Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you taking the pi55??

• 11-09-2011 11:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Ok folks, here's what happened.

Ive been a delivery driver in a chipper for the past 3 years. My shifts are Saturday night and Sunday night. I also have to wait around after work for about 40 minutes so the manager and staff can a lift to get the Luas. I dont get paid for this!!

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago my auntie died and I had to go down the country for a couple of days. I had to go on Friday and wasn't back til Tuesday. I rang the owner of the chipper and told him that i couldn't work that weekend because I had to go away to the funeral. That was grand until I was going into work the next weekend and found out that I had no shifts that weekend. After questioning them I was told that I had let them down by not working the last weekend (i was away at a funeral) and the owner was thinking about sacking me!!
    I ended up losing out on 2 weeks money then.

Anyway I got my normal shifts back.
    At half 10 last night (Saturday), the manager told me that I wasn't needed for the next night (Sunday) and that a different driver will be working instead!!
    The manager was also telling me that this particular driver is awlays robbing money and he has to replace it so the owner wont find out!!
    Anyway I got mad and told him what I thought of his ****ty little chipper and left him there with a few deliveries and no one to deliver them!

I cant afford not to be working as im starting back in college again tomorrow and also have a fiance and 3 year old child to look after!!

So my question is should I bite my tongue from now on and just do what shifts I get or should I go on a bit of a rampage, tell the owner that the other driver is robbing him blind, and see what happens!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Something fishy going on here.

Nice to know who your friends are when the chips are down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Ive been a delivery driver in a chipper for the past 3 years. My shifts are Saturday night and Sunday night. I also have to wait around after work for about 40 minutes so the manager and staff can a lift to get the Luas. I dont get paid for this!!

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago my auntie died and I had to go down the country for a couple of days. I had to go on Friday and wasn't back til Tuesday. I rang the owner of the chipper and told him that i couldn't work that weekend because I had to go away to the funeral. That was grand until I was going into work the next weekend and found out that I had no shifts that weekend. After questioning them I was told that I had let them down by not working the last weekend (i was away at a funeral) and the owner was thinking about sacking me!!

At half 10 last night (Saturday), the manager told me that I wasn't needed for the next night (Sunday) and that a different driver will be working instead!!
    The manager was also telling me that this particular driver is awlays robbing money and he has to replace it so the owner wont find out!!
    Anyway I got mad and told him what I thought of his ****ty little chipper and left him there with a few deliveries and no one to deliver them!

I cant afford not to be working as im starting back in college again tomorrow and also have a fiance and 3 year old child to look after!!

So my question is should I bite my tongue from now on and just do what shifts I get or should I go on a bit of a rampage, tell the owner that the other driver is robbing him blind, and see what happens!!

Declaring this income by any chance..................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 imalwaysright

not yet wrote: »

What do you think??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

I'm still waiting for those chips I ordered last night. They better not be fecking cold now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭Underground

Look for a new job,that one sounds like more trouble than it's worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Sounds like the guy is taking advantage of you, but it doesn't make any sense that he'd choose a guy who is robbing money over you.

I'd say there's something else happening here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Sounds like your boss is a pr1ck, I reckon.

What do you think??

Yeah I'd say you do....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Have you insurance to use your car for deliveries?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Fcuk it your child doesn't really need to be fed and it's essentially free to put yourself through college. Tell the owner to go fcuk himself because nobody really needs money..especially someone going back to college with a kid to support!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Sounds like your boss has a chip on his shoulder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

How did you deliver the bad news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I would be surprised if they let you back after leaving them like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

. I also have to wait around after work for about 40 minutes so the manager and staff can a lift to get the Luas. I dont get paid for this!!

I'd bite my tongue and get revenge by leaving the minute you stop getting paid for work. It's not your problem that staff don't have another means of transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Little Miss Lady

poisonated wrote: »
    I would be surprised if they let you back after leaving them like that.

Yeah I'd say you are fired anyway.
    So try and look for something where you'll be better treated..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭areu4real?

Seanbeag1 wrote: »

Why, every time someone asks a question here do people slate the OP with silly "you're not so perfect yourself" comments. I did deliveries as a way to pay thru college on top of my other job, tell me you would declare your €50 a night to the taxman. Also, find me one delivery driver that doesn't work for a bigger company like Dominoes that has insurance to deliver stuff!

Big picture here:
    Works for same place for 3 years.
    Unfortunate death in the family.
    Goes to funeral and comes back.
    Thieving ****head replaces him.

Some sympathy wouldn't go amiss, or empathy even.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Sorry for the loss of your auntie. Your boss is/was a tw@t

areu4real? wrote: »
    Why, every time someone asks a question here do people slate the OP with silly "you're not so perfect yourself" comments. I did deliveries as a way to pay thru college on top of my other job, tell me you would declare your €50 a night to the taxman. Also, find me one delivery driver that doesn't work for a bigger company like Dominoes that has insurance to deliver stuff!

Big picture here:

Fair enough.............tell me why I should declare 200 a night, Or 20k YEAR.

Yes I have..

Just had it out with the owner on the phone.. I asked him why I was getting cut a shift instead of the other lad that already works 4 nights a week and is robbing him blind!! The answer I got was that it was his decision to do it that way!!

I asked him why was he trying to push me out and was told that he just wants to make changes!!

I did get an apology tho about not being told that my shift was canceled.

He then start telling me about the other lads letting him down the whole time and thats why I was getting fecked over. (I dont really understand that myself).
    I'm the only one there that never refuses a nights work and doesn't be late or go home early (except for last night!!)

We had 2 drivers on a few weeks ago, Myself and another lad. I was in from 5 and the other lad came in at 6. He got paid his money straight away, Got his free food straight aswel and then at 7 said that he was going home and left. He basically went up to the chipper and got free money and food!! I was meant to be finishing at 10 but had to cancel my plans and ended up having to stay til the chipper closed and then had to wait around to drop the staff to the Luas. Nothing was ever said about that.

Bottom line now is that I will be looking for a new job?? Anyone looking for staff??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

areu4real? wrote: »

Big picture here:

Boo ****ing hoo. Is that sympathy enough for you? He has a **** job and wanker boss. Welcome to life.

He said he works for a chipper. Most chippers don't have big insurance policies for their staff. it is usually up to the staff member to add working to their policy. $50 a night (+tips) 2 nights a week is over 5 grand a year tax free.That kind of undeclared income makes means testing social welfare completely useless.

Boo ****ing hoo. Is that sympathy enough for you? He has a **** job and wanker boss. Welcome to life.

He said he works for a chipper. Most chippers don't have big insurance policies for their staff. it is usually up to the staff member to add working to their policy. $50 a night (+tips) 2 nights a week is over 5 grand a year tax free.That kind of undeclared income makes means testing social welfare completely useless.

BTW, working less than 15 hours doesn't mean i'm scamming the social welfare. I'm on back to education so im allowed to work those nights!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago my auntie died and I had to go down the country for a couple of days. I had to go on Friday and wasn't back til Tuesday.

Most large employers wouldnt grant four days off for the death of an aunt.
    I must have missed the bit where the OP specified that they were in receipt of means tested benefits or was earning enough to be eligible to pay income tax ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

I'd leave, and bring the principal bastard down on my way. I did that once and it was immensely satisfying. Bring him down and tell everyone you meet the story of your mistreatment. Never lose an opportunity to bad mouth them. What's the hygiene level like? Perhaps you could explain it in this form?

It's a tiny insignificant thing in the bigger scheme of your life, but you are being mistreated so don't go down without a fight. You'll find a replacement job soon enough if you knock on enough doors so don't worry too much about that. All the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

You should charge them for Delivery to the Luas. thats is what they hire you to do anyways

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Most large employers wouldnt grant four days off for the death of an aunt.

