Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

world 100km championships

• 09-09-2011 4:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭

this is on tomorrow,ireland have a strong team taking part,john oregan,keith whyte,john byrne,martin rea,chris o neill,daniel doherty...updates here if any one interested.http://www.runwinschoten.nl/,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

daniel doherty 14th place 7:08:7
    chris o neill... 32nd place 7:33:24
    john byrne 82nd 8:21:46
    john o regan...108th place 8:43
    marty rea and keith whyte out with injuries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭ElectraX

And the Irish team ranked seven overall, great result!There really is not nearly enough coverage in the Irish media of the sports that we actually perform well at internationally!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

How did the women's team get on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Some incredibly good running from the lads there. Irish ultrarunning has never been in better shape. That's the second time this year that Thomas's 100km Irish record has been given a good rattle. Daniel is a phenomenally good runner, and still getting better. I'm hugely impressed with Chris's time as well. He is another runner who has improved by a massive amount in the last few years.

We now have 3 runners who look like they're capable of breaking the 7 hour barrier for 100km, and another group not too far behind. It feels like its a matter of time before we have a male individual or team joining Helena Crossan in getting on the podium at an international ultrarunning championship (She has 2 podiums to her credit)

Sorry forgive me but only just got to check the Windshoten website. Great times posted by the Irish taking part.

Did notice no women or female team which made me wonder. So checked and saw there was none for the trail champs in connamara either??? So Irish Ultra running can't be in great shape if we are unable to field a team on home soil??? This despite some promising female times in the Connamarra Ultra and the Belfast 24hr.

As for seven hour 100k men's times. Very impressive. I hope those with injuries return to fitness soon.

Well zupppy, given that you seemed to be perfectly aware about the fact that there was no ladies team in the world trail championships I'm surprised that you had to go and look it up again. Have you got some sort of agenda going? Feel free to come straight out with it, rather than trying to contaminate treads congratulating the great performances of the Irish team. If there is someone who you think should be selected then tell her that she just has to get in contact with us and let us know that she is interested, and let us know what her relevant qualifying times are (Qualification standards to be selected for the Irish 100km team for a world champs are the international B standards).

The Irish Female ultra-running is in great shape. that is, unless you think that Helena's Silver at the world trail champs in 2007, and her bronze at the European 100km in 2009 aren't good enough for you. She's injured at the moment, but no doubt she will be back and hopefully we can look forward to more world class running from her.

The recent performances from the belfast 24 hour race are more relevant to 24 hour racing than 100km (strangely enough). I think we can look forward to Ireland having a female representative at the next 24 hour world champs for the first time next year.

Of course, the world trail champs in Connemara which you highlighted are yet another illustration of just how well Irish ultrarunning is doing. That was the second world championship event hosted by ultrarunning Ireland. The IAU were so impressed by the standard of the race organisation that they awarded their order of merit to Richard and Paul Donovan. That's impressive stuff (and well deserved).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Is Helena injured again? Thought she was back racing a couple of months ago or did I imagine it? :confused:

I will of course go back and look at that again enduro. Thanks for pointing that out. As for your claim of 'contaminating' threads, I in no way want you to feel threatened, so let me AGAIN say very impressed by the lads team and their running.

My point was simply that running events, or not, does not speak to the state of ultra running in this country. But your right, a chat for a diffent thread.

Well done to the team. And I look forward to seeing them compete again.

Is Helena injured again? Thought she was back racing a couple of months ago or did I imagine it? :confused:

Helena is back running, but doesn't regard herself as ready to do justice in an ultramarathon, such is her standard. She ran a 2:57 marathon a few weeks ago but won't be in a position to attempt an ultra until next year.