Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dolebusters!

• 21-08-2011 8:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

The day that those dole bashers have been waiting for-
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/john-drennan/john-drennan-elite-dolebusters-squad-to-tackle-welfare-cheats-2853864.html
    As coalition concerns grow over the "sustainability of the current social welfare model'', the Sunday Independent has learnt that plans within the Department of Social Protection to set up a 'Sweeney'-style elite fraud-busting squad are at an advanced stage.
    The 'Dolebusters' squad is being established to help tackle growing political angst over the ongoing endemic levels of welfare fraud in a State that has been described by Labour's Ruairi Quinn as being in "economic receivership''.
    In the last five years the number of recipients of welfare benefits has shot up by around 670,000.
    A scenario where an extra 2,600 people a week are receiving benefit of some kind from the State since 2006 has meant that, in that period, welfare expenditure has increased by €7.3bn.
    Significantly, within this period of time, while gross government expenditure on issues such as education has declined, welfare expenditure as a percentage of gross government spending has more than doubled from 16 per cent to 36 per cent.
    Since the current Social Protection Minister Joan Burton took office, the department has been working increasingly closely with outside agencies such as the Revenue Commissioners to combat the levels of false claims within the welfare system.
    Ms Burton's anxiousness to combat the fraud is informed by the view that the best way to protect the Government's commitment to retain the ongoing basic rate of payment to pensioners and to the unemployed is to secure savings in every other aspect of the department's budget.
    Speaking to the Sunday Independent, Ms Burton noted the €20bn scale of the welfare budget meant that "even one per cent of that budget being lost to fraud is €200m'' -- the turnover of a relatively large multinational company.
    The development comes amidst growing levels of concern in the Coalition over how to tackle a social welfare budget that is responsible for more than one-third of government spending. As the troika and fellow ministers circle menacingly around the welfare budget, the minister herself is "astonished by the variety and amount of schemes and headings for welfare".
    Ms Burton said that "as part of the process of drilling down to find what the department does" she had discovered "50 to 60 schemes".
    The minister is also concerned by the exponential increase in the numbers availing of these schemes and said: "when it comes to fuel and electricity the numbers who qualify have increased from 265,000 in 2005 to 390,000 by 2011.".
    Ms Burton added that "the man in the street may think all these are pensioners but that is not the case by a long shot" and noted that there were even scenarios where applicants "for household benefits, if they qualified, continued to receive these benefits even if other members of the household secure significant earnings".
    And she warned "my intention to preserve basic welfare rates means schemes like these must be reformed if we are to secure that objective".

i think this might may make a saving,but others they might be only scamming the system to make ends meet in their own financial situation?.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A' up! Its that time of the week again!

...I'm outa here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Yeah but they are still scamming the system. I know the doles not a lot. but if they can find work and sign on thats just not fair on the average tax payer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

10 years too late

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

I know the doles not a lot.

Lol
    It's £65 in England
    €188 here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Lol
    It's £65 in England
    €188 here
    i give the cliché answer-

the cost of living is the problem,and it is true im afraid,doctors/education/oil+heat/electric etc. seem to be immune to cut their prices in services.

The pension has to be cut by €30 or more in the next budget! Way too generous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

woohay , must apply for the job so , Id be great at this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭WonderWoman!

how dare you even suggest it

all they will have to do is moan about ageism even tho the half of em are already f*ckin minted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Every fúcking day.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Lol
    It's £65 in England
    €188 here
    Ireland has the third lowest dole for a single person in the EU, and slightly below the average for a couple with two children after taking purchasing power into account.

While I welcome resources being allocated to combat fraud, the fact has to be faced that the best way to reduce welfare numbers is to promote job creation; so far we've had workfare programmes and an ongoing farce of an internship scheme from the current government.

how dare you even suggest it

all they will have to do is moan about ageism even tho the half of em are already f*ckin minted

Agreed,the wrong sort will get cut,cowen's pension worth in todays paper-
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/wipeout-for-middle-class-as-pensions-hit-yet-again-2854010.html
    The news comes as former Taoiseach Brian Cowen's pension has been valued by a financial analyst at €6m, giving him an annual retirement salary of €164,526, all paid for by the taxpayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

the cost of living is the problem,and it is true im afraid,doctors/education/oil+heat/electric etc. seem to be immune to cut their prices in services.

Doctors. Medical cards.
    Education. "Free" education and grants
    Rent prices. Social housing and rent supplements.
    Even oil, heat and electric are subsidised for many people.

You are not seeing fair market prices because the market is skewed by social welfare and other supplements! Cut these and living costs will plummet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

The whole system is a joke..i'm off work for couple of weeks and was informed last week that unemployment benefit stamps have run out. When I questioned it further, was took I am entitled to open up a new claim for unemployment benefit as I have enough stamps for a new claim..but I will loose the first 3 days!! In addition to this, the rate has been dropped to 140 euro, because I was earning less than 300 euro per week...in 2009. A complete joke! Was advised it may be better to claim assistance instead..as I would not loose 3 days and would be paid full amount. The benefits of working lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

How would someone get a job like this, not joking i'd be quite interested in this type of detective work

Agreed,the wrong sort will get cut,cowen's pension worth in todays paper-
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/wipeout-for-middle-class-as-pensions-hit-yet-again-2854010.html
    That's welfare for six hundred people for a year gone to the drunk who single handedly helped keep the pubs of Ireland in business through his time in office.

