Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are employers willing to take on irish or non irish staff?.

• 05-09-2011 10:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Reading about a grumble in another thread about an establishment having no irish folk,had me wondering,is it down to the dole or flexibility that has people in these places?.

Or is it down to experience,often read or hear on the news the architect or solicitor getting turned down because they don't have experience in actual food preparation.

i think the drink culture still exists,irish are maybe more likely to be seen less hard-working or reliable than their eu counterpart.

i would like to hear from personal experiences from employers and employees,obviously not naming places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I couldn't give two.shiny shiites what nationality a person is.
    If they turn up on time and do the job their being paid to do, that keeps me happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Or is it down to experience,often read or hear on the news the architect or solicitor getting turned down because they don't have experience in actual food preparation.

I wouldnt hire an architect or solicitor for a minimum wage job. They'll always be looking to get back into their own profession, so chances are, they wont stay in the position along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Found a nice local cafe that has only Irish staff. I'll be going there if I can in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

whoever is closest to the minimum wage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

ITT: Xenophobia

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

From my experience, employers employ non-Irish people mostly because they'll work for less than minimum wage. They flout the law and abuse their employees as long as they can get away with it. The non-Irish employees generally dont care as they'll make their few pound and return home when they've a nice little lump sum saved up, and I wouldnt blame them for a second. Whereas the native Irish employee has to live here and compete for survival up to our eyebrows in economic trouble, so would not be eek out a living on less than min wage. The odds are stacked against the native Irish from the start.

But I hate this crap of being accused of being racist when I try to support my own people. Ireland is in dire straights, the people who live here permanently should be supported first and then help others later. Its just common sense, that way we'll all benefit, Irish or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

,irish are maybe more likely to be seen less hard-working or reliable than their eu counterpart.

Bolloxology IMO. Saying Irish people are somehow ''less'' than some other nationality is bewildering. Some people prefer to employ foreign workers, it's true. I have a name for those people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Found a nice local cafe that has only Irish staff. I'll be going there if I can in future.
    Why? Do they have some sort of special sauce that you're not telling us about? Is it softer bog roll in the jacks?

WHY MUST YOU KEEP THESE SECRETS FROM US?? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

He'll only eat out of this one cafe in Clontaaaarrf because it's all Irish staff Joe. He does be hatin' da Polish babies Joe, 'tis turrible Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RoryMc23

I would never chose someone over another because of their nationality and of course will give everyone equal chance.

That said, in 10 years of employing my own staff I have found that Polish and Chinese tend to be a lot more productive than their Irish counterparts (I'm Irish by the way). I thought maybe that was a coincidence but having talked to others who employ this seems to be the case.

Another example was my uncle who was getting his patio done. He hired a bunch of Irish lads who pissed around for a week, got nothing done and kept adding ridiculous costs. At the advice of his friend he hired 3 Polish guys who finished the job in 3 days for half the cost. Obviously that may just be a bad bunch of Irish workers and coincidental but it gave me a chuckle.

That said, I think Irish are streets ahead of all other nationalities when it comes to marketing and sales. For whatever reason.

My post is purely based on personal experience, sorry if it offends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RoryMc23

Can I just add, the sooner the crap about employers employing (in particular) eastern europeans solely because they work for less than minimum wage ends the better. Its completely untrue. The fact is that many employers have been incredibly impressed with the work ethic of a lot of eastern europeans. Irish workers are falling behind, whilst college graduates are going off to Thailand for a year on daddy's credit card, you will see a lot of foreign workers who work tirelessly in hotels/bars/clothing shops/etc. all the while studying business management/accounting etc. at night. I feel that a lot of young Irish really dont realise how far they are falling behind.

When given the choice of an Irish graduate who did a masters in business and went off for a year with little work experience and a foreign worker who has worked full time in the business itself, knows it, and has come away with a degree in business during that time I know who I'll pick every time. You can't beat experience....especially when the experienced person also has the degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

i would like to hear from personal experiences from employers and employees,obviously not naming places.

We live in a 'p.c.' world.
    Employers will always have non-nationals these days. Because if there is ever a racist claim, examples can be shown how the company isnt racist because several non-nationals (or colour of skin) were/are employed.

In fact, many employers even ask people who clearly have no chance of getting the job to an interview. You may of heard the expression "equal opportunity employer" ... reason why that is known in todays lawsuit culture.

But want an example?
    I know two people who went for the recently created jobs by paypal. One a guy in his mid-20s, Irish and who had experience relating to the position. The other a 20yo girl who is from africa who (by her own admission) has hardly any work experience entirely and not just to the job, but in terms of work history. Who you think got offered interviews? ... The african girl did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

RoryMc23 wrote: »
    I would never chose someone over another because of their nationality and of course will give everyone equal chance.

That said, in 10 years of employing my own staff I have found that Polish and Chinese tend to be a lot more productive than their Irish counterparts (I'm Irish by the way). I thought maybe that was a coincidence but having talked to others who employ this seems to be the case.

Another example was my uncle who was getting his patio done. He hired a bunch of Irish lads who pissed around for a week, got nothing done and kept adding ridiculous costs. At the advice of his friend he hired 3 Polish guys who finished the job in 3 days for half the cost. Obviously that may just be a bad bunch of Irish workers and coincidental but it gave me a chuckle.

That said, I think Irish are streets ahead of all other nationalities when it comes to marketing and sales. For whatever reason.

Thats a very few instances,
    I know plenty of hard working irish people, and plenty not, I think the same can be said for eastern europeans too.
    Have come across Irish and eastern european lads being lazy/shoddy work.
    I'm glad it gives you a chuckle, cos when i'm out applying for jobs I get the distinct impression i wont be considered because of people with that attitude and obviously am not as I am still unemployed. I find it hard to accept any apology, I could be wrong, but do you go demanding reductions in SW too?

Can I just add, the sooner the crap about employers employing (in particular) eastern europeans solely because they work for less than minimum wage ends the better..........
    When given the choice of an Irish graduate who did a masters in business and went off for a year with little work experience and a foreign worker who has worked full time in the business itself, knows it, and has come away with a degree in business during that time I know who I'll pick every time. You can't beat experience....especially when the experienced person also has the degree.

Well that foreign worker didnt lick his experience off the ground! Would you not employ the Irish lad, let him get experienced, and help seed some home-grown expertice? You'd be keeping our money in our country while you're at it too!

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Employers will always have non-nationals these days. Because if there is ever a racist claim, examples can be shown how the company isnt racist because several non-nationals (or colour of skin) were/are employed.

Sad, but true. In an ironic way, thats even more racist than not employing a non-native - "Oh, I dont care about your abilities, I'm employing you to fill our quota of non-Irish"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

If you leave your own country (esp. to go to a country with a different language) you're more likely to be highly motivated in whatever job you get.
    That's particularly true if the Irish person you work with is someone who's slogging down the road to do a crap job they don't want to do so they have money to live on and have some spending money (being Ireland, it's probably going off to some nightclub and getting smashed).

Relatives of mine went to the US for work, the company had to prove they couldnt find the staff locally?
    I think jobs here should be offered to people at SW and they should be fairly offered and distributed based on ability and unfortunately if need be to get some Irish working based on nationality, whether thats to get people off SW or to ensure jobs are being offered fairly.

Job offered to person on SW via social services, Irish person not accepted, reason, not qualified/skilled then ok, person taken for job proven to be of more skill experience ok, but there needs to be a quota of jobs offered to resident nationals and there are loads of people on SW so there must be be plenty of qualified individuals living in the right areas.
    I think employers are taking the mick, for what few jobs there are now. I heard a previous boss mention in a meeting that the company could take someone on for a position that needed to be filled and effectively work them on all the crap shifts and squeeze them on pay, they wouldnt complain as times were tough, this was when things had only begun to get tough, they had no reason to squeeze them on pay, they just thought it made them look better to their bosses and the less they could get someone to do the job for the better, so they could keep pushing till only a person that would take less than minimum wage would take it.

Merch wrote: »
    Relatives of mine went to the US for work, the company had to prove they couldnt find the staff locally?
    I think jobs here should be offered to people at SW and they should be fairly offered and distributed based on ability and unfortunately if need be to get some Irish working based on nationality, whether thats to get people off SW or to ensure jobs are being offered fairly.

Job offered to person on SW via social services, Irish person not accepted, reason, not qualified/skilled then ok, person taken for job proven to be of more skill experience ok, but there needs to be a quota of jobs offered to resident nationals and there are loads of people on SW so there must be be plenty of qualified individuals living in the right areas.
    I think employers are taking the mick, for what few jobs there are now. I heard a previous boss mention in a meeting that the company could take someone on for a position that needed to be filled and effectively work them on all the crap shifts and squeeze them on pay, they wouldnt complain as times were tough, this was when things had only begun to get tough, they had no reason to squeeze them on pay, they just thought it made them look better to their bosses and the less they could get someone to do the job for the better, so they could keep pushing till only a person that would take less than minimum wage would take it.

That'd all be illegal. Can't discriminate against an EU national in favour of an Irish national.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

what about non eu nationals? I didnt realise post was delivered out of private cars by people in an post uniforms but that highly likely did not come from within the EU. I made enquiries there about work but i could not get any, i would have taken anything over the summer or part time sept to may but nothing

That's different, I believe you have to prove you can't find someone locally before you get a work permit for a non-EU national but that's something someone would want to confirm rather than taking my word for it.

Post is not supposed to be delivered from a private car, unless they have commercial insurance and tax. My bet is he got put on bike duty and took the car instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

squod wrote: »
    Bolloxology IMO. Saying Irish people are somehow ''less'' than some other nationality is bewildering. Some people prefer to employ foreign workers, it's true. I have a name for those people.

I work alongside an Eastern European national and get to hear every single day how great his nation are as workers and that we Irish are lazy.

Even resident nationals should be prioritised to help get people off the dole

Why are a lot of the available jobs filled with non irish staff, I can understand some, but everywhere i go there is a significant proportion of staff not Irish.

At this stage no one is likely giving up a job and maybe positions arent being filled/left vacant or cut.

A lot of jobs on the lower end of things are taken up and any hope of getting any that may arise is slim

Teutorix wrote: »
    Post is not supposed to be delivered from a private car, unless they have commercial insurance and tax. My bet is he got put on bike duty and took the car instead.

I never thought of that, it wasn't in my area but it was an An Post uniform and an armfull of post/packages coming out of a private car, I'm over qualified for that job but Id happily have done it.

Anyway, I can see myself getting slated, I replied because I saw something that annoyed me, its difficult to remain positive when you feel the rug is being pulled form under your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Man!!!! AH sometimes :(

So thats the slating then, look isnt that the battle cry of people that are unemployable and thats how they complain,
    Im over qualified for most positions that might have been available, but feel i havent been considered, either the job didnt exist or they dont expect an irish person to want to do it well??

I expect if a person is employed for a job then they are qualified. People on the one hand demand SW be reduced as its a lifestyle (for some maybe) but there is nothing realistic to offer those that dont wish to be on SW. Its reasonable to think if a job is available then a person resident here that is qualified should be offered it to get them off or help them back into work? Employers can offer some non Irish(in some cases for certain unskilled work) less than minimum wage, for this reason possibly those jobs at the lower end of the scale should be offered through SW? to ensure their is no bias in any direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Lanaier

squod wrote: »

Yeah, except it's normally the foreigners saying stupid **** like that about another nationality......when it's half of our own people saying it you have to wonder if it's true.

That doesnt make it true though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

A cousin of mine employs people in a business he runs. He can't find any Irish staff interested in working so the staff is entirely non-Irish born except himself, even his non-Irish staff, he finds it hard to keep on. Most Irish people qualified to work the job are reluctant to do it on any but a casual, cash-in-hand, basis, because they don't want to lose their JSA or similar benefits. He finds its frustrating that he's essentially competing with the Dole in the sense that hiring someone for a normal week, they won't get all that much extra than the JSA. He's trying to get a situation where he can pay significantly more than the minimum wage but he has to work up to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

In fact, many employers even ask people who clearly have no chance of getting the job to an interview. You may of heard the expression "equal opportunity employer" ... reason why that is known in todays lawsuit culture.

But want an example?
    I know two people who went for the recently created jobs by paypal. One a guy in his mid-20s, Irish and who had experience relating to the position. The other a 20yo girl who is from africa who (by her own admission) has hardly any work experience entirely and not just to the job, but in terms of work history. Who you think got offered interviews? ... The african girl did.

Or maybe the girl in question did a better interview, had prepared better for the job in question and your friend did a bad interview and came across badly and someone who would not fit in the team?

Of course, its probably just easier to say that the girl got it because she was African then to think that your friend didn't get it because he wasn't considered good enough for the job.

Since we are giving anecdotal evidence, my company recently had a job vacancy in software programming. Surprisingly, toss all people applied for this job which they thought was odd given that the pay was good and you would think that a lot of people needed work. The person the hired had the least amount of computer experience of all the interviewees. Why did they hire him? Because he was an excellent maths background which the directors felt was more important as computer skills can be learnt easily enough, maths not so easily. You don't hire somebody purely down to their experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

He can't find any Irish staff interested in working so the staff is entirely non-Irish born except himself, even his non-Irish staff, he finds it hard to keep on.
    This. If you see a place jammed with non-Irish, it's because more non-Irish apply than Irish. It's not a case of only taking on non-Irish because they'll accept lower wages. The employer offers a particular wage and then hires whoever applies for it. He doesn't pick an employee and then offer them a wage based on their nationality.

