoys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭ClarkyTrd

(steer clear of Eley Olympic Trap) But most clay shooting cartridges are fine as they are High performance and do the job nicely.

So maybe this is why I couldnt hit a feckin pigeon the other day, went out testing the new semi auto and do you think I could hit one pigeon, not a thing!

Are the Eley Olympic a bad cartridge and why?!

Cheers for the info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

ClarkyTrd wrote: »
    So maybe this is why I couldnt hit a feckin pigeon the other day, went out testing the new semi auto and do you think I could hit one pigeon, not a thing!

Cheers for the info
    my advice to you bout your semi is make sure you have tight chokes i use extra full along with 7.5 28 grams i shot over 980 there this year on standing crop and cut as well great day was on freshly cut rape

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

ClarkyTrd wrote: »

Cheers for the info

Eley Olympic Trap are the lowest power cartridge on the market, They have just enough power to break a clay and no more. The powder is very slow burning. They just about do the job on pigeons if you use full choke and get more pellets on target. Then again you dont really want to be shooting pigeon with full choke if your going to eat them.. When shooting clays with 1/4 or 1/2 choke , if theres any distance in the target you can sometimes hear the lead "clink" off the clay. Its hitting it but theres not enough power to break it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

Eley Olympic Trap are the lowest power cartridge on the market, They have just enough power to break a clay and no more. The powder is very slow burning. They just about do the job on pigeons if you use full choke and get more pellets on target. Then again you dont really want to be shooting pigeon with full choke if your going to eat them.. When shooting clays with 1/4 or 1/2 choke , if theres any distance in the target you can sometimes hear the lead "clink" off the clay. Its hitting it but theres not enough power to break it.
    im very sorry fella have to disagre as i have been shooting pigeons and grey crows for many years and with my semi auto with extra full choke and i can reasure any one i would be happy to but them to the test as they would say that is how confident i am its all bout the correct lead i think im my opion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭ClarkyTrd

Cheers for that lads, I'l try another cartridge and see how I get on!

I was thinking I couldn't of had that bad of shot :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

im very sorry fella have to disagre as i have been shooting pigeons and grey crows for many years and with my semi auto with extra full choke and i can reasure any one i would be happy to but them to the test as they would say that is how confident i am its all bout the correct lead i think im my opion

he said for eating. id imaging they would be full of lead when shot with a full choke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

garv123 wrote: »
    he said for eating. id imaging they would be full of lead when shot with a full choke.

Depending on the distance and the lead you give the pigeon. Not all the pellets are going to lodge in the bird, whatever suits your shooting and you gun pattern work away with it.
    Ive shot a good few birds with full and 3/4 choke and didnt find many pellets in them, same with rabbits.

Also TawnyOwl make yourself a home made pigeon spinner, some job! will attract them for ages away. It'll get their attention to your decoys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Eley Olympic Trap are the lowest power cartridge on the market, They have just enough power to break a clay and no more. The powder is very slow burning.

I thought these had a reputation as a heavy recoiling clay cartridge. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Lads ye can blame cartridges, chokes and any other thing ye want. The fact remains center pattern is center pattern.
    Center pattern = dead bird

P.s just for the record Eley Olympics are a cracking good clay cartridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Still cereal crops standing, so still pigeon shooting chances.

Some fields have half cut, half standing.
    Use round bales as natural cover, roll three of them together near a ditch and have a little seat and horseshoe pattern your decoys.
    I was having a bad time at pigeons until I spent an afternoon breaking clays to get me back into the swing of things.

It's unreal how rusty one can get with the shotty if all the time shooting rifle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Thanks But the bales where I am I would need a tractor to roll three of them to the ditch there huge only joking fair play for the tip I know what you mean.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

At the minute ive got the use of the pop up hide , its handy for 2men or 1man and his faithful Springer,im hoping to try it out at the weekend:):) Crow decoying if i can get the lend of a vehicle Im saying for a Vehicle at the minute, The lack of work is killing me,:mad::mad::mad:My favorite pastime is keeping me sane LOL:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭2smokinbarrels

Back to the question first and foremost you need to find a cartridge you are confident in as in weight, size and price best way to do this is a bit of target practice i.e. clays best person to make that choice is you from your results.The next most important thing is field craft know where your planning to shoot from observation for days not just turning up on a field on a Saturday with a fist full of decoys if your in the right place at the right time decoying birds down to your pattern is much more successful woodies are smart they will drop in if they have been feeding where your decoying, make sure your well hidden and I cant stress enough how much of a difference it make when you are comfortable in your hide and standing on flat ground for your shots, crouched and uneven ground beneath your feet does mostly mean missed shots, again this would all be decided in your observation days this should help have to go to work now but if you want more info let me know I will get back to you.