Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone remember their first day as an old person?

• 26-08-2011 2:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I was just thinking in my mind about the day sometime in the future when I will purchase my first dishwasher. I know I'll feel old as hell when I go into the shop to get it. You know you're an adult when you buy a dishwasher.

So anyone here remember buying their first 'adult' item (not a dildo). Dishwasher, toilet brush, iron etc.

Or was there a defining day in your life where you just knew there was no going back, you were officially old?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I bought a bed. Definitely the oldest I've ever felt.

It wasn't even a car bed. I want a car bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

When I started making a noise when sitting/rising up from the chair. Ahhhhhhhh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Already done it. After years of fast women, fast cars, and fast...eh...computer gadget things, I bought a... few pallets of wooden flooring, knew what a 'floating floor' was when I ordered it, and was excited about getting it laid (fnar fnar).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

I bought a dress in Debenhams. Made me feel very old. I had never imagined handing over cash for a clothes item in a shop the sells nylon trousers with elasticated waists.Though in saying that, the dress was quite lovely or so I was told. By a very old lady..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Buddly

Been done many times

(stick for mixing paint is the answer)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

When I got my car when I turned 18 :D

Though I've been buying curtains, mugs and all sorts of housey stuff since I was 7...
    Buddly wrote: »
    Been done many times

(stick for mixing paint is the answer)

Who buys those? You find a stick in your shed/an old wooden spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Buddly

phasers wrote: »

I was referring to the defining day you realise you're old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

phasers wrote: »

I have a large collection of useful sticks which I just know will come in handy for something sometime in the next 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

The first time it really hit me was at a funeral of a 20 year old neighbour. I was approx 29/30 at the time. In the pub afterwards I was at the bar chatting with a gang of people of all ages when this dude comes over and says "howya Fozzie". I mumble a hello back and turn away awkwardly. My younger brother seeing my confusion starts laughing and says "that's Mark Kenny" and it hit me then. The last time I had seen him was about 10/12 years before that and he was still that age and appearance in my head. I couldn't believe how much older he looked and he was studying to be a barrister in Germany too. I felt old that day....

Or the morning I first really noticed extra hair growing from my nose and ears. That was a few years ago, the hair is now sprouting forth with wild abandon. Its no sooner hacked back then its re-grown. At the same time it is going all the more thinner by the day on the crown of my head.

Getting old sucks donkey balls:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

You know that rule - half your age plus 7 for the youngest person you should be with?
    I remember having this conversation in work and while one of the graduates fell within my acceptable range. I fell within her mothers acceptable range.

Another time was when a student joined on work experience and I worked out she was closer in age to my daughter than to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nicowa

First time I really felt like an adult - walking into the house I stopped in the hallway to pick up a shopping bag someone had left there... Not a yer before I would have walked over it. Maybe it's cos I'm lazy rather than childish... but it's also the fact that I've moved in with himself (a first) and his stepson (a major first).

It's everything from making sure the dishwasher is on at night to making sure the bins are taken out in the morning - in the last place I lived I somehow managed to not take the bins out except maybe one... (I was only there 6 months or so but still).

I'm completly domesticated.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

The day you say "F*cking kids, they haven't a clue nowadays".

Until that day, you think you still are one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭randombar

Life insurance, definitely the oldest thing I've ever done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

When I was in a niteclub one night and said to my friend "Fcuking hell it's all kids in here." It wasn't, we were just too damn old to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

When you read more of the newspaper then just the comics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

When you don't know/don't care who is number one in the music charts.
    When rap music is like repeating the worst hangover you ever had.
    When you need glasses to read instructions on the back of things.
    When a good nite is a great book, and a huge fire.
    When people say 'I hope I look as good as you when I'm your age'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

GaryCocs wrote: »
    Life insurance, definitely the oldest thing I've ever done!

So you've not yet got your hands on a wrinkly old granny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

out one night, first time in bout 15 yrs and consumed 8 big pints of the black stuff,

next day when i need to pay a visit to the throne and after much grunting and groaning and after the initial explosion, when it came to cleaning me self up, I could only reach the bottom of my back to clean off the overspray,

at this point I knew things were on the downward slope,

I sat on the toilet mat and riggled about a bit to finish the job off.

I'm not even remotely old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

looky loo wrote: »
    When you don't know/don't care who is number one in the music charts.

I'm 24 and I couldn't give a flying fuck about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

When in the process of trying to be hip, you instead end up hurting yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

I'm 28 and I spent a Sunday in a garden centre. I really enjoyed it but man I felt so old when all I bought was a packet of grass to repair a patch in my back garden!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

yupyup7up wrote: »
    I'm 24 and I couldn't give a flying fuck about this.

:p Your just old before your time :p it happens :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

First struck me when the moment I took out health insurance... Was reinforced later that day when I was out chatting to this one in the pub and I tell them that I'm 24 and they replied "I like an older man"!!! I was very confused until I realised that they were born in 1993!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

The day I realised I don't dislike any biscuits anymore. Fig rolls, Jaffa Cakes, etc. I can eat them all once I'm hungry enough or have a nice cup of tea. It's not that there aren't biscuits that I favour, just that none of them taste so reprehensible anymore that I wouldn't eat them in the above circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

GalKiefer wrote: »
    When I was in a niteclub one night and said to my friend "Fcuking hell it's all kids in here." It wasn't, we were just too damn old to be there.

Thats said everytime i go to the niteclub! thankfully its not as often as it used to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I stood up a few months ago and made a really long noise i cant replecate through words and thought fúck im old now... im only thirty ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I remember it well yes ,it was tuesday and I ...wait ...

No it wasn't tuesday at all ,it was wednesday and it was lashing down with rain so ...no ..no ...it wasn't raining at all because we had the heatwave that year .

So anyhow myself and John ....eh no ..no couldn;t have being John ,sure he's dead this years

Anyhow ...where was I ? Ah yes ...it was a thursday and it was snowing ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Felt old the day I threw my old worn out Vans runners into the wheelie bin, and went back for them 5minutes later whilst muttering to myself 'they'll do me for gardening shoes" . Maybe this means I'm classed as a cool old person cos I wear Vans for mowing the lawn?:D

Also got quite excited when I went to buy new net curtains last year, couldn't wait to get home and hang them.

And worst of all I've started listening to 4fm recently as well, to avoid all that pop shite that is played on other stations. Guess I might as well just sign myself into an old folk's home right now!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭una_profesora

I was just thinking in my mind about the day sometime in the future when I will purchase my first dishwasher. I know I'll feel old as hell when I go into the shop to get it. You know you're an adult when you buy a dishwasher.

So anyone here remember buying their first 'adult' item (not a dildo). Dishwasher, toilet brush, iron etc.

Or was there a defining day in your life where you just knew there was no going back, you were officially old?

Still don't have dishwasher :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I've been buying householdy stuff for years but it really hit me in the White Goods section of PowerCity a few years ago when me and my partner were moving into our house and found ourselves discussing the merits of certain washing machines, vacuums,fridges etc.

Also, buying curtains and blinds is still something I feel too "young" for so I make my partner do that. I nearly cried from boredom the first time we went curtain shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭boarddotie

Yesterday. I have started going out with a guy 4 years younger than me and he wanted us to go to a studenty type bar (my student days or long gone). I stood in front of the mirror for neigh'on 20 minutes rooting through my hair and plucking any random grey hairs I found hidden beneath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

GalKiefer wrote: »

Now now, You very well may have been to old to be there, Buts it very likely it was mostly kids there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Deffo when I was at the cinema and there was a group of really tipsy teenagers,and I found myself frowning ,totally forgetting my own youth.Another one was walking down the street looking hot as I thought and two youngfellas called me ' an old doll'.I told myself all women in cork fall under that category though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Anyone remember their first day as an old person?

I realised I had lost my youth the first time (on my birthday!) I pulled my back mid-'lashing-it-into-her'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

My name's Ditch ~ and I'm old .....

I know this because, a couple of years ago now, I made the conscious decision that I would go into town and buy myself a pair of slippers! :eek:

No shit! I did too. I bought them and was really happy to have them. I never even felt the slightest twinge of embarrassment about going into the shop and buying them.

Now my transformation is complete. I wander about in my slippers. Wondering what the fuck I've come into the kitchen for. Sharting and accepting even that as part of how life is these days :(

Fucking hell; What has become of me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

The day I started listening to talk radio that didn't involve the carcrash that is the adrian kennedy show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

Ditch wrote: »
    My name's Ditch ~ and I'm old .....

I know this because, a couple of years ago now, I made the conscious decision that I would go into town and buy myself a pair of slippers! :eek:

No shit! I did too. I bought them and was really happy to have them. I never even felt the slightest twinge of embarrassment about going into the shop and buying them.

Now my transformation is complete. I wander about in my slippers. Wondering what the fuck I've come into the kitchen for. Sharting and accepting even that as part of how life is these days :(

Fucking hell; What has become of me?

laughed out loud at this...thanks..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

When I was at an older cousins wedding and saw all the younger cousins I'd babysat, changed nappies for and watched go through intense barney - spiderman - telletubbies and misc. Cartoon obsessions. They were dressed to the nines in high heels, make up, short dresses/suits and one even brought a fella. Felt positively ancient and I was 24 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Walking out of the bank with a credit card with my name on it, linked to my current account, with the responsibility for not going crazy with it completely my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Aged 18.
    Just after coming home to my own flat from the hospital with this tiny screaming thing that I was solely responsible for feeding and keeping alive.
    Sh1t scary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

I've bought cars, house, dishwashers etc all the grown up stuff got engaged but i'm not old!!!

Might feel old when im married though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Getting ripped off on your second divorce will do the trick. And consoling yourself that "life begins at 49". It does, I think, hope, pray......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

The day i was arrested for trying to force a 15 year girl into my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

When I realised that I'd much rather sit down in a nice,quiet pub and have my pints of Guinness brought over to me just by nodding at the barman then be in some loud nightclub filled with eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

when a guy came into work to explain my pension to me , and he explained i have one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I could, and probably will (you know how us old people like to go on), quote many examples, but I think the first was when I became "the man". I was only 19 or so at the time, minding my own business waiting for a bus, when some woman threatened her bratty youngfella with the classic "Behave yourself now or I'll call the man over". :rolleyes:

The most recent, apart from feeling like death the other day after having 8 pints, 4 and a half hours sleep and having to get up for work, happened on a soccer pitch. I realised that the oppositions centre forward was younger than the jersey I was wearing.....