Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Admit it.

• 14-08-2011 8:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭

Your grandad or granny was in the old IRA. Admit it yiz feckers.

(Unless you're ultra-young, in that case a pox of acne upon thee)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

They still are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

Actually not, he was in the RIR instead. (Although I may be slightly wrong on what he did afterwards. But he did emigrate to marry my gran so afraid not, no IRA connections in my family at all.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

My gran was in the Sendero Luminoso. Arriba!

/joins travelling Peruvian flute band

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

He was in the judean people's front. We don't like to talk about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

His grave stone does say 'Member of the old IRA'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

Apparently my other grandad was in the Pub a lot, does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

He was in the judean people's front. We don't like to talk about it.

My gran was in the Peoples front of Judea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Guill wrote: »
    His grave stone does say 'Member of the old IRA'.

Really? "deadly"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I'm not admitting nothing.

I used to love the game 'Torture IRA' though.

Rubecula wrote: »
    Apparently my other grandad was in the Pub a lot, does that count?

Well if he went in there a lot he was republican.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Splitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

My older sister once told me my grandfather was a communist. I had no idea what she meant but didn't want to let on so said 'I know :rolleyes:'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭zyxwvu

Grandad in the Irish army for 'the emergency' I think! Don't know about great-grandparents but grandparents weren't in the ira afaik..

I'm not admitting nothing.

I used to love the game 'Torture IRA' though.

Please explain that game.

If it's the same one, all the neighbourhood kids split into two teams: the cops and the IRA. The IRA picked a codeword, and everyone was given a letter. Then the IRA split up and hid around the estate/park/wherever you were playing.

If the cops caught you, they had to beat the **** out of you until you either escaped and ran away, or until you couldn't take anymore and told them your letter.

When they figured out your team's word, they won and the teams switched roles.

Superb game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Fremen wrote: »
    If it's the same one, all the neighbourhood kids split into two teams: the cops and the IRA. The IRA picked a codeword, and everyone was given a letter. Then the IRA split up and hid around the estate/park/wherever you were playing.

If the cops caught you, they had to beat the **** out of you until you either escaped and ran away, or until you couldn't take anymore and told them your letter.

Superb game.
    Played that game twice, ended up in hospital after the second game when I forgot the word and fell awkwardly when someone pushed me over. Really must play again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I put the screw in the tuna!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Superb game.
    If it was a draw did ye have sudden death?(or at least kneecapping)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

It has been said that my Great Grandfather and a few of his neighbours hid an entire u-boat crew for 10 days while they worked on repairs at night!! Was there any actual Irish Resistance Force organised??

O/H's Granda robbed his own Post Office to fund the arms struggle, did time for it and all. Daughters Great Granfather had a shot wound in his cheek and was interned.

Was at my granny's cousins funeral and the lads with balaclavas appeared, volley of shots over the tri-colour so no ambiguity there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

The granfather was a runner for dev, but since I think dev was an american prick its no biggie, if it had been for collins his photo would be in my wallet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Pretty much the same ideals and goals. Take the roads from the Romans. Protect our women from the Romans. Etc. Just different biscuits at the meetings.

If it was a draw did ye have sudden death?(or at least kneecapping)

Internment without trial, followed by dirty protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Yes. But you make it sound like a dirty thing...

(Were your grandparents Blue-Shirts?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I have no idea, I never met them.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

My Granda was the king of the IRA so he was in charge of all your grandparents...he said most of them were rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Oscar the grouch

Superb game.

i remember that game...played slightly different tho....it wer boys v gurls...and it wernt beatings that wer dished out the extract the letter...:):)

Eh, so what exactly did you dish out? Shaggings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Eh, so what exactly did you dish out? Shaggings?

Reminds me of our version of Bulldogs Charge...

"Red Rover, Red Rover, Break Through Or Bend Over"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

CJC999 wrote: »
    My Granda was the king of the IRA.

Does not compute :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Does not compute :confused:

His name was Bartley Gorman.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

One grandad was in the old IRA the other was in the Black and Tans

we're still collecting both pensions :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

My grandparents were in the Black and Tans..

Oh how we laughed at their stories of Irish people using hurling sticks as guns...

....how precious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

RA one side,
    other side fought in the Caunnaught Rangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭gernon

Tell them nuthin our fella

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

My Grandads were in the British army. lol

/traitorfamily

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

PK2008 wrote: »
    My grandparents were in the Black and Tans..
    actually I've always thought there must be some descendants of black and tans here in Ireland I'm sure they didn't all go home.

Scarlet for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

later10 wrote: »
    actually I've always thought there must be some descendants of black and tans here in Ireland I'm sure they didn't all go home.

Scarlet for them

Remember watching a documentary about the gangs in Limrick - a lot of the main families have connections to the black and tans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I was in the GPO during the Easter Rising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

My grandfather was in the IRA. Apparently there was an 'incident' which he refused point blank to ever discuss with his family :eek:. The family overheard bits of information when 'the lads' would come over for funerals and the like.

My other grandfather was in the British army. That should've made family occasions a laugh.

My grandmother's parents let a fugitive on the run from the Black&Tans stay with them, knowing it would mean certain death for them if he was found. She had vivid memories of him babysitting her while her parents were at some fair. Supposedly he got word that the fair was going to be ambushed, so he flung her on to his shoulders and ran to warn them.

A greataunt, I think, worked in the GPO when it was taken over and apparently she sent a letter home describing Pearce as being really polite.
    ng really polite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

My grandfather was in the IRA. Apparently there was an 'incident' which he refused point blank to ever discuss with his family :eek:.

Was it something like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Was it something like this?

That was probably it. And then he murdered all the rest of the people there.