Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking at Work

• 16-08-2011 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

Had a hard night on the sauce last night. Had a few pints at lunch time to sort out the head.

Does anyone else have a few sneakys at lunchtime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

In before 12 step programme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

No, I drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I used to have a pint on a friday in my old job, had it with a carvery meal so it dosent really count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

What and where is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

No way.................but probably depends on the type of job a person has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

The company I work in manufactures beer cooling gear.

Prototype testing time is a favorite time of mine - we're fairly hot on the R & D for some reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Bloody nation of alchos.
    Seriously, can you not manage to get through the work day without having "a few sneakys at lunchtime"?

I'm an Engineer. Desk job. I'm not a cop or lorry driver!

I'm an engineer as well Rory - just so happens part of my job occasionally entails getting totally shitfaced.

I had 4 pints of stout and a toasted sandwich. Felt a hell of a lot better than I did before. The lack of sleep (1.5 hours) is what killed me

Bloody nation of alchos.
    Seriously, can you not manage to get through the work day without having "a few sneakys at lunchtime"?

If you had read the post you would have realised I was dying of a hangover. Its not an everyday thing. Mostly just Mondays:) Tuesday this week though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

I had 4 pints of stout and a toasted sandwich. Felt a hell of a lot better than I did before. The lack of sleep (1.5 hours) is what killed me

4 pints at lunchtime :eek: How long is your lunchbreak?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Alco-presenteeism?

Between 30 mins to an hour. Took the full hour today.

If you had read the post you would have realised I was dying of a hangover. Its not an everyday thing. Mostly just Mondays:) Tuesday this week though

Point being?
    So what if it's not every day?
    I get maybe once, even twice in your lifetime, but as a regular weekly/monthly thing, it's a bit sad to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Did you drive back after your few "sneakys"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

jaysis flutterflye its just a drink. Its not like hes banging gear into his arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Some12

So the bridge falls down because you missed a decimal point or the medical device fails because you misread a specification.

Alco-presenteeism?

So drinking a couple of times a month is alcoholism? Wow.

If you had read the post you would have realised I was dying of a hangover.

That's not exactly helping your argument

You most have been pissing all afternoon after 4 pints at lunch

Did you drive back after your few "sneakys"?

Of course not. Work in city centre. Don't use car at lunchtime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Cillian13

You're not alone anyway. Working in a bar, I sees it all the time.
    A lot of the manly male teachers (Engineering/construction teachers) in my old school used go out for a few pints together at lunch time on a Friday.

jaysis flutterflye its just a drink. Its not like hes banging gear into his arms.

I'm hardly saying he's the root of all evil!
    Just that it reflects our ridiculous relationship with alcohol, that people can't get through their working week without going in for a few pints during lunch time.

Some12 wrote: »
    So the bridge falls down because you missed a decimal point or the medical device fails because you misread a specification.

Nah nothing of that nature. Besides some of my code was probably better in the afternoon than this morning!

Cillian13 wrote: »
    You're not alone anyway. Working in a bar, I sees it all the time.
    A lot of the manly male teachers (Engineering/construction teachers) in my old school used go out for a few pints together at lunch time on a Friday.

Another team here go for a few on fridays, my bosses boss joins them too. No one minds as long as you dont come back staggering! I always pass on that one due to driving home in the evening

Sky King wrote: »
    You most have been pissing all afternoon after 4 pints at lunch

Farting like a ba$tard more like....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I used to bring alcohol into secondary school in a ballygowan water bottle. Never went on the booze while working but sure there's always tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

I used to work next to a pub so i would go in on my lunch break daily have 3 or 4 pints and a bite to eat, it never caused me any problems with my boss or at least he never said if it did!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭alcomoholic

Just that it reflects our ridiculous relationship with alcohol, that people can't get through their working week without going in for a few pints during lunch time.

would you cop on to yourself.
    get down off your high pedestal, honestly pioneers like you make me sick.
    sure what harm does a few drops of sauce do to a man ?

you need to go down to the pub, get a few pints in you and get a big bloke to take you home and ride the f*ck out of you, it might make a change from you having a stick constantly jammed up your ar*e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

It's just this one guy we're talking about. When did it become "people"?

you need to go down to the pub, get a few pints in you and get a big bloke to take you home and ride the f*ck out of you, it might make a change from you having a stick constantly jammed up your ar*e.

Eh.. I drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

Im partial to a one or two shnakey pints on lunch every now and then but not too often, doesnt feel right going back into work reeking of drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Does anyone else have a few sneakys at lunchtime?

No, I handle weapons - I'm a soldier.

Neither I suspect do nurse's, doctor's, firemen etc etc.

If you can't handle work the next day don't drink, its not rocket science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Now to be fair lads, despite Ireland's relationship with alcohol, in my experience most people don't 'have a sneaky few' at lunch time. So if a couple of yis do every now and again then it's not that big a deal. :rolleyes:

Try working in England. I know people who work there who always go for a 'liquid lunch'. It's not seen as out of the ordinary there :confused: Open to correction though...maybe it's just been my experience?

