Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you a ciotóg?

• 01-09-2011 7:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

A few days ago Seán Moncrieff was interviewing some randomer who had studied left-handed people and how they've been treated in history. It seems fairly harsh the way they were discriminated against.

I know two people well who are ciotóga. They are both female, and highly intelligent and motivated. There was always this story growing up about lefthanders being more intelligent than righthanders. It would seem, however, that that's a very new trend and lefthanded people were often beaten because they didn't write with their right hand.

Are you a ciotóg, and in what way if at all have you been discriminated against?

Are you a ciotóg/lefthander? 187 votes

Yes, I'm lefthanded
    0%
    No, I'm righthanded
    100%
    CloverDont be at yourselfMr.ApplepieCreatureTouchingVirusMrPuddingRabiesMagic MonkeyembeeuchKoldDe HipsterixoyMongoefbCalidenrain on[Deleted User]keano_afcseanybiker 187 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Dionysus wrote: »
    A few day's ago Seán Moncrieff was interviewing some randomer who had studied left-handed people and how they've been treated in history. It seems fairly harsh the way they were discriminated against.

I know two people well who are ciotóga. They are both female, and highly intelligent and motivated. There was always this story growing up about lefthanders being more intelligent than righthanders. It would seem, however, that that's a very new trend and lefthanded people were often beaten because they didn't write with their right hand.

Are you a ciotóg, and in what way if at all have you been discriminated against?

I was beaten because I couldn't speak Irish and feel discrimated against - I assume cioto-fada-g is a left-handed person?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

The guitarist in my old band was a lefty, yet he played right-handed guitar. He got some slagging back in school when he first picked up the intrument, told how he'd never pull that off. He went from there to simply being a fantastic guitarist years later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

No, I'm righthanded
    Táim :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

am a citeog. apparently more creative than right handers, but not sooooo sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Left handed people are MUTANTS !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

No, I'm righthanded
    It was suggested I not take up guitar because I'm left handed, probably because the person knows me well enough to know I'll not play a right-handed guitar just like I don't use a mouse with my right. Left 4 life!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Not a ciotóg but I do certain things left handed, such as eating, this used to drive my father mad, "learn to eat properly". Back when he was growing up ciotógs were considered a bit "special".

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

It was suggested I not take up guitar because I'm left handed, probably because the person knows me well enough to know I'll not play a right-handed guitar just like I don't use a mouse with my right. Left 4 life!

Wasn't Hendrix a lefty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Lefties are the spawn of rthe devil himself... for the bible tells us so. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

My mam is left-handed and when she was in school she was beaten and told to learn to write with her right hand. So for the rest of the year in that class she wrote with her right instead.
    Some people are crazy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

No, I'm righthanded
    I look a bit dangeroud with a knife, and watching me sharpen the blade you'd be forgiven for thinking i was about to take the hand off myself.

Teachers heart was broke in national school trying to teach me to knit, and as for musical instruments, not a hope. Too akward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I was beaten because I couldn't speak Irish and feel discrimated against - I assume cioto-fada-g is a left-handed person?

:rolleyes: This shít arís. Perhaps you were beaten because you were talking shíte through the chip on your shoulder to the extent of disrupting the class/thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

!!deedni ma I seY

am a citeog. apparently more creative than right handers, but not sooooo sure!

Interestingly, the two ciotóga whom I know are very creative, as opposed to merely book intelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

No, I'm righthanded
    Is ciotóg mé agus tá bród orm as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I wouldn't associate with such Devil's children!

On a serious note, I'm ambidextrous but when I was in primary school the teachers kept freaking out saying that I had to have a 'dominant hand' because I kept switching when my hands got tired. So I got sent to 'physical therapy' (*shudder*) and they made me use only one hand and guess which one it was! Yep the right hand!

I can still use my left hand though so it's no big deal, I'm just a bit slower at writing though I can draw better with my left than my right.

Not a ciotóg but I do certain things left handed, such as eating, this used to drive my father mad, "learn to eat properly". Back when he was growing up ciotógs were considered a bit "special".

It's weird how righthanders insist you use the fork in your lefthand. I'm a righthander and had to learn to use the fork in my left hand. I wonder how that developed.

