Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who uses knee/elbow pads for XC MTB'ing?

• 09-09-2011 9:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Looking to go up the mountains over coming weeks, was thinking about getting a set of soft pads for the elbows or knees, as pretty sure I'll take a few falls, everyone does really.

So who out there has some and what would be the recommeded pads, as want light enough pads for moderate use, so don't need hard cased ones.

There are so many types I've found after a few minutes of a search, for example:

661 veggie
    661 kyle strait
    Fox Launch Pro
    Alpinestars Morzine

Can someone give their twopence worth on what pads are better that others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Lawdie

I spin out with these on

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=28870

The good you mostly forget there on. Light, flexible good coverage on falls, I've tested both out pretty well.
    The bad, they can slid slightly as there is only one holding strap. Its not a major problem and the 2012 version has dual strap that should improve hold.

I don't know the other pads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

A total waste of money,for XC riding you dont need any protection.Better to join a club and get riding advice for free,rather than go on a trail as a goober with pads etc!!Ask yourself this,why dont experienced mtbers wear elbow pads???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭reallyunique

Joining a club is pretty good advice, if you can stand being in a club. Trails are hard to find on your own and it's also a dangerous sport (even XC can have it's moments). Turning up in pads is likely to generate a few laughs at your expense from the more experienced members but having other people to laugh at your injuries is a price worth paying if they'll also get you to hospital. So, in a club situation, don't wear pads. Remember, "It's the one who is different that get's left out in the cold".

XC means different things to different people. For me it's anything that requires pedaling uphill a lot but also includes going downhill too. If you like going down the other side on anything but neat trails then you may fall off and if you think you need pads then maybe you do, I don't know so I won't judge. Experienced mtbers don't wear pads 'cos they don't need them. If you are not experienced then all the "free advice" in the world won't stop you falling but trying things, making mistakes and learning at your own pace will help. If you're with a club just fall, take the pain/cuts etc and avoid the "gay" moniker (used at me and here as an example). If you decide to go up on your own then feel free to use pads and be a "goober".

When I tried taking jumps (very small ones!) and pretty much doing anything for the first time I went into the dirt a lot and it hurt. I'm not a proper or experienced mtber and hate MTB clubs (actually, I just hate being laughed at by experienced mtbers) so I go out on my own and wear pads (Roach Indy, not too hot and stay on well). Not every time, just when I want to do stuff where falling was assured.
    When you're doing a lot of climbing avoid leg pads, they can chafe, elbows are just about okay. When you feel like you're going to try something outside you're ability then get padded. Just do it when you're on your own.

Pads won't help if you try doing big stupid stuff and screw up. A broken collar bone or worse is no laughing matter so if you absolutely must go alone on a hill don't be a hero!
    Of course, this is not the opinion of an experienced off-road biker so take it with a pinch of salt and defer to wiser heads when they pitch in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

Turning up in pads is likely to generate a few laughs at your expense from the more experienced members..."It's the one who is different that get's left out in the cold"...avoid the "gay" moniker (used at me and here as an example). If you decide to go up on your own then feel free to use pads and be a "goober".
    I'm not a proper or experienced mtber and hate MTB clubs (actually, I just hate being laughed at by experienced mtbers) so I go out on my own

Wow, nice club :rolleyes:

To the OP - if wearing pads gives you a bit of extra confidence when hitting the trails for the first time, then by all means go for it. I know several excellent mtbers (some now racing at Elite level) who always wore pads when they started coming out on spins. Nobody cares - why should it bother anyone else what you wear? In time most of them stopped wearing them (decided themselves that the disadvantages overweighed the advantages) for general riding. That's your decision to make, based on your estimation of risk (which does change over time).

(and this isn't just because I'm selling some 661 Kyle Straits in the classifieds :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

As Morgan says wear them if you feel comfortable/safe ...... you'll probably give them up when you get more confident! In my experience Kyle Straits are the best compromise between protection and comfort!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

I have th Kyle Strait knee pads and they're excellent. Very comfy and they give an extra boost of confidence that when flying off the bike and hitting some rocks (Ticknock has plenty of that) your knee caps won't get shattered.

If by XC you mean trail riding and you're not a pro driver and care about your knees then by all means, get some pads and wear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭silvo

I wear knee and shin pads all the time offroad, both xc and dh. I have tried out lots of styles and find these the best for a combined knee and shin: http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=34195. They are hard cased but are very light and airy. If you are starting off I think it is definitely a good purchase. Down the line you might find that you don't need them, but to avoid chunks been taken out of your knees / legs at the start, I personally think they are a good investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭the Lamb Post

I've been biking off-road now for about 4 months. I started with a bike and a hydration pack and had no other specialised equipment.

After 2 spins I decided to get knee pads as I took a serious gash to the knee on my 2nd spin (landed on someone else's rear brake rotor). Got the knee and shin pads which have worked out well, but i am looking to change them now.

I thought i didn't really need the elbow pads until about 3 weeks ago when a completely harmless spill ended up badly bruising my elbow.

I'm not a member of a club but have been heading out with a few lads from a club, pretty much all of whom wear knee pads, and most wear elbow pads.

When asked if the pads are required the answer is usually "if you feel you need them. I have to to go to work in the morning and can't afford to be out with an injury that could be avoided."

