Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€13 k budget - thinking about BMW 3 series

• 17-08-2011 10:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭

I am in the market for a BMW 3 series with about 13K to spend. I have absolutely no idea which spec to be looking at so I hoping someone can help me here?

I don't need it for a daily commute as of yet. I would do a few errands during the week - literally going to the shop now and again. I would drive down South (from Dublin) at least once a month so would do about 200 km each way.

I don't have any kids but am recently married so that may change!

I'm not too bothered about gadgets etc. I'd like one which is reliable and economical.

I am open to suggestions regarding other cars but would like to have a BMW before kids come along and I get stuck with a corolla!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Is insurance or tax a limiting factor? Or is it going to be a boggo 320 SE? Do you care whether it's coupe or not? Auto or manual? Diesel or petrol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭J77

well heres a sensible option but you should really go for a 6 cylinder if this is your fun before the kids come car!

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-D-M-/201133203959913/advert?channel=CARS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭looking4advice

Confab wrote: »
    Is insurance or tax a limiting factor? Or is it going to be a boggo 320 SE? Do you care whether it's coupe or not? Auto or manual? Diesel or petrol?

Insurance and tax would be matters to consider alright. I recently had an accident so had to make a claim and I've lost my no claims. I would also be putting my missus on the Insurance and she is on a provisional.

I'd like to pay as little tax as possible! Manual would be preferable and I thik petrol would be more suitable to the proposed usage (correct me if I'm wrong). I'd prefer a 5 door if any kids arrive soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

how old are you? the no claims could be a problem with the bm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

J77 wrote: »
    well heres a sensible option but you should really go for a 6 cylinder if this is your fun before the kids come car!

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-D-M-/201133203959913/advert?channel=CARS
    scam

early 30's.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

shblob wrote: »
    scam

It does like a little too good to be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I recently had an accident so had to make a claim and I've lost my no claims. I would also be putting my missus on the Insurance and she is on a provisional.

I'm struggling what to do here. Will I find the biggest facepalm picture in the world or will I try and be helpful? :)

Really, there's not much point in buying a BMW if you will be limited to the slowest ones they have to offer. Drive a Yaris or a Micra until you build up some no claims bonus again in 2-3 years and then buy a nice 6 cylinder petrol 330i coupe or something like that :)

And keep on the contraceptives in the mean time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

OP, Ignore Unkels advice. His response is from an enthusiasts point of view.

From someone who has driven BMW's for the last twenty years as daily drivers, a 318i (petrol) would suit you down to the ground IMHO.

Get a good one.

Reliable. Economical, and infinately resellable when the time comes.

Fishtits wrote: »
    OP, Ignore Unkels advice. His response is from an enthusiasts point of view.

From someone who has driven BMW's for the last twenty years as daily drivers, a 318i (petrol) would suit you down to the ground IMHO.

Get a good one.

Reliable. Economical, and infinately resellable when the time comes.

Thanks. A 318i was parked directly outside my house this morning. It must be a sign!

I am Dublin based - is there any particular dealerships that you would recommend or would you think buying privately is best?

Is it worth going up North to purchase?

What size engine would suit the driving that I would be doing?

OSI wrote: »
    13k to spend on a slow gadgetless BMW 3 series that's going to get a decent drive once a month. Bargain of the century!

I'll be driving it more than that. 13K is the limit I'd hope to spend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Thanks. A 318i was parked directly outside my house this morning. It must be a sign!

I am Dublin based - is there any particular dealerships that you would recommend or would you think buying privately is best?

Is it worth going up North to purchase?

What size engine would suit the driving that I would be doing?

No offence but you seem to be just like all the other irish label-whore sheep and wanting to buy a BMW for the badge alone?

There is absolutely no point in buying a 318 poverty spec "luxury" saloon, why not buy a cheaper better kitted out car such as a ford mondeo or skoda, even just a diesel golf/focus or something?

Cheaper running costs, more economical etc and seem to suit your needs more than a BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

No offence but you seem to be just like all the other irish label-whore sheep and wanting to buy a BMW for the badge alone?

