Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Outrage Joe! Talk talk staff given a months notice

• 08-09-2011 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭

What's your view on the closure of talk talk? Can't believe the fuss that's being made over this one company in the media. Surely a month was enough notice to be given to the staff working there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

What's your view on the closure of talk talk? Can't believe the fuss that's being made over this one company in the media. Surely a month was enough notice to be given to the staff working there.
    Haven't heard anyone giving out about how much notice they had. 575 jobs is a lot though. Surely they could have had a bit more notice if that many jobs are going!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Is a month long enough for you to go a get a bit of empathy?

Put another way, whose side are you on? The money grabbing and petty politicos or decent human beings we saw on last nights news? How low will you go? Is there no one unfortunate enough to evade snide self serving remarks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I think you're a bit harsh OP

Lets hope for you similar doesn't happen in Wickla

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

You havent a clue what your talking about. 4 weeks? For the years people put in. As if a huge company like that, didnt have this planned months in advance.
    Coming up to the christmas time.
    This is the same company that closed the plant down in Sligo aswell.

Its a joke.

The media knew about this before some employees.

Classic sh1t from a sh1t company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭INEEDANID

Over 500 jobs is a lot to be gone. OP you should grown up!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yes it is enough notice.

But for a town like Waterford to lose 600 jobs, it's a pretty big deal. After the loss of Waterford Crystal a couple of years back, it's another huge employer gone from the area.

To put it in context, about 1% of Waterford County's total workforce (~45,000 people) were employed by TalkTalk.

In scale/impact terms on the local area it would be like Intel shutting down their Leixlip plant with a month's notice and leaving 5,000 people unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Month's notice is grand time to find another job right? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Ah now, whatever about the closure etc... It's the start of September, it's not coming up to feckin xmas. Can I at least get my halloween over and done with before we start this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

OP - I think you've got a serious amount of egg on your face over this one.

Way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

NothingMan wrote: »
    Ah now, whatever about the closure etc... It's the start of September, it's not coming up to feckin xmas. Can I at least get my halloween over and done with before we start this.

Guaranteed you will see Christmas shops opening up before halloween this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Month's notice is grand time to find another job right? :rolleyes:

With 450.000 out of a job i think a notice time of 5 years might be too short in a lot of cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Think more people were p1ssed off that RTE announced it before any of the staff were told..

Its a lot of jobs to go in one area.. Feel sorry for the folks down there.. Not a position id like to be in right now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,731 ✭✭✭✭Penn

The trouble isn't just those 575 jobs, it's the knock-on effect it has throughout that whole community. Not only will those people have less money to spend in local businesses, but what about businesses which relied on TalkTalk? For example, any stationary company which TalkTalk used now loses one of their biggest companies, any local delis or takeaways now lose a lot of their lunchtime trade.

A few months ago when a large company went under, they owed a lot of money to a company we do a lot of work for, which means work we were relying on had to be scaled back.

575 jobs gone in one place has a huge impact.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

While there is a lot of fuss being made over some of the details that don't really matter, I think you have to realise that many of the staff will be quite shocked and won't be putting a lot of effort into objectively critiquing their arguments before making them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Worked in similar sized companies before (and larger). Do people honestly believe a huge company like this are going to give you more than you're entitlements? 600 jobs is big news for sure but the real anger and outrage people are showing talk talk is OTT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

It's sh1t for them and the rest of Waterford, the knock on effect will be massive.

Sure the Government will come out today or tomorrow and announce 50 jobs somwhere up the arse of the country to balance the media loss of 570 jobs :mad::mad:

Some people found out by logging into Facebook. I mean, come on

And remember they are Carphone Warehouse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

well ya? it will be late October when they are let go...so ya...coming upto Christmas is a fair point to make.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

vicwatson wrote: »
    Some people found out by logging into Facebook. I mean, come on

That is so bad, I am speechless.

Only hearing about this now. Bad news alright.

