Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you happy living in ireland

• 31-08-2011 4:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭

AS the above says. I can't say I'm happy living in the country. I think I would be happy living in the states with the family i'v over there, Unlike my irish family cousins etc that don't speak too you and just drive pass without waving at you. So rude.

Also we don't even play the sports I like Ice hockey.

Like living in ireland 139 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 139 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

yes.

things could be worse

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

So you're asking us if we like living here because you don't like your extended family?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Godammit I love this wee country and I love my fellow countrymen (and women, easy now).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭cena

orourkeda wrote: »
    yes.

things could be worse

well they could be alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

for every con, ireland has a 1000 pro's. i love it. cant see myself ever living anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

you're saying that like its a choice for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

i love it here..

you cousins sound like dícks! :( sorry to hear that. we play hurling. Watch the all ireland final on sunday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭spindex

yes love it. It might be a shi* hole, but its our shi* hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

whats stopping you from just moving to the states?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Despite all the crap going on right now Ireland is still a great place. I left over a year ago now but was happy there before I did so; I'm happy where I am now but miss Ireland terribly. It's run by fuckwits (although the current bunch of fuckwits don't seem as fuckwitty as the last) and can be frustrating but it has an awful lot going for it - more than most places on this planet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I love everything about Ireland apart from my 'wannabe American' cousin

neil_hosey wrote: »
    i love it here..

you cousins sound like dícks! :( sorry to hear that. we play hurling. Watch the all ireland final on sunday!!

ya your right nearly all of them are. A hand full well speak too me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Not really.

Shít weather,high prices,majority of the population are small minded,ignorant cúnts.

Don't understand why tourists come here to be honest.

whats stopping you from just moving to the states?

well it would be visas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Yes I am happy here. I love this country, it is my home.
    I do want to travel some more and see more of the world, and it might be nice to own a holiday apartment somewhere to go for a few weeks a year, but my permanent home is Ireland, and I think I would always come back to it to settle and live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Jam

I wasn't unhappy, but I don't see how it's any better or worse than most places. It has good things going for it, and bad. Depends on your personal preference.

For example, if you like things to be done properly, then Ireland is the wrong place to be. From my experience, about half the workforce in Ireland are crap at the their jobs and/or don't care, and fifth of those are probably incompetent. So if you're one of the hardworking people that can actually do your job properly, it usually shows, but then half the people at work hate you for showing them up.

That's why I got out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Jam wrote: »
    For example, if you like things to be done properly, then Ireland is the wrong place to be. From my experience, about half the workforce in Ireland are crap at the their jobs and/or don't care, and fifth of those are probably incompetent. So if you're one of the hardworking people that can actually do your job properly, it usually shows, but then half the people at work hate you for showing them up.

I think there might have been another different reason for them hating you rather than simply for showing up, and it might have had something to do with your superiority complex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I'm home visiting Ireland at the moment and was just thinking there a few minutes ago how sad I'm going to be again leaving next week, mainly because of family. Hate saying goodbye to my dad :(

Spent the day at Newgrange with my parents and that place is just unbelievable. 5000 years old. Older than the Pyramids of Eygpt even! Beautiful scenary around it and this is only the East Coast. There were a load of tourists on the tour, obviously, but they were bowled over as was I. I felt very proud. They did a great job up there...

Then last weekend I was at the Dublin V Donegal game and the atmosphere you get nowhere else...after the game a Donegal fan turned around to me and said, "Well done and best of luck in the final!". Brought a tear to my eye. It's all just for the love of sport and county pride and no crazy hooliganism you see in other countries. We all share a love for GAA.

And the sense of humour....I haven't laughed as much since I landed last week.

Ireland is great. I feel myself here and I see myself coming home one day. I'm jealous in a way of you lot living here (and before you suggest I come home, I can't)...you need to go away to appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Yes and no....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Grass is always greener syndrome tbh. There's pros and cons to living in any country, some countries have more pros than cons and vice versa. Ireland is probably at the end of the scale with the substantially more pros than cons I would say.

To be honest though, living somewhere and your happiness in that place is largely down to what you make it yourself. The US is great and I've some decent friends over there but not sure If living there would be all that greater than Ireland, with the exception of choice (bigger area in which to move around in). Europe has that kinda choice too but it's not as easy due to language and wider cultural differences often being a barrier (though not insurmountable)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I'm not unhappy to be here but outside of a small circle of friends and small enough circle of family I have no ties to here and don't feel particularly encouraged to stay. I'd be quite happy to live elsewhere but it is a whole lot of effort :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I've grown quite fond of the old girl. I doubt I could leave her, especially in her time of stress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Not really.

Shít weather,high prices,majority of the population are small minded,ignorant cúnts.

Don't let the plane door hit you on the way out !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Having seen the worst of the country over the last few years (a bit longer even ) , it can only get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

Not really TBH all i ever seem to do is work to pay bills and stay above water which is just existing and not really living...

But with mortgage and job security looks like i'll be here for the long haul!!

/pull up a chair :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

cena wrote: »
    Unlike my irish family cousins etc that don't speak too you and just drive pass without waving at you. So rude.

You must live in Dublin. You should move to a more rural area. Everyone you pass will wave to you.. people will down tools, leave the dinner table and race out to the roadside just to wave at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

ya your right nearly all of them are. A hand full well speak too me.
    why do you have to be upset with cousins, have you got good neighbours, workmates, why bother if they are not trying, join evening classes, club, get to know others,
    i have travelled alot,
    we have the best, maybe our problesm seem big, but they are man made, unlike other countries, watching new york and all the places along the coast of america having to leave their homes due to the storm, some being killed, some losing all their posessions, then look at the news every night and see what is going on with cournal gadaffi, he is thick as a plank, murdering, not standing down, ruining peoples lives, then look at the horn of africa, people starving due to no rain, this country could feed the world, we have the climate,
    we do not have, earthquakes, tsunamis, nor wars,
    your problem is very small, go out there and make friends with others, you dont need the relatives to stay, live your life,
    i love this place, i have less money, bigger bills, but so what, i will have to cut my cloth to match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

neither happy nor unhappy but I think if I live elsewhere I will be happier, or the other way round.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

It has its good and bad points, unfortunately there are a lot more bad than good at the moment. Seriously thinking about calling it a day and moving abroad but will give it another 12 months or so and see..

Let me say...
    I love being Irish, I love the many beautiful sights and spots we have here, I love the fact that most of my family is within a shortish drive of me. That's it.

We are getting effed in the ass so hard in this country it isn't even funny anymore. Every week it costs me a fortune just to live here. We have one of the highest taxes on fuel, alcohol and cigarettes in Europe here, and yet we're still broke???

As well as that, the Irish mentality has changed for the worst in the last 10-15 years. The Celtic Tiger years turned a large portion of our people into material-driven selfish parasites, everyone wants the flashy house, the flashy car, the latest Ipod, camera, and 4 holidays a year. We allow ourselves to be influenced too easily by American culture.

The younger generation go out dressed like wannabe pornstars and care only about getting f**ked up and getting the ride.

The scumbags have won. Most cases reported to the gardai never get solved or reach a conclusion these days. Often the victim of an assault will be told to accept an apology and move on by an advising garda. And who can blame the cops? They are expected to maintain social order and deal with the scumbags using little to no resources. Scumbags have knives, guns, broken bottles and no rules or morals. Gardai have a baton and endless cuts to their financial resources, as well as a truely muddled justice service over their heads.

The way everything is run here is just wrong. If you take a wander over to Germany it is easy to see why they have money coming out of their arses. Small example: At their airports, the escalators only activate when someone approaches one to use it.

This country really is a baron wasteland compared to 10 years ago. There are boarded up shops/pubs/businesses and ghost estates all over the place. Most of my good friends have left indefinitely. We are now in the hands of the EU/ECB/IMF for the next couple of decades at the least.

Yes I might sound like a self-loathing Paddy, but I'm physically and emotionally sick at the state of present-day Ireland. This is supposed to be a happy place. God knows our ancestors went through enough drama and tragedy to get us to a 'good' place, and we've shat upon their hard work. Banks and developers can only be blamed so much, every citizen of Ireland has a full responsibility to make her as beautiful and prosperous as she once was. Unfortunately it might be too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

majority of the population are small minded,ignorant cúnts.

