Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish chant

• 24-08-2011 12:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭

Having been in the new Landsdowne for an Irish game for the 6th time last weekend I'm really getting fed up with how little participation there is from the crowd. It seems to become most obvious against the French. And I think that's because they have their chants (Allez les bleus for example). Really simple things that they can all get into at the same time. We don't have anything like that. The Leinster games too had far better atmosphere, even in the freezing cold against Clermont.

Is anyone aware of anything on that front or does anyone have any suggestions for a chant or two!? I think as supporters we need to sort that out and get behind the team a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

IIIRREEE-LAAAAANND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

We are all WEST BRITS..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭RoutineBites

molloyjh wrote: »
    Having been in the new Landsdowne for an Irish game for the 6th time last weekend I'm really getting fed up with how little participation there is from the crowd. It seems to become most obvious against the French. And I think that's because they have their chants (Allez les bleus for example). Really simple things that they can all get into at the same time. We don't have anything like that. The Leinster games too had far better atmosphere, even in the freezing cold against Clermont.

Is anyone aware of anything on that front or does anyone have any suggestions for a chant or two!? I think as supporters we need to sort that out and get behind the team a bit more.

100% agree with you mate. I travelled up to the game last weekend too and was bitterly dissapointed with the lack of atmosphere and fan participation.

I'm a regular attendant of Connacht games and the Sportground's ambience trumps the AVIVA's by a mile. I gave Mike McCarthy a big cheer when he was brought on for the final two minutes of the game and some of the supporters surrounding me gave me dirty looks. The majority of the fans weren't even applauding the players when substitutes where made. People were leaving before the match had actually finished, at least ten people nearby me had left prior to Johnny Sexton's try.

Was also concerned that not once was the, "Fields of Athenry" or a similar song sung at the game. Worst of all, barely anyone sung, "Amhran na bhFiann" and only a slightly larger number sung, "Ireland's Call". :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭little173

Surprised any of the crowd can be heard over the stadium announcers voice to be honest. He really loves the sound of it and it still hasnt occured to him that he doesnt need to shout through a great big stadium PA system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Having been in the new Landsdowne for an Irish game for the 6th time last weekend I'm really getting fed up with how little participation there is from the crowd.

Did Will Leahy's pre-match banter not get you whipped up into a frenzy? :rolleyes:

I dunno, I'm not sure you can sanitise rugby to the extent that it's done in the Aviva and still expect a raucous atmosphere. Comfortable seats, big screens, plenty of bars and toilets, is it conducive to going ape and screaming your lungs out?
    I know what 'RoutineBites' means about getting funny looks when you make a bit of noise, I leapt out of my seat and screamed at yet another mistake by an Irish player and it just seemed to amuse some of the people around me.

Also, I think Irish fans are a little spoilt by our relative success (and of the provinces) of the last few years; when you're used to winning but the team is losing, maybe you're less likely to get behind them? When I started going to internationals as a teenager (early-mid 90s), we lost everything but it was almost part of the fun, cheering on the gallant losers and going bananas when we eventually fell over the try line. On Saturday, there was a definite sense of discontent because we were losing, almost as though we were being betrayed or something?

Unfortunately, I think a lot of people don't like 'Fields of Athenry' because it's so closely associated with Munster; when I started going to matches, 'Molly Malone' was always sung but I haven't heard it in years, possibly because of its association with Dublin.

Finally (didn't intend this post to be so long), the FAI came up with an idea of having a 'singing section' at Ireland games, where some of the more die-hard fans gather to sing and chant; not sure how they decide who gets in there, but it's not a bad idea on the face of it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Did Will Leahy's pre-match banter not get you whipped up into a frenzy? :rolleyes:

I dunno, I'm not sure you can sanitise rugby to the extent that it's done in the Aviva and still expect a raucous atmosphere. Comfortable seats, big screens, plenty of bars and toilets, is it conducive to going ape and screaming your lungs out?
    I know what 'RoutineBites' means about getting funny looks when you make a bit of noise, I leapt out of my seat and screamed at yet another mistake by an Irish player and it just seemed to amuse some of the people around me.

Also, I think Irish fans are a little spoilt by our relative success (and of the provinces) of the last few years; when you're used to winning but the team is losing, maybe you're less likely to get behind them? When I started going to internationals as a teenager (early-mid 90s), we lost everything but it was almost part of the fun, cheering on the gallant losers and going bananas when we eventually fell over the try line. On Saturday, there was a definite sense of discontent because we were losing, almost as though we were being betrayed or something?

