Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And so it begins

• 30-08-2011 9:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭

Probably the biggest spider I've ever seen has just walked into the sitting room. I'd say we're in for a bumper year. Were spiders always this big or is this a new thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Are you sure it wasn't spider-pig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Did he open the door himself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Had he a suitcase?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Lockey123

Saw some massive fukcing one's around in the house.
    They're scary looking yokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

was he a dj?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Is it not coming to the end of spider-season??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

Sorry to break it to you on a public forum like this, but interestingly enough, it's not that spiders are getting bigger it's that you are getting smaller every day. Soon you will be the same size as the spider and you will be forced to wrestle it naked on live television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

texidub wrote: »
    Sorry to break it to you on a public forum like this, but interestingly enough, it's not that spiders are getting bigger it's that you are getting smaller every day. Soon you will be the same size as the spider and you will be forced to wrestle it naked on live television.
    Nooooooooooooooo. That would be a nightmare come true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭cocalolaman

You have my axe..

Is it not coming to the end of spider-season??
    I always start to see them around this time of year. Think they come inside when it starts getting cold. This fcuker was like a smallish huntsman. Hes dead now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

texidub wrote: »

Ok but hang on a second - do I get some kind of handicap to make up for his having 8 arms to wrestle me with and me only having two?

Could I tie four of his limbs behind his back first? Otherwise it's just completely unfair.

Secondly, if I have to be naked I insist we also shave the spider.

I was going to ask "how big" but no doubt you'll post a pic of one, I'll click on it, and no amount if sheep will get me to sleep tonight. So I'm going to assume it was a money spider :D

Did anyone else picture a spider sauntering on in with sunglasses and all on? No? Just me then? Alrighty....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Probably the biggest spider I've ever seen has just walked into the sitting room. I'd say we're in for a bumper year. Were spiders always this big or is this a new thing.

Be glad that insects never evolved lungs... that's the main reason there's a limit to their size. They only have primitive air spiracles to breathe through.
    Otherwise the insects would rule the Earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

did he just drop his luggage down and expect you to bring it upstairs for him
    mine did, cheeky bastard :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Be glad that insects never evolved lungs...

It's never too late for them to try something new...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Started noticing the feckers the other day. Used to hunt them down every evening with a pint glass and throw them out. Had them fall on me while I was in bed a few times. Nothing more sickening then crunching one under a bare foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

There was a big one in my shed yesterday.
    My wife said 'throw the football at him', but I was genuinely afraid he would just head it back at me.

Now it feels like its 'his' shed.

They definitely weren't this big years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Why dont look on some website and see?:D

Saila wrote: »
    did he just drop his luggage down and expect you to bring it upstairs for him
    mine did, cheeky bastard :mad:
    Nah he scurried behind the couch all ninja like. Sneaky cnut. If he just asked I'd have spared his life but I'm sneakier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

was he a dj?

Did you find him in the bath, naked?

Ok but hang on a second - do I get some kind of handicap to make up for his having 8 arms to wrestle me with and me only having two?

Could I tie four of his limbs behind his back first? Otherwise it's just completely unfair.

Secondly, if I have to be naked I insist we also shave the spider.

I haven't thought it through completely, but I read this on the back of a beermat once:

You have the advantage of your superior human intelligence: e.g poke its eyes with your finger, Mourinho-style. Then bore it to death with metaphysical discussion. The possibilities are endless.

And then on another beermat:

I dunno if shaving the spider would be much help. It would make it extra slippy in the baked beans you will have to wrestle the spider in. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

OP - They like to move indoors for the winter, so make sure it pays you rent.

I always start to see them around this time of year. Think they come inside when it starts getting cold. This fcuker was like a smallish huntsman. Hes dead now though.

Oh ok. They only seem to come into my house during the summer... Must be just cause that's when I have the windows open.

They're always taking over my room cause I'm too cowardly to catch them and I have to wait for someone else to get home/wake up to get rid of them for me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Twas the size of a small pony... I swear...

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/270522_238798369477632_100000424117521_910390_903006_n.jpg

They ARE getting bigger. Thought he could hide behind my windowbox until I opened a window so he could sneak in.

I evicted him off the windowsill but I did not kill him.

