Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AI Minor Final Dublin vs Galway

• 04-09-2011 12:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭

C'mon Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Gowan the Dubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Is this on the box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭holidaysong

TV3 in English and 3e in Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

What do ye make of the commentary so far??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭holidaysong

The English commentary is useless. Don't know who this guy is but he reminds me of the priest in Father Ted with the really really annoying voice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The inflections of the English commentary is woooooooooooooooooe-ful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

What do ye make of the commentary so far??

Crap!!!!!! The commentator said after Galway got their first score that they were the first to get on the scoreboard. Dublin already had a point at that stage :rolleyes:
    Up The Dubs!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭crinkley

is this being streamed anywhere online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

The tv3 commentary irish and english is terrible, they sound like robots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

God the commentary it's so culchie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Brian017

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    The tv3 commentary irish and english is terrible, they sound like robots.

Amen brother. Missing Michael O'Sé :(

ricero wrote: »
    God the commentary it's so culchie

The commentary is even worse on here :p
    http://dublincityfm.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

C'mon Galway!

Our 15 is doing all of the hard work.

The pitch is shocking, they are slipping all over the shop.

Oh and Dublin are lethal for high tackles.

Good call by the ref to call a free and not a penalty there. It was just outside...

The ref is having a nightmare imo.

He has been giving a lot of soft frees today but after the first yellow card, he hasn't punished the high tackles enough.

mars bar wrote: »
    He has been giving a lot of soft frees today but after the first yellow card, he hasn't punished the high tackles enough.

I think the high tackles could be something to do with, the slippy conditions. They are slipping as they go into the tackle.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,969 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Brian017 wrote: »
    Amen brother. Missing Michael O'Sé :(

Big time. Such a pity. It's part of the all Ireland Day - listening to the minor game in Irish and by a commentator who some people only realise how good he actually is when TV3 come along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭trebor28

he has given a fews against dublin which were harsh, but that doesnt make up for the 7 point difference

I think the high tackles could be something to do with, the slippy conditions. They are slipping as they go into the tackle.

I don't think wrapping your hurl around another players neck is to do with slipping to be honest.

There was one incident earlier on where the Dub guy slipped into the Galway guy and the ref gave a free for it. It was a silly free coz the Dub really couldn't do much about it. Referee has been questionable...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PennyLane88

Come on Galway!!

trebor28 wrote: »
    he has given a fews against dublin which were harsh, but that doesnt make up for the 7 point difference

I agree we have been too poor to compete today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Great goal! Maloney motm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,550 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Dublin getting flaked here. Wasn't expecting this.

Padraig Brehony and Padraig Mannion are super prospects for Galway. Shane Maloney too.

GET THE **** IN!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Excellent stuff by Galway.

One should NEVER rule out a Galway team, of any level.

They took the game by the scruff of the neck, and played it in a disciplined fashion. Well worth the magnitude of their win.

THFC wrote: »
    Great goal! Maloney motm.

Class goal, always thought ryan was suspect though.

Goal kilkenny.

Game over well done galway.

****in hell we need these lads to make it to senior. Great win over a very sluggish Dublin.

Would love to see Mattie Murphy have a crack with the senior team...

mars bar wrote: »
    Would love to see Mattie Murphy have a crack with the senior team...
    He really deserves it IMO and the same with Mullholland in football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭anbrutog

Congrats to Galway. I dont the Dubs should be too down as they are an up and coming team who will have their day.

As an aside, disappointed to see some bishop presenting the trophy at the end. That crap has no place in the GAA, a side of the GAA I thought was gone , a throwback to the bad days of the 50's and ring kissing.

anbrutog wrote: »
    Congrats to Galway. Disappointed to see some bishop presenting the trophy at the end. That crap has no place in the GAA, a side of the GAA I thought was gone , a throwback to the bad days of the 50's and ring kissing.
    Seriously would you rather see the supervising assistant manager of Guiness on a Sunday afternoon to present it?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well done Galway, a great display.

Seriously would you rather see the supervising assistant manager of Guiness on a Sunday afternoon to present it?

No , someone from the GAA. Theres plenty of candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Commiserations to the lads, nothing seemed to go right for us today and the lads that had played so well against the Déise really struggled today. The early wides really seemed to dent our lads' confidence and Galway were not as wasteful as us in the first half especially. Fingers crossed that the lads who will still be there in 2012 will channel this hurt to drive them on next year

Congratulations to Galway, will it be the usual for them being so good at underage but then fail to make the grade at senior? The spine of their team was very solid today and kept our dangermen extremely quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Dublin got very unlucky today as Galway are such a class team and deserved to win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Well done Galway congratulations, Well deserved win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

Well done Galway, Hard Luck Dublin.

One down three to go!

Pics from the minor game here

Congrats to Galway. I dont the Dubs should be too down as they are an up and coming team who will have their day.

As an aside, disappointed to see some bishop presenting the trophy at the end. That crap has no place in the GAA, a side of the GAA I thought was gone , a throwback to the bad days of the 50's and ring kissing.

