Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurricane Irene - A "historic" storm.

• 27-08-2011 12:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭

So says obama.

BBC News:
    Mandatory evacuations have been ordered in parts of four states, and in low-lying areas of New York City.
    Seven states from North Carolina to Connecticut have declared emergencies ahead of Irene's arrival.
    The category two storm has weakened a little and is expected to make landfall with winds of up to 100mph (155km/h).
    Irene, which has already caused havoc in the Caribbean, is expected to hit the coast of North Carolina on Saturday before barrelling northwards towards Washington and New York City a day later.......

The New York Subway is also due to be shut down. So an Earthquake and now this is the same week? ... nature is hitting hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

The Mayans were correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I'd say, "An historic storm".

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

If you see four horsemen......................................

RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

R.I.P.

In advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Here is a picture of new york today taken from the RTE website

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

looky loo wrote: »

RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm still looking out for the flying spaghetti monster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

LighterGuy wrote: »
    ... nature is hitting hard.

I reckon nature has always been hitting hard. We just hear about it more. Globalisation and all that lark

Penfailed wrote: »

ERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

Want to go for double jeopardy, where the scores can really change?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I hope no kittens are killed.

That would make me feel really sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

Storm in a teacup I reckon.

Or as its the US - in a Starbucks grande recycled cardboard bucket with a lid ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

meh, by the time this hits new york winds will be 60mph max, ffs we get winds that speed twice a week here in roscommon every december

same crap all the time, its 115 in vegas atm, 130 in death valley, hits 90 in new york and it makes the main news.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I definitely wouldn't, but then again I like to be correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I hope the Subway doesn't close down. I like their cheese toastie.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    meh, by the time this hits new york winds will be 60mph max, ffs we get winds that speed twice a week here in roscommon every december

same crap all the time, its 115 in vegas atm, 130 in death valley, hits 90 in new york and it makes the main news.....

It's all about the "storm surge" apparently.

Major flooding and the like.

amacachi wrote: »
    I definitely wouldn't, but then again I like to be correct.

We're both correct - http://www.betterwritingskills.com/tip-w005.html

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

I just got back from new York this morning. The media are totally scare mongering! The news channels constantly doing weather updates and telling people to stock up on supplies. They reckon NYC won't be able to handle it, with the Hudson flooding and windows smashing resulting in glass flying thru the city. They are making it sound like dooms day!

What's the odds it

But "A Historic"...is more correct!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Goldenegg wrote: »
    I just got back from new York this morning. The media are totally scare mongering! The news channels constantly doing weather updates and telling people to stock up on supplies. They reckon NYC won't be able to handle it, with the Hudson flooding and windows smashing resulting in glass flying thru the city. They are making it sound like dooms day!

What's the odds it

yeah its complete media scaremongering its a category 2, maybe 3 if when it reaches land, new york is not that lowlying, its higher than miami which is hit often and much higher than new orleans which was BELOW sea level

if it was full force like wilma expect damage like this but new york wont get anything like this

KungPao wrote: »
    But "A Historic"...is more correct!

Ah, no. Both are correct. Popular vote does not make something 'more correct'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I hope no kittens are killed.

That would make me feel really sad.

The fact wild_cat thanked this post made me smile. :)

Goldenegg wrote: »

What's the odds it

They ain't used to that kind of schit there though. And some "valuable" stuff up the northern east coast.

Imagine RTE if a tornado or hurricane was en route for Dublin 4!

Wall to wall, 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

Here is a picture of new york today taken from the RTE website

There's massive thunderous downpours there every summer on account of the high humidity. That picture doesn't tell much of a story.

It's due to the swell, and the low-lying areas in Manhattan that there's a problem. Plus they have to constantly pump water out of the subway system on a day to day basis as it is, any significant flooding could cause major problems underground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

The damage these high winds could cause would be a lot worse in the narrow high streets of NYC.

Ah, no. Both are correct. Popular vote does not make something 'more correct'.

Ah I know.

Just pulling the michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Oh look, the Yanks are over-reacting to something again.

Only if one were to treat the first letter in "historic" as a silent letter and would literally be the most insane thing ever. :pac:

You got to love boards.ie dont you?
    I never knew it had so many experts ... about absolutely everything!

Sure it doesnt matter if the US govenment has issued warnings to certain states. Doesnt matter if the President has gone on record by saying "it will be an historic storm" ... doesnt matter what US meteorologists think.

Cause we got boards.ie! ... if they say it'll blow over. Im sure it'll blow over. Why alot of people know everything about everything on here :rolleyes: Just like the earthquake/Tsuami's in japan thread months ago. I never knew we have so many nuclear technicians using this site ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Has she hit yet?

Sure it doesnt matter if the US govenment has issued warnings to certain states. Doesnt matter if the President has gone on record by saying "it will be an historic storm" ... doesnt matter what US meteorologists think.

Cause we got boards.ie! ... if they say it'll blow over. Im sure it'll blow over. Why alot of people know everything about everything on here :rolleyes: Just like the earthquake/Tsuami's in japan thread months ago. I never knew we have so many nuclear technicians using this site ...

