Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Rail

• 09-09-2011 10:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭

80 Bloody squid for a return Kerry to Dublin are these cants for real ????

P.S Mods move if necessary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Choo choo-se to take the car next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Shane L

Bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

Taxi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

But you get wi-fi so it's great value now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Shane L wrote: »
    Bus?

Probably quicker too bud..

Think ill ring Joe about it Monday.He will fix it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Cants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

They sure are for real. Tis grand oul value sure... You get a 5% discount for cleaning the toilets too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

Prop Joe wrote: »

That's the price culchies have to pay to experience civilisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

it's not like the "region- Kerry forum" is that far...could you not move it yourself like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Cicero wrote: »
    it's not like the "region- Kerry forum" is that far...could you not move it yourself like?

Cant !! ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

They are cu nts, stupid money to be asked to pay. Ignorant pricks working for them too, smelly carraiges, **** food, ****tier toilets, always late, etc, etc, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Online is way cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Cants?

Say it in a cockney accent...

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Online is way cheaper.

You can transport yourself online now!? :o

Technology is amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Cant !! ??

What did you call him??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭Eurovisionmad

I was told on good authority that they still use typewriters in some stations!

CIE. They waste so much money they wipe their holes with typewriters

Probably quicker too bud..

Not really with the Kerry routes, you're looking at between 5 hours, 45 minutes and 6 hours via bus. 4 hours 15 minutes via rail is the norm.

Still, the reservation system has become a complete joke in recent months. Unless you book several weeks in advance you'll often find it's actually a couple of euros cheaper to buy the ticket at the station due to credit card fees online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Say it in a cockney accent...

:o

Im saying it in a Waterford accent and it sounds like cants,why didnt they just say cunts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

The rail prices are pretty ridiculous here. You could get return flights to Spain for that!

I was in Belgium last month, and they had a deal on that you could get return train tickets to anywhere else in Belgium for €15 during the summer. And their trains are clean!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Isnt it cheaper to fly?

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Isnt it cheaper to fly?

It can be. Though with Aer Arann taking over the Dublin-Farranfore route I wonder what the prices will be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

travelled to Cork return 80 euro, wtf, they're not doing their tourism sector any favours with this sort of thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Where is the €80 coming from I always thought it was €72 + €3 in Credit Card fees? I no longer travel by train and always drive to Dublin now.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Where is the €80 coming from I always thought it was €72 + €3 in Credit Card fees? I no longer travel by train and always drive to Dublin now.

It went up to €74 recently. I'm guessing the OP rounded it up or something.

Karsini wrote: »
    It went up to €74 recently. I'm guessing the OP rounded it up or something.

Just looking at a sample fare there from Killarney to Heuston tomorrow and it is still at €72 + (€2 for laser or €3 for credit card) so still either between €72 to €75, just as well if booking it late to try get it at the station and I wonder do they charge the credit card/laser fee when booking in person; or do their lazy incompetent unionised staff even know how to use the eftpos machine? Or is it cash only. Most cars will do the journey on less fuel and in the same amount of time.

Bus Eireann charge €42.50/€38.50 if booked online from Killarney to Dublin except you must change in Baghdad Limerick and get to see every two bit village and town along the way and it takes nearly 6 hours.

Just looking at a sample fare there from Killarney to Heuston tomorrow and it is still at €72 + (€2 for laser or €3 for credit card) so still either between €72 to €75, just as well if booking it late to try get it at the station and I wonder do they charge the credit card/laser fee when booking in person; or do their lazy incompetent unionised staff even know how to use the eftpos machine? Or is it cash only. Most cars will do the journey on less fuel and in the same amount of time.

Bus Eireann charge €42.50/€38.50 if booked online from Killarney to Dublin except you must change in Baghdad Limerick and get to see every two bit village and town along the way and it takes nearly 6 hours.

Ah, I see what they did. They increased a single from €36 to €37 but if you go in both directions they still charge €72.

You're dead right about the bus, have got it from Listowel to Dublin on occasion and hate it.

Can you not still buy tickets in the credit union for near half the price? last time I did this was more than four years ago.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

fly!!!!
    I cant fly to where im going but i nearly always get the 10euro tickets :D sometimes its 13 and if im unlucky its 26euro!!! :O
    Its not soo bad!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

The price of going by train in this country is a fcuking joke!! It's ridiculous that they can charge this much but I suppose there is the argument if people are willing to pay it they will keep it that high......what a load of bollix! Alot of people that use the rail in Ireland are using it to get to and from work and they probably don't have any other option than to use it. As previous user mentioned above, it must be great for the tourist trade when tourists arrive and have to pay probably more for a train ticket in Ireland than their flight to Ireland in the first place cost (assuming they flew in from Europe).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Well according to google it costs 80 euro in fuel + tolls to drive the return trip to Killarney from Dublin. Trains don't run on air...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Well according to google it costs 80 euro in fuel + tolls to drive the return trip to Killarney from Dublin. Trains don't run on air...

