Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who would you replace Kidney with?

• 27-08-2011 3:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Its obvious he has run out of ideas and is to ireland was rafa was to liverpool,success early on followed by a long so abject decline, he engenders alot of goodwill which EOS didnt enjoy, but with another defeat today and all the makings of another woeful worldcup ahead who would you replace Kidney and otheer key members of the management team with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

One of the bandwagon jumpers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Conor o Shea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

Not sure who I would have him replaced by, but if our world cup goes the same way as 2007 then he should go. However until then we need to get behind him and keep the faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

orourkeda wrote: »

you obviously havent done a search of my previous posts on the subject. I await an apology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Oh we're doing this again are we?

In that case, I'll have George Hook as the next Head Coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

Can I vote for an inanimate carbon rod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Nick Mallett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Some one from the southern hemisphere, fresh person with fresh ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

We simply must have someone who can get a performance equal to the quality of the players. There is no doubt whatsoever in my mind that the sum of our players is not being reflected in the team performance.

If we can't get an Irish guy then get someone from South Africa or NZ, where they only care about WINNING !

I would like to see a new coach now, today, before the WC. How much worse can it get !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

heybaby wrote: »
    you obviously havent done a search of my previous posts on the subject. I await an apology

No I havent done a search of your previous posts on the subject.

What would I be doing that for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

Piliger wrote: »
    We simply must have someone who can get a performance equal to the quality of the players. There is no doubt whatsoever in my mind that the sum of our players is not being reflected in the team performance.

If we can't get an Irish guy then get someone from South Africa or NZ, where they only care about WINNING !

Yeah I'd prefer a non Irish coach, preferably from the southern hemisphere.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

orourkeda wrote: »

In fairness, it's hardly a knee jerk reaction.
    No way he should be replaced before the WC, but nobody can say they've been doing, or have done, a great job.

Hopefully there's a momeny of clarity, a la that famous Kearney moment, before the US game, or else we're going nowhere.

• Cpt Blackbeard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Nick Mallett. If he can do half of what he did with Italy to Ireland, we could be one of the favourites come 2015.

Agree with wixfjord. Since the unbeaten 2009 season, almost 2 full years ago, we've lost 18 and won 8. I honestly don't see how the current staff can be kept on. They're just not up to it. (Those 8 wins are 2 X England, 2 X Italy, 1 X Wales, 1 X Scotland, 1 x Argentina, and 1 X Samoa - at least 5 that we would be heavy favourites in)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭LowOdour

tolosenc wrote: »
    Nick Mallett. If he can do half of what he did with Italy to Ireland, we could be one of the favourites come 2015.
    Oh give me a break! What could possibly make you think that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

LowOdour wrote: »
    Oh give me a break! What could possibly make you think that

Tell me you are joking!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭RoutineBites

As Fight Night said earlier in the thread, Kidney should only go if the World Cup turns out to be a total disaster. Until then we have to support him and the team.

If Kidney did require a replacement however I'd pick Joe Schmidt. He plays an attractive brand of rugby and is always willing to give youngsters a go.

Nick Mallett is an excellent coach, but to be honest in the two years Pierre Bebizier was Italy coach I honestly thought he looked to be making more progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Brendan97

joe schmidt if he would do it which i doubt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TheHighRoad

Wonder if it would be possible to bring in Schmidt to the Irish set up as an "advisor"? Would be terribly unfair on Leinster though. I really think we need to get Ireland playing like Leinster not Munster of 2006, the game has moved on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

There's no need to go messing with Delcan but if replacing suddenly became an imperative my vote would go to promoting from within - Gert Smal.

Anyway these pre-tournament games are just glorified training runs - no one is seriously going to put their neck, leg, arm or little finger on the line for fear of missing the plane. Physically the players look better than they did before the 07 tournament, the rugby they've played has been half-decent and the team spirit looks good - assuming they're aiming to peak in about 2 weeks we should do ok.

The 17th of September will tell us all we need to now - or maybe I'm totally under-estimating the Yanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Tell me you are joking!!
    I dont have a crystal ball, so no way to say what kind of squad will have in 4 years time. A 3rd golden generation you think???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Jedwardian

Ewen McKenzie, Pierre Berbizier, Joe Schmidt and Fabien Galthie are the options that stand out. I'd rather Schmidt got a bit more experience as a club head coach first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

First question I'd ask is who do we replace Gaffney with. That's not to absolve Kidney of some questionable selection decisions, namely persisting with Earls in the centre when he finally settles on the wing and persisting with TOL for too long, among others.