It'll be grand.

Have you been keeping up to date? Those same sources you've mentioned have been saying today that it won't be as bad as it was looking. 2/3 of the models show it not hitting NYC head on. Practice what you preach etc.
    Has she hit yet?
    No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

Have a cup a tae....it'll blow over in no time..

amacachi wrote: »
    Have you been keeping up to date? Those same sources you've mentioned have been saying today that it won't be as bad as it was looking. 2/3 of the models show it not hitting NYC head on. Practice what you preachetc.

BBC news link: (Last updated at 23:37 GMT)

the above is the same link I posted in the first post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Plug 29483 into the Wundermap.

So far all I've seen is sporadic rain and not all that much wind.

It is interesting to watch the cloudcover pass overhead though.

Don't personally see what's so historic about this. It'll be Category 1 in a few hours and Tropical Storm state again when it gets to NYC

BBC news link: (Last updated at 23:37 GMT)

the above is the same link I posted in the first post.
    It even says there that it has weakened a bit. Have a look around meteorological sites and you'll see the models are (generally) showing less bad scenarios with each run. It's still going to run into some shear forces as it moves northwards, something it'll be hard to factor into the models as I don't think something similar has happened in this area in an era with as much data as we have today.

Don't get me wrong, it was obvious a couple of days ago that damage would be heavy etc., but I'm not loving the possibility of a runaway media reaction leading to people then thinking that those pesky meteorologists were crying wolf should it get sheared to bits, stall and weaken on cooler water or take an unexpected turn inland.

Overheal wrote: »
    Plug 29483 into the Wundermap.

So far all I've seen is sporadic rain and not all that much wind.

It is interesting to watch the cloudcover pass overhead though.

Don't personally see what's so historic about this.

The foot or two of rain expected on already saturated ground in heavily populated Northeastern regions or the 10+ foot storm surge?

Fingers crossed it'll gobble itself up though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

It has been announced on the Weather Channel that it has been raised to Cat 2 .......... :confused:

New yorkers can put up with a little flooding.
    Spread wrote: »
    It has been announced on the Weather Channel that it has been raised to Cat 2 .......... :confused:
    It already was a C2, unless it dipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Actually 40% of all AH posters are nuclear technicians/meteorologists/geologists according to the demograpic.

Overheal wrote: »
    New yorkers can put up with a little flooding.
    It already was a C2, unless it dipped.

I was commenting on # 36. Just in and have not been watching but had WC on.
    How are ye doing down there?

Spread wrote: »
    I was commenting on # 36. Just in and have not been watching but had WC on.
    How are ye doing down there?
    Ah it's tame. Not any wind really, no rain. I've seen worse rain under even normal circumstances. These were light showers. the worst thing thats happened is some power loss in a few areas but it was temporary. In the last while I've seen the lights flicker, but hardly anything to panic about. Porch weather, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

looky loo wrote: »

RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!

Especially if they are shouting "Yup Boss, I wanna word with you".

Good to hear. Better or worse than was forecasted for there?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

And people give out about the weather here.

I was talking to my dad earlier about this :)
    he said "glad we dont get extreme weather here!" - he's right.
    But makes you think. Could Ireland one day get earthquakes and hurricanes?

I was talking to my dad earlier about this :)
    he said "glad we dont get extreme weather here!" - he's right.
    But makes you think. Could Ireland one day get earthquakes and hurricanes?
    Ireland breaks down from a bit of snow.

You'd better hope not.

In fairness the widespread panic in the media about snow here and the UK doesn't really reflect how it is for most people. Charlie Brooker did an awesome bit comparing news reports with their puns usually involving "armaggedon" and dramatic shots with the actual interviews they showed. The general consensus was "It's a bit of craic isn't it?" In terms of transport the trains kept running last year though the first day was a bit of a disaster. I commute over 50 miles each way so it was a pain for me to have to leave an hour earlier but that's my problem. :)

Also Irish and UK houses would probably stand up better than thin wooden ones that seem to be the usual choice in Hurricane-prone areas. :pac: Hopefully it's not something that'll be put to the test soon though.

"Treacherous" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Hurricane Irene - A "historic" storm.

No, just that its America. far worse storms make land fall in Asia and the Sub Continent each year with thousands dead and all it makes in the news is a 30sec story, might pay attention when the body count reaches 1000+...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Apt username so!

The base word is "History", which doesn't Have a silent H.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

The Aussie wrote: »

No, just that its America. far worse storms make land fall in Asia and the Sub Continent each year with thousands dead and all it makes in the news is a 30sec story, might pay attention when the body count reaches 1000+...

Some of those death tolls are exacerbated by poor living conditions in densely populated areas (e.g. Bangladesh). This is news because hurricanes and tropical storm systems seldomly saunter into the New York City area (maybe once a decade) ... and well because it's New York. People will follow it because they have friends or relatives there. Or because they've visited a few times or might even be planning a holiday/business trip. Or just because they have an interest in climate and weather. It's not a crime so you might stash away the "westerners lives are more important than blah blah ..." for perhaps a more relevant foreign policy discussion.