Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late Show

• 01-09-2011 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭darealtulip

The Late Late show will do an item on religion and education. Could be interesting. I heard it will be around 21.30

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I really hope this feature is more objective than they usually are. And please tell me John Waters won't be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

With Tubs at the helm you know this is going to be a disaster, the only thing uncertain is how much he will butcher it. I suspect we'll see a butchered description of Catholicism, the positive values of Catholicism and some other vague wishy washy stuff in attempt to reinforce positive ideals on religion. Oh and I predict some really crappy pseudo intellectual strawmanned explanation of secularism.

The eternal optimist,
    Malt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fisgon

Dades wrote: »
    I really hope this feature is more objective than they usually are. And please tell me John Waters won't be on.

Either Waters, Breda O'Brien or David Quinn are almost definites, I would say. Or maybe Ronan Mullen. The roll the usual suspects out anytime these topics come up.

There was a time when this kind of thing would have been dynamite on the Late Late. No more, I fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

ah dont tell me bean pole hosting show? tought he was going this year feck wont be watching it so, just can not stand the sight of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭liamw

na9Md.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭muppeteer

Apparently Sinead o Connor will be on the late late too(not sure if same night) after some off again on again goings on about an insulting RTE researcher:)
    http://www.sineadoconnor.com/
    Tubbs vs Sinead, I almost hope he puts his foot in his mouth just so she can dismantle him:)

This also reminded me of a blog post I read a while back about how she deserved a massive apology from all the people who ridiculed her when she tore up the picture of the pope in protest at church involvement in child abuse. http://www.eoinbutler.com/home/isnt-sinead-oconnor-overdue-a-massive-grovelling-apology-from-absolutely-everybody/

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Not sure about Watery John, but Michael Nugent of AI and Martijn Leenheer, the Dutch chap from Leitrim who ran into trouble earlier int he year, will both be on -- talking about schools and the religious control thereof. From the facebook page:
    Some Guy wrote:
    Parent Martijn Leenheer and Micheal Nugent of Atheist Ireland will be on the Late Late show to discuss religious education in schools. Martijn Leenheer withdrew his son Finn, aged five, from school after discovering that he was reciting prayers daily despite opting out of Catholic Religious instruction.

"[Drumlease Primary School in Dromahair, Co Leitrim,] stated very clearly that they welcomed all religions and none. The school also asked a question, if I wanted my son taught in the Catholic faith. "I answered 'no', so you can imagine my surprise when I heard my son reciting prayers," he added.

He revealed he had been given the option of going to the school to supervise his child when religious education and prayers were taking place, but pointed out that it wasn't feasible. Finn now attends the Educate Together school in Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Not on Real Player yet..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I really hope this feature is more objective than they usually are

With champion muppet Tubridy at the helm I wouldn't bet on it.

And please tell me John Waters won't be on.

I'd settle for Waters ahead of David Quinn or that pseudo-intellectual eejit from UCD Schoool of Philosophy.

fisgon wrote: »
    Either Waters, Breda O'Brien or David Quinn are almost definites, I would say. Or maybe Ronan Mullen. The roll the usual suspects out anytime these topics come up.

There was a time when this kind of thing would have been dynamite on the Late Late. No more, I fear.

I went to the same school as Ronan Mullen. He's worse than any of them, a mouthpiece with outdated ideas who gets a national forum for his stupid views in the expensive talking shop they call the seanad. He's a self-important waffler, which would put him in good company alongside the likes of Waters and Quinn. I'm not sure I even want to watch this, anything with Tubridy in charge is invariably cringeworthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Galvasean wrote: »
    Not on Real Player yet..

Eh? It's just gone Friday.

Shows how much I watch the Late Late....

^^ And here's me thinking you worked in showbusiness. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

fisgon wrote: »
    I don't really hate anybody but people like Ronan Mullen really put that ability to the test.
    Watch him when he gets flustered.
    The red face and the stuttering gets hidden with a detestable smug smile.
    An absolutely unpalatable individual regardless of his views.

There might be a few black and whites in the audience too. The friendly reasonable sounding types that make people on the fence think, "ah, isn't he a lovely priest. Why would those nasty secularists want to cast them into the sea?"

• Moderators Posts: 51,917 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Educate Together will be represented according to their twitter feed.
    Parents from our start up groups & from Wicklow ETNS, as well as CEO @paulroweet are all participating in @RTELateLateShow tonight- tune in!

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Beggared

This proves beyond doubt that there is no god, if a god existed the Late Late Show would not.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Beggared wrote: »
    if a god existed the Late Late Show would not.
    Gay Byrne for deity?

I bet Tubridy will mention Dawkins in his first question.

^^ And here's me thinking you worked in showbusiness. :pac:

There stood a lonely boom operator in an empty RTE studio wondering why the Late Late appears to have been canceled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

there is a thread started on this already

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056370156

jimmynokia wrote: »
    there is a thread started on this already

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056370156
    Indeed - but that is in the TV forum and this one is here specifically because of the Religion/Education debate. :)

Said debate will be analysed here after, no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Mistress 69

robindch wrote: »
    Gay Byrne for deity?

Not if he cant be president... what about Pat, the Lord Mayor of Gorse Hill ...for either position

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Deadly, could be decent after all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Maybe I'll tune in, maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

After the news, Tubs ''....Parents who want to ban crucifixes'' ??
    I've heard no one mention baning anything, anyway crucifixes are handy coat hangers.

Here we go.

2 minutes in and that I want to stab Tubridy already

I couldn't help myself. Tubridy is so annoyingly biased - he makes little smart ass trolling comments hoping they will bite and look bad - what a moron. Do your job and mediate a discussion.

Cuba Gooding Jnr - freaked the crap out if Tubridy and slipped in "I'm atheist" after Tubbs says "thank God"...

A nutter but I like the cut of his jib!

"catholic schools arent a problem because 18 year olds arent going to mass regularly"

okay...

Don't look at the thread in the Television forum... full of morons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 alfagirl

Can't figure out what side Tubs is on but whatever he is on he is not directing the debate properly.... 3 negative experience v 1 positive experience? I hear the BCI calling!!!

bluewolf wrote: »
    "catholic schools arent a problem because 18 year olds arent going to mass regularly"

okay...

I hark back to the time when this country was under sheet ice during the last ice age, Catholics weren't able to send their kids to a state-funded school.

It's annoying the way Tubridy is dragging his own prejudices into this debate.

GWAN MICK NUGENT!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

The Late Late Show A&A Thread. Hmmmmmm.

I like it. An interesting concept. I hope this thread survives.

Hmm. Yes.

i thought tubby was doing ok - "are catholic schools not a monolith as well, why not do things more democratically etc"

The amount of applause that email got is thoroughly depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

God Bless Richard Dawkins.

wow, someone says 'catholic country, catholic schools, you're in the club, live by the rules' and a round of applause from the audience!! I'm seriously fcuking embarassed to be Irish sometimes

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Having grown up watching Gay Byrne handle these sorts of topics, I'll paraphrase someone talking about Tubs big hero, "he's no Gaybo". Pretty shambolic so far.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Never thought I'd say it, but go on tubbers!

ask them about transsubstantiation, tubby!!

liamw wrote: »
    wow, someone says 'catholic country, catholic schools, you're in the club, live by the rules' and a round of applause from the audience!! I'm seriously fcuking embarassed to be Irish sometimes
    don't look at the bloody TV forum thread so :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Ask the "catholics" how many don't use contraception or don't agree with sex before marriage

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Ask the "catholics" how many don't use contraception or don't agree with sex before marriage

yer man with the 6 kids is representing anyway

As I said on the TV forum:
    Just a quick one, when you say if you go to country X (which is implied as bad) would you expect them to be fair? Since the implication is that those countries are backward, why exactly would we seek to "lower" ourselves to their standards?

Pity they're being represented by Ivana Bacik, can't support their case now. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭terenc

Hands up, hands down, red peppers, green peppers:D:D.

I'm only still watching so I can hear myself accept my Las Vegas prize.

bluewolf wrote: »
    don't look at the bloody TV forum thread so :mad:

10.png

Deep breaths Liam...

• Moderators Posts: 51,917 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Really depressing to watch. The constant tone of "well what do you expect at a Catholic school?" was annoying.

Also wasn't too impressed that taxpayers of all/no faiths fund the schools. Plus the "build your own schools" response from one of the audience members.

Why didn't they ask parents why is it the schools responsibility to religiously instruct children? surely that's better left to parents?

If you can read this, you're too close!