Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Richard Molloy Memorial Road Run. Sunday, Aug 21st Meet at Spawell 11am.

• 17-08-2011 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭

I'm posting this here as the previous thread became messy and long-winded.

On Sunday morning we will meet at Spawell carpark, Templeogue for 11am.

We depart from here to head for Rosslare. There will be a stop for refreshments at "The Coach House", Roundwood. From here we will travel Southerly, around the lower end of the Vartry Reservoir to Arlow, Gorey, Ballycanew and on to Wexford and Rosslare.

It should make for an excellent road trip, taking in awesome views of Sally gap and scenic areas of Wicklow and Wexford.

As this is a charity run, we are hoping to collect €10 from each car participating, regardless of the number of occupants.

All funds will go to "Console", a charity who specialise in suicide bereavement, prevention and councilling.

It will make for a nice day out and help an Irish worthy cause in the process.

Anyone who would like a google maps copy of the route, please send me a pm with your email address.

From the previous thread, those who are going are:

1. David09 - Ford Fiesta
    2. Robbie_998 - Honda Civic
    3. Voodoomelon - BMW 728i
    4. MCMLXXV - BMW 735
    5. Bigus 1979 MERC 350SE
    6. Midnight_EG/Nick with passenger - Honda Civic EK4
    7.Shay Vader - Nissan 200sx
    8. Okistag - 1973 Triumph Stag or 92 Polo coupe
    9. FrankSm - XK8
    10. I Was VB - Toyota Corona
    11. Johnos1984 - MGF (Provisional if thats ok)
    12. Drummerboy08 - Toyota Supra
    13. Bodhan - Volvo S60 I think
    14. P.C. - Honda (weather permitting)
    15. EPM - Octavia vRS (provisional as will be just back from holidays
    16. Stealthyspeeder - RS6 (prob 1st half of the run)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Looking forward to this, never been through the mountains before. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Looking forward to this, never been through the mountains before. :)

Looking forward to kickin' your ass on the blacktop dude! :D;):p

I'll pull the rear seats out and leave the spare at home to save some weight. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

Would anyone mind if I made a little video of the day? Maybe some of you would like to do a bit to camera?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Bodhan wrote: »
    Would anyone mind if I made a little video of the day? Maybe some of you would like to do a bit to camera?

Certainly, would be great if you did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

so not starting at nutgrove huh ? :(

anyway... turns out i have my own car for this again ... yay :)

see you all sunday !

(just waiting for the slaggings and boffins to slag and point out every problem with my car !)

Yes i know theres a bar going across the back window... it actually very nicely blocks out peoples headlights and stops them from shining in my eyes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I'm afraid I have to bail on this, I'm on a stand at Heatwave tomorrow...sorry :(

Aww no's :(

Does that leave nick stuck too ?

If so I wouldn't mind dragging him in my own motor.

Btw I'm not gonna bother washing my car for tomorrow since we will be going through mountains and country and so on..... Will do it when I get back :D

robbie_998 wrote: »

Btw I'm not gonna bother washing my car for tomorrow since we will be going through mountains and country and so on..... Will do it when I get back :D

I am Nick :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

Im afraid im not going to be able to make this tomo. I have been having some transmission issues lately which I thought would have been fixed but after getting the car back on friday, things are still not right.

Have a fun and safe spin lads

Oops..... Just the way it was layed out there I thought nick was the passenger !

Anyway... Whoever the passenger is I would gladly take ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I think he meant your passo...

Oops..... Just the way it was layed out there I thought nick was the passenger !

Anyway... Whoever the passenger is I would gladly take ! :pac:

Hehe, no :P

Actually, I'll be in the area (well, I'll be there 4 hours early but I can find something to do..) so I might head along too if nobody has any objections?

more the merrier :)

Grand so :)

1. David09 - Ford Fiesta
    2. Robbie_998 - Honda Civic
    3. Voodoomelon - BMW 728i
    4. MCMLXXV - BMW 735
    5. Bigus 1979 MERC 350SE
    6.Shay Vader - Nissan 200sx
    7. Okistag - 1973 Triumph Stag or 92 Polo coupe
    8. FrankSm - XK8
    9. I Was VB - Toyota Corona
    10. Johnos1984 - MGF (Provisional if thats ok)
    11. Drummerboy08 - Toyota Supra
    12. Bodhan - Volvo S60 I think
    13. P.C. - Honda (weather permitting)
    14. EPM - Octavia vRS (provisional as will be just back from holidays
    15. Challengemaster - Almera

I'll be bringing my cameras as well so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Shay Vader

Amazing selection of cars on show today and really enjoyed the run. Thanks again have to be given to David & co for putting it all together for such a good cause. Plenty of folks had good cameras so heres hoping for some good photos:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

Great day lads, it's got a bit epic up in the mountains and we caused a road block where ever we went.
    I think I got some nice video of the day so I'll post it up during the week.
    Well done to all that stuck with it to the end, there was only four of us in Rosslare but I think we got ahead of the classics.
    Still a great day, we should do the drive again it was lovely.

Some good Craic there and some fantastic cars.

First time i ever hung out with boardsies And it was actually alright :pac:

Cheers all !

_MG_1936.jpg

_MG_1869.jpg

_MG_1861.jpg

_MG_1857.jpg

Copyof_MG_1898.jpg

IMAG0858.jpg

_MG_1893.jpg

IMAG0837.jpg

IMAG0838.jpg

_MG_1882.jpg

IMAG0836.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 ClaireMc_00

I just wanted to say on behalf of Margaret, myself and all of Richie's friends, thanks so so much to everyone who turned up and done the run, its really great to know that he hasn't been forgotten by any of yous or us, and a big big thank you to Dave also, you done an amazing job! Thanks again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 ajmboyce

Well done to all who made it to Rosslare and to the organisers of this very worth while run and I think I speak for everybody who ended up in Rosslare it was well worth and a wonderful feel good factor and a very fitting tribute. Once again well done everyone and I am sure Max Damage was riding with us all the way and probably having a good laugh on certain occassions too. That ones for you Richie.
    p.s loving the pics of my capri pure class.

SAM_0231.jpg
    SAM_0219.jpg
    SAM_0229.jpg
    SAM_0218.jpg
    SAM_0207.jpg

An enjoyable drive, looking forward to seeing this video. :)

Just a few more pics.

A massive thanks goes to Speedy, from octane.ie for the pics at Spawell and Kevin Curry for taking the ones at Rosslare.

IMG_1199-vi.jpg

IMG_1162-vi.jpg

IMG_1168-vi.jpg

IMG_1221-vi.jpg

IMG_1194-vi.jpg

IMG_1198-vi.jpg

IMG_1206-vi.jpg

IMG_1212-vi.jpg

IMG_1220-vi.jpg

These are just but a few, more can be viewed here:

http://public.fotki.com/speedy/2011/charity-run/

Thanks to all who participated on this run. We managed to receive €515 for Console, which was way over and above what we had been expecting.

Once again, a massive thanks to those who donated and participated and made the day what it was.

David09 wrote: »

IMG_1206-vi.jpg

I love this bus. :)

img244a.jpg