He wasn't looking for four days:

My shifts are Saturday night and Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭areu4real?

Missing the point, I don't really want to argue about this. It might be "illegal" but I'm more about morals myself. It's pocket money work, not a flat 20k. €200 a night is very very optimistic for a delivery driver. People get away with legal stuff that is highly immoral and people get locket up for things that are illegal but not exactly causing harm to anyone. A lot of millionaires dodge tax daily, fact!

Again, big picture:
    Working to pay through college, which I admire.
    In college, which I admire.
    Not paying a small tax on a small wage is not a problem for me.
    This man is not a tax dodger, but report him if it's an issue for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Would you really want to if you had that choice . I bet not Either would I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Are you taking the pi55a?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

He is some manager if he encourages his staff to steal. He is obviously not trustworthy himself by allowing this to happen.

If you need the money that badly stick it out until you get something else.

Dionysus wrote: »
    I'd leave, and bring the principal bastard down on my way. I did that once and it was immensely satisfying. Bring him down and tell everyone you meet the story of your mistreatment. Never lose an opportunity to bad mouth them. What's the hygiene level like? Perhaps you could explain it in this form?

It's a tiny insignificant thing in the bigger scheme of your life, but you are being mistreated so don't go down without a fight. You'll find a replacement job soon enough if you knock on enough doors so don't worry too much about that. All the best.

Now that you mention the hygiene of the place, none of the people handling the food wear rubber gloves. A customer rang up recently to complain about insects in his food and wanted his money back so I dropped the money back and there were 3 earwigs in his pizza box. He had eaten a few slices and every time he move a slice of pizza, he saw another earwig!!

Ok you are taking the piss now, stop trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Wtf? Where do you work? The slums of New Delhi?

hondasam wrote: »
    Ok you are taking the piss now, stop trolling.

no i'm 100% serious here. They were reported the the health inspector and he has been out to look at the place!!

Now that you mention the hygiene of the place...

Always glad to be of assistance. :D

no i'm 100% serious here. They were reported the the health inspector and he has been out to look at the place!!

No you are talking *****.

i'll give you the name of the chipper in a PM if you like and you can check it yourself if you like.

Like I said, i am not making anything up!! I'm just annoyed with them.

i'll give you the name of the chipper in a PM if you like and you can check it yourself if you like.

Like I said, i am not making anything up!! I'm just annoyed with them.

I really don't care, I would rather starve than eat from there.
    why would you want to work for a filthy disgusting place like this.
    I would not want to be associated with it and you eat the food, knowing how filthy it is. says more about you than them really.

I really don't care, I would rather starve than eat from there.
    why would you want to work for a filthy disgusting place like this.
    I would not want to be associated with it and you eat the food, knowing how filthy it is. says more about you than them really.

ok?? i dont eat the food, i just deliver it.
    I am offered a free meal each night I work there but usually decline it as I'd rather eat my dinner at home before work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

This thread delivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Yes I have..

Just had it out with the owner on the phone.. I asked him why I was getting cut a shift instead of the other lad that already works 4 nights a week and is robbing him blind!! The answer I got was that it was his decision to do it that way!!

I asked him why was he trying to push me out and was told that he just wants to make changes!!

I did get an apology tho about not being told that my shift was canceled.

He then start telling me about the other lads letting him down the whole time and thats why I was getting fecked over. (I dont really understand that myself).
    I'm the only one there that never refuses a nights work and doesn't be late or go home early (except for last night!!)

We had 2 drivers on a few weeks ago, Myself and another lad. I was in from 5 and the other lad came in at 6. He got paid his money straight away, Got his free food straight aswel and then at 7 said that he was going home and left. He basically went up to the chipper and got free money and food!! I was meant to be finishing at 10 but had to cancel my plans and ended up having to stay til the chipper closed and then had to wait around to drop the staff to the Luas. Nothing was ever said about that.

Bottom line now is that I will be looking for a new job?? Anyone looking for staff??

Who the fuck is eating all these chips.