Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft tralee?

• 06-09-2011 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭

hey guys and gals, just started looking at this and it looks like a fun sport, is there anything around Tralee Co. Kerry for it? was looking at a thread that had some sort of tralee based club any info? dont know much about this sport tbh is it like paintball? do the bb's hurt to any degree? used have little plastic bb guns when i was young, brought them over from spain at the time (probably not legal btw :D) but they where cheap things and fell apart on me, are these sport grade guns good quality?

any info would be great lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Salaas

you'd be best to look at South West Airsoft Tralee for a site.
    Their online site is not loading atm.

The 'Sport grade airsoft guns' are miles better quality than the cheap spring ones you'd have gotten. *I still have the one I got in Spain*
    Think of the difference as having driving a clapped out Punto and then hopping into a DB9.

I do recommend contacting the site and seeing do they do a open day and going on that so you get to see how the game goes without splashing out and finding its not the thing for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭T4RGET

like Salaas said i would highly recommend you rent for a day first, get a few mates together and go up for a day, see what you think. if you like it welcome to airsoft and prepare to spend money the airsoft rifle :P :rolleyes::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

T4RGET wrote: »
    like Salaas said i would highly recommend you rent for a day first, get a few mates together and go up for a day, see what you think. if you like it welcome to airsoft and prepare to spend money the airsoft rifle :P :rolleyes::)

after taking up cycling im well used of expensive hobbies :D tried to go to that tralee site but it wouldnt load for me :( ive done paintballing a ton of times and loved it (except for the lack of accuracy in the guns) are they very similar? i take it the bb's dont hurt as much as a paint ball? will definitely try and get a small group together and try it, one thing is South West Airsoft Tralee just a shop for buying stuff or is it an actual place where you can go and do some matches etc. ?

thanks for the help guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭chili_fecker

It's a site just outside Blennerville. Haven't gone there myself. I think it's run on a disused farm.

after taking up cycling im well used of expensive hobbies :D tried to go to that tralee site but it wouldnt load for me :( ive done paintballing a ton of times and loved it (except for the lack of accuracy in the guns) are they very similar? i take it the bb's dont hurt as much as a paint ball? will definitely try and get a small group together and try it, one thing is South West Airsoft Tralee just a shop for buying stuff or is it an actual place where you can go and do some matches etc. ?

thanks for the help guys

well the guns look more realistic the primary guns usually run off a battery tucked neatly away within the gun (varies depending on model) and the range and accuracy can depend on the length of barrel, the tightness of the barrel and the hop up (Gives a BB back spin so it resists gravity longer giving it more range) with the right set up you can expect about 50-60 metres out of an AEG while the accuracy compared to a paintball gun, well there is none really, far better. hope it helps, and welcome to airsoft :)

should really answer the pain factor for you as you've asked twice now :P it depends really, I personally find it hurts more that paintball, but i still go so couldn't be that bad. when you do indoor sites it will hurt alot more, but they're more hectic and fast paced, not my style but still extremely good fun. I find when you get hit in non sensitive area, i.e chest etc BB's hurt more, getting hit in upper back leg and the sides etc paintball can do some serious damage, then again swap that off for a BB at an indoor site like Vacant (in naas was there on sunday, epicness) and i still have 4 marks from close encounters, all in all it's a split seocnd pain that disapears, you get used to and i would go back to vacant so obviously couldn't be that bad :)

T4RGET wrote: »
    well the guns look more realistic the primary guns usually run off a battery tucked neatly away within the gun (varies depending on model) and the range and accuracy can depend on the length of barrel, the tightness of the barrel and the hop up (Gives a BB back spin so it resists gravity longer giving it more range) with the right set up you can expect about 50-60 metres out of an AEG while the accuracy compared to a paintball gun, well there is none really, far better. hope it helps, and welcome to airsoft :)

should really answer the pain factor for you as you've asked twice now :P it depends really, I personally find it hurts more that paintball, but i still go so couldn't be that bad. when you do indoor sites it will hurt alot more, but they're more hectic and fast paced, not my style but still extremely good fun. I find when you get hit in non sensitive area, i.e chest etc BB's hurt more, getting hit in upper back leg and the sides etc paintball can do some serious damage, then again swap that off for a BB at an indoor site like Vacant (in naas was there on sunday, epicness) and i still have 4 marks from close encounters, all in all it's a split seocnd pain that disapears, you get used to and i would go back to vacant so obviously couldn't be that bad :)

thanks for that, pain wouldnt really bother me all that much tbh was just trying to judge whether the sport was more more than a dress up and play sort of thing or something that you actually feel when you get hit, so accuracy is much better than paintballing yeah? that would be a major incentive for me to do some airsoft as it really pissed me off in paintball when i couldnt hit a thing.

what sort of money would a decent sniper + scope set you back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Salaas

I'd suggest not going sniper at the start. Reason being that the range of a sniper rifle is not going to be greater than a AEG. But a sniper is more the sneaky fecker who patiently ambushes you and has to choose his shots carefully.
    If you get a decent AEG you can do the valiant charge and also pick people off all in one.

