Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rose of Tralee

• 22-08-2011 2:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭ilikepears

The rose of tralee is starting tonight. I was looking at the profiles of the contestants and was surprised at how successful they all seem to be. Most if not all have been to college and have professional jobs, dont think any of them are unemployed. Also they all have been successful at sports, some have played at international level, one has travelled the world playing the clarinet as a child. They are very involved in charities and are well travelled.
    this is just one example http://www.roseoftralee.ie/v5/roses/international-roses-2011/international-roses-2011/tipperary-noirin-ryan-261
    It actually is good that there are such girls achieving success in their jobs and hobbies but it actually makes me feel quite crap. I cant play any instrument, am crap at sport etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Are you a match-maker?
    You like pares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

ilikepears wrote: »
    sings in the parish choir?
    is a member of Macre na Feirme?
    has 10 siblings?
    she has represented Tipperary South at the Queen of the Land Festival?

the fucking Queen of the Land festival?!

This girl is wasted representing Tipperary... she should be representing 1950.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

later10 wrote: »
    sings in the parish choir?
    is a member of Macre na Feirme?
    has 10 siblings?
    she has represented Tipperary South at the Queen of the Land Festival?

the fucking Queen of the Land festival?!

This girl is wasted representing Tipperary... she should be representing 1950.

Admit you ARE the Rose

Weve all seen the pics You're the pretty one..with your siblings.

OMG quads I said!!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

So these girls go through their lives being successful, getting top grades, beating down the male/female barrier, grabbing top jobs and showing the world that they can turn their hand to something and kick it's ass, compete in sports at an International level.................

....... and then they wheel themselves out to be judged like a piece of meat in a lovely girls competition. Way to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

UP TIPP :cool:

Big Apple is lovely too

Roscommon looks durty :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭madma

doesnt mary have a lovely bottom... 'ahem' then again.. they all have lovely bottoms.

Jaysus, some of them have a cheek..............

chucken1 wrote: »
    Admit you ARE the Rose

Weve all seen the pics You're the pretty one..with your siblings.

OMG quads I said!!!!! :)
    I'm just jealous because this b1tch beat me to be Tipperary rose.

Watch me take her down. Soon she shall know my wrath.

Also, don't these people realise that the only people who watch this are dirty aul men in the pub trying to top up their spank bank?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭ilikepears

later10 wrote: »
    I'm just jealous because this b1tch beat me to be Tipperary rose.

Watch me take her down. Soon she shall know my wrath.

aww theres always next year..;)
    MrStuffins wrote: »
    Also, don't these people realise that the only people who watch this are dirty aul men in the pub trying to top up their spank bank?

Huge numbers watch it. One million watched it last year. Id say its mostly women watching it. Its good enough fun to watch.

ilikepears wrote: »
    Huge numbers watch it. One million watched it last year. Id say its mostly women watching it. Its good enough fun to watch.

Yeah, 1 million dirty aulfellas sitting in the pub rubbing their hands together everytime a new girl gets trotted out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Sticjones

Mighty stuff!

John O'Donoghue's niece was in it one year

JOD was in charge of sports and tourism at the time and since he's from Kerry, I cried fix and inside job :pac:

Threw a good few euro on this Kerry lass to win

She didn't :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Yeah, 1 million dirty aulfellas sitting in the pub rubbing their hands together everytime a new girl gets trotted out!

"... they all have lovely bottoms."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

I'm going to be glued to this.

get something sticky on yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭dirtypanties

Cork Rose can recite all the street names on the monopoly board..

A true life skill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

not a looker in the bunch :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭twistedsoul

more brilliant t.v to watch not !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Here, missus, d'like dags??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I hate that Daithí O Sé. We get it, you are a bogman. No need to turn it up to 11.

I especially dislike the radio advert he has about cooking fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Saila wrote: »
    not a looker in the bunch :(

I beg to differ, did you look at the South Austrila rose who can count to ten in five different languages. Impressive stuff if she wants to become some kind of international businesswoman whose prices range from 1 to 10.
    http://www.roseoftralee.ie/v5/roses/international-roses-2011/international-roses-2011/south-australia-susan-gellard-289

I beg to differ, did you look at the South Austrila rose who can count to ten in five different languages. Impressive stuff if she wants to become some kind of international businesswoman whose prices range from 1 to 10.
    http://www.roseoftralee.ie/v5/roses/international-roses-2011/international-roses-2011/south-australia-susan-gellard-289

what a non-talent
    my 2 year old baby cousin can do that, if not more languages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The real Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Will jonjo the miser be doing a commentary like last year? I was in tears reading his updates :)

Same tired Father Ted quotes last year too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

phill106 wrote: »
    Will jonjo the miser be doing a commentary like last year? I was in tears reading his updates :)

That was good craic all right!

I won't be watching tonight though - it clashes with Man U vs Spurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

mike65 wrote: »
    The real Ireland.

Ders more to Oireland, den dis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Some of them are fukin rough :eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Tipp rose has a fantastic voice. Her brother is a pro singer. Very pleasant, she works at a deli in Tipperary. Read in a local paper that she has a job from September onwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I clicked through a few of em there...

I imagine they're the type that wear runners with their suits when walking home from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

The Rose of Tralee is turning into speed dating for RTE presenters :pac: :pac: :pac:

Tubs snapped up a Mayo Rose and Daithi is engaged to a former New Jersey Rose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Seriously, a group of mediocre looking women at best and some aren't even that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

um what the fup. there is a new york rose and a big apple rose. why? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Has anyone PM'd Jonjo yet to find out what time coverage will be starting (if at all) ? Pointless viewing without the annual interactive thread from The Miser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Has anyone PM'd Jonjo yet to find out what time coverage will be starting (if at all) ? Pointless viewing without the annual interactive thread from The Miser.

I pm'd him a few hrs ago, asking was he doing it, no answer yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

My money's on Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

The Pail Moon is Rising....my bets on Kerry this year! Shall wait and see depends how the roses get on when they are being interviewed by Daithi. Not that I'd swoon at him...just his air of the Irish Language is so fluent!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Daithi did well for himself in the wife department :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Where Jonjo, was looking forward to his annual thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Wooden stump? They talking about Daithi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why are the Garda band playing at it?.. and why do the Gardai even need a band?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭cutymonalisa

I've just gone looking for Jonjo's thread and no sign :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Why are the Garda band playing at it?.. and why do the Gardai even need a band?

They always play at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

Could this be the tribute Jonjo thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

What has the Phili Rose been blabbering on about for the last 5 minutes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Does this girl ever pause for breath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭cutymonalisa

irish-stew wrote: »
    What has the Phili Rose been blabbering on about for the last 5 minutes?

Herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

A live one there - ex boyfriend muppets skydiving at christmas from philli - no party piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Love the Nordie accent.

<swoons>