Ironically that kind of generalistion is a pretty small minded, ignorant thing to say too so what does that make you?

Ireland is not perfect (despite what ego boosting tourists say about it) but its home, its beautiful in many ways and the people, culture and nightlife are fantastic. The rest of the world is a great place to visit or even live for a while but Ireland is the only home for me and im completely fine with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭shellykbookey

I think we have a great set up here compared to most countries. Environment wise, we’ve no extremes of weather, hurricanes or tsunamis, none of the mad, human hating wildlife you get in other countries or even moles like in Britain. Yeah the people running the country are a shower of gob****es but at least we don’t have people like Michelle Bachman or any nutball dictator, or armed groups running around killing hundreds and thousands of people.
    I think putting up with the wet summers and D4 ejits and getting screwed in the budget is a fair trade off tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

It has its ups and downs but I love my country. Wouldnt mind moving to another country for a few years though. Canada sounds good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I'm home visiting Ireland at the moment and was just thinking there a few minutes ago how sad I'm going to be again leaving next week, mainly because of family. Hate saying goodbye to my dad :(

Spent the day at Newgrange with my parents and that place is just unbelievable. 5000 years old. Older than the Pyramids of Eygpt even! Beautiful scenary around it and this is only the East Coast. There were a load of tourists on the tour, obviously, but they were bowled over as was I. I felt very proud. They did a great job up there...

Then last weekend I was at the Dublin V Donegal game and the atmosphere you get nowhere else...after the game a Donegal fan turned around to me and said, "Well done and best of luck in the final!". Brought a tear to my eye. It's all just for the love of sport and county pride and no crazy hooliganism you see in other countries. We all share a love for GAA.

And the sense of humour....I haven't laughed as much since I landed last week.

Ireland is great. I feel myself here and I see myself coming home one day. I'm jealous in a way of you lot living here (and before you suggest I come home, I can't)...you need to go away to appreciate it.

I don't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

stankratz wrote: »
    We are getting effed in the ass so hard in this country it isn't even funny anymore. Every week it costs me a fortune just to live here. We have one of the highest taxes on fuel, alcohol and cigarettes in Europe here, and yet we're still broke???

Ireland is quite a low-tax country compared to other European states, Belgium and Netherlands have higher rates of income tax, for example. Given the size of the welfare state and the cost of keeping the banks afloat it's no wonder we're in the economic quagmire we are now. Expect a long drawn out recovery but it will recover eventually.

Despite all that's happened over the last few years Ireland is still ranked near the top of the Human Development Index, so the standard of living is still high for most people. The country could still be a far better place to live but as long as we keep making improvements we should be able to maintain a good standard of living in general. It's a definite advantage for a country to have a mild climate, no extreme weather events, no tectonic activity and no major conflicts.

Personally speaking, I feel that home is where you make it. Anywhere you go in the world to live you face the same challenges; holding down a job, maintaining a home, looking after your family, staying healthy etc. The question is can these things be achieved easier in Ireland than in other countries? In most cases I would say yes. I understand the urge to travel though, and some people just find they fit in better in other countries. Happens all the time.

To those here who say they find people in Ireland to be too small-minded or ignorant then it's time to meet new people. You get idiots in any country you visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

AS the above says. I can't say I'm happy living in the country. I think I would be happy living in the states with the family i'v over there, Unlike my irish family cousins etc that don't speak too you and just drive pass without waving at you. So rude.

Jees I have cousins I could not be arrsed waving at, just lets say their not very nice people but as the saying goes you can pick yoyr friends but not your family but Ireland its self I could not see myself living anywhere else I have noticed its a lot more tolerant than most countrys and its only going to get better fair enough we lost a little of our soul during the celtic tiger era and it showed how people were more matirialistic and are paying for it now with their enormous debit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Sure wouldn't it be a grand little country if you could only put a roof on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I am not from Ireland, but I am glad to call Ireland my home for last 6 years.

