Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luxonomics bliss...

• 13-08-2011 9:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭

I was coming home from town last night and decided to take a taxi. I was at Stephen's Green and decided to ignore the stream of bogspec shitboxes flying by and wait for a really nice one, ideally an F segment. Keep in mind that I've never been inside anything better than a D segment. Anyway, I didn't have to wait long to find something a bit nicer than an Avensis. An '04 S350 rounded the corner and my arm shot out almost involuntarily.

I was gobsmacked. What an amazing car. Deeply luxurious, utterly smooth and a joy to be chauffeured in. The back seat of the S is more comfortable than the sofa in our apartment, and that's no exaggeration. I got chatting to the taxi driver, a pleasant guy obviously in love with his steed. 23mpg around town and 29 on the motorway, not too horrifying. The only work the car needed was an engine mount, and as he demonstrated taking off, there was a bit more vibration than there could've been.

What shocked me most was that there was 350,000km on the car, 200,000 of which he'd put on the car. Incredible. Worth feck all now, but the driver said he'd keep it as a day to day once it's retired next year.

Have to say, my eyes have been opened to the pleasure of luxonomics. What a car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Cant you pick a taxi nowadays in a rank instead of getting into the one at the top of the queue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,686 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Mc Love wrote: »
    Cant you pick a taxi nowadays in a rank instead of getting into the one at the top of the queue?

Yes you can pick whatever one you want, there may be a reaction from the other drivers in the rank but it's tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

I know the car and its beauty, thing is he started out as a limo driver and is now driving piss heads home.

45950 TAXI ACTIVE 25/03/12 04D22505 BRIAN JOHN DOWLING (0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Mc Love wrote: »

I normally pay about 16 quid to come home from town, lately I just walk along the rank and ask them to bring me home for a tenner, the last fella in the que normally gladly obliges.

After that, I'd never get into a taxi I didn't want to get into.

Hopped into a taxi pished last night, turned out to be a brand new Superb, Cream interior, all mod cons. Felt like a boss.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Fair play, can't beat a massive luxury saloon to waft you home at night. The value out there is tremendous and if you can even half-turn a spanner yourself, you should have no hesitation in buying one.

Modern flagship saloons are no longer old-men cars, they're fast, sporty, stylish and highly desirable. I love the 99-2005 S class, but electrical problems would have me worried, late ones should be better though.

I don't think i'll ever drive any other type of car, maybe a large coupe at a stretch. Flagships are just such impressive cars, no matter what the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Fair play, can't beat a massive luxury saloon to waft you home at night. The value out there is tremendous and if you can even half-turn a spanner yourself, you should have no hesitation in buying one.

Modern flagship saloons are no longer old-men cars, they're fast, sporty, stylish and highly desirable. I love the 99-2005 S class, but electrical problems would have me worried, late ones should be better though.

I don't think i'll ever drive any other type of car, maybe a large coupe at a stretch. Flagships are just such impressive cars, no matter what the year.

A big plus 1 on that. I had a nice few bob put away for a Luxobarge until I had to spend most of it on a new diff for a Hino this week..:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I Was VB wrote: »
    I know the car and its beauty, thing is he started out as a limo driver and is now driving piss heads home.

He did mention that he does a bit of chauffeur work. Nice guy too, didn't mind my babbling about the car. It was actually the highlight of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,682 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

-Corkie- wrote: »
    A big plus 1 on that. I had a nice few bob put away for a Luxobarge until I had to spend most of it on a new diff for a Hino this week..:mad:

Even the gods are trying to keep you away from that merc:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

mickdw wrote: »
    Even the gods are trying to keep you away from that merc:p

Nah that yoke is long forgotten about Mick. A large Lexus is my wet dream atm..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,682 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Wouldnt mind one of those myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Was brought to town in an 03 E320 CDI Avantgarde last night, well able to move and the driver didn't mind showing that either :P