There is absolutely no point in buying a 318 poverty spec "luxury" saloon, why not buy a cheaper better kitted out car such as a ford mondeo or skoda, even just a diesel golf/focus or something?

Cheaper running costs, more economical etc and seem to suit your needs more than a BMW.

because a mondeo is not a BMW no matter what people say.
    I should know..I was buying a 08/09 Ford Mondeo 1.8/2l diesel zetec etc, I'd spend 5 months looking over what car to get (I always spend 3-6 months on looking at cars etc) and had test driven a few.
    Dismissed BMW originally as lacking the optional extras etc plus thinking overpriced rubbish....
    5 weeks ago I said I'd give em a chance and took a 520D for a spin..after that the mondeo was a non-runner, the BMW was just more comfortable and way more power :) I love driving it every day, something I could never say about my last couple of cars..something my housemate who bought a 08 mondeo can't say and he admits he hates his car now..the novelty of his wore off as soon as I parked mine in the driveway ;)

But don't dismiss Audi or Merc...equally nice cars ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Are you dead set on BMW? I have nothing againest them but would never go for the 318.

If I had 13K to spend, wasn't going to use it commute and no kids I'd go for something great to drive or something with a lot of luxury:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/GT/1.9-JTD-/201131203714475/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/ST-2.5-3/201130203650001/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Lexus/IS220/IS-220D-/201131203767611/advert?channel=CARS

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Are you dead set on BMW? I have nothing againest them but would never go for the 318.

If I had 13K to spend, wasn't going to use it commute and no kids I'd go for something great to drive or something with a lot of luxury:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/GT/1.9-JTD-/201131203714475/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/ST-2.5-3/201130203650001/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Lexus/IS220/IS-220D-/201131203767611/advert?channel=CARS

I suppose it is not set in stone that I get a BMW. I would like a nice looking car though and that was the first one that came to mind.

My concerns over Alfa Romeo is that they have a reputation for being unreliable which may make it hard to sell at a later stage.

Mercedes, Audi, BMW and Lexus would be 4 brands that I'd like to get. As previously stated I'd like one that is economical and I don't care about having a real powerful engine (a max of 2 litre would be fine).

Anyway, I'm open to suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

A 520d would be a good choice considering your requirements. However you'll struggle to find one with low mileage in your price range.

If you were to go for petrol, there is much better value:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/BLUETOOT/201132203884392/advert?channel=CARS

Sure the tax is higher and consumption is slightly higher, but you'll pay thousands more for a similarly specced diesel. You also get more power, toys and more reliability with the petrol.

The tax is about a grand per annum for that 5 series BMW. Maybe a bit too much for me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

The tax is about a grand per annum for that 5 series BMW. Maybe a bit too much for me.

I'm not having a go but I just don't get this. You're willing to splash out €13000 on a car but not a grand a year on tax. A grand a years is €20 a week, hardly bank breaking.

A 2 litre car of the same year is €614 a year or €11 a week. That car is €935 a year or €18 a week.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Ahhh ffs I see the BMW haters are out in force again today.....

I just don't really get people having a go at those who buy a BMW 318/320 as opposed to a Ford Mondeo or Skoda etc.....

A 2.0 Mondeo is 140PS versus a BMW 320 which is 170.

A M-Sport BMW with leather interior is far superior than a Mondeo.

The cheaper running costs, more economical etc... comment is complete and utter sh*t as well. BMW have some of the most economical engines available at the moment.

I know which I'd prefer to see on the road between a Mondeo and a BMW poverty spec luxury salon as you call it.

What does the Mondeo have spec wise that a BMW doesn't have?

I brought my BMW in to get a seat belt fixed on it a few weeks ago and was given a Mondeo (the guy beside me got a Jag XK and I'm left with a Mondeo!) for the day. I should have walked!

I'm not having a go but I just don't get this. You're willing to splash out €13000 on a car but not a grand a year on tax. A grand a years is €20 a week, hardly bank breaking.

