Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American moving to Ireland (help!)

• 22-08-2011 3:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

We are moving to Ireland in October from Chicago and I need a vehicle that has seating for 6 (2 adults, 4 kids) plus room for a stroller (er, I think you call them buggies?) and groceries etc. I am completely unfamiliar with the types of cars there. I drive a Dodge Durango here, which is probably bigger than anything I have seen on the road over there in terms of an SUV. Does anyone have any good suggestions for me? What should I stay away from?

Thanks is advance for any help :)
    Katherine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the only thing near to that lovely dodge would be a toyota Landcruiser amazon , nissan patrol or landrover discovery .

they all can have 7 seats if you look for them and will accomodate some luggage too. Id recommend the amazon as its one of the few full size SUV's available in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

What's your budget, OP? Have you checked out insurance and motor tax costs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 mrsfive

I don't have one, still just trying to figure out what I'd need.
    Confab wrote: »
    What's your budget, OP?

Thanks for the suggestion, I didn't know they had those there!
    the only thing near to that lovely dodge would be a toyota Landcruiser amazon , nissan patrol or landrover discovery .

they all can have 7 seats if you look for them and will accomodate some luggage too. Id recommend the amazon as its one of the few full size SUV's available in this country

Yes, we did look into the motor tax - I guess the bigger the engine the more you pay to drive it? I don't know specifics, I left that up to my husband. I do know we want a diesel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

I was going to say are ya mad moving here from the USA but then I saw where you're moving to! Good choice :)

Sorry I can't recommend you a car as I don't have any experience in what you are looking for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

He's coming to take our jobs. Turn him back at the border I say! :D

Why not just buy a Dodge when you get here. Only difference is it will be RHD. ;)

You could buy a Hyundai Sante Fe on top of the other suggestions by Cartman.

If you don't want to have a vehicle that big you could still fit 2 adults, 4 kids and a stroller in a Ford S-Max or Ford Galaxy. Better MPG, lower CO2 tax and cheaper to purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Esto Fidelis

It really depends on the amount of cash you are willing to part with. There are a few options, as the last poster said the Land Cruiser is an option. But you will have a very hefty Road Tax bill and the cost of fuel is a lot more that in the US. There are 2.0 lt diesel options in the Toyota Corrola Verso and VW Touran and similar. As I said it really depends on what you wish to spend. You can go on to Adverts.ie car section and donedeal.ie for a look, this may help you but remember the Road Tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Just a little FYI OP - I would immediately start preparing to get a drivers license (even before you get to Cork). The bureaucracy and b.s. that goes along with getting one in Ireland makes a trip to the Secretary of State's office a breeze.

You'll be able to drive on your Illinois license for one year when you arrive in Ireland. It may take you that long to get your test. Passing it is another story all together.

What's RHD?

And my husband got permission from the gov't to move his company there. He got permission because he's hiring Irish people, he has to hire at least 10, he's hired 3 already and we aren't even there yet :) We'll be paying into the economy!

I was looking at the Santa Fe - they seem so small over here.

Beer Baron wrote: »
    He's coming to take our jobs. Turn him back at the border I say! :D

Why not just buy a Dodge when you get here. Only difference is it will be RHD. ;)

You could buy a Hyundai Sante Fe on top of the other suggestions by Cartman.

If you don't want to have a vehicle that big you could still fit 2 adults, 4 kids and a stroller in a Ford S-Max or Ford Galaxy. Better MPG, lower CO2 tax and cheaper to purchase.

So, I'll have to take a written or a driving test? I haven't done that since I was 16! thanks for the heads up.
    Just a little FYI OP - I would immediately start preparing to get a drivers license (even before you get to Cork). The bureaucracy and b.s. that goes along with getting one in Ireland makes a trip to the Secretary of State's office a breeze.

You'll be able to drive on your Illinois license for one year when you arrive in Ireland. It may take you that long to get your test. Passing it is another story all together.

I have to go run errands, I'll be back to read replies later and respond, thanks for the help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

FYI the motor tax (equivilant of yearly registration) would probably be €1566 on a Landcruiser amazon, Nissan Patrol and Landrover discovery...

