Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you hate, love or just get through your working day?

• 30-08-2011 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭

Most jobs I've worked in seem genuinely awful at worst or something to get through at best. Is this the way for all boardsies?

Who here actually likes their job and or their bosses? The only exception I can think of is that Irish post man won the lotto last year and he went into the work the next day but even he left after a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

No, I love love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I love my job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

El Weirdo wrote: »
    No, I love love.

I love a good typo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

First job I absolutely hated with a passion. I didn't mind being there, but the people I worked with and the people I dealt with were either idiots or assholes. Second job I loved, wish I never left. Boss was a dick, everyone with a bit of power was a dick, but once I got to doing the job it was brilliant. Third job I started off liking, took about two weeks for me to remember the general public are predominantly self-important cunts and that common decency isn't so common. I'm pretty sure the boss there was simple in the head, dumb bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

haaaaaaate it. cv's gone out, jobhunting on daily basis.

"but you're lucky to have a jo- UUUugggghlbbbbgrrrhg.. "*gurgling sound as chokes on own blood after I stab them through the neck with a pencil for uttering that sentence*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

silvine wrote:
    do you hate love or just get through your working day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

silvine wrote: »
    I love a good typo.

Maybe they're an escort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If you don't like your job you don't strike. You just go in every day and do it really half-assed. That's the American way. --Homer Simpson

Wise words, I live by them :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Most jobs I've worked in seem genuinely awful at worst or something to get through at best. Is this the way for all boardsies?

Who here actually likes their job and or their bosses? The only exception I can think of is that Irish post man won the lotto last year and he went into the work the next day but even he left after a year.

I like my job most of the time but there are times it is a struggle to get through the shift.

And then there's those who are great craic outside of work but absolute cnts once someone puts them in authority.

hondasam wrote: »
    I like my job most of the time but there are times it is a struggle to get through the shift.

I work shift, my life is divided between working when everyone is off and being off when everyone is working.

I envy the nine to fivers.

I love a good typo.

typo is stretching it in fairness :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I love my job, but we've recently had our previous (awesome) boss moved off to another branch, and been landed with a f*cking idiot in his place. He won't last long, but man, I wish he was gone already.

Otherwise, yeah, I really enjoy it. It's hard work sometimes, but I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Get through.

I did 11-7 today. From 11:01, I was already counting down until 7. I just have to keep thinking about the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i love it

brummytom wrote: »
    Get through.

I did 11-7 today. From 11:01, I was already counting down until 7. I just have to keep thinking about the money.

Ah yes the money.

So who'd work for free?

I work shift, my life is divided between working when everyone is off and being off when everyone is working.

I envy the nine to fivers.

I don't think I could do nine to five now, I like been off when everyone else is working. working weekends is crap.

Ah yes the money.

So who'd work for free?

slaves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Hate it. But its only to get me through college (which I also hate!).

One more year and it'll all be good..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I like my job but don't love it. I dread the whole prepartion for work and travel there but once I'm there, I enjoy it.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I like my job but don't love it. I dread the whole prepartion for work and travel there but once I'm there, I enjoy it.

Travelling to work is the worst part of my job. I hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

brummytom wrote: »
    Get through.

Feeling old now, I remember when you were at school.
    What kind of job are you working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

I love my work. Always have, always will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

At the risk of sounding very silly, I fulfilled a childhood dream in qualifying in my chosen career and it's surpassed my expectations ever since.

It took a lot of hard work to get here and like any job, it can be draining. But the reward is great and there are times where I almost can't believe I get paid to do something that I would happily do for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Feeling old now, I remember when you were at school.
    What kind of job are you working?
    I'm still at school - just working over the summer. Hate work already!
    (And I'm 18 on Saturday... can you believe that? The little English kid's growing up!)

I've been doing Hospital Portering during the summer. Had to grow up quite a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Jess16 wrote: »
    At the risk of sounding very silly, I fulfilled a childhood dream in qualifying in my chosen career and it's surpassed my expectations ever since.

It took a lot of hard work to get here and like any job, it can be draining. But the reward is great and there are times where I almost can't believe I get paid to do something that I would happily do for free.

dinosaur? thats what I wanted to be :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

/sheds an internet tear.

...cats in the cradle and the silver spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I love my job, but we've recently had our previous (awesome) boss moved off to another branch, and been landed with a f*cking idiot in his place. He won't last long, but man, I wish he was gone already.

Exact same story with me. The job is easy and pays well, but our new boss is a born, bred cúnt - nothing ever pleases him. I am just waiting until the day that someone knocks him out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

hate it at the mo,used to love my job.(when i was full time,then went to...3 day week)for 4 months
    why..i was on a 3 day week,then 5 weeks ago
    was told im goin back full time(2 of these 5 weeks were holidays)
    was told today that from monday im back on a 3 day week!!!!:(
    should be a law against it.
    or is their???help.anyone know??:confused::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Domo230 wrote: »
    What do you do?

After seeing the occupation on your profile, I'll politely decline from answering if that's ok :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I love hating getting through my days work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Kojak wrote: »
    Exact same story with me. The job is easy and pays well, but our new boss is a born, bred cúnt - nothing ever pleases him. I am just waiting until the day that someone knocks him out.

Honestly, our lad is creepy, rude, annoying to customers, and he generates more work for us than he ever actually does himself. His presence alone is toxic for morale, the second we got word he was being moved over to us permanently, people started transferring out to other outlets and going for interviews with other companies.

It's gotten to the stage where we have to keep finding busywork to distract him just so that we can get something useful done when his back is turned, it's ridiculous.

My only consolation is that he came from a branch where he could get away with that sh*t indefinitely, but we're a lot busier, and there's no way he can carry on acting the twat unnoticed in the run up to Christmas. With our previous manager, we had no problem at all putting in extra hours all the time and going the extra mile for him. He was fair to us, and we wanted to return the favour. It was hard work, but we didn't mind doing it because we knew he was doing the same, and we could all have a bit of craic while we were at it. That's all gone now, the heart's gone out of the place, and it's all down to one bloody awful individual.

I dunno, I wouldn't mind as much, I know you can't always expect to have the perfect job, but before we were stuck with yer man, I practically skipped in to work every day. I loved my job, I loved the crowd I work with, and although it doesn't pay much, I would have done it for less. It's a bit heartbreaking to go from that to what we have now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 kevjob

Have to say I am lucky and love it. It has it's moments at times but overall I love it.

Kev.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 thisiswar

Third job I started off liking, took about two weeks for me to remember the general public are predominantly self-important cunts and that common decency isn't so common. I'm pretty sure the boss there was simple in the head, dumb bitch.

I can sympathize with this, spent the last 4 years doing it. Used to go home with a headache from the frustration some days

New job involves sitting at my desk with no contact with customers.

Going home now means going home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

i luuuuuuuurve my job, love it!! I love the people I work with, the people I work for and most of the customers are cool, ye get the odd ash-hole but sure
    what can ye do.

also, the scenery is faaanstastic, so when one moody mary plsses ye off, theres loads of hunky hanks to gaze at and cheer ye up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I enjoy my work and the flexible times I'm able to work.
    hondasam wrote: »
    Travelling to work is the worst part of my job. I hate it.

I love cycling to work. Whizzing though lights and what not. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I work in several places covering different peoples sick leave and holidays etc... so it varies wildly from very easy level 1 support and a relaxed atmosphere to heavy on level 3 support with a very involved manager micro managing it all. I like the variety and it keeps it interesting so over all I'd say I like my job.

More money would be nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

That's a pretty good description of how I feel about my job. I enjoy it but the subway can be stressful in the morning. Full of people, too hot, too sweaty, too uncomfortable, unreliable. Once I get to work I feel better though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Every day is different, some good some bad.. More good though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Just get through it, go in do the work get out of there as fast i can and start living again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 i90yb8jtdchuwe

I love my job! My boss, my manager and all of my co-workers are so easy to get along with and we can mingle together while we're working so I have to say it's the most enjoyable job and workplace I could have hoped for! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭spindex

up to love it, hate it now. All because of a new boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I quite like my new job- it's 9-5 and I generally enjoy what I do (I get to be overly organised and neurotic- for a LIVING!!) having said that, the general public really are a bunch of rude, idiotic retards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I am very lucky, I love my job, and I am considered pretty good at it.

I cannot afford to do it for free so its a moot point, but I like to think that what I do adds value so folk should pay for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Love, love, LOVE my line of work. I play piano in hotel lobbies. The money is great, I have a break whenever I want, I get trials wherever I ask (most trials usually turn into regular jobs if the manager is impressed) etc. I'm doing my hobby for money. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

That's a pretty good description of how I feel about my job. I enjoy it but the subway can be stressful in the morning. Full of people, too hot, too sweaty, too uncomfortable, unreliable. Once I get to work I feel better though.

Yeah. I get the Metro (Madrid) to work and I spend 4 hours a day travelling around on it. It's genuinely soul-destroying to be underground for a large portion of your day. I'm trying to find a way of getting round that. Leaving for work earlier maybe and getting the bus. It's a fantastic, modern, clean system so not as bad as where you are by the sounds of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

My job is dead end with no promotion possibilities unless I move to a department in the UK or Holland. I hate evey day here and have been job hunting for ages but theres nothing in my area of expertise out there at the momemt and companies are really ****heads with their recruitment as they want soemone with EXACTLY the correct experience for the roles they advertise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I work the job I have simply so I can enjoy my life outside of it, holidays, spending money, going out when I can and just generally trying to be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭dirtypanties

I stay at home to mind my 2 babies-It is by far the hardest job I have ever had and I sleep in my 'workplace'-rarely get any time to myself....

but...most days are good!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Yeah. I get the Metro (Madrid) to work and I spend 4 hours a day travelling around on it. It's genuinely soul-destroying to be underground for a large portion of your day. I'm trying to find a way of getting round that. Leaving for work earlier maybe and getting the bus. It's a fantastic, modern, clean system so not as bad as where you are by the sounds of it.

FOUR HOURS!!! And I thought I had it bad... I'm in Toronto. Our system is old, leaky and a bit creaky. I'm only half-an-hour away from work on the subway which isn't too bad but it's just so packed it's really unpleasent. Factor in the heat of Summer and it's gross. The kids are going back to school after the 6th September so that will make matters even worse.