Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Favourite/Most Hated Spot

• 03-09-2011 9:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭

Just reliving a lot of these again watching the top 50 OMG moments.

Favourite
    Big Show and Brock Lesnar breaking the ring with a superplex.

Just has to be. I remember seeing it on sky one on a saturday morning and shouting OH MY GOD HOLY CRAP so loud my mam ran in to see what happened. I still pretend they legitmately did it.

Most Hated
    Mine is Paul Bearer being buried in cement for a number of reasons.

1. They never even once pan to the container with Bearer in it.
    2. They never even once pan to the container with Bearer in it because he isn't in it.
    3. It was pre-recorded, for something that would be clearly seen in front of a live crowd.
    4. The crowd could see it was fake.
    5. They didn't even have a dummy in the container, you can see its empty from the ring.
    6. Why couldnt you just bury him alive like the matches!? It would have looked a lot better!
    7. The rehearsal got leaked http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8KTSOm1nZE&feature=related
    It was the one spot that still pisses me off and how fake it is. Even more than Katie Vick.

So what are yours and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Has to be Shawn Michaels' fall onto the announce table, during the first hell in a cell. This was when big spots really meant something.

Lawler sold it great on commentary too, with his 'incoming, incoming' line.

Most hated? Any move done today on the announce table. It is not shocking any more, fellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

One of my favourite without a doubt

Shane really was a crazy bastard at times

Most hated, id have to agree with the Undertaker killing Paul Bearer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Favourite spot is this; not sure why, but it always sticks out in my head...

Most hated, just spots like this in general, especially in recent years, since its obvious they land on a mat, just doesn't have an impact on me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I have to agree about the Shawn Michaels spot in the original (and best) Hell in a Cell. It was just brilliantly done.

I hate spots that are ridiculously overblown and take you out of the moment. For sheer ridiculousness, here is this pile of crap from WCW. Anything that is obviously not the actual wrestlers is stupid and the fall that Big Show took at the end, would obviously have killed him. Yet he turned up unexplained at the end of the night.

In recent times, the end of TLC last year where Cena brought down all the chairs on Wade Barrett just looked a bit stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

In recent times, the end of TLC last year where Cena brought down all the chairs on Wade Barrett just looked a bit stupid.
    Jaysus I forgot about that. I mean he first covers him with that trolley which protects him from the chairs, and then drops the chairs onto the trolley which is supposedly going to hurt Barrett. Does it hurt his ears from the noise or something?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

A more common one I hate is when the wrestler jumps off the top rope towards a downed opponent and gets a boot to the jaw. I hate it cause I always am left asking "What the **** was he trying to do? The way he was coming down, he would have landed on his feet beside the guy!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

When I saw this one for the first time, I went insane.

Hated spots, well I just hate when there is "afters" in a match that the bell keeps getting rung as if that is going to stop anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Jaysus I forgot about that. I mean he first covers him with that trolley which protects him from the chairs, and then drops the chairs onto the trolley which is supposedly going to hurt Barrett. Does it hurt his ears from the noise or something?

Yeah that just summed up how to do a spot badly. There had to be a change in the reckless spots seen in 1997-2005, but I mean things where it is blatantly obvious that the guy is 100% safe just look silly. It's a bit like when they clearly land on really soft, bouncy padding. Mark Henry and the Big Show had a spot like that recently at the top of the ramp. Whereas the spot with the 2 of them and steel cage looked awesome (.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Yeah that just summed up how to do a spot badly. There had to be a change in the reckless spots seen in 1997-2005, but I mean things where it is blatantly obvious that the guy is 100% safe just look silly. It's a bit like when they clearly land on really soft, bouncy padding. Mark Henry and the Big Show had a spot like that recently at the top of the ramp. Whereas the spot with the 2 of them and steel cage looked awesome (.

Ha, yeah, but I loved that spot cause it looked like McIntyre legit got killed :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭johnnycnandy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

My favourite spot is wrestling transitions, especially from one submission to another. Just submission showcases. Daniel Bryan does it a lot; submission transitions. Awesome.