A 2 litre car of the same year is €614 a year or €11 a week. That car is €935 a year or €18 a week.

ok. I see your point. I just don't know what to get really. I might go out to a dealerships at the weekend and take a few test drives.

I thought the 5 series would be out of my budget but obviously not. I do have concerns at my potential insurance due to my lack of no claims bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Am new to this forum so don't understand the whole BMW/ Anti-BMW thing going on but speaking as someone who has owned and driven a lot of different cars - currently on my 3rd bog standard BMW, when people ask me for advice about buying cars will always recommend a BMW. While it my be a bog standard BMW for the purists and the fans (don't get me wrong would love an M3 or even a 330) its still a hell of a lot of car compared to a avensis/mondeo etc etc and for €13k you will pick up a decent 318/320 that's fun to drive, has plently of poke and are generally bulletproof and not over expensive to run - just my tuppence worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

I am in the market for a BMW 3 series
    I'm not too bothered about gadgets etc. I'd like one which is reliable...

Fail, buy a honda accord. You can grab a nice one for that budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

Insurance and tax would be matters to consider alright. I recently had an accident so had to make a claim and I've lost my no claims.

I seriously doubt you lost all you NCB
    Usually you lose one year, so you still have some NCB left. If you had a full NCB, you should be at what 50-60 now NCB now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Shane732 wrote: »
    Ahhh ffs I see the BMW haters are out in force again today.....

I just don't really get people having a go at those who buy a BMW 318/320 as opposed to a Ford Mondeo or Skoda etc.....

A 2.0 Mondeo is 140PS versus a BMW 320 which is 170.

A M-Sport BMW with leather interior is far superior than a Mondeo.

The cheaper running costs, more economical etc... comment is complete and utter sh*t as well. BMW have some of the most economical engines available at the moment.

I know which I'd prefer to see on the road between a Mondeo and a BMW poverty spec luxury salon as you call it.

What does the Mondeo have spec wise that a BMW doesn't have?

I brought my BMW in to get a seat belt fixed on it a few weeks ago and was given a Mondeo (the guy beside me got a Jag XK and I'm left with a Mondeo!) for the day. I should have walked!

I'm by far a BMW hater i love them and my next car will be a BMW. I just hate the fact that 90% of them in Ireland are poverty spec 318s with cloth seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I really don't get the love for BMW. Why do people love them so much? Genuine question, as I've never 'gotten' it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You should be able to haggle this one down close to budget. Sought after M Sport model with a few nice extras such as xenons, electric sunroof and leather:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201118202304868

Alternatively a Honda Accord is a very nice motor too:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201120202462054

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

OP, first thing I'd say is call up for insurance quotes on some cars. That will give you an idea on what models to scratch off the list.

As for the people saying not to buy a 318i - if someone wants a particular car then let them buy it. Sure from an enthusiasts point of view it's not a straight six but for most people it's as much as they'll ever need. Plus it should suit the OP's needs to a tee.

Shane732 wrote: »
    Ahhh ffs I see the BMW haters are out in force again today.................

............ and was given a Mondeo .............. I should have walked!

lol, Mondeo hater :P

I really don't get the love for BMW. Why do people love them so much? Genuine question, as I've never 'gotten' it.

take a test drive in one...seriously...it converted me on the spot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Op you can still get a sporty bmw and have practicality, ID get an E39 or E60 msport if i were you. they look so much better than the 3 series (coupe excluded). Go for a facelift 01+, the petrols only come in 6 cylinder, if I were you I would absolutely go for a 1 or 2 year older high specced 5 series than the 3 series, also i would go for a proper high specced bmw (6 cylinder) than a number plate i.e buying for a newer reg...