I've never done it cos I walk to work and amn't that near to a pub to go to :(:p

Well I'm home now. What a day. Jeez...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭few cans?

i got a job drawing silage a couple of years ago and we were all drinking cans of cider on the job.. some craic! then at the end of the day we all sat out on the silage pit with a few cans and smokes.. just cant beat the few cans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Now to be fair lads, despite Ireland's relationship with alcohol, in my experience most people don't 'have a sneaky few' at lunch time. So if a couple of yis do every now and again then it's not that big a deal. :rolleyes:

Try working in England. I know people who work there who always go for a 'liquid lunch'. It's not seen as out of the ordinary there :confused: Open to correction though...maybe it's just been my experience?

I've never done it cos I walk to work and amn't that near to a pub to go to :(:p
    Yep. Very common in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

No cans for me dude. Get the kids into bed and catch the second half of this Arsenal game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Well I'm home now. What a day. Jeez...

to drink 4 pints in a hour is savage supping & stout?

jaysus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Pussies. I used to be a chef in Germany, would drink from start of shift until end. Never lost a decimal point. Hic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

You have to remember who your target audience is here,
    1. 90% nerds. They are the ones who nurse a bottle of Miller all night then talk about the "crazy night" they had all the next day.
    2. Assholes. That should be self explanatory.
    3. The self righteous. These are the real ones to watch. I saw some fool here mention that he handles weapons in the army so he gives you a lecture. I'd wager a nice amount that he interferes with small animals.

So in ending I would say as long as you keep it to 3 days or less and don't beat the wife or childer's when you get home then your sound. I also hope your one of the lesser important engineers, not structural or aeronautical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

i do occasionally have a few drinks in the "office". :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭few cans?

Rawhead wrote: »
    You have to remember who your target audience is here,
    1. 90% nerds. They are the ones who nurse a bottle of Miller all night then talk about the "crazy night" they had all the next day.
    2. Assholes. That should be self explanatory.
    3. The self righteous. These are the real ones to watch. I saw some fool here mention that he handles weapons in the army so he gives you a lecture. I'd wager a nice amount that he interferes with small animals.

So in ending I would say as long as you keep it to 3 days or less and don't beat the wife or childer's when you get home then your sound. I also hope your one of the lesser important engineers, not structural or aeronautical.

Well said Raw.

Like I mentioned a couple of days a month. Hardly an alcoholic but you know how pathetic some people here can be.

I'm an Electronics engineer, design control systems for Pharma industry. Dont deal with space ships or roads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Surely being able to have a few scoops during your lunch break, then getting back to the grindstone is a sign of a mature relationship with alcohol? You're not letting it control you. You're hardly on the piss if you're heading back to work. Chances are you'll at the least be having a sandwich with them. And like people said, it's done the world over. Loads of English do it, and I've seen it in France and Spain. I've even seen Germans have a beer before they start their day (although in fairness that was their holidays.)

Obviously you can't be doing it if you're a surgeon or the like. But just the other day there was a guy on my Google+ thingy talking about how his office people rolled around a cart of bloody marys and tequila sunrises, people drank, chatted and got back to work. Obviously the guy who comes back from lunch half an hour late and soused every day is a problem. Some guy having the odd few pints isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

Buceph wrote: »
    Surely being able to have a few scoops during your lunch break, then getting back to the grindstone is a sign of a mature relationship with alcohol? You're not letting it control you. You're hardly on the piss if you're heading back to work. Chances are you'll at the least be having a sandwich with them. And like people said, it's done the world over. Loads of English do it, and I've seen it in France and Spain. I've even seen Germans have a beer before they start their day (although in fairness that was their holidays.)

Obviously you can't be doing it if you're a surgeon or the like. But just the other day there was a guy on my Google+ thingy talking about how his office people rolled around a cart of bloody marys and tequila sunrises, people drank, chatted and got back to work. Obviously the guy who comes back from lunch half an hour late and soused every day is a problem. Some guy having the odd few pints isn't.

1 pint maybe, or even two but isn't 4 pints quite a lot to drink in the space of a lunchbreak? I don't think the French and Spanish would have that much, would they? (I have a suspicion the OP isn't entirely serious but I'm still interested)

hollypink wrote: »
    1 pint maybe, or even two but isn't 4 pints quite a lot to drink in the space of a lunchbreak? I don't think the French and Spanish would have that much, would they? (I have a suspicion the OP isn't entirely serious but I'm still interested)

I agree 4 pints in about 45 mins(have to get to and fro work also) is quite a lot. I went there for one purpose only...hangover cure. After a 12 hour bender and one hours sleep its going to take a few pints to get level again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I agree 4 pints in about 45 mins(have to get to and fro work also) is quite a lot. I went there for one purpose only...hangover cure. After a 12 hour bender and one hours sleep its going to take a few pints to get level again

See, this man wasn't simply enjoying a few pints. He was drinking them for medicinal reasons. Probably hated having to schull them back without nary a break for a dry roasted peanut.