One of my massive pet peeves in wrestling is when commentators telegraph the false finish.
    eg wrestler A hits a move
    Vince McMahon : Oh my God he's definitely going to win he's got him - 1! 2! oh goodness he kicked out!
    Of course he ****ing kicked out you just telegraphed he would! Who are you ****ing fooling?! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Hard to pick a favourite cos I have so many, but here are that stick out right away:

It's from 6.20 on. I remember seeing this on Bravo at about 3 in the morning. I was starting to fall asleep when this happened and I leapt of the couch, had never seen anything like it before. Great spot.

This one is at the 1 minute mark. I generally love moonsault off the cage spots, but this took it to another level. Laughed so much at it. In fact that whole Cage of Death 6 main event is probably the best spot fest I've ever seen.

Honourable mentions to Kurt Angles moonsaults off the cage also.

Most hated spot is one in TNA where Abyss was thrown off the stage and the black tarp came off and you could see a load of cardboard boxes. Hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

This guy looks to be one of the unsafest guys I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Yeah, he is alright. Not sure if he's still going. If you thought that was bad then you should check out Cage of Death 6. Some ridiculous, unsafe moves but a great watch.

Shocking what some of them will do for a few dollars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

easy...it's not even close for me.

commentary, perfect.

execution of move, perfect.

just epic.

I don't like that spot because of how long it took to set up. Jeff could have just unhooked the belts easily.

This is probably my favourite spot of all time. It was just done so well. Pity the resolution to the story was crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

Cant believe nobody's said the 5 moves of doom yet :pac:

Lads on this one I'd have to say Rock VS Bigshow after the rumble, when both peoples feet hit the floor. It got a good long time rivalry going, good writing, and told a great story that lasted until next years wrestemania

Xinkai wrote: »

Lads on this one I'd have to say Rock VS Bigshow after the rumble, when both peoples feet hit the floor. It got a good long time rivalry going, good writing, and told a great story that lasted until next years wrestemania

Fairly certain that was a botch and completely ruined some of their plans for a while.

Bret/Luger was done properly and perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭johnnycnandy

That Thrill to Kill is probably the stupidest, most dangerous move I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,731 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Xinkai wrote: »

Eh? They fought one month later at No Way Out, then Big Show was in the 4-way at that years Wrestlemania. The Rock went on to fued with HHH and Big Show became a face. That was the end of the fued. I mean, when Show returned at the following Rumble he and Rock got into it a bit, but they didn't fued again.

I did like the story, even if it came out of a botch, but it only lasted 2 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

One which bugs me and happened in EVERY Austin Aries match in ROH at least. His opponent would get him in ahead scissors on the mat. Aries would flip out of it eventually and drop kick the oppo in the face. Every match. Without fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

as much as i'm not a Cena hater by any means, the way his opponent ALWAYS swings and misses before his Protoplex and 5-Knuckle Shuffle.

so fúcking stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

gimmick wrote: »
    One which bugs me and happened in EVERY Austin Aries match in ROH at least. His opponent would get him in ahead scissors on the mat. Aries would flip out of it eventually and drop kick the oppo in the face. Every match. Without fail.

Same way someone always missed a clothesline on Cena, and gets powerbombed? Or that someone always goes to backdrop HHH, only to get dropped facefirst on his knee?

It's a part of the character - yes it's predictable, but it's also the guys routine and familiarity is comforting to fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

I hate the identical twin switcheroo with a passion. Also hate the no selling comeback that Hogan, Cena, Sting, Orton & a few others do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

DONT POWERBOMB Kidman then :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I know CZW has alot of detractors (with good reason in alot of ways) but when I saw this first I was absolutely gob smacked.

