Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend me a 4x4

• 12-08-2011 8:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭

Right, my turn.:)
    I know next to nothing about 4x4's, I'm looking for something that is not too tractorish, good on snow and ice, diesel, sub 2 litres, will do at least 40 mpg, be reliable and not look like a glorified bus.
    Any recommendations or am I mad?
    Oh, and not cost over E5k just to make it interesting.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I know next to nothing about 4x4's, I'm looking for something that is not too tractorish, good on snow and ice, diesel, sub 2 litres, will do at least 40 mpg, be reliable and not look like a glorified bus.

ahahahahhahaha your living in a dream world here mate , a pajero pinin or suzuki jimny are your only options really and neither of them will do 40mpg and are underpowered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Not much point getting a sub 2l 4x4, grand vitaras are the only 2l 4x4s afaik, much bigger choice if you went for 2.5 litre!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I thought as much, get anything decent sized and minimum is 2.5 litres, will kill me on tax and petrol and is not practical for my daily 120 km commute.
    Anything smaller will be a ridiculous tin box that will be completely hateful to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

Hiluxsurf 3.0 litre!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Pull landrovers out of trouble when the going gets too tough for them.

Cant believe I'm saying this but may a subaru forrester?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

-not too tractorish,
    -good on snow and ice,
    -diesel,
    -sub 2 litres,
    -will do at least 40 mpg,
    -be reliable - not look like a glorified bus.
    -not cost over E5k just to make it interesting.:cool:

den_do19.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I don't believe such a car exists!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

-Chris- wrote: »
    I don't believe such a car exists!

Was thinking the same. First thing I thought of was the older model LC but they are fairly thirsty..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

first of all you'd be better to go in the 4x4 and tractors section, and second you may have to compromise a bit... the set of criteria are kind of unrealistic. You can get vitaras and daihatsu rockys etc with 1.6 engines but they're petrol. the vitaras in particular are cracking little 4x4s for what they are but not a lot of power and won't do anywhere near 40mpg

JMSE wrote: »
    Cant believe I'm saying this but may a subaru forrester?

Now there's an idea, had on of these before and it was completely unstoppable and I mean driving in the Bavarian Alps, delivering bread at 6 am through waist high drifts of snow, I used to try and get it stuck, can't be done, greatest car in the snow I ever owned.

Nah, too blurry.:D;)
    Good one though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Some sort of 1.9 tdi quattro style yoke is the only thing I can think of

Octavia, a4, a6 kinda thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Closest to what you want is a Grand Vitara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I think if you don't need it for farm, construction work or for towing and if ground clearance is not an issue then your best bet is to go for a standard car with 4WD.

Most car 4x4 systems are designed with snow and ice in mind and for European markets where snow is relatively common. Because of their size and weight they will be more economical than a full size 4x4.

Whatever you do budget for 4 proper winter tyres (not all season ones). A 4x4 with summer or all season tyres isn't much use, in fact a RWD with winter tyres would be better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭redman

bijapos wrote: »

Whatever you do budget for 4 proper winter tyres (not all season ones). A 4x4 with summer or all season tyres isn't much use, in fact a RWD with winter tyres would be better than that.

Not the case in my S6 quattro on SP3's I was able to drive throughout last year in dublin suburb and city snow. Often getting past stuck Land Rover 4x4 and ordinary RWD. But I do agree it would be unbeatable with Winter tyres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

I know they're a 2.2 with slightly higher tax than a 2lt,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2405129
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2427621

I had a loan of one of these for a while, and i was not expecting much of it, but my god i was surprised, they have plenty of power, except for outlandish turbo lag, the one i had was top spec with the huge sunroof sunroof, electric heated leather seats etc.

They handle well and are not too wavy on the road, they're more like a big car than a jeep but id have one over any Korean shite any day.

It wasnt too bad on diesel either, Ive no idea of mpg but with the 6 speed box, 120kmh on the motorway was only around 2k rpm iirc.

*Edit, also, if you are that way inclined, I put a trailer with a good load (3.5t + trailer) onto it and it pulled it no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

39 MPG according to Parkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

redman wrote: »
    Not the case in my S6 quattro on SP3's I was able to drive throughout last year in dublin suburb and city snow. Often getting past stuck Land Rover 4x4 and ordinary RWD. But I do agree it would be unbeatable with Winter tyres

My Allroad was the same and wasn't on winter tyres. There wasn't anything last winter threw at it that it couldn't handle. It even managed to two two vans up a hill that were stuck in our estate.

The Audi Quattro system is unbeatable in my opinion. An A4 Quattro would fit the bill, but unfortunately they're like hen's teeth so you'd probably have to go to the UK to get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I know they're a 2.2 with slightly higher tax than a 2lt,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2405129
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2427621

I had a loan of one of these for a while, and i was not expecting much of it, but my god i was surprised, they have plenty of power, except for outlandish turbo lag, the one i had was top spec with the huge sunroof sunroof, electric heated leather seats etc.

They handle well and are not too wavy on the road, they're more like a big car than a jeep but id have one over any Korean shite any day.

It wasnt too bad on diesel either, Ive no idea of mpg but with the 6 speed box, 120kmh on the motorway was only around 2k rpm iirc.

*Edit, also, if you are that way inclined, I put a trailer with a good load (3.5t + trailer) onto it and it pulled it no problem.

+1, I had one of these too, never an ounce of trouble with it, I'd go for a 2004 on diesel model though, 136bhp Vs 112bhp (I think), more economical and less turbo failure issues. Make sure it's not a 2wd of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

The older type Santa Fe would tick most of them boxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Monty.