And OP - you should be ashamed of yourself. Let's hope you are never in a situation like this, hey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Putting the humans behinds the jobs feelings behind,the contrast of running costs-
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/talk-talk-600-jobs-go-to-asia-where-wages-are-90-pc-lower-2870610.html
    Their work will be switched to the Philippines and India, where customer service agents earn less than €2,400 a year.
    Staff in the Waterford centre, which employs 575 people, have been earning up to €30,000 a year doing the same job.
    This works out at an average difference of around €80 a day for each worker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

They'll probably outsource the lot to Mumbai the same as 11850 directory enquiries did a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Given that Talk Talk are a British company you can be sure that they were given a big incentive to 'move home'.On the other hand how would we feel if the ESB or Bord Gais had 600 people employed in a call centre in England given we are all fcuked for jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

mikemac wrote: »
    Lets hope for you similar doesn't happen in Wickla

It has, and it happened on about four times this scale, and about two years before this recession talk, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Putting the humans behinds the jobs feelings behind,the contrast of running costs-
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/talk-talk-600-jobs-go-to-asia-where-wages-are-90-pc-lower-2870610.html

"Staff had recently been sent to train workers in foreign call centres -- before being told their own jobs were being cut."

They had far more then a months notice then. Even if it wasn't explicitly said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

You havent a clue what your talking about. 4 weeks? For the years people put in. As if a huge company like that, didnt have this planned months in advance.

Its a joke.

The employees will have a condition on the amount of notice they are due in the event of forced unemployment. If it says 8 weeks, and they only got 4, they will be paid for 8 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

When they announced the closure of the Sligo operations in Nov 2009, 6 months notice was given and 160 jobs lost. Everyone thought that was short notice but to give 575 people a month is a spit in the face to their employees.

Of course you have Kenny and Gilmore feigning shock at the short notice saying the company didn't give the Government time to look at options. There's only so many ways you can scratch your hole Enda and do nothing. The fact that the company gave details to the Government yesterday morning about the announcement and some wannabe journalist/showoff in the Dept leaked it to the media so Staff heard about losing their jobs on the news before Management could tell them is another prime example of the "great job" the Government are doing on the jobs front.

Anyway OP, theres too much anger and outrage???? There's not nearly enough of it IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I don't know... If I was given a few months notice that I was been made redundant I don't know if I would still be as enthusiastic or as motivated to do my job. Maybe that was the employers concern. I don't think any level of notice would help in the current environment either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Undercover_

I feel so bad for all of the people working there. Ive never been in the situation thank god, but I know from growing up in Donegal the impact that such a big loss in a small community has on everyone.

I work in a call centre however and it wouldnt have been feasible to give more than a month's notice, the disgruntled (understandably) emplyees will be on the phones to the customers for the next month, and who could blame them for not doing their best during this time and potentially causing major problems to the company's reputation

Im suprised in fact that they didnt have the other operation all ready to go and paid them their month's notice rather than taking the risk of letting them loose on the customers during this difficult time.

The practicalities dont take away from the awful shock though- my thoughts go out to them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

At the end of the day, whether notice is 1 month or 6, the outcome is the same.

The problem is that the country is still expecting to get out of a recession without creating a single job. That isn't going to happen, so these kind of closures are going to continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

All the anger and rage doesn't matter an iota. Talk talk don't give a flying you know what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

At the end of the day, whether notice is 1 month or 6, the outcome is the same.

The problem is that the country is still expecting to get out of a recession without creating a single job. That isn't going to happen, so these kind of closures are going to continue.

The problem is also that our minimum wage is too high.
    We're not competitive enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

"Staff had recently been sent to train workers in foreign call centres -- before being told their own jobs were being cut."

They had far more then a months notice then. Even if it wasn't explicitly said.

Which is even more disrespectful to the employees here. Communication re the layoffs should have been upfront and honest before training foreign workers.

mathie wrote: »
    The problem is also that our minimum wage is too high.
    We're not competitive enough.

I hate hearing this. Will it be you who volunteers to work in your current position for €4.50 an hour? ''We'' have many problems. The minimum wage being cut won't solve even most of them. It may make things worse if we do cut it.

No I won't volunteer as I'm a skilled worker.

It's all relative.
    Not just the minimum wage needs to be lowered but the higher and all wages too.
    Once wages come down prices of goods and services can too.

It's all about being competetive and we are nowhere near that.

Take a look at ESB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

If only it were that simple.

Caoimhín wrote: »

Yeah I'd agree.

The damage done by benchmarking and inflated wages in the boom times is still haunting us.