They're nice cars, when I worked as a car park attendant years back (2001 iirc) I always liked parking a BMW, before then I was never really overly impressed by them, lads in school always bleating on about them, I was more of a Celica and 205 GTi type kid. Nice the way the dash was built around you, they seemed very driver orientated. Aside from that drivel (:pac:) they make a lovely engine. They are well built, I remember driving a 1992 525 back in 2004, was amazed at how it felt for a 12 year old car with a decent lash of miles on it. Even the 1993 520i tourer I had last year was impressive for what it was, a 17 year old cheap yoke. I wouldn't be in to some of them though, when I was 18 a guy at work bought a 318 saloon, a 1993 model, fabric seats, 4 cylinder. Thought that was a bit of a pig tbh, the garage gave him a 1995 1.6 GLXi Lancer for a few days while they were sorting something in the 318, the Lancer was a savage drive compared to the 318.

Most BMWs do have a little bit of something about them in fairness.

A new 520d makes sense pricewise now for many folk.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Op you can still get a sporty bmw and have practicality, ID get an E39 or E60 msport if i were you. they look so much better than the 3 series (coupe excluded). Go for a facelift 01+, the petrols only come in 6 cylinder, if I were you I would absolutely go for a 1 or 2 year older high specced 5 series than the 3 series, also i would go for a proper high specced bmw (6 cylinder) than a number plate i.e buying for a newer reg...

What type of 5 series would suit my requirements? I'm thinking of buying up North due to the generous exchange rates at present - is it worth my while?

520D...someone will no doubt suggest a 530D or 535 and then someone else wil claim the 5 series are only wannabe BMW drivers and to get a 6 series.
    The 7 series guys will claim that the 6 series are wannabe BMW drivers and to get a 730D etc etc.

520D, very economical..getting about 1000 km out of a tank...and that's using my right foot a bit :)
    or I'll put it this way..with my last car I was refilling it from empty every 7 days.
    With the 520D I'm only refilling it every 12 days.
    07 taxwise is €614 a year. 08 models and above are €156-€302

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    take a test drive in one...seriously...it converted me on the spot :)

I took a test spin in a 530D estate (beaut) and it was the slowest thing ever, why.. the feckin turbo was gone and the sales guy didn't even notice. :D

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    520D...someone will no doubt suggest a 530D or 535 and then someone else wil claim the 5 series are only wannabe BMW drivers and to get a 6 series.
    The 7 series guys will claim that the 6 series are wannabe BMW drivers and to get a 730D etc etc.

520D, very economical..getting about 1000 km out of a tank...and that's using my right foot a bit :)
    or I'll put it this way..with my last car I was refilling it from empty every 7 days.
    With the 520D I'm only refilling it every 12 days.
    07 taxwise is €614 a year. 08 models and above are €156-€302

Would a diesel be suitable to my driving though i.e. infrequent during the week and only short journeys while might do a few longer trips at the wkd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

RoverJames wrote: »
    They're nice cars, when I worked as a car park attendant years back (2001 iirc) I always liked parking a BMW, before then I was never really overly impressed by them, lads in school always bleating on about them, I was more of a Celica and 205 GTi type kid. Nice the way the dash was built around you, they seemed very driver orientated. Aside from that drivel (:pac:) they make a lovely engine. They are well built, I remember driving a 1992 525 back in 2004, was amazed at how it felt for a 12 year old car with a decent lash of miles on it. Even the 1993 520i tourer I had last year was impressive for what it was, a 17 year old cheap yoke. I wouldn't be in to some of them though, when I was 18 a guy at work bought a 318 saloon, a 1993 model, fabric seats, 4 cylinder. Thought that was a bit of a pig tbh, the garage gave him a 1995 1.6 GLXi Lancer for a few days while they were sorting something in the 318, the Lancer was a savage drive compared to the 318.

Most BMWs do have a little bit of something about them in fairness.

A new 520d makes sense pricewise now for many folk.

Sorry to hijack just a little bit, but for a mid-20's guy, no kids (now or for quite a few years!), budget about 14k, wants a nippy motor... which BMW would come recommended?

Seen this and for a change, thought it was quite nice:

http://www.autotrader.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-E46-/201131203737479/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

With your miles keep away from the diesel- you will avoid the usual turbo/ flywheel etc problems they bring at high mileage but also should get a lower mileage equvalent petrol a year or two younger for the same money.