It was definitely more natural for me to use the fork in my right hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

No, I'm righthanded
    Hells yeah I'm a ciotóg. I wouldn't say I've faced much discrimination, just many nuisances - getting ink on my hand when I write, difficulty with scissors and can openers etc. The worst was in secondary school where the arm rest was only on the right-hand side and the main part of the desk was fairly small so my left hand was on the desk when I wrote but my arm had nothing to rest on.

But on the other hand, I firmly believe that left-handers are not only more creative and intelligent than right-handers, but far more beautiful as well, both physically and spiritually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

No, I'm righthanded
    deathrider wrote: »
    Wasn't Hendrix a lefty?

and paul mccartney
    kurt cobain
    noel gallagher (though plays with his right-hand)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

deathrider wrote: »
    The guitarist in my old band was a lefty, yet he played right-handed guitar. He got some slagging back in school when he first picked up the intrument, told how he'd never pull that off. He went from there to simply being a fantastic guitarist years later!

If he choked on his own vomit then hello, Noel Redding.

Crosáidí wrote: »
    and paul mccartney
    kurt cobain
    noel gallagher (though plays with his right-hand)

So that's a yes then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Im right handed but I have often heard this (esp to left handed kids, struggling with right handed equipment).
    All people are born right handed, only the truely great overcome it !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

All these public polls and foreign languages are making me nervous:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Meirleach

No, I'm righthanded
    I'm going to draw a diagram.

A bad diagram, but still.

Correct way to seat and left and right handed person at a two person desk.
    [_Desk_]
    \o o/

The way every single teacher, without fail seated me in school.
    [_Desk_]
    o/\o

I still remember one teacher after I'd informed them of the slight downside to sitting this way(arms constantly knocking with the person to the left of me), telling me to switch to my right hand to write with....because it's that easy :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

No, I'm righthanded
    Left handed and ginger.
    My first class teacher used to punch me so hard that I'd be lifted out of my chair. Old school bastard. This happened just after corporal punishment was banned. He had a tough time letting go of it. Ruler across the knuckles and that sort of crap.
    Not nice when you're 6/7 years old.

As for the creative thing, I'll just say now that it either skips some people, or it's complete and utter crap. I'll go with the latter.

Intelligent?
    Depends on how you define intelligence.
    Mostly A's all through school, but I was still thrown out when I was 15. My behaviour wasn't very smrt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

No, I'm righthanded
    Yes, I am. Shouldn't be though, I do everything else with my right side, think I was just mimicking my ciotóg mother and older siblings. But they are all true lefties, whereas I am not. My brother used to write backwards as a kid, as in it could be read by holding a mirror up to the page. My mother was told off by the nuns in school for writing with her left hand until my granny marched into the school and gave them a peace of her mind. Formidable woman. :D

My maternal granddad was ambidextrous.

EDIT: Jaysus, loads of ciotógs on boards! I've never experienced that ratio in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

No, I'm righthanded
    I'm left-handed in that I write with my left hand - I do most other things with my right hand though. My parents are both left-handed too - my father very strongly so, though he writes with his right hand becuase he was made to in school. His handwriting is atrocious though.

As for us being more creative, it's true in our sample size of 3 anyway - my father is a craftsman, my mother is a writer with a degree in music, and I play in a band and do photography on the side from my day job as a writer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

But on the other hand, I firmly believe that left-handers are not only more creative and intelligent than right-handers, but far more beautiful as well, both physically and spiritually.

They're also blessed with the gift of modesty too. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

I remember seeing a show about the abuse in a some institution, one of the youngboys who was abused was in the place because he was left handed. I've heard older people say they were beaten by teachers because they were left handed.
    Just to think only a generation ago we were in cave man territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

No, I'm righthanded
    They're also blessed with the gift of modesty too. :p

It's just me being naturally creative, with the truth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Barrt2

Dionysus wrote: »
    A few days ago Seán Moncrieff was interviewing some randomer who had studied left-handed people and how they've been treated in history. It seems fairly harsh the way they were discriminated against.

Correct me if i'm wrong 10% of world population is left handed so therefore if you put 10% of the world against the rest, of course it will come up smarter. For us right handed folk

there is less people to judge so the IQ is higher with rand handed people you have to take into account 3rd world countries and Americans(not all but quite a few) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Yup, am a lefty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

No, I'm righthanded
    Yes I am and I always think it shows a certain strength of character when people do things differently, even if it means going against the grain.
    Obviously I'm biased but it takes a certain type of child to refute teacher authority in favour of remaining true to themselves and their own unique style.