Caoimhín wrote: »

I don't see how it is any more complicated than that, but we'll be an awful long time getting there for as long as we are still giving our chief bean counter a 700k handshake on his retirement day and giving 11k Rolex watches to the guys behind the banking policies that have caused our whole economy to collapse.

The thinking, the mindsets and the decisions that we need to get in place in order to start fixing things in this country and first of all stop losing jobs, let alone start creating them, we are a universe away from doing what is required. It's mind boggling how far away we are from the necessary actions to fix things in this place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

err, yeah it is, christmas rush starts in late october, thats just over a month away.

its 16 weeks to christmas, it'll be here before you know it, those peoples finances are probably ****ed until the new year, christmas temp jobs will be like gold dust in Waterford now with an extra 600 people looking for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Its a joke.

Only just over a year ago as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Guaranteed you will see Christmas shops opening up before halloween this year

Brown Thomas have all the Decor for Christmas up. No NAMA there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

krudler wrote: »
    err, yeah it is, christmas rush starts in late october, thats just over a month away.

its 16 weeks to christmas, it'll be here before you know it, those peoples finances are probably ****ed until the new year, christmas temp jobs will be like gold dust in Waterford now with an extra 600 people looking for work.

I'm not saying they won't be struggling financially over xmas because of this. Obviously a lot will but it's September. Tacking on the extra guilt of sacking them when it's "coming up to xmas" is just pulling emotional heart strings to make it seem like talk talk are that bit more evil. This could have happened at any time of year and EARLY September is not even close to "coming up to xmas" in my opinion.

I still think a months notice is way too short for announcing that kind of scenario but leave xmas out of it, it's feckin miles off. Yes it might be here before I know it, but it'll seem all the more quickly if everyone thinks it starts in September. Years are going too fast as it is, I'm 26 now ffs, I don't have that many left :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

it's not just the loss of jobs at talk talk, it's the all over effect of the job losses from the biggest employers down here, it's genuinely not an over reaction. My sister worked there for 9 years, no one knew until yesterday when they got an email at 11, there was shock at how it ocurred. My brother was employed in waterford crystal until it went bust and my other sister in Teva and it melted too. Waterford City is practically dying on it's feet, these were the biggest employers in the area and there's very little left to sustain the workforce here, there was little or no intervention from any govt dept, little media attention at the time given to the state of affairs down here and it has left the south east with disproportional unemployment figures to the rest of the country. It's just a backwater where issues are swept under the carpet and forgotten about. People are píssed off.

Create jobs? Out of what? We have nothing to offer the world. We rely on the largesse of American multinationals for one thing and guess what not a single job was created in the USA in the month of August, not one.

People are talking here and elsewhere like there is a jobs factory spitting out jobs, there's not.

Knowledge economy don't make me ****ing laugh. Our 'knowledge economy' can be more accurately described as a lemming economy with one tom after another running into yellow pack courses in IT's to become IT techs or 'engineers'. If that sounds like snobbery I'm sorry but I right. You simply cannot expect to lead the field producing people who got in to collge on sub 300 points and no second level fine tuning in your education path. I would have waltzed into computers or engineering on my LC points and I passed pass maths and quit TD at junior cert level. Ireland needs to get a ****ing grip and realise that we are a tiny ill prepared market in a massive ocean of global unemployment. we no longer have a comparative advantage, we are not cheap labour, we are not a very well educated nation (one University in the top 200), we offer a global mobile world nothing.

I don't see how it is any more complicated than that, but we'll be an awful long time getting there for as long as we are still giving our chief bean counter a 700k handshake on his retirement day and giving 11k Rolex watches to the guys behind the banking policies that have caused our whole economy to collapse.

The thinking, the mindsets and the decisions that we need to get in place in order to start fixing things in this country and first of all stop losing jobs, let alone start creating them, we are a universe away from doing what is required. It's mind boggling how far away we are from the necessary actions to fix things in this place...

I've been hearing this argument siince the mid nineties when big manufacturing companies located here. Costs suddenly became ''an issue'' and it seems to me nothing was ever done about it.

Everytime I hear someone talk about this subject I tell them that some of the biggest factories in the world opperate in countries where the cost of land and labour are relatively high. I'd advise the Taoiseach to take a trip to Japan where rates of productivity are high along with the cost off doing business.

Japan values itself, it's people more than we do. That's the differrence IMO.

