Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What;s the biggest risk you every took?

• 28-08-2011 8:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭

What's the biggest risk you ever took and was it worth it?

I don't have an answer to this question myself...too boring and sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

I once made eye contact with a female with whom I was not acquainted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Have left a job I hated without another one to go to. A couple of times (contracting, but with an offer to stay).

Am lucky I am v employable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

I honestly don't know. I think my life must be too boring and simple :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

After a night out in Westport 2 years ago, I drank water from the bathroom tap in our hotel...luckily I am still around to tell the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Well, there was this one time, at band camp....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

They had a jumbo edition of Risk in a toyshop in Mullingar when I was a kid.

It was about 50% bigger than the regular version so was hard to smuggle out of the shop but I managed it.

I still have it in the attic somewhere I think.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    They had a jumbo edition of Risk in a toyshop in Mullingar when I was a kid.

It was about 50% bigger than the regular version so was hard to smuggle out of the shop but I managed it.

I still have it in the attic somewhere I think.
    Jaysus, you're a mad one, you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

irish-stew wrote: »
    Well, there was this one time, at band camp....
    Such a funny movie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I eat one of the round Revel sweets hoping it was a malteser and not the orange one. I was lucky though as it was neither, it was toffee. Don't mind toffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Starting on a group of lads on my own. Didnt work out well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

After a night out in Westport 2 years ago, I drank water from the bathroom tap in our hotel...luckily I am still around to tell the story.

i did the very same in a hotel in meath, im still here to tell the tale too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I climbed into a 5 storey building site with a friend and made our way up internal scaffolding to the top and walked across a slippery narrow piece of wood from the roof to a crane and proceeded to climb up the crane to the cab where we had a few spliffs and finished our cider, It was during the floods in 98 so it was flogging rain and pitch black, We walked out to the end of the beam as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

There was one day that I realised that the tax was gone in the car, but I needed to go to tesco.
    So.... I drove to tesco in an un-taxed vehicle.:eek:
    Was it worth it?
    Besides the rush of adrenaline, the ben&jerry's was amazing - so yes.

Second than that, maybe jumping out of a plane?

charlemont wrote: »
    I climbed into a 5 storey building site with a friend and made our way up internal scaffolding to the top and walked across a slippery narrow piece of wood from the roof to a crane and proceeded to climb up the crane to the cab where we had a few spliffs and finished our cider, It was during the floods in 98 so it was flogging rain and pitch black, We walked out to the end of the beam as well.

I once climbed a crane drunk before too.
    Never met anyone else that did that!
    Yay, feel saner now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Jaysus, you're a mad one, you!

I'm taking medicine for it. Don't worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

too many to pick one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

Surfing alone in a spot I didn't know and was not ready for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

I`m a clepto who drives everywhere literally as fast as possible and argues with everyone so thats a pretty risky lifestyle choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Dipping him in without his raincoat on.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'm taking medicine for it. Don't worry.
    Phew!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Went out to close the front gates in my socks once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

Got into the back of a van with about 8 others i barely knew while pissed. Van was driven by a guy we met earlier that night while we all out drinking, so he had quite a few, but said he was ok to drive, stupidly we never questioned it. Drove from waterford to a haunted house in wexford and back. Kinda dawned on me after about 20mins of driving that it wasnt a wise move.

Everything was grand, made it out in one piece but lesson definately learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭The House Of Wolves

As a child it seemed to be a good idea to try and walk into the deep end of the pool despite the fact that I couldn't swim. I was there thrashing for a good minute and a half before my sister got the cop-on that I wasn't messing and actually was drowning. Doesn't seem like much now but back then it was so scary.

Also wearing jeans for a mini marathon. Ouch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Moving to Ireland - how mad was I :D?

Love it though and will NEVER leave again - so yous are all stuck with EGAR, tough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Took out this big mortgage once. Still paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

Bought a 2 bed appartment in North County Dublin in 2006.

Didn't work out too well for me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

Pulled the balls off myself...

Anamglas 1 - 0 Blindness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

had unprotected sex once, absolutely not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

I danced like a giddy monkey over the balcony in Magaluf to retrieve a key for someone locked out.

People didnt die doing that back then.Its as if they had velcro to keep us attached.

Now there appears to be some cnut putting cooking oil on the bars between the apartments due to the plungers.

Final destination inevitability?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Teddy455

Sneaked through a house to get into a friends garden.

had unprotected sex once, absolutely not worth it.

I had unprotected sex twice before.
    Right now I'm going to say it was worth it.
    But that is because the two little horrors are asleep.
    In the morning when they're jumping on my head I might have a different answer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Walked around Belfast once by myself late at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

EGAR wrote: »
    Moving to Ireland - how mad was I :D?

Love it though and will NEVER leave again - so yous are all stuck with EGAR, tough!
    I'm not. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Riding point to points on weekends up until the age of about 21, the year I saw Jimmy Cullen's son Dary Cullen being carried off the track down in Wexford, he was the same age as myself.

I would consider myself reasonably irresponsible, but nothing compared to the some of the guys you'd be riding with out there, the idea of broken legs or necks meant nothing to some of them.

I literally closed my eyes and hoped for the best sometimes. Having said that it is great fun and I'm not saying it's a huge risk generally speaking, it's just the biggest known risk I've ever taken with my own body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Decided to drop all the lads home one night after a rake of drink.:(