But the common theme is the inability of our backs to do something. Now, taking my first choice backline for Ireland which I think is realistic (Reddan, Sexton,Trimble, D'arcy, BOD, Bowe, Kearney) The only one you'd significantly have over the Irish position from Leinster is Nacewa over Kearney. But the whole way the Leinster backs lineup and play is different to Ireland's despite having mostly the same players. Our backs just shift the ball over the place or skip one, there's nothing to hold defences. The Leinster backs this season have improved immeasurably in their performances since Schmidt's been coaching he backs.

• Jawgap wrote: »
    There's no need to go messing with Delcan but if replacing suddenly became an imperative my vote would go to promoting from within - Gert Smal.

Anyway these pre-tournament games are just glorified training runs - no one is seriously going to put their neck, leg, arm or little finger on the line for fear of missing the plane. Physically the players look better than they did before the 07 tournament, the rugby they've played has been half-decent and the team spirit looks good - assuming they're aiming to peak in about 2 weeks we should do ok.

The 17th of September will tell us all we need to now - or maybe I'm totally under-estimating the Yanks!

i don't think i've ever completely disagreed with a well written / thought out post as much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

Eric Elwood down the line

Raw passion

i don't think i've ever completely disagreed with a well written / thought out post as much!

If pre-tournament form mattered conclusively we should just pack up the trophy and send it to the Aussies now. Personally, I think they've prepared well and I like the fact they're going out as under-dogs, with no swaggering.

I'd also like to see the Americans give us a really good scare - the last thing we needed was to sweep the French and the English, followed by a cricket score against the Americans. When we go out with something to prove, that's when we've done well.

What about Michael Bradley - at some point in the future?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Jawgap wrote: »
    If pre-tournament form mattered conclusively we should just pack up the trophy and send it to the Aussies now. Personally, I think they've prepared well and I like the fact they're going out as under-dogs, with no swaggering.

I'd also like to see the Americans give us a really good scare - the last thing we needed was to sweep the French and the English, followed by a cricket score against the Americans. When we go out with something to prove, that's when we've done well.

What about Michael Bradley - at some point in the future?

Please tell me that's a joke.

We need a coach from the outside, someone who has no provincial alignment, someone who'll come in with a completely clean slate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

honest opinion, is that ireland are 10 times better than what we have showed in recent games. its my opinion that we have many tricks up our sleeves for the bigger games in the world cup. kidney has just decided not to use them in our warm up games. as he wants to catch the likes of australia on the hop. if we were using these now the coaches of the other teams would be able to analyase our moves and be able to defend against come crunch time. its a tricky tactic as these hypothetical moves havnt been practised in game time. we must hope they are been drilled into players during training at da mo. and we must hope that our old enemy of stupid knock ons stays away.
    if things go to plan, sure we'll probally win the feckin thing. just my opinion. keep the faith lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭yammycat

danthefan wrote: »

We need a coach from the outside, someone who has no provincial alignment, someone who'll come in with a completely clean slate.

Agreed, it seems provincial loyalties lie first and Ireland second for many people in Irish rugby, current coach included.

No - I thought Bradley did well with Connacht, considering the paucity of resources at his disposal.

He still has to complete his "apprenticeship" though - it'll be interesting watching him at Edinburgh, if does well there and moves to a higher profile club and develops as a coach then why not grab him for Ireland....... and just to be clear I'm NOT a Munster fan!!

• I'd like a coach who didn't even know where Ireland was tbh.

We don't need anymore politicians. One of the reasons that Schmidt has done so well at Leinster is because everyone who played under him had to earn his respect as he didn't know much about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

in fairness kidney is no gob***te, he will pick the best team for the job, "provincial alignment" me arse its the rugby world cup.

