Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How good will Ireland's team be with the talent coming through?

• 12-09-2011 5:14pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

We are looking at losing some of our top and most established players apparently. Richard Dunne hinted a couple of times now that this will be the last tournament "for a few of the lads".

But it seems we have a bright future with good talent about to break through.

I was reading an article (I think it was in the Examiner some months back) where Mancini was quoted as being envious of Ireland's future "attacking midfield" trio, Coleman, McGeady and McCarthy. That does look like a decent prospect.

Also Greg Cunningham at Manchester City and Robbie Brady at Man U (on loan to Hull) are looking like very good players. Some of Brady's goals recently have been pretty awesome. Surely he is a future first team player at Man United. He looks very good where ever he ends up.

Shane Long is doing well at West Brom as well.

Any other good prospects for us?

Do we have a pretty decent core of a team for the future? Or would you be concerned still when we lose the likes of Richard Dunne and Paul McShane?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

darkman2 wrote: »
    We are looking at losing some of our top and most established players apparently. Richard Dunne hinted a couple of times now that this will be the last tournament "for a few of the lads".

I was reading an article (I think it was in the Examiner some months back) where Mancini was quoted as being envious of Ireland's future "attacking midfield" trio, Coleman, McGeady and McCarthy. That does look like a decent prospect.

Also Greg Cunningham at Manchester City and Robbie Brady at Man U (on loan to Hull) are looking like very good players. Some of Brady's goals recently have been pretty awesome. Surely he is a future first team player at Man United. He looks very good where ever he ends up.

Do we have a pretty decent core of a team for the future? Or would you be concerned still when we lose the likes of Richard Dunne and Paul McShane?;)

McShane is an awful loss to the team :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

McShane is an awful loss to the team :)

When one thinks of his qualities......:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Along with those mentioned, Leon Best is still quite young.

Mark O'Brien and Jeff Hendrick are two teenagers starting every week for Derby County. Sean Scanell is a striker who has started this season very well for Crystal Palace. Shane Duffy (on loan at Scunthorpe United) has been called into a couple of Ireland squads and is supposed to be highly rated at Everton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Any news on how Conor Clifford is developing at Chelsea?

As well as Robbie Brady at United, Alan McGinty is tipped to do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,813 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Ciaran Clark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Surely he is a future first team player at Man United.

Wouldn't bet on it, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I was racking my brain for a cheeky response involveing Stephen Ireland and a dynamic midfield 3, but I would actually be interested in what people have to say here!

baz2009 wrote: »
    Wouldn't bet on it, tbh.

Really? You don't think he has a future there?

Arsenal have

Conor Henderson (20, mid) played for ROI under 21's. Wenger expects him to play for the first team after he recovers from injury.
    Sean McDermott (18, GK) Probably a bit young to predict anything yet. He's played for the ROI youth team, but was born in Norway, so could switch allegiance
    James Shea (20, GK) hasn't declared for Ireland or England yet. At lot of talk says he's a good prospect for the future. Presently on loan at Dag and Red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

ciaran clark
    samir carruthers
    graham burke
    michael drennan

all at villa and all very highly rated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

All this future talk, McGeady is there, McCarthy & Coleman are very much available too...but obviously according to Trap aren't as good as Andrews and Whelan!
    These 3 should be in the team to play the next 2 games. We have to get 2 wins, so forget Andrews and play McCarthy, and put Coleman as attacking rb, and move O'Shea into middle as Dunne is out.

Brady looks promising, but needs a full season at a club like Hull. Keeping him at 21 level is right for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Wooden Jesus

David Meyler got a few games at Sunderland before he was injured, was rated highly enough.
    If Conor Clifford is still at chelsea he must be doing well, midfield is looking good but theres a lack of quality defenders a goalkeeper and maybe a top striker

Would be fantastic to go to Euro 2012 like Germany did in the world cup 2010 with no one expecting anything and then to unleash a load of good young players - oh wait it's Trap we are talking about. :rolleyes:

a lack of quality defenders

Greg Cunningham?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Would be fantastic to go to Euro 2012 like Germany did in the world cup 2010 with no one expecting anything and then to unleash a load of good young players - oh wait it's Trap we are talking about. :rolleyes:

In all fairness, those young players of Germany are lightyears ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Meyler will be a great addition to the Ireland starting 11 if he can stay fit. He's been training for a few weeks now and should be coming back to match action around November/December as the club are being very careful with him now.