Another Mondo one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Id love to see either spot be done on Cena only for him to make his comeback and hit Attitude Adjustment 3 minutes later. :pac:

Remember watching this on channel 4 live and virtually jumping off the couch at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

It's part of his arsenal. Just like Flair will go to the top rope nearly every match and never hit anything. Likewise for Bully Ray and his back splash. Triple H, Cena, The Rock and pretty much everyone who has wrestled for an extended period of time has something like that. You know whats going to happen and 99 times out of 100 it does.

Some of the Indy commentators have made a joke about it. Wrestler X puts on the headscissors and the commentator would say something along the lines of "Wrestler X hasnt gotten around to watching that Best of Austin Aries DVD yet if he thinks this is a good idea."

I personally like it, especially when the opponent blocks the first attempt at getting out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    It's part of his arsenal. Just like Flair will go to the top rope nearly every match and never hit anything. Likewise for Bully Ray and his back splash. Triple H, Cena, The Rock and pretty much everyone who has wrestled for an extended period of time has something like that. You know whats going to happen and 99 times out of 100 it does.

Some of the Indy commentators have made a joke about it. Wrestler X puts on the headscissors and the commentator would say something along the lines of "Wrestler X hasnt gotten around to watching that Best of Austin Aries DVD yet if he thinks this is a good idea."

I personally like it, especially when the opponent blocks the first attempt at getting out.

Its good because it always pops the crowd, even if its an ironic cheer.

A spot I love is the reverse rana, always looks like a killer move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Hate the 619 with a passion, and the way that his opponent just happens to land on the middle rope in the exact right position for him to do it

one of my favorites was Orton's first ever Hangman DDT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

I'm pretty sure all of my favourite spots are on the OMG DVD, so trying to think of some which aren't on that video.

Favourite - When the boundaries between fiction and non-fiction are pushed. Thinking specifically with Matt Hardy returning to Raw after being fired and going after Edge (2005 I think) after Lita had legit cheated on him with Edge. It really looked real at the time. We got a great Edge heel character from it, and a slutty Lita who i'm still in love with today.

Also the Shawn Michaels promo in Canada when he was feuding with Hogan. 15 minutes of pure genius from start to finish. Just some brilliant one-liners and when he teased the return of Bret Hart, the Canuks really fell for it hook line and sinker.

Hated - Granted I didn't watch it live, but I still hate Bobby "The Drain" Heenan's quote of "But which side is he on?" during Hulk Hogan's heel turn/birth of the nWo. If I was watching that PPV live, I would have been furious for that spoiler. Arguably the biggest heel turn in the history of pro wrestling, and this idiot tries to ruin it and get himself over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Remember watching this on channel 4 live and virtually jumping off the couch at it.

I love the 'see you on the other side' look he gives to the camera at the 12 second mark.

Part of why I love it is because of JR's commentary.
    Dont do it Raw-keeshi,you'll regret it for the rest of your life!!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Not the greatest but I loved this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

It's a shame he sounds like a 12 year old girl. Otherwise he could have been huge for WWE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

This is one of my favourites.

Driving down to the ring, flipping the bird to the cops and diving over them to attack Vince. Best of all, the smile on his face as he's led up the ramp in cuffs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I love that King of the ring match between Angle and Shane-O Mac, I loved it when the glass didnt break they did it again till it did break and then did another one back out through the glass. Ah those were the days. :D

Worst ones are one involving mark henry, like a few weeks ago when he attacked the sound guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

The best thing Goldberg did in WWE. One really awesome spot. Fast forward to 4:47

I'm sure he could've cut his calf right open but the bluntness of the kick and the punch - just perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Couple not named yet...

FINISHERS GALORE!!!

And one of the most memorable WWE moments

This was gloriously crap, HHH IS A BADASS~!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

jaykhunter wrote: »
    I'm sure he could've cut his calf right open but the bluntness of the kick and the punch - just perfect.

Hunter looks like Umaga with the three quarter length tights. Wierd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Ha ha Orton's "wife" in that clip above, tremendous stuff from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,150 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Those fake screams when HHH busts the door are comical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

Who is the randomer who just runs past when Trips and Orton are staring at each other??