I call it a *him* because if I call him an IT then I'd be afraid of it. :D

EGAR wrote: »

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/270522_238798369477632_100000424117521_910390_903006_n.jpg

They ARE getting bigger. Thought he could hide behind my windowbox until I opened a window so he could sneak in.

Thats a big boy. I'd be out with a flamethrower.

Great.

Looks like its the 'spider nightmares' for me tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭SheFiend

I don't get the whole fear of spiders thing.

And I don't know what a tracker motgage is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Man the fcuk up and call the fire brigade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Is the pack of fags to show scale? if so it worked :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Theres a thread in the zoology forum about black widows making it to the uk so youd never know they could be over here soon.

You know you've got a big spider when you hit it with a phone book, lift up the book and the spider scurries away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

steddyeddy wrote: »

Theres a thread in the zoology forum about black windows making it to the uk so youd never know they could be over here soon.

Black windows as in tinted so no one can see inside or black windows as in black out windows to stop the sun getting in and waking you up on Saturday morning at 7am?

Either way I wouldn't mind a set of one or other or both of them. Especially of they can keep spiders out.

Can't think for the life of me its relevance to a zoology forum......

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Saila wrote: »
    Is the pack of fags to show scale? if so it worked :eek:

Yep, it was the only thing I had at hand in a hurry as the beast was fast and defending his spot ;) but he couldn't possibly defeat the brush :D. And I probably saved his life. He wouldn't survive 5 minutes in my house, the hounds from hell and the cats would LOVE to have met him.... Yum, euch.

You know you're stuck in the 90's when you have a phone book,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Theres a thread in the zoology forum about black windows making it to the uk so youd never know they could be over here soon.

Fahking blackout is still on over there?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

That's the famous modern art-work titled:
    'Study of giant spider on moon with giant cigarette packet and yellow plane in distance'.

*makes mental note not to open any links in this thread*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Be glad that insects never evolved lungs... that's the main reason there's a limit to their size. They only have primitive air spiracles to breathe through.
    Otherwise the insects would rule the Earth.

They do rule the earth. It's just the human and insect perspectives on the concept of 'rule' are rather different.

Nooooooooooooooo. That would be a nightmare come true.

It's OK. hatrickpatrick is gonna wrestle him for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

*makes mental note not to open any links in this thread*

Best not look at this one then
    http://www.onemotion.com/flash/spider/

Best not look at this one then
    http://www.onemotion.com/flash/spider/

Fool me once, shame on — shame on you. Fool me — you can't get fooled again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

When I was in the country,at about 12:23 AM There was a spider which I measured,(after careful deliberation because he looked like he could take me any day of the week).He was three Fu@king inchs wide.He was bulky as well like he had been using 'roids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Uriel. wrote: »
    Black windows as in tinted so no one can see inside or black windows as in black out windows to stop the sun getting in and waking you up on Saturday morning at 7am?

Either way I wouldn't mind a set of one or other or both of them. Especially of they can keep spiders out.

Can't think for the life of me its relevance to a zoology forum......

:p

Jaysus I have to stop studying my heads wrecked I dont knoiw what Im writing half the time. (replace the word studying with drinking for accuracy).

correct.

Year: 1998.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Darkginger

Serious question to other arachnophobes out there - does size matter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

You're making a big mistake killing them Prag. One night I was walking home on a country road and an old woman was crying at the side of the road and she pointed at me and stared with steel grey eyes and wailed 'the more you kill the more will come' and disappeared into the ditch.

Darkginger wrote: »

Anyone who says it doesn't is just trying to be nice.

You're making a big mistake killing them Prag. One night I was walking home on a country road and an old woman was crying at the side of the road and she pointed at me and stared with steel grey eyes and wailed 'the more you kill the more will come' and disappeared into the ditch.
    I normally love all animals but I've had a few vodkas and this dude was asking for it.

Darkginger wrote: »
    Yeah but its more to do with the way they move. Its just alien looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

I wish I had not read this thread. I might have to sleep at the opposite end of the bed tonight. Spiders like to come up behind my headboard. Seemingly they won't do this if I sleep the other way around.

It's also growing season for psilocybin mushrooms. Gee thanks, God.