Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What price to offer the dealer for a Rav 4?

• 05-09-2011 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭

Folks,

We have whittled a list down to a small SUV and with reliability etc in mind the Rav4 is ticking the boxes.

Not being familiar with the values, does anyone know what I should offer the dealer for a 2007 Rav 4 Automatic, 18k miles, asking €15,995?

This is a straight deal, no trade in.

Dealer:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Rav4/2.0-Luna/201134204060511/advert?channel=CARS

Spotted this on Done Deal for a private one. Lower spec but also about 5k cheaper.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2197039

Not sure what the value range is for the dealer one.

Any informed advice or opinion on the what the "market" price is would be much appreciated...

Thanks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭jambofc

the one in the dealer is also automatic,hit the dealer 3k lower,i would he'll bargain you up no doubt but you will still get a good chunk off the price,then again maybe you want a manual.also dealer one has a lot less mileage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I'd try with 25% off as a starting price so start with an offer of €12k, he most likely won't do a deal at this price but you can work up, ideally try to get for €13-14k. There won't be a huge demand for an automatic petrol Rav4 so bear this in mind when haggling, main market now if for low cc or low emission cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They're both the same spec. The auto has an a bar and steps but neither is a sol model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

€16k is crazy money for a 5 year old 2.0 litre automatic petrol Rav4. These cars are hardly in huge demand these days.

Here is a cheaper higher spec 2008 one:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201135204250279

Does it have to an auto? This manual one is €5k cheaper than the one you are looking at without even begining to negotiate the asking price:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201119202365360

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I wonder what the extra value of the automatic is? I know that the premium on Foresters is bigger than you'd expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Just to note the Rav4 is full time 4WD and quite thirsty. You may be better off with something that has optional FWD / 4WD.

The auto is worth about 1000-1500 less. Those 4 speed petrols are a bastid on fuel, even the manuals are heavy.
    Rav4s have died a death, The likes of the qashqai have slaughtered the niche the 00-06 1.8 2wd carved out. The lardy 06 model never caught on when new and the fuel consumption of the petrols allied with the questionable mechanicals and high tax on the 2.2 diesels makes them a bit of a dead duck

Shame really

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The auto is worth about 1000-1500 less. Those 4 speed petrols are a bastid on fuel, even the manuals are heavy.
    Rav4s have died a death, The likes of the qashqai have slaughtered the niche the 00-06 1.8 2wd carved out. The lardy 06 model never caught on when new and the fuel consumption of the petrols allied with the questionable mechanicals and high tax on the 2.2 diesels makes them a bit of a dead duck

Shame really

If the OP actually wants the option of a 4X4 that isn't available ib the Qashqai is it? The newer model Santa Fe has FWD / 4WD option doesn't it?

Maybe something to consider!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭budfox

Guys, thanks for your advice, some great points here.

I just looked on the Toyota website and they dont do an auto box in petrol, only diesel now so that backs up what you said Colm.

The extras on this one seem to be the front guard (€376.00), the front silver under run (€180) and the side steps (€453). Thats a total of about €1k.

Add in the auto box and the low mileage...

Two owners though...is 18k miles for a four year old car believable? Not suggesting anything (!) but deffo a point to get checked out.

So, summary seems to be go in and offer something around 12 grand, expect to pay 13.

I usually find that the Merlin car auction results are a great indicator of values (albeit no warranty etc so put some markup onto the price achieved)....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

My mother has a 08 Sol with auto box, sat-nav and leather. I have to say it's not the most refined drive. Under powered with the 2l petrol and a jerky gear box. Also the combination of small small fuel tank and woeful economy 10l per 100km will mean you'll become you're local petrol starions favorite customer.

Have you considered other options?

The nissan has an autobox and 4wd, just nobody bought them.

Santa fe a good option, the auto models get leather and bigger wheels and are a million times better to drive than the auto Rav (which is really noisy with the petrol engine)

no-image-large.gif&width=400&height=300
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/Santa-Fe/2.2-4WD/201130203551422/advert?channel=CARS

Leather, Auto, 4WD, asking €13,950 - €12.5k should buy it.

Twingo,

thanks for the heads up..I'm test driving one tomorrow and I'll keep an eye and ear out for that..

You would think that buying a car is good craic. eh, not. Getting the right spec, right price that's reliable etc with a reasonable re-sale value in a stagnant market...not so...!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

budfox wrote: »
    Twingo,

thanks for the heads up..I'm test driving one tomorrow and I'll keep an eye and ear out for that..

You would think that buying a car is good craic. eh, not. Getting the right spec, right price that's reliable etc with a reasonable re-sale value in a stagnant market...not so...!!

Nissan Qashqai 2.0 litre CVT:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201135204254630

But if you are concerned about resale value then buying a petrol auto SUV is the wrong option. These vehicles are very unfashionable and I cannot see them getting any more appealing over the next few years.

actually, the resale value is less important I guess than the reliability as we'll probably hang onto it for 3-4 years....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

budfox wrote: »
    Twingo,

How did the TD go budfox?

Lads, thanks for your advice and tips.

We decided to go with a 2007 Honda CRV, only 41,000m in the end. Part time 4WD and had the exec model so loads of car for the price.

Took some time to weigh up against the other ones but felt on balance that it'll go longer as I think the Rav is looking a bit tired now. Dearer but a lot of car for the money and it's just superbly comfortable to drive.

Now 'erself is sorted, I gotta get something now!!

Thanks again.....