If an employer hasn't many Irish, it's because the Irish aren't willing to work for the wage he's offering, not that he's turning them away so he doesn't have to pay them more.

Thankfully this attitude appears to be changing, and I'm seeing a lot more Irish staff working at jobs which they would have said were "beneath" them in the good times, like working behind deli counters, cash registers, waitering, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Arent you precious.

newmug wrote: »
    Well that foreign worker didnt lick his experience off the ground! Would you not employ the Irish lad, let him get experienced, and help seed some home-grown expertice? You'd be keeping our money in our country while you're at it too!

Uhm.

If an Eastern European rents in this country, buys groceries in this country, goes on a night out in this country, then aren't they keeping our money in our country too? The same applies to any nationality.

I don't care where they are from as long as they are polite and hard working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

seamus wrote: »
    This. If you see a place jammed with non-Irish, it's because more non-Irish apply than Irish. It's not a case of only taking on non-Irish because they'll accept lower wages. The employer offers a particular wage and then hires whoever applies for it. He doesn't pick an employee and then offer them a wage based on their nationality.

If an employer hasn't many Irish, it's because the Irish aren't willing to work for the wage he's offering, not that he's turning them away so he doesn't have to pay them more.

Thankfully this attitude appears to be changing, and I'm seeing a lot more Irish staff working at jobs which they would have said were "beneath" them in the good times, like working behind deli counters, cash registers, waitering, etc.

That's true (observationally). I remember 5 years ago a McDonald's would be full of Chinese people etc. serving, now there's a reasonably high percentage of Irish behind the counter. It's gotten more appealing.

Another thing to consider is when you look at places that are full of foreign nationals, they probably have been there for a while, before Irish people considered those jobs worth doing. You can't and should turf people out just because your 'own' people need a job now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭AnnaVanilla

From my experience, employers employ non-Irish people mostly because they'll work for less than minimum wage. They flout the law and abuse their employees as long as they can get away with it. The non-Irish employees generally dont care as they'll make their few pound and return home when they've a nice little lump sum saved up, and I wouldnt blame them for a second. Whereas the native Irish employee has to live here and compete for survival up to our eyebrows in economic trouble, so would not be eek out a living on less than min wage. The odds are stacked against the native Irish from the start.

But I hate this crap of being accused of being racist when I try to support my own people. Ireland is in dire straights, the people who live here permanently should be supported first and then help others later. Its just common sense, that way we'll all benefit, Irish or not.

I'm a non-Irish person working in Ireland. I get paid about half what I was paid in Denmark and get about half the amount of holidays so I think the above is maybe just generalizing a tiny bit. I'm here because I love Ireland, the Irish people and Irish culture. I know quite a few Irish people working in Denmark and I'm sure they appreciate being hired based on their work experience and education as well instead of being put in the back of the line behind less qualified Danes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Senna wrote: »
    I wouldnt hire an architect or solicitor for a minimum wage job. They'll always be looking to get back into their own profession, so chances are, they wont stay in the position along.

This attitude i don't understand, of course they are going to try to get back to their own profession, they didn't spent years studying to work behind a deli counter. If your in a position to help someone out, who is otherwise down on their luck, why wouldn't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Ignoring of Irish people and the hiring of eastern europeans is rampant in the hospitality industry. I know of one well known hotel in Dublin who refuse to even consider hiring an Irish person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

cruiser178 wrote: »
    This attitude i don't understand, of course they are going to try to get back to their own profession, they didn't spent years studying to work behind a deli counter. If your in a position to help someone out, who is otherwise down on their luck, why wouldn't you?

He's trying to run a business. I understand your point, but if I have a choice between someone who will stay 10 years or 5 months, I'll take the person I know needs the job, not something to keep him going till he gets his real job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

my friend had to employ a foreign worker because every irish person he interviewed was going on holidays soon and couldn't see past the wage,trying to negotiate with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Worked in a small Galway hotel, three Irish staff out of seventeen
    The canteen is a lonely place when everyone is yapping away and you feel left out :(

The Irish staff were the best paid even if we were doing the same work as the non-nationals.
    As before they to came to Ireland they sourced the job through an agency and they were happy to get minimum wage. Probably a multiple of what they earn back home

Myself and the others had hotel experience and I was prepared to walk to a better paying job unless they paid me more. So did the others.
    I know my worth, if I've worked in different hotels for years I want far more then minimum wage.

And I got it, twelve euro an hour is decent money for a student job. :)

Got resentment from the people I worked with but it's their job to sort their wages, they agreed to minimum wage, not my fault

Sourcing staff abroad = cheap labour

i think the drink culture still exists,irish are maybe more likely to be seen less hard-working or reliable than

Disagree. Two of the Lithuanians were right pissheads and constantly missing work. I don't judge an entire nation on those two slackers.