He's already proved he can do it in the Premier League, now fitness is the worry.

SantryRed wrote: »
    In all fairness, those young players of Germany are lightyears ahead.

They weren't before the tournament in that very few knew about them outside of Germany. Even German fans IIRC thought it was mad. I remember how everyone was shocked by the Aussie game. It was so un German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Aidy White, if he declares ROI, could be an excellent player for ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Really? You don't think he has a future there?

Don't think so, unfortunately. Definitely wouldn't say he'll surely be a first team player at United.

So far I think he'll be a mid-table kind of player, possibly better, possibly worse. Hope I'm wrong, though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Any news on how Conor Clifford is developing at Chelsea?

As well as Robbie Brady at United, Alan McGinty is tipped to do well.

Clifford is held in very high regard at Chelsea and seems to be doing well , had expected him to go on loan as did he himself .

Looks to be a great talent , was the youth team captain and is the Irish Under 21 captain.

baz2009 wrote: »
    Don't think so, unfortunately. Definitely wouldn't say he'll surely be a first team player at United.

So far I think he'll be a mid-table kind of player, possibly better, possibly worse. Hope I'm wrong, though.

Would be a shame if that happens. I would describe him as arguably the single best prospect for us right now in the near future. Hopefully he continues to do well and from what I have read Man U fans really rate him aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Having Westwood in goals should be good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Some good young Players coming though, Enda Stevens move to Villa could make Trap see him in the near future.:rolleyes:

Long term future, as long as Trap is not manager we should see some exciting young players pull on the green jersey.

Greg Cunningham?
    1 defender.
    Clarke and Duffy could be decent but not enough to replace Dunne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

theres a lack of quality defenders a goalkeeper and maybe a top striker
    Striker is the big one. We've been blessed to have Robbie at times over the past decade or so. Shane Long may be a decent replacement but he'll never come close to matching Robbie's achievements.

I've no doubt a goalkeeper will emerge and there are several decent defenders around. Clarke should be our first choice centre back in a couple of years and Seamie will eventually move back to right back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Jeff Hendrick & Mark O'Brien (Derby), Matt Doherty (Wolves), Sean Scannell (Crystal Palace), Joe Mason (Cardiff)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Striker is the big one. We've been blessed to have Robbie at times over the past decade or so. Shane Long may be a decent replacement but he'll never come close to matching Robbie's achievements.

burke has been banging them in for fun at underage level

1 defender.
    Clarke and Duffy could be decent but not enough to replace Dunne

We have a serious habit of overhyping players for Ireland though.
    Some of the young players look good but they still have to make it at the highest level, we won't see another Dunne,Given,Keane for a long time.
    Midfield is the strongest area and i hate seeing Trapp playing Green and Whelan when theres better players there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Not to be too negative, but there is some serious overhyping of players going on here. There isnt a single one of the names mentioned going to make any waves at club level any time soon, they just aren't of any particular quality. Some may turn out to be good solid players, but there is not much to be excited about from what I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

What ever happened to Owen Garvan? Remember seeing him at a few u21 games thinking he was the real deal?

At Crystal Palace, not much of a standout player really. Just a consistant championship player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Fingers crossed we can get Will Keane, 18 year old forward at Man United, who is tipped to be a future first-team player at Old Trafford. He won the Jimmy Murphy award for young player of the year last season and he has a twin brother Michael who has already declared for Ireland's youth side. Will however is still with the England set-up. Their father is a Dub so it's possible Will could switch (then again Michael could switch :pac:)

I think Will is the real deal. He's been compared to Teddy Sheringham and I remember him and Brady catching my eye a few seasons back in the Milk Cup. Hopefully both can make it all the way.

I wonder even if Henderson was fully fit would Trapattoni play a player like that in midfield anyway. I doubt it. I can imagine one day soon Whelan and Andrews will still be first choice and McCarthy and Henderson, Keith Fahey too, will be busy warming the bench:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Paully D wrote: »
    Meyler will be a great addition to the Ireland starting 11 if he can stay fit. He's been training for a few weeks now and should be coming back to match action around November/December as the club are being very careful with him now.

He's already proved he can do it in the Premier League, now fitness is the worry.

Really like this guy..I just hope he can recover from a second bad break, if he can he be one first names on teamsheet

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

I noticed Clifford is register on Chelsea B Squad for the Champions League with many other youngsters including McEachran...Don't know if this means anything.