Risteard wrote: »
    But the common theme is the inability of our backs to do something. Now, taking my first choice backline for Ireland which I think is realistic (Reddan, Sexton,Trimble, D'arcy, BOD, Bowe, Kearney) The only one you'd significantly have over the Irish position from Leinster is Nacewa over Kearney. But the whole way the Leinster backs lineup and play is different to Ireland's despite having mostly the same players. Our backs just shift the ball over the place or skip one, there's nothing to hold defences. The Leinster backs this season have improved immeasurably in their performances since Schmidt's been coaching he backs.

That is a major issue. If we remember the Autumn Series, we had against Samoa Reddan, Sexton, Fitz, Darce, BOD, Bowe and Kearney. Change Bowe for Horgan (IMO Bowe is a similar stlye of player, just faster and more powerful, so a like-for-like swap) and you had the Leinster backs who tore apart Racing Metro a few weeks prior. It was apparent from there that we had a major issue. Yet nothing has been done in the last 10 months.

I'd like a coach who didn't even know where Ireland was tbh.

I wouldn't go that far - but it might be better to have one who, when he sees Leinster are down to play Munster, wonders why a team from Western Australia are playing one from Germany.

• slaneylad wrote: »
    in fairness kidney is no gob***te, he will pick the best team for the job, "provincial alignment" me arse its the rugby world cup.

as he has proved time and time again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭petebricquette

Conor O'Shea would be an excellent coach a bit further down the line. Bradley made a bit of a hames of things with some of the players in Connacht so I don't think he should be considered. Gert Smal or Les Kiss could be great. Smal in particular as he will pick only the players who have performed consistently in training and deserve to be there. He'd bring a bit more hunger to the side as well.

Jawgap wrote: »
    I wouldn't go that far - but it might be better to have one who, when he sees Leinster are down to play Munster, wonders why a team from Western Australia are playing one from Germany.

I know you're joking, but if a coach doesn't know who Munster and Leinster are, he shouldn't be coaching in the NH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Cpt Blackbeard

First issue of business: Gaffney out, Schmidt in.

I'll take Kidney on as my technical adviser and we might just improve. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

First issue of business: Gaffney out, Schmidt in.

I'll take Kidney on as my technical adviser and we might just improve. :D

If by technical advisor you mean he's in charge of minding the flags in the deadball area then things may improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

No way to Smal.

He is our forwards coach whille our set piece has struggled. He also endorsed Buckley.

I think we need an outsider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Chiorino

I wouldn't make a definative choice until after the WC but I think Kidney is finally bring shown up for what he is. He won the grand slam with EOS's team, who had come very close a couple of times previously and haven't come close since. He also refuses to pick form players until it's basically slapping him in the face and keeps faith in players who simply aren't international quality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭SARZY

Give George Hook a go. He knows everything. Hes from Cork and hates Munster. He loves Ulster. He makes his living praising Leinster. Thats would get him to the top of any IRFU shortlist.

Does anybody know why Ireland took on 4 games in this month.

I DO, (irfu hungry for money).

Kidney wont say anything but that was madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Schmidt or Cheika -its all too late for golden generation , unless Deccie can pull off another miracle - for the sake of BOD , POC , I hope he can , and defies my pessimism

SARZY wrote: »
    Give George Hook a go. He knows everything. Hes from Cork and hates Munster. He loves Ulster. He makes his living praising Leinster. Thats would get him to the top of any IRFU shortlist.

Does anybody know why Ireland took on 4 games in this month.

I DO, (irfu hungry for money).

Kidney wont say anything but that was madness.

Whatever about the awful results (and performances), I think having the 4 matches was a great idea. As we've seen, they're off the pace by a significant amount. However badly screwed we are in terms of our pool we clearly needed the match practice. Can you imagine if we'd had just two matches, won one, lost one and headed off to NZ? We'd have had the majority of our players having barely played a half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭no nails niall

Lawerence Dallalgio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

Frankie Sheahan

skregs wrote: »
    Frankie Sheahan

He's the worst pundit I've ever heard and he was a middling player in his heyday. On that note, I demand Victor Costello for both president and head coach of Ireland and our rugby team.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

yore ma!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

He's the worst pundit I've ever heard and he was a middling player in his heyday. On that note, I demand Victor Costello for both president and head coach of Ireland and our rugby team.

But other coaches wouldn't be as willing to pick overrated Munster players, and the IRFU would never stand for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Joe Schmidt, with Conor O'Shea in as manager.