I suppose it suggests a sort of individuality and determination that might not be present in children who simpy follow instruction unequivocally.

For those reasons I think being left-handed might be a manifestation of people with a particular mindset -basically those who follow through on a unique set of traits that motivates them to do things differently from an early age, even when others say they shouldn't.

Which is also probably why a large proportion of adult left-handers have shared characteristics -cos we all think in a similar way that made us become lefties in the first place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Right handed but eat like a left handed person should do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

No, I'm righthanded
    krudler wrote: »
    Yup, am a lefty

same here...as are my parents..and two of my grandparents and both my kids..even my dog is left pawed...

mars bar wrote: »
    Right handed but eat like a left handed person should do.

At seperate tables?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

fontanalis wrote: »
    At seperate tables?

Yes. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

No, I'm righthanded
    Jess16 wrote: »
    Yes I am and I always think it shows a certain strength of character when people do things differently, even if it means going against the grain.
    Obviously I'm biased but it takes a certain type of child to refute teacher authority in favour of remaining true to themselves and their own unique style.

I suppose it suggests a sort of individuality and determination that might not be present in children who simpy follow instruction unequivocally.

For those reasons I think being left-handed might be a manifestation of people with a particular mindset -basically those who follow through on a unique set of traits that motivates them to do things differently from an early age, even when others say they shouldn't.

Which is also probably why a large proportion of adult left-handers have shared characteristics -cos we all think in a similar way that made us become lefties in the first place :)

TBH, all this is only true if you were discouraged from writing with your left hand. I never remember being left-handed being an issue in primary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Barrt2

Jess16 wrote: »

So you are all individuals who basically copy each other? Not a very creative way of putting it.

You make it sound like left handed people are rebels?
    Its very easy to refuse anything a teacher says it takes a backbone to stand up for yourself and a bit of balls, the dominant hand should'nt effect your personality.?

And no i'm not attacking you, your post just seemed odd to me :confused::P

All these public polls and foreign languages are making me nervous:(

Are you the guy who was going on about something you termed the "British Isles" and the "mafia GAA" a while ago? Jesus wept. :rolleyes:

Now, please do piss off to the undereducated bigoted anti-Irish hovel from which you came. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭merengueca

My Dad is, and at school he was forced into using his right hand to write. To this day he writes with his right hand and eats etc with his left hand. Also his handwriting is truly awful!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

No, I'm righthanded
    I dislike the word as it comes from the Irish word for "awkward".I had my hand tied to the back of the desk and was slapped across the face repeatedly for not using my right hand by "a holy nun".

Many children with dyslexia have cross-laterality where they are neither fully right side or left side dominant.

fontanalis wrote: »
    I remember seeing a show about the abuse in a some institution, one of the youngboys who was abused was in the place because he was left handed. I've heard older people say they were beaten by teachers because they were left handed.
    Just to think only a generation ago we were in cave man territory.

There is definitely a book to be made about that in Ireland alone, and hopefully before the people in question go ar slí na firinne (pass away). Moncrieff's interview was with a North American. The same stories of lefthanders being discriminated against and persecuted in homes would certainly be replicated across Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I write with my right, always have done. But my left arm is the stronger one, I hold my knife and fork arseways like a lefty, and I...eh...use my left for ... eh... me time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Stupid double post. Damn left handed mouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

No, I'm righthanded
    Barrt2 wrote: »
    the dominant hand should'nt effect your personality.?

Exactly, I'm saying it's the personality that determines your dominant hand. Or that the combination of certain characteristics predisposes you towards being left-handed, as opposed to right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

Terry wrote: »
    Left handed and ginger.

My 12 year old son is left handed and ginger and we're neighbours Terry. Don't worry, i'm not trying to imply that he's a secret love child or anything :D

He is an extremely intelligent child and comes up with fantastically creative ideas and is brilliant at science. Unfortunately his handwriting is woeful so even though he has great ideas his teachers have always struggled to work out what he is trying to write down.
    I have never tried to get him to write with his right hand or anything like that but I have gotten him various books to help him practice.

It is a genuine worry that he will lose out when it comes to exams because he could be writing the correct answer but the teacher wont be able to read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

No, I'm righthanded
    I was told I was the son of Satan by a Sister when I was in primary and got a fair few belts because I wrote left handed.
    I was called a witch and a pagan etc.
    This was only in the 80's.

I would also love it if there were left handed cheque/lodgement books!