Yeah, but it's not going to cost €80 fuel per passenger! Considering many other countries charge much less for train tickets than we do, it can/should be done.

Not going to get done though. Probably two thirds of the profit* from that ticket goes into a generous pension scheme.

*as if Irish rail will ever make a profit.

Train tickets, bought on the day, are even more expensive in the UK

Trains are actually incredibly efficient and a train would get about 10 - 15mpg on Diesel, they drive at between 100 to 120km/h and have very little inclines and the rolling resistance and friction of rail is very little compared to road transport.

Running a bus to Dublin takes far more fuel per passenger yet is almost half the price. The reason Irish Rail is so expensive it exists not as a transportation company but as "a job for the boys", massive pensions, early retirements, big salarys and under performance and a lazy corrupt attitude that wants to close Rail travel in Ireland is the order of the day.

Ireland in the past had a pretty good private railway system, after it was nationalised they closed most of it down and then proceeded to run it as a place where Fianna Fail hacks could be dumped into jobs for life without any of the pressure or pride you might find in a normal private enterprise job. Carrying passengers is a mere nuisance to the morons in charge of this public sector monstrosity of a quango.

Oh and since it was nationalised it runs at a loss every year despite the massive fares it gets huge subsidies each year to keep the slow overpriced trains moving. The whole system of running trains should be privatised, close down CIE and keep the network and assets in state ownership but let a private operator run it properly with incentives for good customer service and low fares. Cut out the leeching quangos and run it as a Railway and not a dumping ground for morons who wouldn't get a job in McDonalds, the dole is there to look after them.

Trains are actually incredibly efficient and a train would get about 10 - 15mpg on Diesel, they drive at between 100 to 120km/h and have very little inclines and the rolling resistance and friction of rail is very little compared to road transport.

Running a bus to Dublin takes far more fuel per passenger yet is almost half the price. The reason Irish Rail is so expensive it exists not as a transportation company but as "a job for the boys", massive pensions, early retirements, big salarys and under performance and a lazy corrupt attitude that wants to close Rail travel in Ireland is the order of the day.

Ireland in the past had a pretty good private railway system, after it was nationalised they closed most of it down and then proceeded to run it as a place where Fianna Fail hacks could be dumped into jobs for life without any of the pressure or pride you might find in a normal private enterprise job. Carrying passengers is a mere nuisance to the morons in charge of this public sector monstrosity of a quango.

Oh and since it was nationalised it runs at a loss every year despite the massive fares it gets huge subsidies each year to keep the slow overpriced trains moving. The whole system of running trains should be privatised, close down CIE and keep the network and assets in state ownership but let a private operator run it properly with incentives for good customer service and low fares. Cut out the leeching quangos and run it as a Railway and not a dumping ground for morons who wouldn't get a job in McDonalds, the dole is there to look after them.

Like british rail, the reason it is the prices are quite high is twofold. A lot of money was spent recently on upgrades, necessary through years of neglect, on borrowed money which all has to be paid back. As a semi state CIE debt is seperate to government debt.

Legacy wages for IR staff are high for the level of skill required. But then this is a social choice, should the wages be set by the market where they are not a livable wage to raise a family on... or should employees be given enough to have a happy content stable life?

But then this is a social choice, should the wages be set by the market where they are not a livable wage to raise a family on... or should employees be given enough to have a happy content stable life?

Would you be prepared to pay significantly more for your basket of groceries in return for a pension scheme for tesco/lidl/dunnes stores workers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Killarney to Dublin on the 6th October, returning 7th October comes in at a grand total of €20 on the irish rail website.

Looks absolutely terrific value, and more than a match for the €15 'anywhere in Belgium' fare mentioned earlier seeing as Belgium is about 30% the size of Ireland.

Don't see what the OPs problem is, kudos to Irish Rail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

Guill wrote: »
    They are cu nts, stupid money to be asked to pay. Ignorant pricks working for them too, smelly carraiges, **** food, ****tier toilets, always late, etc, etc, etc.

Would be worried if the food was ****tier than the toilets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭yerraya

Book online and its far cheaper....sometimes you can even get €10 tickets though the times arent always great....if you're an o2 customer they offer a 10% discount which is redeemable when you book online even if the ticket is a special offer.just checked there and the cheapest you'll get is €37.50 one way from Dub to Tralee. But keep an eye out for the €10 offers as the full price is a scandalous amount to be paying:eek:

http://www.irishrail.ie/your_journey/timetables_junction1.asp

Killarney to Dublin on the 6th October, returning 7th October comes in at a grand total of €20 on the irish rail website.

