Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor Tax and the black economy?

• 12-08-2011 8:31pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭

I taxed my car today for twelve months from August 1st, I was just waiting for my credit card limit to roll over to maximise the interest free days and just happened to be near the taxation office so popped into the Motor taxation office to tax it the old fashioned way so I'd have my disk for the weekend encase I'd get stopped and nailed for non display.

The amount of people taxing their vehicles with cash was shocking and I reckon I saw about only one or two people using eftpos and there seemed to be quite alot of middle aged women taxing commercial vehicles no doubt for their husbands etc. The whole thing took me 45mins from the time I took my ticket to being called and I swear I came out of there thinking Irish people are so stupid, taking ages with the forms not filled up right and the staff taking their time also. A real headwrecking place of pen pusher bureacracy.

Surely they could invent a few kiosks that would allow you to DIY the job with it printing out your tax disk there for you or even better allow at home printing saving the postage and giving instant paperwork to display for the guards.

People are using cash for payments like this and motor insurance from brokers and totally avoiding tax on their cash in the hand incomes in the black economy. Surely the government should slap a 10% stupidity tax on taxing your car the old fashioned way like this, forcing those in the black economy to pay more tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Those paying cash should get a discount like in the real world :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Am I missing something???. Why didnt you use the renewal pin number and do it online or do you drive a commercial???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Am I missing something???. Why didnt you use the renewal pin number and do it online or do you drive a commercial???

No, It's privately taxed and I just happened to be in Tralee and figured I'll tax it now and get my disk and all incase I'd be stopped over the weekend. I normally tax it online using the renewal pin as you said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Stinicker wrote: »
    No, It's privately taxed and I just happened to be in Tralee and figured I'll tax it now and get my disk and all incase I'd be stopped over the weekend. I normally tax it online using the renewal pin as you said.

You should have done it online earlier in the week.

You would have saved 45 mins of your time and wouldnt have been in a near death experience....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Why? What do you think costs the CC more: providing a staffed building to humor your ass, or a back-end computer that spends a couple of milliseconds processing your web-form?

People are using cash for payments like this and motor insurance from brokers and totally avoiding tax on their cash in the hand incomes in the black economy. Surely the government should slap a 10% stupidity tax on taxing your car the old fashioned way like this, forcing those in the black economy to pay more tax.

It's fine for you to do it when it suits you but most other people who wander in are using money from the black economy. Ok :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

I had exactly the same experience lately, whilst taxing an import.

A lot pyjamas on show and everybody seemed to be taxing for 3 months.

Last time I checked using cash to pay for things was quite normal :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

we desperately need a Liveline subforum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

they were using cash joe!

CASH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Tax it for 3 months get 3 months free. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Tax it for 3 months get 3 months free. ;)

LOL. That's the spirit ! Or if your a professional 3 months 6 months free. Just by a banger and don't bother taxing it if it gets taken no big loss.

Also I was expecting some black market to buy tax disc from on the cheap or slipping the cashier 20euro for herself and don't pay the tax for the disc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ah now, this takes the biscuit altogether. So its now a crime to pay for something with cash?
    I would have been thinking the opposite if I was waiting in line. I would have looked at all those using cards and thought to myself, Jeez, everyone is sticking the motortax on the credit card - times must be hard.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    You should have done it online earlier in the week.

You would have saved 45 mins of your time and wouldnt have been in a near death experience....:pac:

I'd still have been in the near miss as I wouldn't bother driving all the way to tax the car specially as I had other business to attend to I decided to tax it anyway.
    FrontDoor wrote: »
    I had exactly the same experience lately, whilst taxing an import.

A lot pyjamas on show and everybody seemed to be taxing for 3 months.

There was this element to it and it was a mix of this and diddly eye 55+ aged people who'd hardly know how to turn on a tv never mind a computer and commercial tax with all the other paperwork and bells and whistles attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Couldn't possibly be anything to do with the fact that some people finally got rid of that plastic card that charges around 28 per cent interest !!!! Naw this is disgraceful people going into a building and paying in cash and worse still paying for 3 months :eek::eek::eek: Consider yourself lucky to be able to do something other than this and you should not cast aspersions on those who are doing what they think is best :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Break all ties

msg11 wrote: »
    Also I was expecting some black market to buy tax disc from on the cheap or slipping the cashier 20euro for herself and don't pay the tax for the disc!
    Problem with that is the car would be still untaxed in the system and would be found by the cops easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Some people actually believe paying with THEIR OWN money is still a better option than spending BORROWED money ;)

msg11 wrote: »
    LOL. That's the spirit ! Or if your a professional 3 months 6 months free. Just by a banger and don't bother taxing it if it gets taken no big loss.

Surely you can appreciate that the staff are accountable for all the discs printed, its not penny sweets where they can slip an extra one in the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

vectra wrote: »
    Some people actually believe paying with THEIR OWN money is still a better option than spending BORROWED money ;)

Some people don't have that luxury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

I taxed my car today for twelve months from August 1st, I was just waiting for my credit card limit to roll over to maximise the interest free days and just happened to be near the taxation office so popped into the Motor taxation office to tax it the old fashioned way so I'd have my disk for the weekend encase I'd get stopped and nailed for non display.

A real headwrecking place of pen pusher bureacracy.

maybe the op should pop down to the great unclean more often for a reality check.if you found taxing your car head wrecking, heavens forbid you should ever have to pop into an ER teetering on the edge of kaos for five or ten hours. it reads like your trying to maximise your snobbery rating.

I have Private Health Insurance thank you very much! It is nothing to do with snobbery I may add, rather a casual observation which led me to draw my own conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭pegasus1

Op what do you pay your credit card with?? more credit?... do you not realise cash makes the world go round..

what about the daily newspaper,shopping and fags all with the credit card then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

Legal tender baby..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

I have Private Health Insurance thank you very much! It is nothing to do with snobbery I may add, rather a casual observation which led me to draw my own conclusions.

the more you type the more obnoxious you sound, ould wans people 55+ who cant use a computer,i have private health insurance ( you still have to mingle with the great unwashed if you go to casualty ) i dont know how many other branches of society you have belittled in your post

Credit cards? Most plastic transactions are debit card transactions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

pajo1981 wrote: »
    Credit cards? Most plastic transactions are debit card transactions.
    Indeed. I don't have a credit card but a few debit cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

I pay cash for everything because credit and lazer cards take longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

yeah i dont get the problem here :confused:

i dont actually have a laser or credit card or the likes... just an atm card to get CASH

when i taxed my own car i paid cash and taxed it for the year as its the most i can do.... never really understood taxing for only 3 months... my dad does it all the time and had his car nearly 3 years now... would've saved a bit of money for taxing for a longer period of time than every 3 months.

but yeah... i get the form... i fill it out all perfect, pay in cash up front and get the disc for the year... whats the problem ?

Laser went out with the dinosaurs. Visa debit is where it is at now.

Why are you guys capitalizing CASH as if paying this way is some sort of virtue.

I've never understood why anybody would pay for something costing more than €50 using cash. Do these people enjoy queuing at ATMs?

Do these people enjoy queuing at ATMs?
    Sweaty sock ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Stuff the CC i prefer the smell and feel of Cash..I can only spend what I have in me pocket...:D

Anyways, some peepz might be saving (yes, SAVING) a few quid a week at home for tax....

robbie_998 wrote: »
    when i taxed my own car i paid cash and taxed it for the year as its the most i can do.... never really understood taxing for only 3 months...

A lot of people do 3 months on 2 months off, people also don't want to spent a big chunk of money at once and would rather spread it over the year. I've never taxed a car for any longer than 3 months at a time.

We don't all live in Dublin 4.

Wish the bastard AIB saw it that way.

and BOI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

It did ? I must have missed that, tbh...

Anyhoo, VISA debit is about to meet it's own test: remember, it was the Banks who foisted Laser cards on us. However, they want the big merchant fees now, and are forcing people to go VISA debit, so they can extract bigger merchant fees (over 100% more in some cases).

What does this mean to you? Well expect goods and services to go up, to cover the fees, for a start.
    Similarly, expect to see signs popping up in place saying thing's like....'no VISA Debit accepted for transactions below € xx " etc., and other places to just not accept them at all.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Instead of a Visa Debit card, why not just get a credit card and have your credit card balance paid off montly automatically by a direct debit.

That's what I've done.

pajo1981 wrote: »
    Why are you guys capitalizing CASH as if paying this way is some sort of virtue.

I've never understood why anybody would pay for something costing more than €50 using cash. Do these people enjoy queuing at ATMs?
    Many folk have cash incomes.
    Instead of a Visa Debit card, why not just get a credit card and have your credit card balance paid off montly automatically by a direct debit.

That's what I've done.

I do that too for many of my purchases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

RoverJames wrote: »
    Many folk have cash incomes.
    QUOTE]

CASH joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭john t

Nothing wrong paying for goods, services or car expenses with cash,, Lots of home owners pay their plumber, electrician, gardener etc with cash so in turn he gives wife cash too pay motor tax etc...Why lodge cash in bank too write cheque nxt day or use credit card too pay for something whn cash works..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

ahhh,

the tralee tax office.. lol

nightmareish place at the best of times.

"counter number two please...!"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,349 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

A lot of people do 3 months on 2 months off, people also don't want to spent a big chunk of money at once and would rather spread it over the year. I've never taxed a car for any longer than 3 months at a time.

i dont see why the government doesnt introduce monthly payments for motor tax without the penalty of increased cost for spreading it over the year.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,349 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

and BOI.

you should count your blessings they dont!
    have you not seen the hidden charges on the visa debit cards that customers re being hit with from PTSB, have a look on the Askaboutmoney forum.

galwaytt wrote: »
    It did ? I must have missed that, tbh...

Anyhoo, VISA debit is about to meet it's own test: remember, it was the Banks who foisted Laser cards on us. However, they want the big merchant fees now, and are forcing people to go VISA debit, so they can extract bigger merchant fees (over 100% more in some cases).

What does this mean to you? Well expect goods and services to go up, to cover the fees, for a start.
    Similarly, expect to see signs popping up in place saying thing's like....'no VISA Debit accepted for transactions below € xx " etc., and other places to just not accept them at all.
    I don't care to be honest. Why should I have to put up with a card like laser which is closed system and no use outside Ireland? Feck that for a game of soliders.

The fees for merchants taking Visa Debit are the same for Laser. They are debit cards after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

kceire wrote: »
    i dont see why the government doesnt introduce monthly payments for motor tax without the penalty of increased cost for spreading it over the year.

I kinda agree here, especially those of us paying bigger tax as against 3mths on 2 off, lying the car up. I just physically don't have the readies to give 1566 in one go but could afford a staggered option. And yes the tax office is Lie a zoo first day of every month. We all know what's going on, just like half the country are going around using green diesel.

kceire wrote: »
    you should count your blessings they dont!
    have you not seen the hidden charges on the visa debit cards that customers re being hit with from PTSB, have a look on the Askaboutmoney forum.
    Don't bank with them. Simples.

That's what I've done.

Banks won't give you a credit card when your on the dole!