I got opportunity to work, live and biuld my future.

We are buying house here too ( waiting on replay from EA on our offer ), so prety much I am here to stay and die from old age. Next step Irish citizenship.

Ireland did for me more, then my country did. If there will be war, I will fight under Irish flag.

It's hard in Ireland lads, but trust me, there are way worse places in the world. Love and respect what you got.

You must live in Dublin. You should move to a more rural area. Everyone you pass will wave to you.. people will down tools, leave the dinner table and race out to the roadside just to wave at you.

I live in the country side in galway

Sooopie wrote: »
    I don't!

Your loss.

No, I meant at the match. Phrased that wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Hate it,
    where's my rope

I live in the country side in galway

So not Dublin then? Because were all unfriendly coonts in Dublin.

*Unfriendly cuilches shocker* :rolleyes:

Give.me.a.break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

It is what you make of it.
    I'm very happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

And our rural brothers will give you the best looking sheep too..
    I love Ireland too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

This is why the country is **** to so many, they're sooo damn cynical and pessimistic.
    sugarman wrote: »
    fucking hate it with a passion!

But only because everything is done arseways here, we would'nt be in half the mess we are now had things been properly planned & thought out.

It's only going to continue too, it's the Irish attitude, 'Ahh sure, it'll be grand", or "Whats the worse that can happen" or even "Sure we'll look into it after it's a total balls up" etc.. etc..

Love the Country itself & the Irish people tho so it's a shame.

Love the Irish people, but hate them at the same time? :rolleyes: It's true, we do everything arseways because it's the easier option and we usually get away with it.
    Not really.

Hehe
    wild_cat wrote: »
    Sure wouldn't it be a grand little country if you could only put a roof on it.

When I become almighty ruler of this country, you're becoming my Minister for the Enviroment. :pac:

EDIT: I honestly think it's our inability to think logically. Most of us can't do maths (properly), or are very bad at it. If our government had even the slightest intention of getting us out of this mess, they'd provide free education for courses like engineering/science/product design and review the courses every year to try and predict what will be needed. I'm fairly centre right, but f**k, do we need a few 5 year plans. We've been doing "Arts" for the last twenty years which won't get us anywhere. Years ago (Victorian times etc) it was VERY common for people to do art and science, today it's one or the other. We don't need more primary school teachers, we don't need more english/history teachers. Same applies for loads of other courses, yet people still do them and bitch about the fact that they can't get a job. Do something that's needed, help the country get out of this mess, nobody is going to do it for you unless you help. I'm going to have to stop before I get on to trade unions.. okay, stopping now. :rolleyes:

Ireland's what you make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

Ireland's a great place to live: end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

In comparison to South Africa, I was happier in Ireland. I guess I tolerated it more for the 11 years I lived there, but I've always wanted to travel and live in different places just to experience it. I could never imagine myself settling in Ireland though.

I remember two months before I moved I was absolutely miserable. I'd my rent paid up, flights booked, everything saved. I was literally just waiting to leave. Everything about the place annoyed me I just wanted out!

I like the friendliness of the Irish people but what I don't like is that the country is far too rural. There are very few cities. If I don't like Dublin, I don't have much choice! And I'm a city person. Living in a small town or in the country would drive me insane.

I find people here just look down on you unless your some one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I'm only staying here because my son is here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

some tourists come to ireland because

* they have/had ancestors here
    * to try out the authentic irish pub experience, there is at least one irish pub in nearly every major city on earth, go to madrid and the irish bars are packed with local spanish drinking guiness ditto las vegas
    * the scenery on our west coast is stunning, from donegal, sligo, mayo, galway, clare, cork and kerry we have some incredible sights, unspoiled spotless beaches like culdaff, rossnowlagh
    * to experience the quiet pace of life that 99% of the country offers, i am looking out my window at the moment at green fields as far as the eye can see, swallows chasing each other in the evening light and its not unique to just west roscommon, i can travel pretty much anywhere in connacht outside galway city and its the same
    * our history, dating back Millenia, we have manmade structures on this island older the pyramids