Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My new car.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

That was the right call :)

Nice motor, thank fook you didnt get that other yoke ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,683 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ive one of those that I bought new in 08. They look great but not a great drive IMO.
    First thing you need to do is a vagom mod that stops the front DRL dimming when you indicate as it looks wonky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Nice choice OP. Is it a ex UK car as the readout is in miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

doesn't it dim to allow other road users see the indicator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Ensti

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Nice choice OP. Is it a ex UK car as the readout is in miles.

Well as far as I know its an Irish car. I wasn't told anything by the dealer

Ensti wrote: »
    Well as far as I know its an Irish car. I wasn't told anything by the dealer

I think you can change that with a vag com any way. I love the colour, its very rare.:)

Best of luck with it btw..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Nice car OP really like that colour! Tis the same as my own car!

You made a good choice with that car, should hold it's value reasonably well too.

Best of luck with it!

650Ginge wrote: »
    doesn't it dim to allow other road users see the indicator.

Yes that is the reason why it is produced like that in this market however it is no harder to see the indicator than any car with dip lights on. it is a common mod. Im sure its also possible to set it to dim both drls instead of none - this would keep eveeryone happy.

OP, you dont need vagcom to change between miles and km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Nice car and all but fcuked if I would buy one and it not a quattro.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Nice car and all but fcuked if I would buy one and it not a quattro.

You are 100% right. I made that mistake and am very sorry. To make it worse, I came from a quattro audi before it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

You can change the settings for miles to kms and mpg to litres etc through the MMI interface;) and loads more.

Thats handy. I can never figure out this L/km thing unless its doing 5L/100km..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Funnily enough my brother was also agonising about whether to get the A5 or a Chrysler 300C - in the end he played safe and got an A6 which was a real anti-climax.

mickdw wrote: »
    You are 100% right. I made that mistake and am very sorry. To make it worse, I came from a quattro audi before it too.

With all due respect you should have known better.

What really turns me off VAG cars is that front wheel judder when you plant it. Gimme a RWD car any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

And from this point forth, Motors shall get a lot quieter :pac:

Well wear man!

I would rather the quattro. But, this was the only one I liked in my budget. I probably will regret it in time to come. Would this one hold its value as much as the quattro ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Nice looking motor with a decent spec. Well wear OP.

I would rather the quattro. But, this was the only one I liked in my budget. I probably will regret it in time to come. Would this one hold its value as much as the quattro ?

No!

No!

Would this hold its value at all ? If I were to sell in say, 3 years. Would I get much for it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Well wear op! Lovely car. Lad in work has a black s-line. Gorgeous car.

Would this hold its value at all ? If I were to sell in say, 3 years. Would I get much for it ?

Don't worry about all that. It's bought and enjoy it! There is always a market for Audi coupes so you're safe enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Tbh I would drive it for a few months, enjoy it and then flog it. That car is as a percentage of new very very expensive. A almost 4 year old , one would expect to pay no more than 40% or 17 grand for it, the only reason prices are higher is they are sought after. But add another year to it and as the design ages and you will get maybe 14 for it.
    The quattro 3.0 would be the one to get but I wouldnt be paying that figure even for one.

With all due respect you should have known better.

What really turns me off VAG cars is that front wheel judder when you plant it. Gimme a RWD car any day.

True enough. Ive had a few cars, front drive too but never realised ANY car company could make such a hash of the front suspension as audi seem to have here. The judder is horrible and its not like you have to be giving it too much pedal either.

When I was buying, the cheapest quattro A5 was well over 70k if I remember correctly so that was not an option.

Sounds silly but Audi controlled the development of the current Leon and the front wheels couldn't handle the awesome power of the 1.6 8v at times:D

166man wrote: »
    Nice car OP really like that colour! Tis the same as my own car!........

I thought you just did the leaving cert?
    Apologies if I have you confused with someone else.

RoverJames wrote: »

I thought you just did the leaving cert?
    Apologies if I have you confused with someone else.

I have just done it and starting college, am I not allowed to have a car and drive? ;)

No, not at all :)
    Surprised you have an A5 :)

No, not at all :)
    Surprised you have an A5 :)

Oh sorry maybe mine was confusing I have a Alfa 156 in the same colour! Not an A5 unfortunately!

Very off topic but still

19pls6.jpg

166man wrote: »
    Oh sorry maybe mine was confusing I have a Alfa 156 in the same colour! Not an A5 unfortunately!

I thought as much. RJ might have thought you were related to bmw535....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

OP - that's a farking lovely colour, it's so refreshing to see one that isn't black! Well wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭markoire

Class car OP. Anyone have any idea what theyre like on fuel? Do pretty high mileage, currently get 47ish mpg out of my diesel golf! Would I be right in saying id expect 35ish out of one of these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

God job op. Nice to see someone to buy not a sensible car, but something fun.

Its a shame it's not a quattro, but hey! Atleast it is not a sko**! ;)

Hi guys, after a long and hard decision between a 2009 Chrysler 300C a 2008 Audi A5. I choose the A5. 1.8 TFSI 170BHP SE. Still have to get a few pictures.
    Here's the ad,
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A5/COUPE-1./201114201928400/advert?channel=CARS

Interestingly the sales manager has responded to a query I sent last night asking was this car still for sale as the add is 50 odd days old, still in stock apparently ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Interestingly the sales manager has responded to a query I sent last night asking was this car still for sale as the add is 50 odd days old, still in stock apparently ;)

The plot thickens....... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭aston

Thought they were locking the OP up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Mittydvd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Mittydvd.jpg

If I was posting from my secret dream life, I wouldn't be buying a FWD A5, or even looking sideways at a Chrysler.

And BOOM! RoverJames has solved it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

LOL,maybe the lack of a shaft to the back put him off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

LOL,maybe the lack of a shaft to the back put him off!

So many jokes...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Who ever owns it I think it's a lovely car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Who ever owns it I think it's a lovely car

Either
    Ger

GerSeamen.jpg
    or

12year old Liam

LiamShannon.jpg

Ah now lads - give the fella a chance to come on and defend himself!

We're waiting... :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭pcardin

My new car...

Most likely it's your bank's car that they agreed to lend you for some monthly payments in return...but it could be yours too, who knows. :pac:

P.S. and before anyone starts - no I didn't read the whole thread. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭techie

I live near the Garage in Bandon where the A5 is and I passed yesterday and it was still there!

If you look at the OP's other posts he has been all over the country looking for a car??? :confused:

techie wrote: »
    I live near the Garage in Bandon where the A5 is and I passed yesterday and it was still there!

If you look at the OP's other posts he has been all over the country looking for a car??? :confused:

I know it's bollox - but looking forward to a bit of craic a la bmw535d! Don't want to see the thread closed before the OP gets a chance to come back on! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭techie

Cool :D
    Runs out and grabs popcorn ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Let's not go here please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭pcardin

so the guy is a dreamer?! Oh no.... disregard my previous post :(