Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Joey Barton losing his marbles?

• 14-08-2011 1:57pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭

http://twitter.com/#!/joey7barton

You may say he never had any marbles to lose but have a look at his twitter account. It would be laugh out loud hilarious if there wasnt the sneaking suspicion that we are witnessing someone who is headed for an implosion.

We all know what happened in the Arsenal match but, since then, he has called Alan Shearer a slaphead, told Brian Woolnough of Sunday Supplement he has an "abnormal cranium", had a spat with Piers Morgan (why any sports people want to be engaging with him is beyond me), exchanged barbed tweets with Jack Wilshere and challenged some tabloid journalist as to his own football ability. All this since the game last night (which finished at about 7.30pm).
    Going further into his tweet history he seems to be putting himself forward as an intellectual - once tweet has him chilling in Manchester city centre reading nietzsche. His comments on the London riots also seem slightly hypocritical given his past misdemeanours.

I know Twitter is a worry to clubs as players tweeting club info and heat of the moment comments could potentially cause problems. I dont even have a twitter account but a quick google search and i'm looking at Barton arguing and being called unprofessional by Jack Wilshere.

I wonder are we about to see Barton go over the edge. He is a very volatile person and, with the voice to the world that is twitter, are we about to see a total Barton implosion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Any chance of copying and pasting some images of tweets as im stuck in work and its blocked :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Any chance of copying and pasting some images of tweets as im stuck in work and its blocked :(

For you Mick:

Joey7Barton

@OllieHoltMirror obviously am not watching the same game as u. How have Drogba and Anelka not started?

1 hour ago

Joey7Barton

@PaulMcCarthy66 Song didnt stamp on urs as well did he?

3 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@RobbieSavage8 @bbc5live @bbc606 i'll probably do it from the 9th hole of the golf course. 3pm tee off.........

3 hours ago

Joey7Barton Joseph Barton

Think there gonna be the seasons dark horses Bolton, some good signings by Coyle. Hard working team. Off to play golf now.......mash potato

4 hours ago

newcastle-s-joey-barton-set-to-reveal-future-plans-on-twitter_normal.jpg

Seriously look at the headline, am actually embarrassed for headline writer skysports.com/tv_show/story/…

4 hours ago

Best debate on sports on a Sunday no doubt. Goals on Sunday @chris_kammy

4 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@PaulMcCarthy66 easy mate...if u fancy it for charity, i'll do it but u have to play a match. Maybe just against the reserves a journo team.

4 hours ago

I d actually pay good money to watch any journo play 1 half of premier league football in front of 52,000 people. #squeekybumtime

5 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@PaulMcCarthy66 Never met him. He's negative about me. Like most of ur mob, never played! Don't know what it takes to cross that line.

5 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@EddyJennings u could write it on the back of a stamp mate

5 hours ago

I'd actually love to debate with the nugget. And show him up for the elitist moron that he is. Very unhappy man Abnormal Cranium

5 hours ago

I'd take u apart in 2 mins. Extra large mandible (woolnough). U are intellectually inferior in many ways. Also emotionally and mentally

5 hours ago

I do apologise, I was brushing my teeth when Song bit was on Forgotten more about football whilst performing that task than ull ever know BW

5 hours ago

What with the burglar and Arsenal game, its been an incident packed 24hrs.

6 hours ago

He was so subtle he attempted to put a massive log through the window in broad daylight. Police have him now 4th break in of the night #scum

6 hours ago

5.26am Was awoken by a banging sound, burglar attempting to break in to neighbours house. Needless to say he was disturbed and apprehended

6 hours ago

No mention of Song on sunday supplement shock!

6 hours ago

Who died and made Brian Woolnough an oracle on football. Has this nugget ever been part of a team or played any form of the game????

6 hours ago

Worlds best sports programme on Sky Sports 4 now, these r nuts these mob. Watching this in bed, nite nite

16 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@OllieHoltMirror Correct or stamped on 1 of there players. I'd of been hung, drawn and quartered by u mob? Fact not conjecture

16 hours ago

Right off now to watch MOTD, its what sat nights are all about. Peace out people, lifes to short to get angry at football

17 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@JackWilshere hardly assault??

17 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@piersmorgan no doubt. U are the epitome of machismo Piersy.

18 hours ago

Was also nice to hear This Charming Man on stadium PA after the game. Decent from the club

18 hours ago

NietzscheQuotes NietzscheQuotes by Joey7Barton

There are no facts, only interpretations. #Nietzsche

18 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@henrywinter @RobbieSavage8 I went down easy, no doubt. Still cant raise ur hands. Agree or not?

18 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@Swannyg66 u'll be fighting the birds off.........hahaha #probablyseagulls

18 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@piersmorgan Is this about how macho I am or should be? Been there done that, didnt work.

18 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@piersmorgan well at least I never played like him. Were disappointed thats 2pts dropped for us. #3unbeatenagainsturmob

18 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@piersmorgan merely called out a fellow professional for blatantly cheating, everyone hates cheats. Referees have it tough enough.....

18 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@piersmorgan no argument from me there mate. All natural my barnet though, no plum rinses or hairplugs here Piersy

18 hours ago

Joey7Barton

@RobbieSavage8 my job is to do the best for my team, not to keep Gervinho on the pitch. Theres more to football than kicking a ball....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

The above is probably not the easiest to follow!

I did laugh when MOTD read out his tweet last night that he was off to watch MOTD etc but then failed to read his subsequent tweet on Shearer having bad dress sense and being a slaphead :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

I don't think he's losing his marbles, he's just not giving a fúck, trolling football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

He is perfectly entitled to his opinion especially when these journalists and panel members are entitled to theirs as well and have been expressing them on various tv shows and newspapers for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

If a lesser person were to suffer the constant abuse he gets they would have lost it a long time ago. Barton is a maverick. Neo-Conservative football fans and media want to kick charactors out of football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I don't think he's losing his marbles. I'm glad he's just giving his honest opinion on things. Some of the things he says are a bit ridiculous but he's spot on with most things imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I quite like his stuff on twitter - rarely wide of the mark in my opinion.

The sky sports headline that refers to him as the devil is beyond belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Interesting guy,

He got shown up as an average player yesterday(nothing to do with any antics) he's just an very average player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Interesting guy,

He got shown up as an average player yesterday(nothing to do with any antics) he's just an very average player

And how was that? He was the only guy alongside Cabaye that was looking to instinctive passes.

Suppose we'll just ignore the season he had last year then? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I think his marbles rolled under the couch years ago, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

When did he ever have marbles to lose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Moist Bread

This guy's a loose cannon, a maverick. He's a ticking time bomb and no one knows when he will go off! He doesn't play by your rules, he just gets the job done by any means necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

He was tweeting about someone breaking into the house next door at 5am as well earlier!

I am fir mly of the opinion that top level players shouldn't be allowed on it. I'd love Fergie to ban Utd players from it. Its only a matter of time before Rooney goes too far and abuses some member of the public on it and lands in a heap of trouble.

flahavaj wrote: »
    He was tweeting about someone breaking into the house next door at 5am as well earlier!

I am firmly of the opinion that top level players shouldn't be allowed on it. I'd love Fergie to ban Utd players from it. Its only a matter of time before Rooney goes too far and abuses some member of the public on it and lands in a heap of trouble.

They should know better themselves. It's not that hard keeping your twitter posts clean of slurs and abuse.

They're professional footballers, most of them have the IQ of a retarded amoeba. :pac:

Even retarded amoebas should be responsible with their tweeting. But I take your point.

I dont understand why people care about "celebs" saying stuff on twitter,if I was famous I wouldnt change the stuff I say on facebook....just be a little more pc i.e no sick jokes and the likes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

its all going to end very badly imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

Remember reading somewhere that Rio Ferdinand saying it was Man Utd policy that players are banned from writing anying on twitter or social networks regarding the team or anything match related. perhaps more clubs should follow this policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

I dont understand why people care about "celebs" saying stuff on twitter,if I was famous I wouldnt change the stuff I say on facebook....just be a little more pc i.e no sick jokes and the likes

In the case of Barton it makes him look bad, the guy is supposed to be looking for a new club, he should be the perfect pro on and off the pitch and he is failing.

syngindub wrote: »
    Remember reading somewhere that Rio Ferdinand saying it was Man Utd policy that players are banned from writing anying on twitter or social networks regarding the team or anything match related. perhaps more clubs should follow this policy.

This can't be true, only last week Rooney was writing a load of stupid stuff about giving City a "footballing lesson."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Am I missing something? All I see there is some guy who spends too much time on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭joe123

Jesus some of ye here are really getting sucked in on the old "joeys" lost it thing. He's having a bit of a laugh on twitter and in fairness he's not too far wide of the mark on alot of the things he's saying.

Songs stamp was an absolute disgrace yesterday.

joe123 wrote: »
    Jesus some of ye here are really getting sucked in on the old "joeys" lost it thing. He's having a bit of a laugh on twitter and in fairness he's not too far wide of the mark on alot of the things he's saying.

Songs stamp was an absolute disgrace yesterday.

joe123

Jaysus didnt know ye used boards mr Barton:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

This can't be true, only last week Rooney was writing a load of stupid stuff about giving City a "footballing lesson."
    This was the related article : http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2022594/Alan-Pardew-speaks-Sir-Alex-Ferguson-Joet-Barton-Twitter-fiasco.html

the quote in the article has the following
    Pardew's advice from Fergie.

'I spoke to Sir Alex Ferguson about this subject and (Manchester United’s) policy is that nobody at their club can comment about the football club. I think that’s probably where we should be because it is in breach of contract if you are criticising the owner, the player or anyone at the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Doocey wrote: »
    And how was that? He was the only guy alongside Cabaye that was looking to instinctive passes.

Suppose we'll just ignore the season he had last year then? :rolleyes:

;:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: have a few more roll eyes there for yourself, why bother with the roll eyes????

He was average at best yesterday, if it wasnt for the flash points nobody would have noticed him playing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Like following the lad on twitter , nice to see a player take the time to interact with football fans and give it to them brutal Journalists.

Nice touch here with the retweet for the sick lad.

170902.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Am I the only one who would love to see Joey play in the Roma/Lazio, Riverplate,Boca derbies. I think Hes the perfect player for those games wasted on the tynecastle derby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Most footie lads give a retweet for sick requests etc and its nice to see, hes pretty interactive with fans aswell got two responses from him, as are most of them to be honest.

Hes taken some stick for so long, hes not being considered ever for England, hes at a club run piss poorly, and hes always the culprit.

I for one am enjoying seeing a footballer take a stand in what I consider an amusing and witty fashion, not Rio Ferdinand style call people egg's, there is some genuine funny **** with Barton.

Always been a relatively meek fan of his, thought he has bundles of ability just squandered : /

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Balotelli and Barton. Very much looking forward to the entertainment they provide this season.

;:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: have a few more roll eyes there for yourself, why bother with the roll eyes????

He was average at best yesterday, if it wasnt for the flash points nobody would have noticed him playing.

I can beat that.. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Was there any player on the pitch for both teams on Saturday that really impressed?
    Gervinho would have been my pick, apart from his inability to pick out a crucial ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

His Twitter page looks a 15 year olds Myspace profile with the Smiths lyrics, the copy/pasted "deep" quotes and his rants against authority. That emo-hitler haircut at the weekend didn't help either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I think he comes across as a relatively intelligent person. I know the 'deep' quotes make it seem like he's trying to be an intellectual but from his tweets you can see that he's got something going on between his ears even if he does intentionally use text speak for certain words. I think you're mistaking losing his marbles with him just not giving a single fúck. He has a hot temper and does stupid shít but he strikes me as a relatively down to earth and intelligent fellow. Having said that, I think he acts the kunt when he loses the rag and his criminal record suggests this as well as his antics on the pitch. Very good player and would be better if he wasn't such a basket case at times.

"A white Balotelli" - Jive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Was there any player on the pitch for both teams on Saturday that really impressed?
    Gervinho would have been my pick, apart from his inability to pick out a crucial ball.

I thought Collocini was excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

I quite like Barton actually, good to see a footballer with character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Likes the sound of his own voice, simple as.

Recently he was posting on twitter about the hooligans causing trouble in England, giving about them even though his past behaviour was no better. He comes across as a tool and a highly over-rated player at that.

I think he's a classic example of the modern footballer that got lucky. Average talent elevated to ludicrous levels of money and status by a combination of agents/media etc, and now a seriously inflated sense of his own importance. This is a guy who would probably be in jail if he couldn't fool people into thinking he was a footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

he had a very good season the season gone by, if he keeps that up whether its at newcastle or somewhere else it will show how good he is.

personally i think he is going to get more and more people on his side by just not giving a single flying fu*k, and it entertaining, which is what its all about at the end of the day, he is an entertainer! its obviously working and getting people talking what ever he is at as there constant talk on the radio, tv and internet and in the papers about him! I like him, and id say by the end of the year he will be a big cult favourite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭padraig_f

I like him, calling Shearer a slaphead with no useful opinions was just a good observation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

cant see where he said anything making it look like he's losing it. He would have been strung up if he stamped on song so he was right.

If you watch newcastle and barton when there on you'll see nearly one tackle every game that barton himself would be sent off for if roles were reversed. I believe song had one earlier in the game before the stamp where he went over the ball and flattened barton.

oh ya and op the boy never had marbles but he keeps you watchin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

jive wrote: »
    I think he comes across as a relatively intelligent person. I know the 'deep' quotes make it seem like he's trying to be an intellectual but from his tweets you can see that he's got something going on between his ears even if he does intentionally use text speak for certain words. I think you're mistaking losing his marbles with him just not giving a single fúck. He has a hot temper and does stupid shít but he strikes me as a relatively down to earth and intelligent fellow. Having said that, I think he acts the kunt when he loses the rag and his criminal record suggests this as well as his antics on the pitch. Very good player and would be better if he wasn't such a basket case at times.

"A white Balotelli" - Jive

I would imagine that the reason for this on twitter is that you can only type a message with 140 characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

very entertainingly....as Michael Owen tweeted "he's the most entertaining guy on twitter" :D

Also it's no harm in letting footballers get a word back...we're always hearing the managers side, the club's side, the pundit's side and the player's side from a newspaper:rolleyes: so it's nice to get direct insights into someone's thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

You leave wor Shola out of this. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

I like him alot. Doesnt give a f*ck what people think and speaks a lot of sense. Great baller too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sticking a cigar in somebody's eye
    The Dabo Incident
    The assault outside McDonalds

The guy is pure scum just like his brother, he is not an intellectual, he just has one of those 'Quote/Thought of the Day' calendars that he tweets to make it look like he has a brain.

Deserves no attention whatsoever!

Paully D wrote: »
    I thought Collocini was excellent.

He was quite decent yeah, himself and Taylor.
    But no real stand-outs from either team to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭jacool

He was quite decent yeah, himself and Taylor.
    But no real stand-outs from either team to be honest.
    Taylor didn't do himself any favours either with that ridiculous "elbow" sign. The only elbow I saw was his in Gervinho's neck! maybe he was trying to get himself sent off too.

@ kfallon I agree 100% - he's not a very nice person (have to be careful here, I called a Munster rugby player a bad name and was reprimanded.)

jacool wrote: »
    Taylor didn't do himself any favours either with that ridiculous "elbow" sign. The only elbow I saw was his in Gervinho's neck! maybe he was trying to get himself sent off too.

@ kfallon I agree 100% - he's not a very nice person (have to be careful here, I called a Munster rugby player a bad name and was reprimanded.)

Yeah it was a ridiculous gesture - but he apologized for it, he was assuming that
    Gervinho had done so. Not the sharpest tool in the box auld Tayls!