Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Only a miracle saved six in 180kmh smash, says coroner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Idbatterim wrote: »
    the whole thing might be more understandable if Joe O'Leary was late teens / early twenties!

I know what you're saying, but I don't subscribe to that. The aspect of "we all did stupid things like that when we were young" is a cultural thing that needs to be killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

It is a terrible waste of life alright.

While reading it I couldn't help thinking of my recent comments in another thread about racing and the one upmanship that I thought was an issue amongst certain drivers of German marques...sadly it seems like this is an extreme example of this observation.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

it would be one thing to do it on a motorway or coming out of tollbooth where there are tons of lanes, im not condoning this type of driving in anyway! but on country roads! I dont know if it happened during daytime or nighttime, but it is lethal driving and actually proved lethal for one person unfortunately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Idbatterim wrote: »
    the whole thing might be more understandable if Joe O'Leary was late teens / early twenties!

I wouldnt agree with that at all. There are some shower of aggressive lunatics out there of all ages.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Jesus, that sounds like something Jerry Bruckheimer would be proud of, apart from the forklift part, replace forklift with talking robot and you have a blockbuster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭spunk_monkey

The main thing that strikes me here is that he was willing to race another driver while he had two young kids in the back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

The main thing that strikes me here is that he was willing to race another driver while he had two young kids in the back...

He should actually get more time in jail for that reason in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

absolutely ridiculous...what was this muppet thinking at all..
    Justice system needs to really cop the fúck and start throwing the book at people like him.
    None of this bull**** about having a family etc, if you cause a death on the roads minimum of 10 years in prison without parole.
    This is how you cut deaths on the road along with harsher penalties for driving wrong way on motorways etc and so on.
    Only then will people start to get the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Why would it be recorded as an accidental death rather than death by dangerous driving if they were doing over 180kmph?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

You can tell almost by looking at him that he is the type of pig headed/midlife crisis eejit who felt he needed to "compensate" by showing off in front of two teenagers. Just dangerous.

What a muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Why would it be recorded as an accidental death rather than death by dangerous driving if they were doing over 180kmph?

The coroners office can only broadly state the cause of death - accidental death, misadventure, unlawful killing, suicide, natural causes etc

Be for the courts to follow up and more specifcally determine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Got up to speeds of 180kph, not at the time of impact.
    It was an accident, caused by dangerous driving.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

That poor father having to use the forklift to lift a car to check if his innocent little boy was alive underneath it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

...doing over 180kmph?

What's a kmph? :p

Unbelieveable for a parent to drive like that with one of their kids and another child in the car. Lunacy.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

This whole thing could have been avoided if Joe there just said "yes, it is a cool car" while he carried on minding his own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

This whole thing could have been avoided if Joe there just said "yes, it is a cool car" while he carried on minding his own business.
    cool if your a woman maybe! we wont get into the TT debate though :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The little boy who was in the house it said made a partial recovery, that so sad I hope he's not disabled or something. Imagine being down at your nana's drinking a cup of tea and next thing a car just bursts into your kitchen. I hope his car insurance paid for a new house for the grandmothers house too.

All I can say is what a feckin ejit, and the red car should also have just been the bigger man and allow the ejit get around and not race him. I'm sure he'll live with it for the rest of his days and his life is wrecked which is the biggest punishment when he gets out of jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭billbond4

Yeah my wife works to rehabilitate people who had accidents from work/car etc and its very sad the state of people after the accidents.
    Those statistics arent available the number of people whose lives have been directly destroyed by accidents and the family/people/services required to care for them for (probably) the rest of their lives.

2 years is a joke :mad: you would get longer for shoplifting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

Stinicker wrote: »
    The little boy who was in the house it said made a partial recovery, that so sad I hope he's not disabled or something. Imagine being down at your nana's drinking a cup of tea and next thing a car just bursts into your kitchen. I hope his car insurance paid for a new house for the grandmothers house too.

It's almost like a carbon copy of the RSA ad where the car lands in the garden killing the kid, except in this real life case the driver was an middle aged man. In the RSA ad the driver is a young male, surprise surprise.

Very sad, I really feel for the 9 year old boy and his parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ciotog

billbond4 wrote: »
    Yeah my wife works to rehabilitate people who had accidents from work/car etc and its very sad the state of people after the accidents.
    Those statistics arent available the number of people whose lives have been directly destroyed by accidents and the family/people/services required to care for them for (probably) the rest of their lives.

2 years is a joke :mad: you would get longer for shoplifting.
    I'm also sick of seeing sentences being imposed to run concurrently - what's the point (he received two 18 month sentences for two counts of dangerous driving causing serious bodily harm)? I see no mention of a driving ban either? Surely it is justifiable here? I hear a lot of talk of a 'war on motorists' and look at cases like this or http://www.galwaynews.ie/15043-hit-and-run-driver-fled-scene-fatal-accident or http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/jail-for-drunk-hitandrun-driver-who-left-farmer-to-die-2830964.html and ask where's this war?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Modnote: Any commentary here should be based on the facts as laid out in this article, on another linked article in a reputable source, or on verifiable personal information.
    Unfounded conjecture or libellous comments won't be tolerated.

Cheers