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    Doctors. Medical cards.
    Education. "Free" education and grants
    Rent prices. Social housing and rent supplements.
    Even oil, heat and electric are subsidised for many people.

You are not seeing fair market prices because the market is skewed by social welfare and other supplements! Cut these and living costs will plummet.
    Yes but,end of the day the taxpayer is still paying for all those services,there's been numerous calls over the years for all them to cut their prices but they wont budge on it.

the only sector i seen getting a recent good kick up the arse is the dentistry,with people going up the north to get jobs done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Talk about fúcked up priorities, Seanie and such scum cost us tens of Billions. But fúck, let's go after the guy who might be getting a fuel allowance he doesn't deserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Lol
    It's £65 in England
    €188 here

lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Ireland has the third lowest dole for a single person in the EU, and slightly below the average for a couple with two children after taking purchasing power into account.

Yeah but take the numerous other benefits and schemes into account and you have people earning more on welfare than some people who work 5 days a week.

This should not even be possible. Welfare is something that should be there to tide you over until you get yourself back on your feet but it's a lifestyle choice for a lot of lazy basts in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Me, some dip**** is gonna get paid 100K a year to do ****ing nothing effective. Just more reactive bollix.

The only way to clear up the social welfare is to start off inside it. Lots of useless daft bastards pulling a wage in there doing nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭denballs

SHHH!!!......the old one,s will here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

Talk about fúcked up priorities, Seanie and such scum cost us tens of Billions. But fúck, let's go after the guy who might be getting a fuel allowance he doesn't deserve.

What do you expect from the Sunday indo . . . the paper that tugs its forelock to Seanie, Bertie and all the other pricks who fucked up the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

happens everywhere

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/264670/264670

she needs her pu$$y stitched up to prevent more highly successful offspring spawning up.

Yeah but take the numerous other benefits and schemes into account and you have people earning more on welfare than some people who work 5 days a week.

This should not even be possible. Welfare is something that should be there to tide you over until you get yourself back on your feet but it's a lifestyle choice for a lot of lazy basts in this country.
    It's a lot harder to claim benefits than some might have you think. Besides, in the bubble years, long term unemployment was around the 1%-2% mark, including disability recipients.

If the work was there, people would be working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

happens everywhere

she needs her pu$$y stitched up to prevent more highly successful offspring spawning up.
    Gas :D

denballs wrote: »
    SHHH!!!......the old one,s will here
    Yes they will with their free hearing aid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

happens everywhere

Jeremy Kyle material right there.
    http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-UPdsG5AYflI/Ti1zI3nVw-I/AAAAAAAAIIc/6iTcJ6GwaWo/s1600/jeremy+kyle.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

KilOit wrote: »
    How would someone get a job like this, not joking i'd be quite interested in this type of detective work

Its a public service job and there is a moratorium on recruitment. I'd imagine it will be social welfare inspectors doing this work and they would prob do internal interviews for any additional inspectors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

I know the doles not a lot.

Lol
    It's £65 in England
    €188 here
    Plus the under 25s get half rate mate

Amhran Nua wrote: »

Whats other benifits ? Other than rent allowance or mortage relief

gcgirl wrote: »

Children allowance, back to school allowance, medical cards.

System has gone in meltdown in applications for the school allowance,recent reports say some wont be going back to school in uniforms.

If you have kids childrens allowance is open to anyone with kids as is back to schools allowance for low paid workers also FIS is there to help familys on a low paidwork income , medical card is ok for doctors visits yr long wait if you need a consultant!

I also suggest people get their facts right
    http://www.welfare.ie/EN/Pages/default.aspx

System has gone in meltdown in applications for the school allowance,recent reports say some wont be going back to school in uniforms.

As far as i know it didn't even exist back when i was going to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Who ya gonna call...

medical card is ok for doctors visits yr long wait if you need a consultant!

So does everyone. Plus they have to pay for their GP visits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Children's allowance fair enough as we don't have a proper State childcare system in this country and private is way too expensive with no tax breaks even for parents as they have in the U.K. so parents have to find the money somewhere.

But back to school and medical cards shouldn't be an an issue anyway because we should have a nationwide school book rental scheme in operation (sending kids to school with new books costs parents hundreds of euros every year), and we should have a universal health care system long ago like other civilised countries have, based on social contributions thereby doing away with the need for a medical card for low income earners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Busting the scammers means those on it are less likely to get harassed for being on it with comments with regards claiming illegally. I am sick of being accused of getting OPFP though my son's father is in the house (I get JSA, I don't claim any one parent payment!)