Given the budget . . .

Import a 1.2 petrol 4x4 Fiat Panda from the UK, very good reliability, low road tax, and it will do at least 60mpg.

Alternatively an older freelander might fit the bill, they can be a bit risky reliabilty wise, buy carefully with full service history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Theanswers

redman wrote: »

No offence but the problem with the Land Rover has to have been the driver/ or poor tyres as in bald because they are a better 4x4 car.

I'm not doubting the quattro is good but I do know that it would not have driven through the snow which I drove my old Range Rover p38 threw last Christmas.

Mountain Pass in Donegal, 2ft of snow. The road was closed... The jeep was more like a plough than anything else.

But for average snow driving the quottro would be very good.

OP, in regards to your question. Get an old 4x4 such as mine tax it comm for the 3 months of Christmas. Use your other car the rest of the year.

They are pretty cheap and easy to fix if anything goes wrong.

Ps, the RR was on Summer tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

Freelander with the BMW 2.0 diesel engine ...no idea of MPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭LCruiser Kid

Buy a landcruiser and be done with it :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Buy 4 snow tyres for your current car and the car will be able for all but the most severe snow fall with competent driving.

Buying a 4x4 for a 120km a day commute so that IF we get a couple of days/weeks of snow a year you won't get stuck is ridiculous.

Buy 4 snow tyres for your current car and the car will be able for all but the most severe snow fall with competent driving.

Buying a 4x4 for a 120km a day commute so that IF we get a couple of days/weeks of snow a year you won't get stuck is ridiculous.

True enough, but our second car (the one to be replaced) is an MX5 with RWD and utterly useless, I know we could winter tyres on it and stick 50 kg's in the boot, but that would completely spoil in for the motorway bit.
    We live on a hill, with 8 km of twisty, turny, ice covered roads that don't get cleared in the winter and can be pretty dicey, but the rest of the journey is 50km of motorway and for that (I'm trying to convince her) a big 4x4 is just not practical.
    I've asked a few of the farmers and they seem to favour the usual Pajeros, Landcruisers, even Daihatsus, but according to the guy in the Pajero, the one thing that never, ever got stuck is his wife's Ford Ka!
    And I myself have been driving various forms of Focus and even a Transit Connect in the snow here and never got stuck.
    We're on a very tight budget, her 00 MX5 isn't worth a fortune and I'm trying to steer her to a Focus. That with winter tyres should get her up and down our hill no problem.

P.S.
    Really love the Panda 4x4! Don't think she'll go for it.:D
    RAV4 also looks like a contender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

you do realise that if you get rid of the MX5 and buy a 4x4, we'll have a mild, snow-free winter followed by a cracking summer next year? Don't do it ;)

Absurdum wrote: »
    you do realise that if you get rid of the MX5 and buy a 4x4, we'll have a mild, snow-free winter followed by a cracking summer next year? Don't do it ;)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2295422 problem solved

True enough, but our second car (the one to be replaced) is an MX5 with RWD and utterly useless, I know we could winter tyres on it and stick 50 kg's in the boot, but that would completely spoil in for the motorway bit.
    We live on a hill, with 8 km of twisty, turny, ice covered roads that don't get cleared in the winter and can be pretty dicey, but the rest of the journey is 50km of motorway and for that (I'm trying to convince her) a big 4x4 is just not practical.
    I've asked a few of the farmers and they seem to favour the usual Pajeros, Landcruisers, even Daihatsus, but according to the guy in the Pajero, the one thing that never, ever got stuck is his wife's Ford Ka!
    And I myself have been driving various forms of Focus and even a Transit Connect in the snow here and never got stuck.
    We're on a very tight budget, her 00 MX5 isn't worth a fortune and I'm trying to steer her to a Focus. That with winter tyres should get her up and down our hill no problem.

P.S.
    Really love the Panda 4x4! Don't think she'll go for it.:D
    RAV4 also looks like a contender.

Ok maybe a very light rwd car like the mx5 wouldn't be great but IMO unless you live in the mountains you still don't need a 4x4. I have very steep hills to and from my house and even though my RWD car was a bit ropey any FWD car I was driving had no problems at all.

In most instances its the drivers that get the cars stuck in snow/ice, not the car. If you buy a fwd car which has modern driver aids like ESP and/or EBD then any driver should have no problem as with those you can just keep you foot flat on the accelerator if you like and the electronics will control everything else. The wifes Toyota IQ has these and I was able to take it down roads where front bumper was plowing through the snow without a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Suzuki Jimny

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Suzuki Jimny

Just don't use the steering wheel or you'll need new wing mirrors!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Great off road though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

:D Never had that problem in my rental jimny, and I had that thing squealing around Greek roads! Great craic :D

Edit - DrFuzz - the Honda CRVs are grand and cheap (2L petrol SUV, couldn't give em away!), simple and reliable and should handle what our new style of winters would throw at them handy enough. I know it doesn't tick many of your original boxes, but they are cheap. The interior of the first gen ones is no better than old foresters tho - functional is the most positive way of describing them!

What about the 06ish on Daihatsu terrios? 1.3 or 1.5 petrol engines so cheap enough to run and tax, decent on the road, reliable(built in Japan not europe) and a proper off road capable 4x4 chassis?

langdang wrote: »
    :D Never had that problem in my rental jimny, and I had that thing squealing around Greek roads! Great craic :D

I had one in Greece once too, try doing a sharp left-right swerve to avoid a moped then an oncoming car and see what happens:eek::(:mad: