Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waiting to hear, appropriate to contact?

• 06-09-2011 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭

So I was 99.9% certain I'd gotten a job after 2 interviews. The manager/boss even told me about my uniform, how I could have this or that day off as I had appointments to keep, my potential start date etc and said he'd let me know today.
    But no word.
    EVERYTHING is hanging on this job as I've been unemployed for 9 mths and he knows if I do get the job that I'll be going back to college part time too.
    So do you think it's appropriate if I call or email him tomorrow just to see if he'd made a decision, or what the feckin story is basically...or is it just a matter of waiting.
    Other jobs I applied for I ended up emailing to see if they'd decided on holding interviews etc and only then was told any decisions.

Heads wrecked.
    Really want this job! What do ye reckon?
    Doolee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I'd give it another couple of days. As frustrating as it is, there's usually a bit of paperwork that needs doing before they can formalise things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 BettyBop1234

I'd give it another couple of days and then possibly ring and ask if there was any decision made on the job yet.

I'm in the same boat at the moment, been looking for a job all summer and going back to college in a week or two. Eventually got an interview about 3 and a half weeks ago at this stage. The woman was v. nice and like you, made it out as if I got the job.

I had brought my CV to the interview for her to look through and at the end of the interview she basically told me that I could probably throw that CV out because by the looks of it I wouldn't be needing it again for a long while? She was telling me what hours I would be working and like you, what my uniform would be like. And as I was leaving she said she would definitely be in contact with me regarding the job.

Do you think I heard anything back? NO! I mean really you'd think someone would have the decency to at least ring to explain you were unsuccessful? I know it's only a part time job but when you go to the trouble to go to an interview it's nice to be told whether you got it or not instead of sitting around waiting and wondering if you got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Doolee

I'd give it another couple of days and then possibly ring and ask if there was any decision made on the job yet.

I'm in the same boat at the moment, been looking for a job all summer and going back to college in a week or two. Eventually got an interview about 3 and a half weeks ago at this stage. The woman was v. nice and like you, made it out as if I got the job.

I had brought my CV to the interview for her to look through and at the end of the interview she basically told me that I could probably throw that CV out because by the looks of it I wouldn't be needing it again for a long while? She was telling me what hours I would be working and like you, what my uniform would be like. And as I was leaving she said she would definitely be in contact with me regarding the job.

Do you think I heard anything back? NO! I mean really you'd think someone would have the decency to at least ring to explain you were unsuccessful? I know it's only a part time job but when you go to the trouble to go to an interview it's nice to be told whether you got it or not instead of sitting around waiting and wondering if you got it.

Yeah, its just hard as everything seems to take soooooo long. They shouldn't say things like that; you not needing the cv anymore etc or give false hope. If I was you though I'd be ringing. Three and half weeks is way to long. It sort of stops you looking seriously for other jobs when you think you have one on the cards I find.

Give them a call/email for sure. I've my fingers crossed for you;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

id wait until monday to call / email about an answer. email to thank them for the interview if you wish but dont pressure them

there could be 1000 reasons for the delay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 BettyBop1234

Doolee wrote: »

Yeah, its just hard as everything seems to take soooooo long. They shouldn't say things like that; you not needing the cv anymore etc or give false hope. If I was you though I'd be ringing. Three and half weeks is way to long. It sort of stops you looking seriously for other jobs when you think you have one on the cards I find.

Give them a call/email for sure. I've my fingers crossed for you;)

I've kinda given up hope at this stage, I've figured if they haven't rang me at this stage then I obviously didn't get the job:( annoying all the same when ur left waiting!

Had hope during the first 2 weeks I'd get a call but at this stage it's looking unlikely :( hopefully it won't be the same for you anyway:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I've kinda given up hope at this stage, I've figured if they haven't rang me at this stage then I obviously didn't get the job:( annoying all the same when ur left waiting!

Don't give up just yet, my boss told me he'd ring on the wednesday and I had to call him on the Friday just to find out what the craic was! Sometimes they just get caught up in stuff and especially if they've made up their minds they're hiring you. Sit tight and call tomorrow afternoon if you've heard nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭ourtrail

Im in the same boat! Had 2 interviews and was sent then forward to meet the company director (to get his stamp of approval the general manager said) that meeting was a week ago, was told I would know by last Friday or early this week. Running out of hope now, would like to think even if I am not successful they will let me know but I know that is increasingly not the case with companies these days.

You wouldn't believe how slow things can move in a company. Time tends to pass far more slowly for the candidate than the employer! Don't abandon all hope just yet.

ourtrail wrote: »
    Im in the same boat! Had 2 interviews and was sent then forward to meet the company director (to get his stamp of approval the general manager said) that meeting was a week ago, was told I would know by last Friday or early this week. Running out of hope now, would like to think even if I am not successful they will let me know but I know that is increasingly not the case with companies these days.

God it's painful! Waiting is like pulling teeth! I can understand big companies taking longer but mine was only in a particular type of shop so a good sized company but not an office job type thingy. I dunno. It's bad company practice I think. If I can pluck up the courage I'm going to ring tomorrow. It's kind of a right I think?!

Fingers crossed for everyone in the same boat tho!

im in the same boat.

goodluck to you

I know, the wait is incredibly painful especially as I really want this job! Best of luck Doolee and make sure to let us know if you do hear anything! :)

Took the bull by the horns, along with everyone tormenting me to ring them, so I did. He's getting back to me later today!!!
    Hopes are sky high again as it sounds like it's between me and another.

I'm keeping myself busy for the next 7 hrs, moving house-gym-viewing a place-not checking phone is working every 5 seconds!

Might be worth a call to those of you in the queue. Was brickin it but glad now either way :&

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I once was told that some companies delay that call or message on purpose. Just to see how eager you are to work them and whether you will contact them.
    I can imagine they would do that now more than before, because they have much more people to choose from.

The moment to give them that call is a bit of a hard choice to make but after a week/10 days i would certainly give them a call.

I had to make that call only once but in that same call i got confirmation that the job was mine...

I got the phone call today, my lack of experience in one particular area concerns them so they are looking at other candidates but not by any means ruling me out! I won't hold my breath haha but glad the wait is over.

I got the job!!! He rang me back Friday evening and offered it! So between that, going back to college part time for the next 3 years im starting off on my career change at long last!

Thrilled:))))

Doolee wrote: »
    I got the job!!! He rang me back Friday evening and offered it! So between that, going back to college part time for the next 3 years im starting off on my career change at long last!

Thrilled:))))

Yay congrats!

Congrats Doolee! Best of luck with it.