Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4x4 for 10-12k

• 06-09-2011 7:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭

Husband is looking to sell his 2007 Golf TDI and doesn't want to spend too much on top of that.

Looking for a 4x4 with a bit of space (babies, buggies and 4 dogs!) - front runners at the moment are the xtrail and rav4. Anything else he should be looking at? Any others I've come across in this price bracket are a good bit older or have huge mileage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

kia sorento , nissan pathfinder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭sept09baby

Would love a pathfinder but don't think we'll get a decent one at that price :confused:

Cant search for 4x4 on most of the sites so seem to be trawling through pages of 2WD SUVs and getting confused :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

2005-2006 Honda CR-V?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Honda/CR-V/CR-V-SR-/201135204230837/advert?channel=CARS

For a couple of grand more you might get an early 3rd generation 2007 model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Subaru Outback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭sept09baby

Lovely car but hard to come by in that price range :mad:

Still have to sell the Golf so you never know - one might come up soon. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Suzuki Grand Vitara:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201115201968692

Has the same 1.9 TDi engine as in your Golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Just bought a Citroen C-crosser like this one lately. Too soon to tell you how good or bad it is. Bought it a lot cheaper that a similar one on Carzone. 2.2 diesel so tax will be a bit higher.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Citroen/C-Crosser/201131203738377/advert?channel=CARS

T.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Some of the earlier model Pathfinders had a very low n cap rating... Subaru would be my choice as Anan said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 2angelsdh

I've an 08 pathfinder. It's a great bus, seven seats auto sat nav etc. they are €65k new but shed most of their value in 3/4 years. i bought mine for 24k in June and i've done 20k on it since with no hassle. the biggest thing for me is the fuel consumption - i can do 680 klm to €100 worth of fuel. In a 2.5l diesel auto 3 tonne seven seater !!

I've loads of experience of 4x4's and one piece of advice is reliability , land rovers etc are crap. land cruisers never sold as passangers and are 3 litre so mega road tax, same with mitsubishi etc and the power and consumption is nowhere near as manageable as the pathfinder as they are 6 cylinder engines. running cost can be enormous on some 4x4's so watch out. For me its only Pathfinder or Volvo xc90. Pathfinder won on specs vs cost.

When i was buying i looked at 05 / 06 high miler pathfinders and volvo's to see how they age, they seem to be fine mechanically and build wise even with 100,000 miles on them.

Dont mind the n-cap rating, the 5th star is for pedestrian safety, 4x4's will never score well there.

Carzone is dear for pathfinders, the same model as mine is on there in nissan dealers for 30k, i got mine from a garage for 24k.

for 10- 12 k i'd go for an old Volvo xc90, Great car, good tax, superb reliability and very easy to live with and will always re sell even with high mileage. Get a diesel though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Woofstuff

2angelsdh wrote: »
    the biggest thing for me is the fuel consumption - i can do 680 klm to €100 worth of fuel. In a 2.5l diesel auto 3 tonne seven seater !!

Thats slightly better than i was getting in my last car a mk4 1.6petrol golf:D although that was mainly around dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

I' - i can do 680 klm to €100 worth of fuel. In a 2.5l diesel auto 3 tonne seven seater !!

Are you sure.. That's *about* 40mpg

Ignore, i'm a twit.

Kilometers != miles

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Subaru Forrester.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

h3000 wrote: »
    Are you sure.. That's *about* 40mpg

i think thats about 27.5mpg... 680km = 422miles according to google.

€100 of diesel @ €1.42 per litre would be about 70litres..

MPG Calculator http://www.torquecars.com/tools/uk-mpg-calculator.php

h3000 wrote: »
    Are you sure.. That's about 40mpg

apologies, my last reciept was 111, for 77 litres of fuel. in klms it averages 10.5l / 100 klm according to the info screen.

Now before you all say im spoofing, i rarely drive in the city and the nature of my job sees hours spent on the motorways with cruise on so i presume im pretty much running at the lightest possible consumption. i also carry no weight ( except the beer belly !! ) and would be a 'smooth' driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Woofstuff wrote: »
    i think thats about 27.5mpg... 680km = 422miles according to google.

€100 of diesel @ €1.42 per litre would be about 70litres..

MPG Calculator http://www.torquecars.com/tools/uk-mpg-calculator.php
    apologies, my last reciept was 111, for 77 litres of fuel. in klms it averages 10.5l / 100 klm according to the info screen.

Now before you all say im spoofing, i rarely drive in the city and the nature of my job sees hours spent on the motorways with cruise on so i presume im pretty much running at the lightest possible consumption. i also carry no weight ( except the beer belly !! ) and would be a 'smooth' driver.

Oh yeah kilometers I forgot about those things :o .

I think I'll go back to my beer and stop talking.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

sounds well believable.. 77 litres would change my calculation to 25mpg.. 10.5l/100km is 26.90 mpg i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

be careful with the xtrail 2.2 td...turbos are prone to failure...ive just had to fix mine
    nissan wanted 1370 plus vat plus my old turbo...robbing feckers
    got a recon instead..

sounds well believable.. 77 litres would change my calculation to 25mpg.. 10.5l/100km is 26.90 mpg i think

Either way i'm a happy camper. I had a mazda 6 1.8 previously and the pathy does pretty much the same.

prior to that i had a mazda 3 mps which if you gave it the beans it would empty a tank between kinnegead and athlone !!

26.90 mpg is the business for me !!

I dont think manual in a 4x4 is a great idea anyway it gives no benefit when towing and unless you really know what your doing you could hammer your fuel. the nature of 4x4 is that the vehicle doesn't lend its self to car like driving therefore your are better off just relaxing and accepting that your not getting there as quick as a car. Auto gearboxes all the way for me !!

oops, we've gone a bit off topic !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Is 25mpg that good for a diesel SUV on motorway driving? On motorway trips I've averaged 20.7mpg on a RR 4.2 petrol.

Marcusm wrote: »
    Is 25mpg that good for a diesel SUV on motorway driving? On motorway trips I've averaged 20.7mpg on a RR 4.2 petrol.

you can get it to 9l / 100 if your are under 100k's but my cruise on the m/way is usually 130- 140k so deffo good consumption considering. Its also shaped liked a lego brick !

4.2 petrol rangey !! god you must own an oil producing country !! I had a loan one for a day a few years ago, superb machine to drive, but i kept wanting to hear the V8 Snarl so only averaged 6mpg driving it abusively !!