Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A question for ye fine folk of After Hours.....

• 02-09-2011 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭

Girl I've been seeing for the past two months or so told me tonight that she doesn't like doing anything for her birthday.

Her birthday is in two weeks time.

Should I take it as a cue (excuse) to be stingy and not do anything for her, in turn respecting her wishes? Or should I treat her to a romantic night etc. and run the risk of her getting annoyed for going to the effort despite her saying she doesn't like celebrating birthdays?
    (I make her sound like a miserable yoke but she really isn't)

In before blast her with piss/ bitches be trippin' etc.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Do nothing. If she's serious she's happy. If she's not it'll teach the mook a lesson in honesty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Tie her to a chair for her birthday, she won't have to do anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Respect her wishes, do nothing. ignore her completely. wait for her reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Blast her with cake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Assume she meant what she said.if she didn't well then she'll be upset but you can swiftly tell her not to be playing games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Girl I've been seeing for the past two months or so told me tonight that she doesn't like doing anything for her birthday.

Should I take it as a cue (excuse) to be stingy and not do anything for her, in turn respecting her wishes? Or should I treat her to a romantic night etc. and run the risk of her getting annoyed for going to the effort despite her saying she doesn't like celebrating birthdays?

It's a test OP.

Whisk her off to Paris and propose to her. That'll learn her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

Less is more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

How about a nice night in, a few small bells and whistles (perhaps literally if she likes them), and maybe cook her something she likes as part of that?

It'd be cheap and fairly hassle-free so she wouldn't be too mad about it, and no matter how she says she doesn't want a fuss, she'd probably be mad if you did nothing.

Or just show her this thread as proof of how much she means to you :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Cook dinner and ****.

Could be any other night but she can't play the old "I can't believe you didn't nothing for my birthday" thing some folk like to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Assuming you are serious she is testing you. Will you pass or will you fail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

People who don't like doing anything for their birthday just don't like a fuss, ie a house or bar full of people looking at tghem waiting for them to say something profound
    You still need to mark it though or it'll be your nads on a platter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Shes lying she wants a big to do.... bitches be crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Thanks for the advice chaps! Sneaky trip to the cinema it may be so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Lol, easy one.

DO NOT IGNORE HER BIRTHDAY.

EVER.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Andromeda_111

It depends on how you really feel about her. If you like her enough then make an effort to give her a night that she would love, try to make her feel special. Maybe she just means she doesn't like a lot of fuss but there's not many people on earth that don't like to be made feel special on their big day ;)

Lol, easy one.

DO NOT IGNORE HER BIRTHDAY.

EVER.

Message loud and clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Do something and get her something, but don't make a big deal out of the fact that it's her birthday.
    Do something more memorable than an average night with her, but not over the top either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

Noone I know that has ever said this has meant it or ever thrown a hissyfit if a party or outing is arranged in their honour.

Girls in particular like to play this 'ah you dont have to make a fuss about little old me' game while secretly hoping you are going go the ends of the earth for a rare, made by deaf mute blind nuns, type gift.

Not me, I will say straight up that I want diamond encrusted diamonds.

OasisGirl wrote: »
    It depends on how you really feel about her. If you like her enough then make an effort to give her a night that she would love, try to make her feel special. Maybe she just means she doesn't like a lot of fuss but there's not many people on earth that don't like to be made feel special on their big day ;)

Judging by your username I assume your a girl, so I'll throw this suggestion at you and see what you think.

She's never been to Croker and is mad into GAA (plays football and camogie) so I was planning on bringing her up to Croker for the camogie finals on Sunday week (her birthday is the following week). Bring her to the GAA museum, treat her to a meal on the way home. Good subtle birthday gift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Ffs do not fall for this.

you are inside the 6 month bubble.

She woves you but you cannot,I repeat CANNOT ignore this birthday sh1te/carryon if you wish to see this "lady".

You picked her.

Fckin precious princesses fcuk lads heads up.

Evil bstards

some of them:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

VenusPlays wrote: »
    Noone I know that has ever said this has meant it or ever thrown a hissyfit if a party or outing is arranged in their honour.

Girls in particular like to play this 'ah you dont have to make a fuss about little old me' game while secretly hoping you are going go the ends of the earth for a rare, made by deaf mute blind nuns, type gift.

Not me, I will say straight up that I want diamond encrusted diamonds.

Dont play poker then,eh?

AJ:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Andromeda_111

Judging by your username I assume your a girl, so I'll throw this suggestion at you and see what you think.

She's never been to Croker and is mad into GAA (plays football and camogie) so I was planning on bringing her up to Croker for the camogie finals on Sunday week (her birthday is the following week). Bring her to the GAA museum, treat her to a meal on the way home. Good subtle birthday gift?

You assume right! That sounds like a really nice thing to do. It's something different rather than a meal and a movie and it's something she loves so you have to be on to a winner. Just one other piece of advice though, don't forget to do something on the day of her birthday too, no matter how small, marking the occasion on the day counts :) I'm sure you'll be rewarded for your efforts ;)

OasisGirl wrote: »
    You assume right! That sounds like a really nice thing to do. It's something different rather than a meal and a movie and it's something she loves so you have to be on to a winner. Just one other piece of advice though, don't forget to do something on the day of her birthday too, no matter how small, marking the occasion on the day counts :) I'm sure you'll be rewarded for your efforts ;)

Cheers for the feedback :)
    I'm sure I'll think of another nice gesture to mark the actual day.
    I'd be charming like that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭WinstonOno

just give her a good rodgerin

WinstonOno wrote: »
    just give her a good rodgerin

Great advice :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Cook dinner and ****.

Could be any other night but she can't play the old "I can't believe you didn't nothing for my birthday" thing some folk like to play.

Won't the dinner get cold though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

This has nothing to do with anything but you said the word birthday repeatedly OP and it's my 18th birthday today (as of half an hour ago).

Take her for a meal, but nothing to over the top. Just a nice meal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Musicman2006

Go out with the lads and leave the moany aul yoke on her own so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

I genuinely :mad:*HATE*:mad: my birthday. Not because I'm old and don't like seeing the years go by - I'm only 24 - it's just something I inexplicably dislike, like pineapples or centipedes. I want it to pass without comment.

Maybe she's the same and genuinely doesn't want to ever acknowledge it.

But more likely, she's not. If she just said it in passing, she's lying. Whenever I say it to someone, I have to repeat it about a hundred times so they'll actually believe me because no one ever does. So if she's not gotten accustomed to having to do this, she's lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Make her cook you steak and give you a Blowjob. Chicks love that kinda romantic sh1t on their birthdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

She's never been to Croker and is mad into GAA (plays football and camogie)

She's lying. Any mad GAA head has been to headquarters. She's also lying about the birthday stuff. Sorry but it's best to find these things out early

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I dont like to celebrate my birthday either, its mine next month, will probably do nothing for it, just dont see what the big deal is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Don't be fooled into thinking she means that. She probably just means she doesn't want you spending a sh!tload of money on her, that doesn't mean she wants you to forget about it entirely.

Your plan sounds perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

brummytom wrote: »
    This has nothing to do with anything but you said the word birthday repeatedly OP and it's my 18th birthday today (as of half an hour ago).

Take her for a meal, but nothing to over the top. Just a nice meal.
    Happy birthday Tom. Now go get pissed and shag a fatty! Then you will be a man. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Happy burfday Tom :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Brummy's lying. There's no way that kid is 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Brummy's lying. There's no way that kid is 18.
    Cut me open and count the rings.

I'm an adult now, God help society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Happy BD, BT!

She mightn't want a party or anything but'd probably appreciate an acknowledgement or DSLR camera of some sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Welcome to adulthood Tommy my boy man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Yo. Get her nuthin' more than... y'know why? Cuz da bitches love nuthin' more than...

P.S: If she be really old & wrinkly & sh!t, maybe she's serious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

So did she actually say she prefers "To Do Nothing" or is that just what you heard. Maybe she meant she has no plans or isn't interested in a big party or something. That doesn't mean you couldnt make a romantic gesture.

Or maybe she is trying to be Taoist and actually wants to do Nothing. Which could be interesting actually. Maybe you could take her out to some nice spot like the beach or something and actually just sit there and do categorically nothing. It's actually pretty meditative, and you might find the experience of disconnecting from busy everyday life for even an hour or two actually very meaningful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Throw her a surprise birthday... because nothing says suprise like throwing a party on her birthday. She'll love you ( or hate you depending on if she's serious)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Jizz in her eye. Women love that.

Overheal wrote: »
    So did she actually say she prefers "To Do Nothing" or is that just what you heard. Maybe she meant she has no plans or isn't interested in a big party or something. That doesn't mean you couldnt make a romantic gesture.

Or maybe she is trying to be Taoist and actually wants to do Nothing. Which could be interesting actually. Maybe you could take her out to some nice spot like the beach or something and actually just sit there and do categorically nothing. It's actually pretty meditative, and you might find the experience of disconnecting from busy everyday life for even an hour or two actually very meaningful.

She actually said she hates celebrating her birthday and she wants me to do nothing. People here are saying that she's lying or whatever but she's the most honest girl I know so I tend to believe her!

Jess16 wrote: »
    She's lying. Any mad GAA head has been to headquarters. She's also lying about the birthday stuff. Sorry but it's best to find these things out early

She's from Wicklow, chances of her not being to Croker over the years are high! :p