Kanoe wrote: »
    it's not just the loss of jobs at talk talk, it's the all over effect of the job losses from the biggest employers down here, it's genuinely not an over reaction. My sister worked there for 9 years, no one knew until yesterday when they got an email at 11, there was shock at how it ocurred. My brother was employed in waterford crystal until it went bust and my other sister in Teva and it melted too. Waterford City is practically dying on it's feet, these were the biggest employers in the area and there's very little left to sustain the workforce here, there was little or no intervention from any govt dept, little media attention at the time given to the state of affairs down here and it has left the south east with disproportional unemployment figures to the rest of the country. It's just a backwater where issues are swept under the carpet and forgotten about. People are píssed off.

One quick point about Waterford, it is a town riddled with socialists and unions, neither conducive to retaining jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Ignoring the OP's original inflammatory question for a moment - because of course I would have a lot of sympathy for the staff who are being made redundant. I do find it somewhat strange however that the media tend to focus on certain company closure and ignore others - it seems to have more to do with the brand recognition of the company concerned than with the number of staff involved.
    For example, I worked for a large multi-national engineering consultancy up until last year. Over the course of about 6 months they let well over 400 people go - I was one of them.
    We only got statutory redundancy payments (the scabby b@stards), but I never heard a thing about it on tv/radio or read any articles in newspapers. Contrast this with the amount of media coverage given to the 'Talk Talk' closure.

I think it's strange that these different criteria seem to apply to what the media deem as newsworthy - at the end of the day, the effects on the economy as a whole is pretty much the same from these 2 scenarios.

Ignoring the OP's original inflammatory question for a moment - because of course I would have a lot of sympathy for the staff who are being made redundant. I do find it somewhat strange however that the media tend to focus on certain company closure and ignore others - it seems to have more to do with the brand recognition of the company concerned than with the number of staff involved.
    For example, I worked for a large multi-national engineering consultancy up until last year. Over the course of about 6 months they let well over 400 people go - I was one of them.
    We only got statutory redundancy payments (the scabby b@stards), but I never heard a thing about it on tv/radio or read any articles in newspapers. Contrast this with the amount of media coverage given to the 'Talk Talk' closure.

I think it's strange that these different criteria seem to apply to what the media deem as newsworthy - at the end of the day, the effects on the economy as a whole is pretty much the same from these 2 scenarios.

If that company was in a region with high employment then it might slip under the radar. Waterford would be a vulnerable region and 600 odd jobs would he huge.

I see you point, by the way I'm just being polemical.

Create jobs? Out of what? We have nothing to offer the world. We rely on the largesse of American multinationals for one thing and guess what not a single job was created in the USA in the month of August, not one.

People are talking here and elsewhere like there is a jobs factory spitting out jobs, there's not

I was on the dole until recently, 6 months ago I started up my own business (web based business), and I haven't looked back since.

But getting that small amount of seed capital to get started, I had every door slammed in my face. I can tell you from experience that in this country, you get more thanks for staying on the dole. Every state agency that is meant to be helping people like me, be it FAS, the County Enterprise Boards, Enterprise Ireland, and the rest of then, are filled to the ceiling with civil servant minded "for the file", paperpushing obstructionist PR*CKS, who only clock in every day to get paid their Croke Park protected salaries.

If you want to start a business in this backwater kip and get yourself off the dole, be prepared to fight every government agency above and the w*nkers that work in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

One quick point about Waterford, it is a town riddled with socialists and unions, neither conducive to retaining jobs.
    as far as I'm aware most of the employees in Talk talk aren't members of any union.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

paperpushing obstructionist PR*CKS, who only clock in every day to get paid their Croke Park protected salaries.
    Agreed,cuts must start from the top,but there's so many terms and conditions in contracts going back years it would probably take a another lifetime before its ever even between some sections of pub/priv sector,also the problem lies most of those elected are part of the sector so no-one is going to break the ranks in reforming.

But also our problem lies within the euro,before we joined it we had a lot of good manufacturing companies which took advantage of the then low wages/corporation tax in europe,but since we joined and strangled with the euro we cant afford to do much,even england recently had power to briefly devalue their currency to try and kick-start the country.

i only think most companies are staying here for tax reasons,nothing else really to stop them moving abroad and getting the local non college/uni educated villagers to assemble/service goods.