There are great workers and wasters in every nation.

Ignoring of Irish people and the hiring of eastern europeans is rampant in the hospitality industry.

Completely true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I read an excellent article by Boris Johnson recently (from a not-so-excellent newspaper, but I digress).
    In it, he talks about creating jobs for some of the feckless youths caught up in the riots, he notes that it's not true that there are no jobs, but....
    the London service economy is substantially dependent on migrant labour, much of it from eastern Europe, and employers confirm that these migrants have skillsets and a work ethic they cannot find in many native-born Londoners

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/boris-johnson-robust-policing-wont-fix-a-broken-society-2848755.html

I think work ethic is the main point here. I used to work in a place that hired about 70% foreign workers. Of the 30% that were native, at least half of that did very little work, came in drunk, hungover...called in sick constantly (and sometimes for 6 months periods)...etc.

Now I'm not saying this is just an Irish problem, the fact is that if you have travelled hundreds, nay, thousands of miles to find work, the odds are you're going to put in that extra effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

But want an example?

I'm calling bull.

Second and third languages are very important to have when applying for a job with paypal. The african girl probably had these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

mikemac wrote: »
    Sourcing staff abroad = cheap labour

Well in a capitalist society, as ours largely is, it is the employer's prerogative to get the best staff they can, for the best price they can. If a hotelier is paying the legal minimum wage, to someone who has a right to work in this country and who is a willing worker, I'm not sure you can complain.

You're right to demand what you think you're worth, but employers haven't done anything wrong just because they're paying less than you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

But want an example?

I just left PayPal last month. What job was he going for? Pretty much 80% of the jobs you would would need to have a second language to even get an interview. Guessing the African girl did.

Its not really fair on the half a million unemployed native Irish people to take the p1ss out of a matter like this.

Uhm.

If an Eastern European rents in this country, buys groceries in this country, goes on a night out in this country, then aren't they keeping our money in our country too? The same applies to any nationality.

I don't care where they are from as long as they are polite and hard working.

Uhm, no. When they save up 20 grand and buy a bungalow in their own country, that 20 grand is gone out of Ireland forever. If you dont particularly care about nationality, how about you ignite a bit of patriotism and hire some polite and hard working Irish people?

I'm a non-Irish person working in Ireland. I get paid about half what I was paid in Denmark and get about half the amount of holidays so I think the above is maybe just generalizing a tiny bit. I'm here because I love Ireland, the Irish people and Irish culture. I know quite a few Irish people working in Denmark and I'm sure they appreciate being hired based on their work experience and education as well instead of being put in the back of the line behind less qualified Danes...

Fair play to you. I'm glad you like it here, and I hope this thread has not made you feel unwelcome.

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    I think work ethic is the main point here. I used to work in a place that hired about 70% foreign workers. Of the 30% that were native, at least half of that did very little work, came in drunk, hungover...called in sick constantly (and sometimes for 6 months periods)...etc.

Now I'm not saying this is just an Irish problem, the fact is that if you have travelled hundreds, nay, thousands of miles to find work, the odds are you're going to put in that extra effort.

Anyone who comes in late, comes in hungover etc. should just be fired, no matter what their nationality. However, your perception because of the actions of a few doesnt give you an excuse to hire exclusively non-Irish people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

I work alongside an Eastern European national and get to hear every single day how great his nation are as workers and that we Irish are lazy.

Tell him I said his ma is worth every penny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

The businesses are not owned by "your own people"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Its not really fair on the half a million unemployed native Irish people to take the p1ss out of a matter like this.

Uhm, no. When they save up 20 grand and buy a bungalow in their own country, that 20 grand is gone out of Ireland forever. If you dont particularly care about nationality, how about you ignite a bit of patriotism and hire some polite and hard working Irish people?

Fair play to you. I'm glad you like it here, and I hope this thread has not made you feel unwelcome.

Anyone who comes in late, comes in hungover etc. should just be fired, no matter what their nationality. However, your perception because of the actions of a few doesnt give you an excuse to hire exclusively non-Irish people

It's that easy to save 20 grand on minimum wage? I bet a lot of peope are kicking themselves for getting 100% mortgages.

fontanalis wrote: »
    The businesses are not owned by "your own people"?
    fontanalis wrote: »
    It's that easy to save 20 grand on minimum wage? I bet a lot of peope are kicking themselves for getting 100% mortgages.

I dont get either of your last two posts. Are they statements or questions?