Looks absolutely terrific value, and more than a match for the €15 'anywhere in Belgium' fare mentioned earlier seeing as Belgium is about 30% the size of Ireland.

Don't see what the OPs problem is, kudos to Irish Rail.

Its a train journey not a flight, people tend to book train journeys late in advance wheras the average flight gets booked a few weeks before.

A person may be living say in Dublin but their mother got sick and they needed to visit them tomorrow for example they will pay the €75 and it is well and good to claim that yes you can travel for €20 however like Ryanair less than 5% of the passengers will get that fare as it is a train and not an airline service.

Train prices should be set properly, they are not an airline and have a monopoly on their service. We could all apply this stupid type of mentality, umm let me think I won't get my groceries, i'll travel next week when petrol costs might be 1c/litre cheaper.

The company is wrong and are ripping off the Irish travelling public and should be brought to task.

But you get wi-fi so it's great value now

Ha "free" wifi!!!! on selected journeys apparently ones I'm never on!!!:rolleyes:

Its a train journey not a flight, people tend to book train journeys late in advance wheras the average flight gets booked a few weeks before.

A person may be living say in Dublin but their mother got sick and they needed to visit them tomorrow for example they will pay the €75 and it is well and good to claim that yes you can travel for €20 however like Ryanair less than 5% of the passengers will get that fare as it is a train and not an airline service.

Train prices should be set properly, they are not an airline and have a monopoly on their service. We could all apply this stupid type of mentality, umm let me think I won't get my groceries, i'll travel next week when petrol costs might be 1c/litre cheaper.

The company is wrong and are ripping off the Irish travelling public and should be brought to task.

Maybe people need to change their booking habits and book 3 or 4 weeks in advance and avail of fares like €20 return Killarney to Dublin.

Or alternatively not make false comparison (not you, other posters) to special fares on the continent, because if you book London to Edinburgh or Paris to Marseilles looking to travel tomorrow because of a family emergency then you won't be getting any special deals, you will be paying top dollar.

€70 or €80 return if looking to travel in the next few days (or on a service for which there is high demand) strikes me as a fair price, not even close to a 'rip-off'.

To be fair booking online can be done up to one hour prior departure so even if it is a measily few euro you save it all adds up in recessionary times:D

Maybe people need to change their booking habits and book 3 or 4 weeks in advance and avail of fares like €20 return Killarney to Dublin.

Or alternatively not make false comparison (not you, other posters) to special fares on the continent, because if you book London to Edinburgh or Paris to Marseilles looking to travel tomorrow because of a family emergency then you won't be getting any special deals, you will be paying top dollar.

€70 or €80 return if looking to travel in the next few days (or on a service for which there is high demand) strikes me as a fair price, not even close to a 'rip-off'.

Its a train not a plane, travelling tomorrow should not make it more expensive than booking in three weeks time. If there is high demand there should be extra trains laid on to cope with demand, its public transport remember.

Anything over €45 to travel by train in Ireland is a rip-off when you compare the poor service available and length of time for such a small country. People like you just accept things like this is endemic and very reason Ireland is the mess it is in today. I'll wager a bet that you were also a Fianna Fail voter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

The rail prices are pretty ridiculous here. You could get return flights to Spain for that!

I was in Belgium last month, and they had a deal on that you could get return train tickets to anywhere else in Belgium for €15 during the summer. And their trains are clean!

.....but then he'd be in Spain?
    He wants to go to Dublin!

Its a train not a plane, travelling tomorrow should not make it more expensive than booking in three weeks time. If there is high demand there should be extra trains laid on to cope with demand, its public transport remember.

Well thats the European train pricing model which a few people have espoused. Book in advance = cheap, Walk Up fare = quite expensive.
    Anything over €45 to travel by train in Ireland is a rip-off when you compare the poor service available and length of time for such a small country. People like you just accept things like this is endemic and very reason Ireland is the mess it is in today. I'll wager a bet that you were also a Fianna Fail voter.

(No, generally always vote Fine Gael, but tactically voted Brian Lenihan in Dublin West last time to help prevent the left getting 3 seats. So you can hang me on that :))

Honestly don't see anything 'rip-off' with a €70/€80 fare for a 500 mile round trip; If I'm willing to book early and you wish to book late on a whim then I think its eminently fair and sensible that my ticket should be cheaper than yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

But then this is a social choice, should the wages be set by the market where they are not a livable wage to raise a family on... or should employees be given enough to have a happy content stable life?

Social choice?

It's funny that you use the word 'choice' to describe IR seeing as people have no choice but to subsidize their monopoly which is a no choice service.

Can you imagine if people had a choice about whether their taxes are spent on self-serving monopoly like IR?
    If you would like your taxes to go towards paying the wages and pensions of IR staff and the running of their service tick this box __

How many people would tick the box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

I dont get why people always knock IR, trains are usually clean,comfortable,services frequent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

First Class?