Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last Night of the Proms

• 09-09-2011 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭

Yes, it's an unashamed display of British national pride, though the music is great... Pity we don't have a similar event.
    This year's broadcast is on tomorrow:

Now, look at this picture:
    http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Music/Pix/pictures/2008/05/22/proms460.jpg

... a prominent Irish tricolour. Would we be as tolerant if someone waved a Union Jack at an Irish concert?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

happenes every year, Irish guy with the tri-color

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Seasoft wrote: »
    Yes, it's an unashamed display of British national pride, though the music is great... Pity we don't have a similar event.

... a prominent Irish tricolour. Would we be as tolerant if someone waved a Union Jack at an Irish concert?

Well, they're waving one over 6 of our counties, day in, day out.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

they can keep them in fairness...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Enjoy :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

What about the other twenty ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Lots of Irish people in Britain and lots more of Irish descent, why is it a surprise to see the tricolour? Being British doesn't mean being anti-Irish despite what the more dramatic boardsies may think.

Its a great event for anyone who loves Orchestral music (which is me) and the one night of the year that "middle class" Brits can celebrate identity and culture. I've been to the proms in Hyde Park in the past and there is a great welcoming, celebratory atmosphere to the whole event. My Irish parents were not hounded of the park either, which I suppose was a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Lots of Irish people in Britain and lots more of Irish descent, why is it a surprise to see the tricolour? Being British doesn't mean being anti-Irish despite what the more dramatic boardsies may think.

Its a great event for anyone who loves Orchestral music (which is me) and the one night of the year that "middle class" Brits can celebrate identity and culture. I've been to the proms in Hyde Park in the past and there is a great welcoming, celebratory atmosphere to the whole event. My Irish parents were not hounded of the park either, which I suppose was a bonus.

Plus plenty of Irish acts over the years in Hyde Park ... oh no way they would be hounded out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I thought there was a rule that if 6 or more Irish people are gathered together at a foreign event - at least one person shall wave a tricoulour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I thought there was a rule that if 6 or more Irish people are gathered together at a foreign event - at least one person shall wave a tricoulour?
    I think you're thinking of the rule that says one person must wear a GAA jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Seasoft wrote: »

RTE do run, or at leas did run a similar event, Proms from Farmleigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Dublin forum thataway
    >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

mike65 wrote: »

sends shivers down my spine. I wish Ireland had a similar song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Great event. Rule Britannia!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Flag waving?
    Nationalist jingles?
    Rule Britannia?

Someday a more advanced civilisation will look back in amusement at ours.

Yes Keith. You are a Unionist. Well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Ah I can't begrudge them the occasion to remember the days when they were a relevant world power, there's no harm in a bit of nostalgia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

mike65 wrote: »

Rule Hibernia! Hibernia rules its Isle,
    Hibernians shall never never never be Britannia's slaves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Boom shakala, sh1thead. He's everyone's Daddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

strobe wrote: »
    Boom shakala, sh1thead. He's everyone's Daddy.

If i could thank you twice, I would.

It's been a while since I'd listened to that. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Wagner opera ftw.
    F*cking epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I'm watching this now: Susan Bullock singing Wagner's Götterdämmerung. (Twilght of the Gods). Subtle, it ain't. She's not dressed for the part, though - no spiky girdle or horned helmet. :o But they're saying she'll be back later, in a dress that had to be "run past Health & Safety". Holy cow ...

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

Heads up: we're about to see Lang Lang play Chopin's Grand Polonaise Brillante. I think this is what's called "stunt piano". :cool:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

FFS Westlife just after coming on now :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

bnt wrote: »
    Heads up: we're about to see Lang Lang play Chopin's Grand Polonaise Brillante. I think this is what's called "stunt piano". :cool:

My god that guy has some control over the piano,, that liszt was sublime,,, did you hear that silence when he finished..

Well Westlife appear to be wooing the Hyde Park crowd

That lady on the Bassoon is giving me quite the Oboe ... :p

PS: Lang Lang is in Dublin next Thursday (15/9) at the NCH performing Beethoven's "Emperor" Concerto (No. 5). There are a few seats left, but they are not cheap ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Meanwhile RTE gives us Winning Streak and tubridy. Why do they run 2 orchestras but never put them on telly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

goose2005 wrote: »
    Meanwhile RTE gives us Winning Streak and tubridy. Why do they run 2 orchestras but never put them on telly?

can i just say thats a great question:D a couple of the beethoven symphonies and broadcast them on rte2 hd. with surround sound, jaysus thats a great idea.

we pay the feckers enough money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

This is a great song.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    This is a great song.
    What, Rule Britannia? Are we watching the same channel? :p I think the costume worn by soprano Susan Bullock, while singing that, might have sparked off a diplomatic row with Ireland.

Three cheers for a bronze bust. How middle class is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

bnt wrote: »
    What, Rule Britannia? Are we watching the same channel? :p I think the costume worn by soprano Susan Bullock, while singing that, might have sparked off a diplomatic row with Ireland.

The Shamrock is the symbol for Irish part of the Union, i.e the Northern Unionists is it not?

Good quality watching, rousing stuff!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Last night of the poms :p

Bonus joke from Oz
    How can you tell when a planeload of Poms has just arrived ?
    You can still hear the whining even after the engines have stopped.

They should pick Land of Hope & Glory for the English Rugby/Soccer anthems... far better rouser then the dirge that is God Save

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I can never hear Pomp And Circumstance without expecting to see Macho Man Randy Savage give a flying elbow off the top rope.

I was suprised that they performed Wagner, given that's it's all a bit too Germanic for the occasion.

In what sense too Germanic? :o

Well you know the way Hitler would go gay for Wagner and all that...

There is mutual respect and appreciation between Germany and the UK despite what the tabloids (in both countries) would have you believe, deep down, it's not real hatred and it never really was.... they have more in common then most.

As for the French...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I have watched the Last Night since I was a child, and hopefully one day I will actually get to Hyde Park or even Bangor in County Down to enjoy the pomp & circumstance of the occassion, one of those things to do before I die (as they say) :))

Obviously I would love to be at the Albert Hall, but I guess there is a massive waiting list for tickets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Who doesn't like Wagner for some sublime moments but some terrible half hours ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

If they don't mind being ruled by the Saxe-Coburg und Gotha family then I don't see why a bit of Wagner should offend them either.