Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

huggy huggy kissy kissy

• 05-09-2011 7:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

Whats with all the teenage school kids huggin each other

whats that about:confused: are they watchin too much Glee, Smallville etc

we're supposed to be a rough race of people we don't go in for that sentimental american protestant cr*p

maybe i'm an old fart but we seem to be gettin soft as a nation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

luvs ya babe xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

BBDBB wrote: »

feck off!!!!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I haven't noticed this, but I don't think it's such a bad development.

It's better than the traditional Irish fear of closeness, physical intimacy and emotional openness.

Few hugs, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Because pop culture influences them to do it, man. Have a nice day dude.

It's awesome that I am not influenced by such things I mean, it's really epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

fryup wrote: »
    feck off!!!!!!:mad:

*cuddles :):):)

you are lovely when yer cross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Smallville...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Is Smallville not a show about Superman? If so, swouldn't it influence kids to fly around busting super-villains as opposed to hugging each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Girl: I watch Glee, do you?

Boy: eh, (hormones take control) yes, course i do.

Girl: wanna hug?

Boy: :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Eugh, wouldn't want to hug any one who watches Glee. Might catch retarded or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Do you watch teenage kids often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

deathrider wrote: »
    Is Smallville not a show about Superman? If so, swouldn't it influence kids to fly around busting super-villains as opposed to hugging each other?

there the american high school element to it.

i'm basically saying irish teenagers are getting more and more like american high school kids every year

Thread title: huggy huggy kissy kissy

Frequent word in thread: teenagers

Misinterpretation factor: high

*makes mental note to delete internet history*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Shut up everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

i'm basically saying irish teenagers are getting more and more like american high school kids every year

I reckon Ireland could do with more superheroes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Shooting they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

BBDBB wrote: »

i used to work with two wans in their late 20s, one worked a full week, the other part time. when the part timer left on wednesdays, they always said goodbye with a hug. you'd swear one of them was going away for a good few months. feckin annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 i need this

just the way thing are nowadays.. not all teenagers are like that though! lads do it more because girls expect it :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Ah here whats wrong with people showing a bit of affection, you'd be moaning if they were bashing the head of one another and now ye're moaning because of a few hugs.

Anybody want a hug?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

I always have an LOL at the emos with bad skin who scream and shout & hug and kiss when they meet eachother outside the Central Bank on a Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Anybody want a hug?

God, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

God, yes.

1 Internet Hug going right your way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

we're supposed to be a rough race of people we don't go in for that sentimental american protestant cr*p

is this what you mean........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Gneez

Our society is becoming more effeminate, birth control drugs are really turning out to be a wonder drug for leftist. They make women prefer feminized men, remove the inherent racism women experience while ovulating, artificially delay when people would start a family aging the population and providing a convenient excuse to import third world proles. The leak into the water supply through piss further feminizing men making them more docile.

The Marxist couldn't have created a better drug if they tried.

Females are hitting puberty earlier and earlier due to the estrogen in the environment, while men hit puberty later and later due to the estrogen in the environment.

Workers who work in factories that create plastics that are closely chemically related to estrogen report sexual side effects across the board, such as lowered libido, difficulty achieving and maintaining erections and non-motile sperm.

Our culture is toxic and our physical environs are toxic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I haven't noticed this, but I don't think it's such a bad development.

It's better than the traditional Irish fear of closeness, physical intimacy and emotional openness.

Few hugs, be grand.
    Indeed.

I tend to be quite a tactile person ... no, I don't insist on hugging everyone when I meet them or anything like that, but my first instinct for example if a friend is in the dumps is to throw an arm around their shoulders. The number of times I've been given suspicious looks as a result ... :rolleyes:

I do kind of agree that there is an American "overdone" version of it that can ring quite false.

It always seems to come much more naturally and genuinely to the people of the Mediterranean countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I think we should murder them in there beds... Am I right... guys... anyone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

a bunch of nancies the lot of ye :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭petebricquette

I'd be quite a tactile person (always have been) and I'm quite a fan of the hugs. Hugs are the best. And I am an excellent hugger. On that note, OP, hug?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

The hugging I've no issue with, well not as much of an issue as I do with people who flippantly throw around "i love you" casually to every acquaintance they pass on the street. Those 3 words have lost all sort of meaning when you're a 16 year old girl telling your mate you love her and then heading off with your friends and bitching about her for the day. Does my head in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Men should be men, not hugging each other or hugging a female friend, unless they are in a relationship or she is crying.

and dont even get me started with the amount of "camp" clothes for men are in the shops these days, and i dont mean camping clothes either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭petebricquette

Men should be men, not hugging each other or hugging a female friend, unless they are in a relationship or she is crying.

and dont even get me started with the amount of "camp" clothes for men are in the shops these days, and i dont mean camping clothes either.