I'll leave someone else advise on the cost as its not a area I'd be confident in advising.

being a sneaky sob in a gily suit with a sniper would be pretty kick ass :D id say i will buy a rifle first though, dont really mind spending a bit of money on one either as i go by the saying you get what you pay for, what do ye think are the best brand? are you better off going with electric yeah?

for a sniper it all depends on if you want gas or spring, a decent sniper for example the Tokyo Marui VSR 10 I'd say it about 300-ish a decent M4 would cost you about the same. there are both snipers an rifles for 1200 euro but ya know :P :rolleyes:

saw that minigun for like $2500 as well :eek: now that thing would hurt, whats the craic with airsoft are you generally only allowed one gun per match? say i was looking for an electric rifle made from good quality material (metal i presume :confused:) but didnt really want to spend over 400, any ideas?

ive read these are pretty good snipers for the price any opinions?

saw that minigun for like $2500 as well :eek: now that thing would hurt, whats the craic with airsoft are you generally only allowed one gun per match? say i was looking for an electric rifle made from good quality material (metal i presume :confused:) but didnt really want to spend over 400, any ideas?

nope you can bring as many with you as you can carry, i had 3 on me in Vacant, pistol on my leg shotgun on my back and my F2000 as my primary. I always thought Metal was the best too but since i bought a G&G F2000 which is made of Nylon fibre I've really seen a difference it's far more durable, my M4 is made of Nylon Fibre too, made by G&G, want a cheap-ish gun I'd get one of these
    http://www.hobbyairsofter.com/Rifles/Electric-Rifles/Colt-GR15-Raider-Blowback

they were made by G&G (a very good company) to fight the Chinese guns, and they did it really well, G&G internals and quality with a Chinese gun price tag, This is the one i have, but they come in Longer versions and in Tan too there is also a new Rush one out on Mainirishairsoft.com
    http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=900

the Nylon stuff sounds like it's them making it sound better than plastic but i have an ABS M4 here too and there is a difference also find the Nylon holds mags in better than metal and ABS, hope all this helps mate :)

great stuff that gun looks class, btw is it hard to upgrade and personalize these guns? i know about the 1joule limit in ireland so i suppose i wont be going over that, any ye guys ever do it?

anyway thanks for all the help guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

people generally upgrade their guns for greater range or rate of fire not really for the power and as you arent to experienced yourself you should get someone who knows what their at to do it :)

yeah i wouldnt be breaking the 1j limit either way as im a law abiding citizen :D would just be cool to learn how the guns work and what not

great stuff that gun looks class, btw is it hard to upgrade and personalize these guns? i know about the 1joule limit in ireland so i suppose i wont be going over that, any ye guys ever do it?

anyway thanks for all the help guys

nope never most guns new shoot at 280-300 then people get them to 310-15 any close and you're pushing at a small factor can jump it over the joule, and no even doing it is illegal as it is now a firearm. with the G&G i linked you won't need any needed upgrades, no new gun will need them, only od it when it breaks and then make it better, a tighbore barrrel and a ulitmate or guarder hop up is what you want, increases FPS range and accuracy all in one go, best thing to do is get the longer version or a suppressor and get a barrel which goes into the suppressor, adds more range again. I have a ultimate hop up and a madbull python II in my Raider with a barrel extension and it does 55 metres, fires at 290 FPS works great and very happy with it too.

as for actually being able to upgrade them, it's easy if you know what you're doing, most retailers do upgrades, i do repairs and ugrades for my team and Leftyflip on Boards here does great custom work too :) personalising them externally is extremely easy, just look at these
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055065511&page=74

great stuff cant wait to get a few euros together to get one of these, any suggestions on what bb's to buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

excels or king arms 0.20s for range 0.23 and heavier for accuracy

I use King arm's .20's on normal days and .25's by King arm's for windy days. keep in mind that chrono-ing has to be done with .20's. G&G are the best BB's but hard to get SEairsoft.net have them ask Steve here on Boards to see what he still has.

time to start saving

yup :) all sorted then i guess :)