Basically it's up to you whether you want to wear them or not.

I couldn't afford any of the POC or Kyle Strait so ended up getting these ones...
    http://http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=39501
    http://http://www.wiggle.co.uk/fox-launch-sport-kneeshin-guards-ss2011/

At this stage I'm now looking to change my knee pads over to these cause I feel the launch pads are just a bit too heavy.
    http://http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=39496

In 4 months I've seen a few spills that made me shudder, and until i feel experienced enough I know I won't be heading out without them.... I only hope you make the decision based on your own ability and not on the pettiness of a few people taking the p1ss ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

In my experience people start with pads and then at some stage they decide that the extra discomfort outweighs the benefits! Particularly if your riding tend to be longer, 3 or 4 hour spins! Oh ..... and Lycra and knee pads are always a definate "no no"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

reallyunique - that sounds like a really horrible club tbh, everyone has a little laugh when someone falls off but thats about it

as for pads, its a personal decision, i wear them when im by myself as i dont want to get badly hurt on a trail with no one around for miles, that and i like to crash....a lot :D

those kyle strait ones are meant to be very good mind you i havnt tried them yet, as for experienced riders not wearing them :confused: one of the most experienced guys in my club has decided to start wearing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 bikefan123

Thanks everyone for their contribution, plenty of diverse opinion there, a good read.

I'll have no problem wearing pads starting off, as prefer to get slagged rather than hurt :P, as said by one replier, I need to get up for work the next day, it is only a sport/hobby, to be enjoyed.

Safe cycling all!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭Polygon_window

A total waste of money,for XC riding you dont need any protection.Better to join a club and get riding advice for free,rather than go on a trail as a goober with pads etc!!Ask yourself this,why dont experienced mtbers wear elbow pads???

eh if the man/lady feels more confident in pads then go for it! And from what i see most club members are goobers but i prefer to say dipsticks!! avoid clubs unless of course you dont know where the trails are then maybe join for a couple of weeks, do escape though and avoid the dipsticks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭thehangtenguy

Ignore people who laugh at you, unfortunately the are in all walks of life. First off if you want to wear pads, do it. Personally i have never used them in 20 years of mtbing. Your starting out, so take your time in learning how to ride off road. You will fall but you will also learn how to fall. As mentioned before,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭davgtrek

have those kyle strait knee pads for 3 years and they are the best piece of kit i ever bought. fantastic. the big thing for me is that aside from the protection they keep your knees lovely and warm and thats the bizz.
    You'll ride faster and longer with warm knees.

Nobody gives a crap what you wear out on trails !!

elbow pads are defo handy as they do take a fair amount of small spills and falls and clip in flops etc. also pick up a pair of cheapish diy clear safety glasses. handy for eyes,flies etc.

enjoy xc it is great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

davgtrek wrote: »
    ... pick up a pair of cheapish diy clear safety glasses. handy for eyes,flies etc.

enjoy xc it is great craic.

Looks like I'm not the only one doing this :D
    My favorite model is this one:

http://www.homebase.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?langId=110&storeId=10151&partNumber=753311

Initially bought them for my DIY endeavors but found them fantastic on the bike. They do a very good job on the trails and in the city by keeping all sorts of stuff out of my eyes (mostly mud, small rocks and flies). And the best point of them - they are a lot cheaper than most cycling glasses around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

On this subject, what's the story with sizing for them? The Kyle Straits go up to 18", but my legs are beyond that? Any suggestions for bigger sized pads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭the magician

On this subject, what's the story with sizing for them? The Kyle Straits go up to 18", but my legs are beyond that? Any suggestions for bigger sized pads?

The XL kyle straits should fit you my legs are a good bit bigger and they fit perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Kyle Straits all the way. I bought them to replace another pair of knee and shins guards I used for downhilling. They are so comfortable I use them for xc now aswell.

Most of the injuries I have come across recently have been dh lads binning themselves on xc spins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Ah_go_on

Joining a club is pretty good advice, if you can stand being in a club. Trails are hard to find on your own and it's also a dangerous sport (even XC can have it's moments). Turning up in pads is likely to generate a few laughs at your expense from the more experienced members but having other people to laugh at your injuries is a price worth paying if they'll also get you to hospital. So, in a club situation, don't wear pads. Remember, "It's the one who is different that get's left out in the cold".

XC means different things to different people. For me it's anything that requires pedaling uphill a lot but also includes going downhill too. If you like going down the other side on anything but neat trails then you may fall off and if you think you need pads then maybe you do, I don't know so I won't judge. Experienced mtbers don't wear pads 'cos they don't need them. If you are not experienced then all the "free advice" in the world won't stop you falling but trying things, making mistakes and learning at your own pace will help. If you're with a club just fall, take the pain/cuts etc and avoid the "gay" moniker. When you feel like you're going to try something outside you're ability then get padded. Just do it when you're on your own.

What sort of advice is that?? Sorry but u are talking thru ur hole. Wear pads when ur on ur own??? Ur gay if u wear pads??? Senior club members will laugh at you???

OP pad up and enjoy ur ride. Don't listen to eejits like this who don't know what they are talking about. Pick up any Mtb magazine and ul see plenty of non lycra clad xc'ers wit knee pads and camelbaks. This type of ****e talk is starting to remind me of roadies wit their silly and snobby rules of etiquette