That 07 523i looks like a great car, but the 6 cylinder 2.5's are heavy on the juice compared to the newer 2.0's, the tax is a little higher and ultimately in 3 or 4 years it will be very hard to trade the car on. If you can afford to lose 3k+ per year in depreciation and meet the running costs go for it

320i with 170 bhp is a nice car- it will be plenty fast for Irish roads (I would love an M3 or even a 335i but in reality if you are Dublin based and not cutting across the country regularly, then you dont need massive power. On Boards your generally made feel stupid unless your thinking of at least a 3.0l luxury barge, but the buying public really like the smaller engined 3 series as they are a good car and will let you keep up nicely with traffic in town and on motorways

I would also consider a new shape A4 1.8T with 160bhp, very nice car and as engine is a bit smaller your insurance will be more forgiving. Also if kids come along, the Audi has more room for child seats and a better shaped boot.

Whatever you buy make sure it has a few toys, try to stick clear of base models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 kn1

nothing against a BMW but being in the motor trade i know when they give trouble it usually costs a fortune
    honda accord, or an early is 220d if your budget can stretch

Sorry to hijack just a little bit, but for a mid-20's guy, no kids (now or for quite a few years!), budget about 14k, wants a nippy motor... which BMW would come recommended?

Seen this and for a change, thought it was quite nice:

http://www.autotrader.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-E46-/201131203737479/advert?channel=CARS

If I was spending that much I'd put up with the extra motor tax and get a 325 or a 330i to be honest. For that budget you'd get an e92 saloon, the coupe are overpriced I think.

what do you hink about this one - seems a good price

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=131159954136192

OSI wrote: »
    That one looks like someone has ejaculated on the seat.

It must be good so!

The first one is a bog standard ES model with two extras - imitation leather seats and wood inserts. The second one looks like a bog standard SE model with no extras.

Neither do anything for me to be honest. When I was buying mine I spent ages looking through all these type of basic models too. I was patient though and eventually I found the car with the right spec and condition that I wanted.

My advice is to be patient, the right car will pop up.

bazz26 wrote: »
    The first one is a bog standard ES model with two extras - imitation leather seats and wood inserts. The second one looks like a bog standard SE model with no extras.

Neither do anything for me to be honest. When I was buying mine I spent ages looking through all these type of basic models too. I was patient though and eventually I found the car with the right spec and condition that I wanted.

My advice is to be patient, the right car will pop up.

How much did you pay for yours? Where did you buy it and what kind of spec?

Would a diesel be suitable to my driving though i.e. infrequent during the week and only short journeys while might do a few longer trips at the wkd?

I'd go for petrol then to be honest..you'd pick up a nice big litre car pre 2008 now pretty cheap thanks to the VRT/Tax changes.
    I know one guy who sold his 6 series bmw 630 for around €16k, considering he paid approx €130k for it 6 years ago approx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Problem solved;

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-E46-/201131203737479/advert?channel=CARS

Looks good, well equipped and looks to be well looked after. 6 cylinder and IMHO pretty cool and alot of car for the money.

How much did you pay for yours? Where did you buy it and what kind of spec?

Mine is a 08 Edition M Sport diesel that was originally a UK car. The Edition M Sport was a limited edition that came with Dakota leather electric seats, I-Drive Multi Media centre with Sat Nav, ipod/usb/bluetooth connection and 18" alloy wheels on top of the standard M Sport spec.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Horselayer

what about this one, nice clean one with low mileage from a reputable garage and the new shape 2006
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/318-I-SE/201032199143909/advert?channel=CARS

Horselayer wrote: »
    what about this one, nice clean one with low mileage from a reputable garage and the new shape 2006
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/318-I-SE/201032199143909/advert?channel=CARS

That is a tad bit expensive for a 2006 example to be honest.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

veetwin wrote: »
    Problem solved;

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-E46-/201131203737479/advert?channel=CARS

Looks good, well equipped and looks to be well looked after. 6 cylinder and IMHO pretty cool and alot of car for the money.

A lot of car for the money? Seriously overpriced for the old model E46 imo.