What drives me insane is going to collect the dole and there is alwaysone fella covered in paint gear and getting a lift to the office in a painting company van, if I knew what the féckers name was I would report him in a heartbeat!!!!

And OPFP scammers should get their payments slashed. I have no problem with single parents getting money to get by, but you cannot expect the gov and the tax payers to fund a lifestyle that allows an attitude where you can take the píss like this, if you are entitled fine, if not, then féck off and don't apply for it!!!

/rant

As far as i know it didn't even exist back when i was going to school.
    Just found bit of history on it-
    http://www.welfare.ie/EN/Policy/CorporatePublications/Finance/exp_rev/Pages/bscfa.aspx
    The Back to School Clothing and Footwear Allowance ( BSCFA) Scheme was introduced in 1990 to provide assistance towards the cost of school clothing and footwear (uniform) for children attending primary and post-primary school. It is a non-statutory scheme operated by the Health Boards on an annual basis during the period June to September on behalf of the Department of Social and Family Affairs. The Scheme provided assistance of €17.7m to 75,202 families in respect of 172,123 children in 2003 with administration costs of approximately €800,000. Total expenditure on the BSCFA scheme in 2003 was the equivalent of less than 1% of Child Income Support payments.
    im not sure who was claiming in 2003,maybe there was some in genuine poverty or career dolers i don't know.

Cost 2011 :eek:-
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/extra-staff-needed-to-process-huge-volume-of-back-to-school-applications-2853859.html
    €82m has been set aside to meet the demand this year."

medical card is ok for doctors visits yr long wait if you need a consultant!

So does everyone. Plus they have to pay for their GP visits.

Most people I know with out medical cards have private insurance and see a consultant with in a week. Medical insurance is vital in this country

Most people I know with out medical cards have private insurance and see a consultant with in a week.

And rightly so. They're paying for it.

Most people I know with out medical cards have private insurance and see a consultant with in a week.

And rightly so. They're paying for it.
    Which means if you have insurance and cancer you have more chance of living than having a medical card and cancer!

Well, yeah. It's unfortunate but it's a simple fact of life that not everyone is equal and they never will be.

You can't save all the baby turtles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Well, yeah. It's unfortunate but it's a simple fact of life that not everyone is equal and they never will be.

In a fair society (not a banana republic like this) treatment would be based on medical need not money.

I have no problem with people getting private treatment. I do however have a problem with these consultants using the public premises (our hospitals) and equipment to treat their own private patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Human life should not be based on the ability to afford to pay for it by luck of circumstance. A wealthy business owner is not any better or worse than a man who has worked all his life loading goods onto trucks for min wage!

Universal insurance is the way forward people should not be judged on tbe size of their wallet and also helps familes that are basically cutting costs on food/heating to try and pay their health insurance

sollar wrote: »
    I do however have a problem with these consultants using the public premises (our hospitals) and equipment to treat their own private patients.

I completely agree with that idea. Private patients should not be anywhere near a public hospital.

They have functionally "opted out" of the state run health system and yet they use the resources. It doesn't make sense.

Universal insurance is the way forward people should not be judged on tbe size of their wallet and also helps familes that are basically cutting costs on food/heating to try and pay their health insurance

The problem with the idea of universal health insurance is that people with private health insurance will probably still buy private if universal insurance was introduced.

You undeniably get a better level of care with private health insurance and people are more than willing to pay for that. That fact isn't going to change regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

The problem with the idea of universal health insurance is that people with private health insurance will probably still buy private if universal insurance was introduced.

If we had a good universal system where everyone got the same level of care regardless of income (as is the case in most developed nations) then so what if rich people want to pay extra for plasma TV's, comfier chairs and nouvelle cuisine when they go to a private hospital? it's their money.
    As long as it's not subsidised by the State I don't see the problem.
    You undeniably get a better level of care with private health insurance and people are more than willing to pay for that. That fact isn't going to change regardless.

You get a better level of comfort and get to skip the queue yes but that doesn't equate to better actual medical treatment. The problem for public patients is access to treatment. Once they're actually in the system the medical care given in most cases in Ireland in public care is excellent and no better than private.

I was a public patient in hospital a few years ago and the care I was given was top class.
    The only difference in the treatment I received was the food and I didn't have a private room.
    The operation I had would still have had the same results. But we tend not to hear about the satisfied customers, only tales of woe of people lying on trolleys, waiting lists etc. (legitimate and all as they are).

Greentopia wrote: »
    You get a better level of comfort and get to skip the queue yes but that doesn't equate to better actual medical treatment. The problem for public patients is access to treatment. Once they're actually in the system the medical care given in most cases in Ireland in public care is excellent and no better than private.

I was a public patient in hospital a few years ago and the care I was given was top class.
    The only difference in the treatment I received was the food and I didn't have a private room.
    The operation I had would still have had the same results. But we tend not to hear about the satisfied customers, only tales of woe of people lying on trolleys, waiting lists etc. (legitimate and all as they are).

So they're the same except for the fact that one of them is better :confused: