Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Athletes that have disappeared

• 11-08-2011 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭

Over the years a number of athletes have caught our attention and then just seemingly fallen away or just left the sport. Name some and a few of us might know where they went. I hope the mods are okay with this thread as it's not speculating but just inquiring.

I'll get started. Does anyone where the following athletes are these days?

Derek Duff-100m and 200m sprinter from Cork.

The French-O'Carroll twins. I think they went to the States. You barely anything hear about them and certainly don't seem to compete for Ireland at international stage.

Ger O' Reilly. 100m and 200m sprinter from Cavan. All-Ireland schools and juvenile champion back around 2005/2006.

Carl McNamara-Another 100m/200m sprinter from Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Over the years a number of athletes have caught our attention and then just seemingly fallen away or just left the sport. Name some and a few of us might know where they went. I hope the mods are okay with this thread as it's not speculating but just inquiring.

I'll get started. Does anyone where the following athletes are these days?

Derek Duff-100m and 200m sprinter from Cork.

The French-O'Carroll twins. I think they went to the States. You barely anything about them and certainly don't seem to compete for Ireland at international stage.

Ger O' Reilly. 100m and 200m sprinter from Cavan. All-Ireland schools and juvenile champion back around 2005/2006.

The first are still in Providence and have competed for college. Usually takes some athletes the first year to adapt so could just be a bedding in period

As far as I know he gave up the sport with the usual college/life stresses

Danny D'arcy for me was one of the biggest loses to the sport. 2nd in Euro juniors only to Colin Costello (great to see him on the comeback). The race in Kaunas was possibly one of best races I have seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

Most do seem to disappear when they hit 18 and are off to college and are introduced to a new life.

With college (and the funding of through part time work) and the lack of funding for anyone but the elite it can be hard to keep it up especially if all there friends are out on the lash or what ever they start to lose sight of whether the time put into the sport is worth it or not

ecoli wrote: »
    With college (and the funding of through part time work) and the lack of funding for anyone but the elite it can be hard to keep it up especially if all there friends are out on the lash or what ever they start to lose sight of whether the time put into the sport is worth it or not

True and it's a hard sport to keep committed to with the high dedication and fitness required. For me, it's worth it at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

There were 2 lads from DSD a few years back who seemed like handy runners - Edward & John I think, can't think of their second names. They might even have been twins as they seemed to be similar age. Whatever happened to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Gringo78 wrote: »
    There were 2 lads from DSD a few years back who seemed like handy runners - Edward & John I think, can't think of their second names. They might even have been twins as they seemed to be similar age. Whatever happened to them?

From Lucan Harriers, you mean.

Good to see DSD taking credit for any good performances, though.

Whatever happened to William Harty?

Gringo78 wrote: »

Prob ran out of the club after trying to sing karaoke at the DSD christmas party:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Pherekydes wrote: »

No they definitely ran with DSD. There was a clip of them on the X factor (don't ask how I know) and they went back to Dublin and met up with their DSD running mates on Belfield track. Also have seen a couple of pics of them in DSD singlets running XC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

No they definitely ran with DSD. There was a clip of them on the X factor (don't ask how I know) and they went back to Dublin and met up with their DSD running mates on Belfield track. Also have seen a couple of pics of them in DSD singlets running XC

Yeah, I know that, but they spent most of their formative years, in an athletic sense, at Lucan Harriers. They only spent one year at DSD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

I remember the day he won 3 golds at the munster schools 1,500, steeple and 5k i think. Then he went on to win a local 10k road race 2 hrs later, mad stuff. After he ran in the world juniors XC in Leopardstown he faded off the scene, he was always heading for burnout doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Yeah, I know that, but they spent most of their formative years, in an athletic sense, at Lucan Harriers. They only spent one year at DSD.

Yeah but the 1 year at DSD was their platform for world domination ;)

Exactly I reckon these were normal lads while at Lucan then hit DSD and became the scourge of the earth they are today .Another reason for DSD to be in the bad books:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭clubcard

I remember William harty winnng two track races a road race in the mosney games and road race in the evening.Also remember him running an opening lap of 63seconds in a 1500m steeple chase,just to put it into perspective he was beating martin Fagan under age.

In relation to Danny Darcy that was a pity but he just hadn't the hunger for it anymore.Colin costello mmmm how long more can we call it a comeback???Like he has been running the last 2 years....

Other standout athletes where turnbull,Mclean and sweeney from malachys,all won and broke the schools records over 1500m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Shergar, now he really did disappear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Menapians

Carl Went to college in England IIRC. He was doing some science degree with an incredible heavy workload he tried competing in his first year over there but struggled. He gave it up then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Colm Rooney Clonliffe harriers,won national 1500m seniors and retired.Think he was only around 23/24
    Ciaran o Connell and David Kelly(dsd) both won national 800m at a very young age,think both under 21.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

William Harty was burnout, as was his brother Phillip before him.

Colm McLean made a conscious decision to step away from the sport and focus on other things. He was a really superb athlete.

Dave Kelly & Ciaran O'Connell both moved on to more social lives (the reason 95% of talented young athletes move away from the sport).

Gareth Turnbull was mentioned - he struggled to get back into his best form after the testosterone situation. That was a crippling momnet for his career, athletically and financially. It was a shame as he was a great runner. Conor Sweeney was another one for the social life.

Danny Darcy was spectating at nationals last weekend. He is playing soccer and GAA again but seems to have no intention of getting back to athletics after a succession of injuries.

I'm not sure about Rooney - he had spent some time away from the sport between being a talented junior and a national senior champion. He was always into music so may have focussed on that.

There are lots of examples. Mainly, these guys lose the desire to dedicate their full lives to athletics. These days, there are more precedures in place to keep them in the sport so we shouldn't lose a guy like Mark English the way that we lost Ciaran O'Connell. Much of it is down to the individual of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Carol Meagan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

John Murray of North Cork where did he go since the 90s?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 OKriomhaire

Adrian O'Dwyer of Kilkenny City Harriers. Jumped 2.30 at age 20 to qualify for Athens Olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Philip Hart ain't burnt out,he ran 2.27/2.28 in Dublin marathon last year and made European team for hill running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

philip harty has made a comeback i was talking to one of his training partners he seems to be running some pretty good times. As for william harty i think he was trained into the ground. nobodys body is capable of mainting the high level of training he did especially at such a young age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Snowdon80

Except for these guys! I hear they have upped their mileage and have one eye on London.

http://www.imra.ie/photos/view/id/35540/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

Robert Connolly from DSD. I know he wasnt very young when he stopped but he wasnt too old either.

The King brothers from Donegal.

Where is Richard Yeates these days?

Robert Connolly from DSD. I know he wasnt very young when he stopped but he wasnt too old either.

The King brothers from Donegal.

Dan King is actually back training. Ran 9.45 for 2 mile in the Road Relays this year and sub 2 in a low key 800 early in summer. Expect him to come out next year

Think Richie had serious health issues not so long ago as far as I remember.

Living in New York where he has started a new job. Also has a girlfriend too. I think he has ran a few times this year but nothing high profile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Living in New York where he has started a new job. Also has a girlfriend too.

Are girlfriends a reason why people stop running? Interesting angle. Is that why the Brother Connell crew are so good. Maybe he has them living and training like priests, ie, no women distracting them. Then again, priests....maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭boost creep

william harty just packed the running in, a real pity though because he was a fantastic runner, set some very fast times even though he was still very young, he still holds the fastest time for a junior on the 'ballycotton 10 mile'.
    his brother philip is going well again, he recently joined the ranks of donore harriers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭boost creep

Philip Hart ain't burnt out,he ran 2.27/2.28 in Dublin marathon last year and made European team for hill running.

you're right there, philip ran 2.27.10 in dublin last year, and is far from burnt out, he has suffered with some injuries lately but is starting to go well again, he is enjoying his running again after a few years away from the sport.

thirtyfoot wrote: »
    Are girlfriends a reason why people stop running?

Yep, pretty much. Athletics is time and dedication as is having a girlfriend. Some people find it hard to juggle both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

What about Kevin Lawler. These two guys ran in the Euro juniors a number of years back. I know Cathal had injuries but no sign of either.

Hasn't disappeared completely but I think Ciaran O' Driscoll-Collins is a loss. Back around 05-07 he was regularly winning titles at juvenile, all-Ireland and junior. I think he won 3 junior titles in a row at one stage(outdoor and indoor). Ran 49.81 at 18. He was a great 400m sprinter and looked to have huge potential. Then college hit as did a new girlfriend and he didn't seem to be involved much. Did the odd race now and again but nothing phenomenal. Such a pity cos he could have reached greater times if he continued. He could do still great things in the sport if he gets involved again on a serious scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Ronan Keating- he ran for Dunshaughlin years ago- I'm surprised he never came to anything, he was very good. Wonder what he's doing now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

I always wondered what happened to Ann Loughnane, very promising walker of Craughwell A.C?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 deepthroat69

Des Earls was one that got away. that lad was UNREAL as a juvenile, winning everything left right and left again. terrible shame, he could've been a serious contender for the wicklow senior 1500m title.

Patrick Guidera- 43rd in brussels world xc juniors in 2001, our best placing in this past dozen years. went off to america on scholarship to providence but unfortunatly got swallowed up

Elizabeth McWilliams. was the mageean of her era, whipping every young cailín that dared toe the line with her. (no pun intended)

Whatever happenned to The Shadow? ......................anyone??

Thomas Keown- Wicklow lad, decent runner back in the 90s.

Trevor Sargent- won the senior boys race at the irish schools xc in 84, went on to spray paint the world green. Hes got my vote, pity i dont live in dublin though :(

also on political interests, brian cowen. apparently he ran 35:42 for a 5k back in the day. this is contested though, some say it was a 3k.

Patrick Guidera- 43rd in brussels world xc juniors in 2001, our best placing in this past dozen years. went off to america on scholarship to providence but unfortunatly got swallowed up

Funny enough remember seeing this race and remember him finishing about 10-15 places ahead of a skinny little Brit who i think it still running competitively these days?:D

World Junior XC results 2001

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Patrick was plagued with hip injury and had to pack it in, Great talent and a lovely guy.