Archbishop Clifford is Patron of the GAA and it should be noted that it was one of his predecessors Archbishop Croke that co-founded the GAA and of course who Croke Park is called after. To be honest I thought the young Galway lads were a little ungracious skipping off after hoisting the cup.........methinks a history lesson in the founding of the GAA and protocol when recieving the cup wouldn't go astray ;)

Congrats to the men from the west 024.gif

Sundew wrote: »
    Archbishop Clifford is Patron of the GAA and it should be noted that it was one of his predecessors Archbishop Croke that co-founded the GAA and of course who Croke Park is called after. To be honest I thought the young Galway lads were a little ungracious skipping off after hoisting the cup.........methinks a history lesson in the founding of the GAA and protocol when recieving the cup wouldn't go astray ;)

Ungrateful little pups. They should have stuck around , genuflected and given him an almighty kiss on his ring. Disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

Congrats to Galway..
    Young Dubs wuill be very disappointed with their perfomance Today and didn't do themselves justice.. Thats not to take away from Galway who were deserved winners on the day...

Hopefully the dual players can make amends against Tipp..

Sundew wrote: »

They all shook his hand actually coz I was wondering myself what he was doing there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

dcr22B wrote: »
    Congratulations to Galway, will it be the usual for them being so good at underage but then fail to make the grade at senior? The spine of their team was very solid today and kept our dangermen extremely quiet.

It remains to be seen - at least they have the physical size that many of our other minor teams didn't have. But it must also be remembered that the minors only won 2 games to lift the cup, would we have won the AI if we were in Leinster? Who knows, but from a development point of view for the seniors, playing underage in Leinster is the way to go imo.

I thought Padraig Brehoney was outstanding in the middle of the field and deservedly won man of the match, but many of our defenders played well as well - Sweeney at 6, after a shaky start, was brillaint while the full back line never looked threatened by Dublin's full-forward line.

One thing I found unusual was the ref seemed to be giving us (Galway) a lot more frees than Dublin, some of them of the rather soft variety tbh. Dublin would be allowed to feel hard done by with some of Johnny Ryan's decisions. I don't believe he won the game for Galway, but many of the 50/50 decisions seemed to go to Galway - especially in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭pazza

Interesting to see the view of the ref from TV, I was at the game (neutral) and felt that for the first 45 minutes Dublin could not buy a free and Galway seemed to get everything (even when there didn't appear to be a foul). I know you can miss things at the game - but I though the ref had a terrible day (for Dublin). This is not at all to take from Galway, deserved winners, way more clinical and the better team, but in the first 15-20 minutes, the frees v Dublin were also very telling and we might have had a closer finish if the ref had been more evenly consistent! Well done to Galway and Kilkenny.

Btw - the GAA are getting worse and worse, entertainment (if thats a true statement) between games was terrible, the Jubliee Team was a total farce - not sure who the on-pitch commentator was, but very poor, the camera work was atrocious, we have higher expectations (they can;t do anything about the hurling, but they can about the rest...). Good old Michael O'Mh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

......... given him an almighty kiss on his ring. Disgraceful.

*Sniggerz* ... I thought that's where all the trouble started in the 1950's ..;)

Kojak wrote: »
    One thing I found unusual was the ref seemed to be giving us (Galway) a lot more frees than Dublin, some of them of the rather soft variety tbh. Dublin would be allowed to feel hard done by with some of Johnny Ryan's decisions. I don't believe he won the game for Galway, but many of the 50/50 decisions seemed to go to Galway - especially in the first half.
    Spot on that it made absolutely no difference but he was absolutely atrocious towards us but I didn't want to put that in my initial post as it might have seemed like sour grapes.

You know that the ref is completely riding you when the opposition supporters are picking up on it as well (a la Joe McQuillan in the Tyrone game, it was about the only thing that the Red Hand boys laughed at all day).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

dcr22B wrote: »
    Spot on that it made absolutely no difference but he was absolutely atrocious towards us but I didn't want to put that in my initial post as it might have seemed like sour grapes.

True indeed ! ...... even da Missus (Meath) not the biggest of Dublin fans was gobsmacked at some of the decisions - Donegal ref for the Minor Football was poor also. Minors were well beaten on the day, congrats to Galway, but there's a feeling they didn't do themselves justice

DoctaDee wrote: »
    but there's a feeling they didn't do themselves justice
    16 of them are still underage next year so hopefully they'll learn from what happened yesterday and drive on in 2012!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Well done Galway, deserving winners. Some great prospects, no 6, 8, 9 and 15 great players.

Ref was dreadful towards Dublin in first half. Could have been a bit closer if had done it properly. Best team won in the end though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Ref was dreadful towards Dublin in first half. Could have been a bit closer if had done it properly. Best team won in the end though.

Wasn't at the match, watched on tv but all the frees I saw given were frees. I'd have to watch it again to see how consistent he was, but he did well to spot some of the frees that were given.

As an example there was one incident with about 15 minutes left where a Galway lad fell and slid into the defender about 35 yards from goal. He wasn't fouled at that point but when he was getting back up and tried to handpass the ball the defender pulled his arm back - which could only be seen when they showed the close up replay.

It tells you how comfortable Galway were that Murphy decided to run the bench in the last 10 minutes (he usually doesn't do that).