Unfortunately, I think a lot of people don't like 'Fields of Athenry' because it's so closely associated with Munster; when I started going to matches, 'Molly Malone' was always sung but I haven't heard it in years, possibly because of its association with Dublin.

Finally (didn't intend this post to be so long), the FAI came up with an idea of having a 'singing section' at Ireland games, where some of the more die-hard fans gather to sing and chant; not sure how they decide who gets in there, but it's not a bad idea on the face of it.

You're right on everything there. I also remember singing The Fields and Molly Malone in the late 90's at games. Back then there was the terraces (North, South, and East) and crowds in terraces are more electric!

I also remember when Leinster were trying to launch their new song last year there was a pocket of people in the South Stand that were constantly singing it. They must have been put there by the Leinster Branch as they new all the words and were pretty good singers.

I'm not sure how you'd get the singing back as The Fields isn't really a runner anymore due to the Leinster Munster thing ( I actually bought a TAPE of this when I was in school so as I'd know all the words for Ireland games :cool: ) and I can't think of any other song that the crowd would know. I also find the pre match gimmicks a bit annoying and I'm not a fan of the announcer giving any info other than subs and lost kids. I'm fairly cranky though.

Fatalistically speaking singing at Ireland games is gone!

For what it's worth probably the best rugby song was Na Na Na Na Jackman sung to the tune of the old Batman television series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I also find the pre match gimmicks a bit annoying and I'm not a fan of the announcer giving any info other than subs and lost kids. I'm fairly cranky though.

You're not cranky if you're right! The pre-game announcer is such a pain in the ass. He shouts down the mic so that you can't hear the person beside then wants you to start singing on cue.... **** off and let people build their own atmosphere! I remember (and still moan about) when Clermont came to town in '09/'10, I got to the game early and the atmosphere was electric, nearly everyone was in their seats 30mins before kickoff and their was singing and a general buzz......then the announcer got involved. By the time kickoff came the place was dead quiet. Luckily the game built it back up again.

I think a big part of the atmosphere of a game is the stakes. It'll always be better at an important game. Also I think the travelling fans have a huge influence as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭macman2010

Completely agree with you OP, the atmosphere was terrible and always is against the french. Probably cause we get our asses whipped by them 75% of the time.
    A new chant is deffo required, i have to say im really sick of fields of Athenry. Its a depressing song in itself, and when we are loosing very few people want to start a rendition of it.

Allez les bleus is brilliant its short and catchy.
    Can we steal "come on you boys in green" from the soccer lads. This would be great especially during the periods we are playing crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Trevor Kent

How about "Faugh an Beallach" Tis an Irish war cry and translates into "Clear the way" or something like that.

Although it doesnt have a ring to it really does it??????? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

How about "Faugh an Beallach" Tis an Irish war cry and translates into "Clear the way" or something like that.

Although it doesnt have a ring to it really does it??????? :confused:

Don't you know that no rugby supporter talks as Gaeilge,They don't teach it in those prodestant schools...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Trevor Kent

Prop Joe wrote: »
    Don't you know that no rugby supporter talks as Gaeilge,They don't teach it in those prodestant schools...

You make a good point, not every supporter of the irish team would go for that.

Its a tough one really. Something powerfull to get the crowd and players going that everyone can join in with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

you already had an infraction on thread, so please take a weeks break to go with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

If you're gonna try and troll at least spell the word correctly!! The horror of this spelling, grammar and syntax is shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

We are all WEST BRITS..

Yeah, thanks Joe, go back to your 'real sports' discussion

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72152555&postcount=1

What are you, nine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Yeah, thanks Joe, go back to your 'real sports' discussion

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72152555&postcount=1

What are you, nine?

infraction

user was already dealt with,any more of this from anyone will result in a ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Atmosphere has really gone off since Ireland left the old Lansdowne.

I dont think I have been at a decent atmosphere for game since England 07(which was little overrated even)

I dont have really much of problem with people not wanting to sing etc, but what annoys me more is when people go to a game and then go for bit to eat half way through or people throwing on makeup and making people who give away a limb just to see a game no chance.

The French game this year was the worst ever imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I think there is a certain amount of sing when you're winning to it. But I was every bit as disappointed with the performance and I was still making noise. And the anthem is ridiculous. Myself and the gf were the only ones I heard singing it near us. Saw one other guy mouth the words to Irelands Call and that was it.

Thought about an Irish chant myself, but can't see it taking off. Too few people would be bothered with that and its a harsh enough language that a good chant would be hard to come by.

A singing section is actually a pretty good idea. Maybe then we'd have been able to give our "Sean O'Brien, O'Brien" tune a proper airing after his try on Saturday. And as a Leinster fan I'd have no issue singing Fields at the Irish games. I'd hope there wouldn't be any issue singing Molly Malone either. Anyone know how that works in for the FAI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I dont blame the stadium. The atmosphere was great for the leinster games. I'm more inclined to think its the stakes.

durkadurka wrote: »
    I dont blame the stadium. The atmosphere was great for the leinster games. I'm more inclined to think its the stakes.

I think the Leinster games there had the advantage of season ticket holders sitting together and creating the same atmosphere they would in the RDS. This is then somewhat infectious. For the Ireland games you're never really sitting with anymore than 2 or 3 people you know. It's hard to get a gang together to help create that buzz. And people rarely do it with strangers.

God be with the days of the terraces...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

We're all too cool to sing anymore....

Is there a schoolkids section anymore, maybe the could be used to get chants/songs going?

might be a bit American but maybe some props/instruments would help too cowbells, horns, drums???

Maybe give Leo (the Lion not Cullen) a green Jersey for the day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Part of the problem is that some (like me) were far too used to the terraces, where you could be a bit rowdy, chant, sing or whatever and the folks around would join in.

Nowadays you can't even stand to applaud a try without some grumpy fcuker behind you shouting at you to sit down...

the lack of a terrace has killed Lansdowne Road. As someone said earlier in the thread: too sanitised.

Thank God there are terraces in the RDS and Thomond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

You only need a reasonably slow song with first verse and chorus that translates to large groups, a builder that everyone can belt out to their hearts content... doesn't really have to have anything to do with Rugby, Swing Low was sung by everyone in the 60s/70s... Welsh, Scots, Irish, English. I frikkin love Bread of Heaven and Flower of Scotland, thought they are as maudlin as you can get.

Luke Kelly + dubs, Christy, Thin Lizzy Black Rose had a few cracking versions of trad stuff.

The Auld Triangle (decent song, of a tone of "The Fields")
    Black Velvet Band (for Tommy and our northern brothers)
    wild rover (ffs!)
    Go lassie go (mountain thyme)
    Dirty old town.
    Rocky Road (cracking song nigh on impossible to sing tho!)
    Rosin the bow (Tommy the bowe!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

The crowd noise, say when Ireland are on the up, close to the line or breaking into space, contrary to some of the posts here, is very very loud in the Aviva.

Doesn't matter if its in a field or in 1999 at the Olympic Stadium in Sydney. If the crowd is given something to shout about, they'll shout their lungs out.
    Its up to the team and the crowd really. A crowd makes the atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

JustinDee wrote: »
    The crowd noise, say when Ireland are on the up, close to the line or breaking into space, contrary to some of the posts here, is very very loud in the Aviva.

Doesn't matter if its in a field or in 1999 at the Olympic Stadium in Sydney. If the crowd is given something to shout about, they'll shout their lungs out.
    Its up to the team and the crowd really. A crowd makes the atmosphere.

yes but sometimes a crowd can raise the teams game when they are not playing well, that's very unlikely to happen in the Aviva at the moment

The sort of lift we gave the team when England came to Croke park for the first time should be a regular occurance not a once off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭thegoodgirl

Totally agree with OP. My OH and me were saying the same on saturday. We had three french lads right beside us and they seemed to be chanting and singing for the whole game. Which I must say was better then listening to the man beside me bitching and moaning and cursing at the Irish lads.

And people leaving before the game was over really annoyed me. I know it wasnt possible at that stage to win or even dray the game but the players hadn't given up why should the fans.

Anyone going to the match saturday? We could try a couple of chants and songs out. I have no qualms with The Fields or Molly. We just need something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Cameron Poe

durkadurka wrote: »

Agreed.

It's a different crowd than a decade ago. Used to go to almost every game in Lansdowne, there was always a great atmosphere. Priced out of it completely now, as are most of my mates.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

JustinDee wrote: »

I agree but I also think that any songs/chants/ noise that used to happen in games is gone except for noise that happens at the kick off and when Ireland are breaking etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Agreed.

It's a different crowd than a decade ago. Used to go to almost every game in Lansdowne, there was always a great atmosphere. Priced out of it completely now, as are most of my mates.

€20 isn't a lot and you get a great view up with the gods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Dont really understand not singing the fields of athenry and molly malone, Like every knows munster and leinster is a huge rivalry but still that shouldnt really matter at an Ireland game tbh, feck sake like theres more people in the country than those in blue and red, surely a rendition of any christ moore song would get the crowd going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

"Come on you boys in green"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

We're all parta Deccie's Army,
    We're all off to New Zealand
    And we'll really shake em up
    When we win the World Cup
    'Coz Ireland are the greatest rugby team

astonaidan wrote: »
    Dont really understand not singing the fields of athenry and molly malone, Like every knows munster and leinster is a huge rivalry but still that shouldnt really matter at an Ireland game tbh, feck sake like theres more people in the country than those in blue and red, surely a rendition of any christ moore song would get the crowd going

A rugby version of Joxer anyone? Instead if lines like "it was the first time Whacker put his foot outside of Inchicore" we could have "it was the first time Tarquin put his foot outside of Dublin 4"!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

hardCopy wrote: »

Gayest chant ever. I love it.

Teferi wrote: »
    €20 isn't a lot and you get a great view up with the gods.

Not for a test match, 50 plus. if you like a stupid bundle you can spend a weeks dole. I'm not friendly enough for cheap friendlies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

astonaidan wrote: »
    Dont really understand not singing the fields of athenry and molly malone, Like every knows munster and leinster is a huge rivalry but still that shouldnt really matter at an Ireland game tbh
    It doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭thegoodgirl

hardCopy wrote: »

Ah an oldie but a goodie, might have to shorten New Zealand to NZ or something it seems like a bit of a mouthful

We all dream of a team of Sean O'Briens
    A team of Sean O'Briens

(repeat)

Number one is Sean O'Brien
    Number two is Sean O'Brien
    Number three is Sean O'Brien
    Number four is Sean O'Brien

We all dream of a team of Sean O'Briens
    A team of Sean O'Briens

(repeat)

Number one is Sean O'Brien
    Number two is Sean O'Brien
    Number three is Sean O'Brien
    Number four is Sean O'Brien

With a singing section we could get that sort of thing going alright. Whats mad is that Seanie has 2 songs and the likes of BOD and Heaslip don't have any!

Brian O'Driscoll, Brian O'Driscoll,
    Are you Jesus in disguise,
    Are you Jesus in disguise.

Brian O'Driscoll, Brian O'Driscoll,
    Are you Jesus in disguise,
    Are you Jesus in disguise.

I heard that in Edinburgh in 09 but haven't heard it since strangely....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

I agree about Saturday...it was almost as if we were playing in Paris! Having said that when we played them there in February there was a much better Irish buzz. Wonder if the makeup of the crowd had something to do with it? Friendlies tend to attract more casual fans who are not involved in clubs? A sweeping generalisation I know but at least partly true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

macman2010 wrote: »
    Can we steal "come on you boys in green" from the soccer lads..

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 RugGod

at Leinster games we do "come on you boys in blue"

I really hate this snobbery amongst Irish fans about not singing soccer chants. Molly Malone is an excellent chant though, unfortunately certain fans refuse to sing it despite everyone joining in for Fields of Athen Ri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Not for a test match, 50 plus. if you like a stupid bundle you can spend a weeks dole. I'm not friendly enough for cheap friendlies.

Right, you just want a whinge so. :rolleyes:

Teferi wrote: »
    Right, you just want a whinge so. :rolleyes:

No, test matches are priced too high. Obviously they won't get away with charging the same for a friendly. That's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Superman wears his pants
    Paulie, Paulie
    He's bigger than a russian tank
    Paulie, Paulie
    Flannery gives the shout
    Paulie wins the Lineout
    Paul O'Connell Irelands number 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

One liner, and stolen straight from a mate of mine talking about Leinster at the time, but "Whoooaaahh, Jonny Sexton's on fire"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

Why not just go back to singing Molly Malone again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

There's only onnnnnne Tomas O'Leary
    onnnnnnnne Tomas O'Leary
    The backs will be grand
    cos he's in the stand
    We're walking in a Reddan* wonderland

*or Murray

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

cython wrote: »
    One liner, and stolen straight from a mate of mine talking about Leinster at the time, but "Whoooaaahh, Jonny Sexton's on fire"

I'm still perplexed that no one's thought to sing

I believe in miracles
    Since you came along
    You Sexton thing...