Why do you let it get you so annoyed? There's nothing wrong with a bit of affection among friends, is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

The world would be a better place if everybody hugged everybody. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

I'd much rather a bunch of kids going around hugging each other than happy slapping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Whats with all the teenage school kids huggin each other

maybe i'm an old fart but we seem to be gettin soft as a nation

Ok grandpa, time to go to bed now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Take some MDMA OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

We all need hugs, Hugs are great.

Want a hug neuromancer? :p

But seriously, what's wrong with men even hugging women?

What's so bad about it?

What happens when they do it? Do they become emasculated somehow?

Most men in the Mediterranean countries do it all the time, and they turned out ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

we're supposed to be a rough race of people we don't go in for that

I think you are confusing us with our stiff upper lipped neighbours across the water. We are not Saxons, we are fiery, passionate Celts and thank fúck for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Because pop culture influences them to do it, man. Have a nice day dude.

It's awesome that I am not influenced by such things I mean, it's really epic.

blame the x factor and rustin bieber for turning our kids into blubbering rustin idiots

thank god its freddys anniversary today, makes me realise the world was once a good place with good music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Ah, sure they'll probably all get AIDS sooner or later anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

You can huggy huggy kissy kissy my knob if you want OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

sad, one mention of freddy and aids comes up.

suppose you think all the wimmins in thailand have c0cks also.

sad, one mention of freddy and aids comes up.

suppose you think all the wimmins in thailand have c0cks also.

My friend is Thai, and i have noticed a bulge in her crotch region. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Gneez wrote: »
    Our society is becoming more effeminate, birth control drugs are really turning out to be a wonder drug for leftist. They make women prefer feminized men, remove the inherent racism women experience while ovulating, artificially delay when people would start a family aging the population and providing a convenient excuse to import third world proles. The leak into the water supply through piss further feminizing men making them more docile.

The Marxist couldn't have created a better drug if they tried.
    Wow, suppose you have credible evidence for these claims.......or has this been suppressed by the feminized Marxist scientists, whose condition can be blamed on said hormones

.....or you're just trolling:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

looky loo wrote: »
    The world would be a better place if everybody hugged everybody. :)

Aaaahh; Come here ....! (Opens arms) :D

No, seriously weird. I'm the sort of guy; Try to hug me? Ye'll feel my shoulders go tense as oak while my hands hover, uselessly, half an inch above ye back :o

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Wow, suppose you have credible evidence for these claims.......or has this been suppressed by the feminized Marxist scientists, whose condition can be blamed on said hormones

.....or you're just trolling:rolleyes:

Women on the pill do genuinely prefer more effeminate men than normal.

I think the fair comparison is preferring a cute guy, say a skinny guy with a cute face (as opposed to ruggedly handsome), to somebody muscular and manly like an athlete.

Women show bias to certain men depending on the stage of the menstrual cycle, which the pill interferes with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I hug my mates - both lads and girls.

Can't say I care whether anyone's bothered by it, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

orourkeda wrote: »
    Shut up everyone

Someone is in a bad mood, let's hug it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Someone is in a bad mood, let's hug it out.

yah group hug :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Teutorix wrote: »
    Women on the pill do genuinely prefer more effeminate men than normal.

I think the fair comparison is preferring a cute guy, say a skinny guy with a cute face (as opposed to ruggedly handsome), to somebody muscular and manly like an athlete.

Women show bias to certain men depending on the stage of the menstrual cycle, which the pill interferes with.
    I have heard about the supposed bias with regards menstrual cycle. AFAIR women during their period were shown to prefer male members who they shared genes with, brothers, cousins, etc[EDIT: or men who looked like]. Nothing to do with effiminate guys.

However I'm extremely sceptical about research that tries to quantify human emotions - so much room for bias and very easy for insignificant statistical differences to be misread.