Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HEAR Induction - Maynooth

• 24-08-2011 1:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭

Hey,
    I got a letter from Maynooth about the HEAR Induction.

It says that parents are invited for the first evening, would most parents be going?

Also, the rules are quite stupid. You are not allowed to have your phone with you between 9 & 6!!! Which doesn't help since I will not know a single person there and not exactly the type of person to walk up to random people and start chatting, so I would kinda rely on my phone for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

What other rules are given?

Sorry I haven't recieved my letter yet but I totally agree with the not having your phone between 9 and 6 part. That is really weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

If you've ever taught a group of 1st years you'd know how frustrating and de-motivating it is to see people sitting there tapping away on their phones during a class. It's one day guys, bring a book if you think you're going to have free time and nothing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

I was a leader on this for a few years, so I can explain some of the stuff :)

Yep, pretty much everyone has their parents with them on Sunday. There is a info session for them about the supports from the access office etc. While this is happening you all will be meeting your leader and the rest of those who will be in your apartment for the few days.

With regards the no phones rule, the main reason behind this is so that everyone participates in the activities and gets chatting to people. I always just told the students I was in charge of to have their phone on silent in their bag/pocket/whatever, so you can still text if you've a few minutes :p Anyways you will that busy with all the stuff organised you probably won't get a chance to look at your phone!

Is there anything else you would like to know about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭dillo2k10

karaokeman wrote: »
    What other rules are given?

Sorry I haven't recieved my letter yet but I totally agree with the not having your phone between 9 and 6 part. That is really weird.

The List of Rules Given were:

1. You must punctually attend and take part in all activities at all times from Sunday to Wednesday;

2. You must follow Leader's instructions at all times;

3. Do not leave the group without permission of leaders;

4. Mobile phones must be turned off and left in appartments from 9.00am to 6.00pm

5. Mobile phones must be turned off during evening activities;

6. No consumption of alcohol;

7. No Smoking;

8. No leaving the apartments after hours;

9. No offensive language or gestures;

10. You must adhere to all University Rules.

Hmmm, I retract what I previously said. That sounds like a religious retreat. You're all adults ffs, you can't leave your room after dark, wtf?

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Hmmm, I retract what I previously said. That sounds like a religious retreat. You're all adults ffs, you can't leave your room after dark, wtf?

It looks to me like the list of rules my school gave us in first year of secondary school when they brought us to Venice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭heffo500

I want to this last year bitta of laugh and the rest was just utter B.S. They just tell you everything you hear at orientation so if you end up having to go to this don't bother going to orientation.

They said you couldn't smoke most did outside the apartments most did anyway.

They come round at night and make sure everyone is gone to bed by 11 or so.

They give you talk about the supports that are available but this is again repeated when you have your meeting with the access office at the start of term.

They promote this student+ thing all the time. I signed up went twice thought I'd be better spending the hour studying or drinking so never bothered going again not saying you wouldn't find it a help.

One night we watch a movie in the lecture theater and we got a little bag of popcorn and a bag of coke aswell exciting stuff if your ten.

Then the icing on the cake was the disco. No drink what so ever all you got was two vouchers to get two soft drinks. And you couldn't go outside and smoke as they stood outside (didn't bother me as I don't smoke)

They people I stayed with were grand but already knew loads going to maynooth and so I didn't really stay in touch.

The last day and a half of this camp involved us making a video in groups of the challenges we face going to college. The winners got NUI hoodies and second got scull candy headphones I think.

Some of the team leaders were arseholes full of themselves.One of the girls had an american accent real strong like and apparently she's not american just puts it on, real loud mouth loves the sound of her own voice if you go you will know who I'm talking about. Real college **** as we would call them the type that pester you to vote all the time your outside JH. (Piss off I don't care who becomes SU president once the bar remains open in the SU I don't mind)

Sorry about the rant but this was a pointless three days for me but I'm not saying you want find it help but I just felt we were treated like children even the mature students couldn't go out at night.

If you do end up going just look at the comical side of it all and you will get a laugh out of it but if you don't want to go just say your away. I doubt they will care once they get your registration fee off you.

I'm sure others may respond to your OP and say I'm being very negative but that's my two cents.

Enjoy College, Christmas day was the highlight for me. Calvin Harris should be good this year too.

Some reason or another I doubt I will be accepted to this week. Long story but something went wrong with my DARE application so I am getting into Maynooth without the reduced points, that also affects my eligibility. Two things you mentioned that I couldn't understand the point of.
    heffo500 wrote: »
    They come round at night and make sure everyone is gone to bed by 11 or so.

I can understand this for a secondary school trip but come on all of us coming to Maynooth now are 17+ can we not have a little fun without being bossed around all the time by our elders?
    heffo500 wrote: »
    I just felt we were treated like children even the mature students couldn't go out at night.

That's a joke, its college. What's the point in being in college if you're not going to enjoy yourself?

You get a few thousand euro during your time in college as an outcome of these few days. Suck it up. You can do what you want when you're an actual registered student of NUIM.

Still though, sounds very childish. Any attempt to control people like that generally results in some people going out of their way to not obey the rules. Anyway, rules are bleugh :P

Hi I just got the call to say I've been accepted for the programme.

Anyone know if we need to bring our own bed linen or if it is already there on the first night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Planemo

Hi I just got the call to say I've been accepted for the programme.

Anyone know if we need to bring our own bed linen or if it is already there on the first night?
    No - on the letter it just says to bring HEAR forms, clothes and toiletries for the week.

Anyone back from the HEAR/DARE programme?

I was up since sunday in Dodder 3 of the River apartments and probably saw some of you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

I was up since sunday in Dodder 3 of the River apartments and probably saw some of you there.

I most definitely saw you.. I think.. :P

Was that Lori's Apt?

dillo2k10 wrote: »
    Was that Lori's Apt?

By *any* chance.. did you add me on Facebook? :P

Noel2k9 wrote: »
    By *any* chance.. did you add me on Facebook? :P

Yup, thats me :P

I figured! :P Did we cross paths at MAP? We probably did! :P

Im sure we did at some stage, I just added ya cos I seen ya on here and was wondering who you actually were? :) The only Noel I seen!

Aaaaaaaaaaah yes! I'm sure we probably chatted/were in a group together anyway :P It's hard to remember so many people! haha

Yea I know, I don't remember anyones names. I know everyones faces though!! So it's a start!

Was that Lori's Apt?

Yeah it was.

Who were you with?

Yeah it was.

Who were you with?

I was next door in Dodder 1 with Reece.

Anyone who stayed until the entire end.. did ye get the book voucher things before ye left?

I left at like 3.50pm on the Wednesday but someone on Facebook was talking about the book voucher so now I'm confused :confused:

Anyone who stayed until the entire end.. did ye get the book voucher things before ye left?

I left at like 3.50pm on the Wednesday but someone on Facebook was talking about the book voucher so now I'm confused :confused:

No, there was no book voucher given out, but they probably started calling people in to give the voucher to them ?

You don't get the book voucher until you get the HEAR grant, so in October or so.

No that was us leaders. We volunteered for the 3 days so we got vouchers as gifts.

Yous get the amazon vouchers this year too? I always loved getting to buy loads of stuff after it :D

I'm sad I wasn't able to be a leader this year >.< Was looking at the facebook page and everyone seems to have had a great time!

Yous get the amazon vouchers this year too? I always loved getting to buy loads of stuff after it :D

I'm sad I wasn't able to be a leader this year >.< Was looking at the facebook page and everyone seems to have had a great time!

Yeah amazon ones. Access is great craic for the 3 days. Everyone has such low expectations a la the start of this thread. They all end up having a good time.