The Carling Cup next week will be interesting to see if Clifford makes the bench. I'd assume he will be on loan soon though!

thebison wrote: »
    I noticed Clifford is register on Chelsea B Squad for the Champions League with many other youngsters including McEachran...Don't know if this means anything.

The Carling Cup next week will be interesting to see if Clifford makes the bench. I'd assume he will be on loan soon though!
    For the champions league you have to register a certain amount of players trained by the youth team, maybe thats why.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

For the champions league you have to register a certain amount of players trained by the youth team, maybe thats why.

Probably...as I said, next week will be the telling signs if he is truely on the fringes!

Heard rumors of a loan move to Leeds!

thebison wrote: »
    Probably...as I said, next week will be the telling signs if he is truely on the fringes!

Heard rumors of a loan move to Leeds!
    Loan move for the season would be good for Clifford, get to see him play each week and a good bit of first team experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭henke

Whatever happened to Sean Thornton :D

Poor Terry Dixon is in non league football now too.
    Bit of a legend at west ham without even playing a game just for being the most overhyped waster since dyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Bit of a legend at west ham without even playing a game just for being the most overhyped waster since dyer.

Ah here, its a bit unfair calling the lad a waster with the injuries he has had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

henke wrote: »
    Whatever happened to Sean Thornton :D

It still annoys me that Thornton never fulfilled his obvious talent.

I remember seeing him play superbly well in a large number of games for Sunderland, that volley against Chelsea for one, but he was on the beer every single night of the week and it eventually caught up with him.

He's now a free agent after being released by Leyton Orient a year ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Reaganomical

Let's not forget it took Dunne a long time to become a regular starter for us. Sledge and O'Dea are still relatively young...so are McGeady, McCarthy, Long, Best, Cox, Coleman, Duffy, Westwood. Carruthers looks tidy as does Robbie Brady. The future's definitely bright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Richard Dunne has consistently practiced his trade at Premiership level, and for solid mid table sides with the means to attract good players. He is a stalwart for us, and he will be very difficult to replace.

I like Westwood, but Given is a magnificent goalkeeper, and Westwood has a long way to go to be as good.

Duff is another career premiership performer, including playing on a top notch side during his peak years. His production and saavy (so many frees won in the opposition half) will be a huge loss. The likes of Coleman and McGeady have ways to go yet.

Robbie Keane is the best striker we've ever had. Long and Doyle simply do not score as many goals. We won't know what we've got till it's gone.

O' Shea has never quite reached his best form in an Irish jersey imo, but his class, experience and versatility is not matched by the younger defenders coming through at this stage.

Kilbane is the easiest to replace, but we missed him the last two games. And a player like that - a complete warrior who filled in solidly at pretty much every position on the field over a huge number of consecutive starts - may never materialize for us again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

We definitely have a habit of over-hyping our young players. Owen Garvan is a very good example of that. Was captain for the winning FA Youth Cup in 2005, was a first team player for Ipswich at 17 and used to be linked with a host of Premier League teams. Since then, he hasn't really gone anywhere.

What worries me is that we have a lot of decent players coming though, but no one spectacular. The likes of Roy Keane, Given, Robbie Keane and Duff were massive, massive players for us who quickly gained recognition at top clubs. I have yet to be as impressed with any of the current crop of youngsters as I was with those players. What's also worrying is that many of these top players are coming to the end of their careers.

Given is 35, going on 36. While Westwood has come through and seems solid, I haven't seen anything to suggest he's at the level that Given was/is at. Richard Dunne will soon be 32. He has been a massive player at club, and an even bigger player internationally. Who is going to replace a player like him? Left-back is another problem area for us. After this qualifying campaign, Kilbane's international career is likely to be over. Who can be as big a player as him? By the looks of things, it certainly won't be Stephen Ward. Right-back is another area, Foley is ok, but really, since Finnan retired - we haven't had a decent player stake this position as his own. Our two main attacking options are declining, Duff (McGeady and Hunt are nowhere near his level) and Keane (there is no other natural goalscorer even remotely close to him).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭blue-army

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adam_Maher

Guy called Adam Maher scored in the europa league for AZ Alkmaar tonight. Surely Irish? He's played under 17's world cup for Holland though.

Anyone know anything about him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Very harsh on the lad. He'd have been first choice for us for years if it wasn't for his injuries, I'm positive of that.

Was Dean Ashton an overhyped waster too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

In fairness, we're shíte, if it wasn't for the Nordie youngfellas we have no future

21/25