Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jungle drums. Do you use them?

• 03-09-2011 4:51pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭

Mis leading thread title indeed but its a local 'ism' round my neck O the woods:

I live in a very rural area. A 5 mile stretch of back road with about 8 houses well spread out. On this road there lives a plumber, a builder and a guy who fixes farm machinery and so an abundance of copper, scrap metal and plant machinery etc. To put it bluntly we are utterly plagued by cruising vans driven by a particular Irish "ethnic minority". Over the year, not by design but by evolution the entire neighbour hood have swapped mobile numbers and when ever any suspicious activity is observed in the area a chain of calls starts up. In the last 2 days a break in to a house nearing end of construction, theft of a work van and theft of a tractor battery. Just an hour ago i got a call that some dodgy people were in the area. As I was in town i asked my neighbour to check my house and he prevented me from being burgled:eek:. Have other rural areas had a similar chain of events happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Like... a community alert scheme? Neighbourhood watch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

tl;dr?

Pikey tried to rob my gaff!

IBTL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Yeah, we did something like that this one time a load of bad eggs came round looking for trouble..

(But seriously, no, I haven't heard of anything like that, but then I'm a big townie.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

You want to give out about travellers ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Another burglar bashing thread...wow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

why do burglars have so many rights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

You need to form a proper group OP..get some Tv ads, a few flyers and some kind of catchphrase...somethig along the lines of 'who you gonna call? (insert group name)'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

hondasam wrote: »
    You want to give out about travellers ?

Nope. Im stating a chain of events and had the identity of those involved (Which we already knew) by the cops.
    I cannot help it if the repeat offenders are consistently from a certain social grouping.

Nope. Im stating a chain of events and had the identity of those involved (Which we already knew) by the cops.
    I cannot help it if the repeat offenders are consistently from a certain social grouping.

ya everyone knows it's only members of the travelling community who commit burglaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

If everyone knows who it is, including the law, then why aren't they being apprehended?

ya everyone knows it's only members of the travelling community who commit burglaries.

I cannot alter the fact of my area. perhaps it is other wise in other places but around here.................
    Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

inb4 Nally

I cannot alter the fact of my area. perhaps it is other wise in other places but around here.................
    Sorry.

How many burglaries were committed by members of the travelling community?

Any other crime in this quiet area?

Were they prosecuted ?

How many burglaries were committed by members of the travelling community?
    In my short time in the area - 3 thefts of scrap metal, two thefts of home heating oil, 1 burglary of an unfinished house, 3 attempted home robberies and a few other random thefts from farm yards.

Any other crime in this quiet area?
    Other than the occasional bit of 'boy racering' then no.

Were they prosecuted ?
    Only one prosecution as those responsible seen to have ways around it such as passing on the goods fast. The Gardai have told us that they know those responsible but often find it difficult to get any where.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Seems like the OP has set up the Frog Ward Appreciation Society with his neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Panty_thief

you need some of those Sikhs from the london riots, they'll show you how to defend your community with sticks and burning torches

Seems like the OP has set up the Frog Ward Appreciation Society with his neighbours.

Ok. back up that comment.
    All I have done is state a set of facts and circumstances. We have a criminal element buzzing our area and we are coping with it in a community manner.
    If the facts dont suit your PC take on the world Im sorry but.......:o
    Would you like us to stop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Wheres My Gun.
    No little Sh*ts are goin robin my farm.
    Boys bring out the TNT were going to town :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

i used to work in a pub in a small village, same kinda thing happened, when a certain group of trouble-makers were spotted in a neighbouring village, we'd get a call from one of the pubs there, saying they were heading out our road. we'd call the other two pubs in thevillage, pass on the info, then shut up shop, doors locked, blinds down, curtains drawn, lights off,

used to be great craic, lock-in with the locals/ whatever tourists happened to be in at the time

i used to work in a pub in a small village, same kinda thing happened, when a certain group of trouble-makers were spotted in a neighbouring village, we'd get a call from one of the pubs there, saying they were heading out our road. we'd call the other two pubs in thevillage, pass on the info, then shut up shop, doors locked, blinds down, curtains drawn, lights off,

used to be great craic, lock-in with the locals/ whatever tourists happened to be in at the time

Racist!!!!!
    (apparently)

you need some of those Sikhs from the london riots, they'll show you how to defend your community with sticks and burning torches

No. We just make a phone call. Judging from the reaction of some that makes us bigots of some sort:rolleyes: