Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Nightlife versus other countries nightlife

• 17-08-2011 2:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭

Hey lads and ladies of After Hours, how would you describe Irish nightlife versus other countries nightlife eg England, Spain etc in comparison to men/women, cost, price, enjoyable level, music and peoples mentality to nightlife here and in other countries.

Imo in relation to nightlife in different countries, it is far better. People you meet out are far more friendly. In Ireland I find the group of friends you go out with are like a set group of people you have to stick too, no one strays away to chat to other people. Don't get me wrong you can have a great time in Ireland but I find sometimes you have to go out with a mentality where you have expect drama or hostile relations but not let it ruin your night life.

Sorry to ramble, I would appreciate your opinions and experiences

Irish nightlife is bleedn Shoite

What do you think of Irish Nightlife 85 votes

Absolute shoite
    0% 0 votes
    Its what you make of it yourself
    17% 15 votes
    Expensive, and hostile
    48% 41 votes
    Couple of cans and a movie please
    24% 21 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    9% 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

How many other countries have you lived in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Irish people haven't the money to be spending on fancy nightclubs. 10 beers for a tenner, a rusty bbq and a grey day is just about our level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Thats beacuse most people in most Irish nightclubs are either off their tits, or trying to find some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

vid of uk vs swedish nightlife in 3...2...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

This is a non-issue having been done so many times before...

For the last and final time...

Nightclubs are ILLEGAL in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

How many other countries have you lived in?
    Only in Ireland but I have been on nights out in Spain, Italy, England etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Prefer some other countries I've been tbh. Later opening. Having dinner under the stars with the weather to suit. Enjoying yourself out and about at 3 a.m. and not being surrounded by drunken fools/walking through vomit/having to watch your back - who you bump into -, cheaper, not the same focus on alcohol, etc a lot of factors. The main one is probably comfort and the amount of alcohol consumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Cool, then...not to be a dick about it, you have awesome holiday bias on your opinion. I mean when you are off for a few a days and a week in a new place you tend to be in a pretty swell mood and seeing the better side of things.

Like me and Bristol, i ****ing love that place, would consider it to have some of the best clubs and gigs anywhere...but i also realise that a large part of the amp i get while there is just from not being here. :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

If so I presume only in some uber pedantic way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

Cool, then...not to be a dick about it, you have awesome holiday bias on your opinion. I mean when you are off for a few a days and a week in a new place you tend to be in a pretty swell mood and seeing the better side of things.

Like me and Bristol, i ****ing love that place, would consider it to have some of the best clubs and gigs anywhere...but i also realise that a large part of the amp i get while there is just from not being here. :D
    I respect your opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

go on the session

orourkeda wrote: »
    go on the session

You've got a point there. I actually find daylife (as opposed to night life) in Ireland the best any place I've been. Especially for going for a long lunch, or a few early pints when it's quiet. Very easy to get chatting to restaurant/barstaff, other people in, have a bit of food or whatever. I'd much rather going for a few drinks in the afternoon these days, than going out at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭ItsNoAlias

I have mostly only been out for a night in Dublin, which I find expensive and aggressive. I prefere a night in with a movie than a night out. Dublin is not a great place to go out in these days and the majority of the "clubs" are useless.

I went to Wright venue in Swords recently, first time in a club in a long time, and it confirmed and cemented my rather hazy memory of the club scene in Ireland.

Over-priced booze, aggresive clientelle (male and female) and generic loud music.

Maybe its my age but I much prefere to sit in and watch a movie.

marco_polo wrote: »
    If so I presume only in some uber pedantic way?

they don't have their very own legal entity in Irish law. Exactly what they're referred to is "bars with adjoining disco", so in reality, the owners of these premises are following the rules of a "dancehall" act that was drawn up in the 30's. Of course, this inhibits a vibrant nightlife scene. The owners are under so much regulation, it's virtually not feasible to have the level of European nightclubs over here. Our Gov't are slow old dinosaurs, remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭pauro 76

Living in London, and I genuinely have much better fun on nights out in Dublin/Galway etc. People seem more up for having a good time back home. London is famed for it's nightlife but find it not much better than Ireland. Clubs are ridiculously expensive, the music can be horrific, the girls will only talk to you if you look like you're swimming in money, much like home in that respect.

they don't have their very own legal entity in Irish law. Exactly what they're referred to is "bars with adjoining disco", so in reality, the owners of these premises are following the rules of a "dancehall" act that was drawn up in the 30's. Of course, this inhibits a vibrant nightlife scene. The owners are under so much regulation, it's virtually not feasible to have the level of European nightclubs over here. Our Gov't are slow old dinosaurs, remember?

There's nothing there that means Irish niteclubs "bars with adjoining discos" have to be the overpriced, badly run, badly ventilated, badly furnished, devoid of decent entertainment blackholes that many of them are. Some Irish nightspots are doing alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

When it comes to Irish nightlife the pubs are good craic but after 11 when the music goes up to 11 then it goes to sh*t altogether. Clubs are clubs but what is the point of having deafening music in a late bar? bar making you drink faster and spend more cause you don't waste time trying to talk. If the place doesn't even have a dance floor you should be able to hear the person next to you. Irish nights out have been ruined by a lot of the bars who go to great lengths to bleed every red cent out of their clients.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

absolute ****e, and controlled particularly in dublin by one or two groups who seem to think that everyone wants to spend about 15euro just to enter their sh!te club nights to listen to dreary unwanted minimal techno.

its the cost of going out that puts people off here. it's ridonkulous.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Just pointing out that there is no "Good" option.

You have "What you make of it yourself" but that's not really the same thing.

I enjoy going out in Dublin. It's actually not that expensive if you go to the right place, when there's drinks promos on you'll go out for less than €40, and that's including a taxi, and I don't know about everyone else but I don't find that I have to watch my back walking through town. The vast majority of people are there to have a good night and are in a good mood. Of course, there is some Gobshites out there but they are easily avoided tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Dublin is pretty crap, out in the sticks is a bt better.
    But it doesnt hold a candle to some of the european country big cities.....barcelona, berlin, amsterdam, gothenburg, london, geneva, brussels....all places ive been out and much better than (comparable city) dublin.
    and dont get me started about seoul, tokyo & bangkok....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Its too f*cking expensive in Ireland, 50 euro will get you nowhere. When I lived in Dublin it was staple to have predrinks beforehand, and most people brought their own drink with them.

Germany is quite good, on the other hand, you can always pop over to the petrol station for booze and its generally affordable. Nightclubs and bars stay open longer... I say its quite good though because there's not as much craic as you'd get in Ireland, unless you go to an Irish pub (which is usually expat central). I have to say the clubs catering to different scenes (rock, metal, Dubstep, techno) are hilarious because the Germans take them very seriously. Turock in Essen kicks the sh*te out of Fibbers. I also like how in the state I live in you can smoke on the dance floors, although its a bit mank to be honest and I miss going to the smoking area for a chat.

prinz wrote: »
    There's nothing there that means Irish niteclubs "bars with adjoining discos" have to be the overpriced, badly run, badly ventilated, badly furnished, devoid of decent entertainment blackholes that many of them are. Some Irish nightspots are doing alright.

Of course it does.

Owners of these modern "dancehalls" cannot open whatever time they wish. They apply every month to the government for special exemption to open after 12.30am and even at that, they can only go to 2.30. Moreover, the time encourages people to get pissed before they go out, which although not exclusive to Ireland, still is a huge normality to get in, get drunk, get out. Then we have hundreds of people being chucked out all at once and misbehaving on our streets. This legislation also puts limits on sound systems, interior decorations and design etc. Our taxes are another thing. Last year the publicans got together and tried to lobby the government into writing into law that free trade was to be abolished within the beverage selling industry. That is ludicrous. Couple that with the handcuffs we're in trade wise, and you've got yourself overpriced, under-performing ****holes. And all because of an out-dated, idea-less government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Rubbish, biased poll that only gives one real option. Where's the Irish nightlife is good option?

Of course it does.
    Owners of these modern "dancehalls" cannot open whatever time they wish. They apply every month to the government for special exemption to open after 12.30am and even at that, they can only go to 2.30. Moreover, the time encourages people to get pissed before they go out, which although not exclusive to Ireland, still is a huge normality to get in, get drunk, get out. Then we have hundreds of people being chucked out all at once and misbehaving on our streets..

Anyone who drinks too much that's their own stupidity and no amount of changing the opening hours will fix that. Only attitudes to drinking will change it. You only need to look at the way some morons behave when they are in bars and clubs abroad with cheap booze and longer hours to see that opening hours is not the issue.

As for people misbehaving at closing time, see above. The fact that the discussion of nitelife/ even niteclubs centres around alcohol is a sad reflection in and of itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭gerbear1

This is a non-issue having been done so many times before...

For the last and final time...

?

gerbear1 wrote: »
    ?

Have a look for yourself. It's there in black and white. Ludicrous I know.

So you had a better time on holidays than at home in normal life. How odd.

Have a look for yourself. It's there in black and white. Ludicrous I know.
    That's cleared up everything. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭inkwell

Is this tactlessly (is that the word? )to wear trainers in a pub? :confused: One irish guy told me this when I met him in pub. They were black suede trainers and I never tought you have to be "elegant" in a pub! ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Irish nightlife is great if you're into pubs. You can go out any night of the week in Dublin and there'll be a good atmosphere in a lot of pubs. Some countries are dead midweek. I couldn't be arsed with nightclubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭inkwell

What I HATE is Tv's in pubs, when see one I head back. Is should be illegal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Hamburg kicks ass compared to anywhere in Ireland. Transport runs 24/7, no need for expensive taxis. Pubs are open all night, no need to pay into a nightclub unless you want to actually go for the music. Nightclubs are not full of people off their heads drunk and actually play good music. Strips clubs are excellent and have a 50/50 mix of men/women and you don't feel like a sleaze when in there. Beers can be had for €2 a bottle. You can finish up drinking Sun morning at 5 AM and head down to the fish market at the harbour for live music and freshly caught fish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Don Juan DeMagoo

Been on nights out in America, Canada, England, Scotland, Germany, France, Spain, Poland, Russia, Japan and Korea.

Ireland nights out suck. They are overpriced, overcrowded, you can not hear what anyone is saying the volume is so high. There is no real variation in music. Closing time is a joke. Ask anyone where the had the most fun and they normally say the smoking area (sad). There are a couple of nightclubs that now have bars in the smoking areas???? lol

Nowadays I much prefer going out for a few to a late bar then heading to a house party with some friends.

The only thing I found bad about nightlife abroad was England as i found it is seriously dangerous in some spots (Liverpool, Bristol and a few others) very dodgy places and people. But sure I am probably a bit of a snob ;)

Made the mistake in Poland on a night out with some mates in Krakow to ask the taxi man to bring us to a nightclub. Lets just say they have not the same meaning of the word. Remember as Chris Rock said "No matter what a stripper tells you, there's no sex in the champagne room" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Where's the option "Better than other places"?
    There are two option for how bad it is but non for how good it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

We can make the most out of what we have but as regards quality from the leisure businesses here, too many of them are "Absolute shoite".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Don Juan DeMagoo

jester77 wrote: »
    Hamburg kicks ass compared to anywhere in Ireland. Transport runs 24/7, no need for expensive taxis. Pubs are open all night, no need to pay into a nightclub unless you want to actually go for the music. Nightclubs are not full of people off their heads drunk and actually play good music. Strips clubs are excellent and have a 50/50 mix of men/women and you don't feel like a sleaze when in there. Beers can be had for €2 a bottle. You can finish up drinking Sun morning at 5 AM and head down to the fish market at the harbour for live music and freshly caught fish.

Will have to check it out, cheers. When is the best time of the year to visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Will have to check it out, cheers. When is the best time of the year to visit?

During the Summer when the weather is good is best, you can sit in the parks, along the river or lakes and have beers and BBQ, or at some of the beach bars and you can head to the Fischmarkt on a Sunday morning for beers, food & music. December is also good as the Christmas markets are on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Of course it does.

Owners of these modern "dancehalls" cannot open whatever time they wish. They apply every month to the government for special exemption to open after 12.30am and even at that, they can only go to 2.30. Moreover, the time encourages people to get pissed before they go out, which although not exclusive to Ireland, still is a huge normality to get in, get drunk, get out. Then we have hundreds of people being chucked out all at once and misbehaving on our streets. This legislation also puts limits on sound systems, interior decorations and design etc. Our taxes are another thing. Last year the publicans got together and tried to lobby the government into writing into law that free trade was to be abolished within the beverage selling industry. That is ludicrous. Couple that with the handcuffs we're in trade wise, and you've got yourself overpriced, under-performing ****holes. And all because of an out-dated, idea-less government.

And the Irish people are to blame for tolerating it.