Diesel is currently €1.50/litre (or in context - $8.16/US Gal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

mrsfive wrote: »
    We are moving to Ireland in October from Chicago and I need a vehicle that has seating for 6 (2 adults, 4 kids) plus room for a stroller (er, I think you call them buggies?) and groceries etc. I am completely unfamiliar with the types of cars there. I drive a Dodge Durango here, which is probably bigger than anything I have seen on the road over there in terms of an SUV. Does anyone have any good suggestions for me? What should I stay away from?

Katherine

You're going to be utterly disappointed with the cars over here compared to that beauty dodge! Closest things to look at would be Jeep Compass / Patriot / Grand Cherokee etc.

Whatever you do, just dont lose your american roots and get suckered into the lower co2/higher mpg bandwagon that people here are obsessed with! As long as you're above 25mpg, you're golden.

What's RHD?

And my husband got permission from the gov't to move his company there. He got permission because he's hiring Irish people, he has to hire at least 10, he's hired 3 already and we aren't even there yet :) We'll be paying into the economy!

rhd - right hand drive

i think the santa fe is a bit on the small side for what your used to, also with the 7 seats up theres not a whole lot of space left. coming from that hemi engined dodge your going to be a bit dissapointed by most 4x4's , the amazon would be the only thing coming close,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 123ame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

So, I'll have to take a written or a driving test? I haven't done that since I was 16! thanks for the heads up.

You have to apply for a written test. If you pass it, you'll get a provisional license. There are quite a lot of restrictions that go with driving on this license.

You then have to wait six months to apply to take the driving test. There are often insane waiting times to do this. I won't even get into the fact that the scam that goes on with the examiners and their 'job security'.

The best advice that I can give you is be ready to get this process started as soon as possible after you get settled in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Problem solved!!! (apart from diesel):D:D:D
    Its even a RHD conversion.
    View2-6567739.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2202099

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭doctorchopper

you can drive on your american license for up to a year then you have to get a irish one. Another suggestion is get copies of your no claims bonus from over there before you come over and also get a copy of proof of cancelation of your american policy, the insurance companies here will look for both. If its just a car you are looking for you'll need an estate (station wagon)like peugot 307 estate or volvo estate, they also have dodge caravan and others. Automatic transmissions are fairly rare here, but are becoming more popular. If you want a 4x4 SUV I would suggest looking at 2008 or older as they changed the road tax rules in 2008 and its a lot cheaper for larger sized engines VS high CO2 output in the newer tax bracket. For example a 2007 nissan pathfinder 935 euro and 2008+ would cost 2100 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Id go with a landcruiser, or if you're feeling flush a BMW X5 maybe? Ostentacious enough for you? :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

If its just a car you are looking for you'll need an estate (station wagon)like peugot 307 estate

The woman said she needs a big car, not a sardine can :D

no looker but sounds like its exactly what you NEED! can be found in automatic as well if needed.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Caravelle/SWB-2.5-/201125202967910/advert?channel=CARS

no-image-large.gif&width=400&height=300

123ame wrote: »
    those are a big mistake
    Vicxas wrote: »
    Id go with a landcruiser, or if you're feeling flush a BMW X5 maybe? Ostentacious enough for you? :);)

x5 doesnt come in 7 seats afaik

the Mk 2 X5 does come with 7 seats, but the rear 2 are kids only yokes that fold into the floor

forgot to mention the chrysler 300 estate, its about as big of as car as you'll get here
    http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/car-reviews/car-and-driving/chrysler-300c-touring-1005078.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

A vehicle here will cost more than double to buy than in USA,petrol,tax etc more than double in Ireland.
    Ireland,that includes Cork ;),is very ANTI-large automobile,its extremely expensive here to run a car,be warned!!!Its NOT at all like the US.
    If you have lots of money then buy whatever ya like but if you are sensible any big Hyundai,Kia or Ford will do the trick.
    A Durango is much bigger than anything you will see on Irish ehh,, (roads)!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

Ford Galaxy is expensive but superb or try Renault Espace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

What's RHD?

It means Right Hand Drive - we drive on the other side of the car on the other side of the road - same as the UK :D But you probably noticed that. Takes a bit of getting used to!

Good luck with your move to Ireland - hope you enjoy living here:D

Eric Cartman got there before me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony

Checkout a Nissan Pathfinder , they are very similar to models sold in the US .

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

tweedledee wrote: »

coming form those US tanks even the amazon is going to be a bit dissapointing, the extra fuel and road tax is worth it not to lose the love of driving in an espace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

tweedledee wrote: »

Something like the Ford Galaxy is about €3,000 for a 10 year old on & up to €47,000 for a new one. €25,000 would get you a 2008/2009 model.
    I think this is as close as your going to get to your requirements.

Here are some useful websites to go researching cars:

www.carzone.ie
    www.donedeal.ie
    www.adverts.ie

Motor Tax:

There are two different motor tax regimes in Ireland, in 2008 an emissions based system replaced the cc (engine sized) based system. You pay this fee on an annual basis (or half yearly or quarterly at a premium) to place a disc in the window to be legally compliant. This website give full details of the the different rates:

www.motortax.ie

Fuel:

Fuel over here at the minute is at the following rates:

Petrol: 149.9c per litre ($2.16) that's $8.18 per US gallon
    Diesel: 139.9c per litre ($2.01) that's $7.61 per US gallon

(1 litres = 0.264172052 US gallons)
    (Conversion rate used: 1.00 EUR = 1.43865 USD)

Insurance:
    Insurance is compulsory, the tow most common types are:
    - 3rd party, fire & theft cover
    - fully comprehensive cover

Here are a few insurance websites that you can work out an online quote for (no particular order):

- Aviva
    - 123.ie
    - insure.ie
    - Allianz
    - Quinn Insurance

Note that insurance may be quite expensive for a driver with little experience, so it is vital that you bring as much proof of "no claims bonus", contact one of the insurance companies directly BEFORE you leave the US so you can get all the necessary documentation from your current insurers. Insurance could be anything from €300 - €1,000 per annum depending on all the variables (probably towards the higher end of this for you), higher if you have anything a bit out of the ordinary.

You must display an insurance disc on the windscreen of the car

Vehicle Road worthiness test:
    In Ireland all cars over 4 years old must undergo the "National Car test" or NCT every two years. Cars less than four years old are exempt from the test, cars over 10 years old must complete the test anually.
    There is yet another disc that needs to be displayed for this.

Details on the national car test:

www.ncts.ie

Just to note I think the post with saying to "turn back at the border" was an attempt at a bit of sarcasm/light humour, obviously didn't translate well through the written words of a forum....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

You have to apply for a written test. If you pass it, you'll get a provisional license. There are quite a lot of restrictions that go with driving on this license.

You then have to wait six months to apply to take the driving test. There are often insane waiting times to do this. I won't even get into the fact that the scam that goes on with the examiners and their 'job security'.

The best advice that I can give you is be ready to get this process started as soon as possible after you get settled in Ireland.

Basically you'll be starting anew. You cannot exchange your US licence for an Irish one although it is recognised for a temporary stay up to 1 year. You will need to apply for a Learner Permit (provisional licences died out years ago) which you can only use when accompanied by a holder of an EU licence of 2 years (so that I suspect will disqualify your hubby if he's got only US licence).

Linky
    In fact, take a look through the rest of that site, it has a lot of good info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Should pick up a relatively fresh Chrysler Voyager for less than €10k - 2008 maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

why is everyone saying the op can drive on the american licence for upto 1 year, thats if you're a tourist and not planning on staying here, if you want to live in ireland you need to get a learners permit before driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

guil wrote: »
    why is everyone saying the op can drive on the american licence for upto 1 year, thats if you're a tourist and not planning on staying here, if you want to live in ireland you need to get a learners permit before driving

Correct - As soon as you become resident in Ireland, you must get an Irish license

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

When you move here, if a man calls to your door and shows ID that says he's from the post office and asks to see your TV licence he is being serious.

Don't start laughing uncontrollably and then slam the door in his face thinking it's a wind up as my next door neighbour did after moving here from Philadelphia a few years ago. :)

invest4deepvalue.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Monty.

Katherine

Welcome to Ireland.

Most cars sold here are manual shift, but very approx. 5-10% will be auto, and most are available in an auto version.

There's no realistic equivalent here for what you're currently driving, as the cost of nearly everything here is going to be higher, but on the upside it's your chance to enjoy some european styling.

Dealing in terms of practicality only, you're looking a good "Seven Seater"

I have no idea of your budget, but one of the best all rounders in this category is the Ford S-Max, e.g. like this one

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/S-Max/1.8-DIES/201128203345540/advert?channel=CARS

no-image-large.gif&width=400&height=300

Once you settle in you can try something a bit more adventurous.
    Best of luck with the move.

Do-more wrote: »
    When you move here, if a man calls to your door and shows ID that says he's from the post office and asks to see your TV licence he is being serious.

Don't start laughing uncontrollably and then slam the door in his face thinking it's a wind up as my next door neighbour did after moving here from Philadelphia a few years ago. :)

actually, id reccomend they do that, those lads are a fcking joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Sobanek wrote: »

a grand mpv but a terrible power loss for what their coming from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Out of curiosity, what line of business is he in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

You're going to need to learn sarcasm and Irish wit quickly if you are to survive I'm afraid. :D

Yes Yes, everything is bigger in America :rolleyes:, our roads are crap and we all eat Bacon & Cabbage. Families in Ireland with 3,4 or 5 kids can manage with 5 seater cars, SUVs, Jeeps and the like so I'm sure you could manage.

If you choose to go big then the Irish Government will fling the book at you. Big Heavy big engined vehicles attract big bills in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Beer Baron wrote: »
    You're going to need to learn sarcasm and Irish wit quickly if you are to survive I'm afraid. :D

Yes Yes, everything is bigger in America :rolleyes:, our roads are crap and we all eat Bacon & Cabbage. Families in Ireland with 3,4 or 5 kids can manage with 5 seater cars, SUVs, Jeeps and the like so I'm sure you could manage.

If you choose to go big then the Irish Government will fling the book at you. Big Heavy big engined vehicles attract big bills in this country.

I found the Volvo XC90 to be huge and it ain't even half the size of most American SUVs. Why the need for "gas-guzzlers" ?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Monty.

Another tip when choosing a car in Ireland is to study and very carefully understand the charming Irish trait of "begrudery" - most particularly when it comes to neighbours and employees.

Also in America, while standing out and showing your success is seen as positive, in Ireland it is seen as a negative, unless you're accepted as "connected", then they will lick your hole and you can stand out all you want. For the unconnected, society in Ireland is centred around blending in. And resistance is futile, the Irish have spent centuries perfecting this social pressure. Groupthink is compulsory here.

Think American small town hill billy banjo country, watch the films deliverance and southern comfort, a few re-runs of Dukes of Hazard and Dallas, and you're halfway to understanding "modern" 2011 Ireland.

Isn't it great what you can learn about Ireland on a motoring forum. :)

I found the Volvo XC90 to be huge and it ain't even half the size of most American SUVs. Why the need for "gas-guzzlers" ?!
    They are not as bad as they used to be, as far as power to economy they are quite good. My father has a for f350 with 6.7 litre turbo diesel which returns approx 27 mpg, now i know you are going to say thats terrible but it has almost 500 hp and 0ver 900 ft/lbs of torque, when you compare this to a hilux over here with a 3.0 ltr engine 169 hp and on their best day 32 mpg. The perol engines in trucks over there are another story

because begrudgers wont let us have something as fun as this

picture.php?albumid=347&pictureid=4279

They are not as bad as they used to be, as far as power to economy they are quite good. My father has a for f350 with 6.7 litre turbo diesel which returns approx 27 mpg, now i know you are going to say thats terrible but it has almost 500 hp and 0ver 900 ft/lbs of torque, when you compare this to a hilux over here with a 3.0 ltr engine 169 hp and on their best day 32 mpg. The perol engines in trucks over there are another story

drooling-homer-simpson.jpg

because begrudgers wont let us have something as fun as this

picture.php?albumid=347&pictureid=4279
    exactly, that what my dad has, minus the lift though and his is a newer model. And before anyone says what do you need all that power, he tows a 32 foot caravan, tows a trailer with round bails around the farm, ect...