Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorway cycle dangerous criminality

• 10-08-2011 12:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Check this out

If it was a DC fair enough - it's not, definately a motorway. Very dangerous cycling on in the hard shoulder. Can't believe they actually filmed it actually. Are they aware of the law regarding hs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

corktina wrote: »
    i dont think its a motorway...yellow signs on slip road on a motorway?

It is the M4. Even more bizarre - firstly a Garda is aiding them in breaking the law, secondly the English cyclist says "you would not see this in England" on a motorway.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

You can see a blue motorway sign at about 0:50 onwards. They seem to have a garda motorcycle escort at the start as well :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

It's the M4 as he says, you can see Celbridge at the bottom of the sign.

Garda bike parked in the driving lane to usher them on, 'safely'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

darkman2 wrote: »
    Check this out

If it was a DC fair enough - it's not, definately a motorway. Very dangerous cycling on in the hard shoulder.

Dangerous or illegal? Not sure how green vs blue signs make it more or less dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭SeanW

It seems the Guards were overseeing this! :eek: WTF? It looks like Junction 6 or 7 on the M4.
    Stark wrote: »
    Dangerous or illegal? Not sure how green vs blue signs make it more or less dangerous.
    1. It's called a MOTORway for a reason, car drivers will not expect to see a large number of (or any) cyclists on the route.
    2. The section has a 120kph speed limit, which most motorways do.
    3. Even on an HQDC with 100kph speed limit, cycling wider than single file is a questionable thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Looks like some sort of 'organised' event to me.
    The narrator tells us that "they've closed the lane for us" and that they have a "police escort".

I heard the name Tony Buckley mentioned, so I suspect it's a 'rugby' thing, and there's also mention of 'raising money'.

I'd interpret the 'not see this in England' to mean that you'd not get permission/police escort to do it in the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Looks like it was the Munster Rugby Cycle For Paul Darbyshire and Motor Neurone Research:
    http://www.munsterrugby.ie/club/8867.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Rovi wrote: »
    Looks like it was the Munster Rugby Cycle For Paul Darbyshire and Motor Neurone Research:
    http://www.munsterrugby.ie/club/8867.php
    was the plan then to have dead rugby players, whose healthy brains could be analysed as a reference point or something?

crazy stuff to be at.
    It just takes one inattentive muppet on their phone to swerve a few % to the left and the whole team will be knocked like skittles

If a garda CAR was there to protect their arse then that'd be somewhat better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

on a question on a different fourm on whether you are permitted in the UK to cycle on a (70mph) dual carraigeway - which legally it is, same as Ireland
    I used to do time trials on a dual carriageway which was ok until I had to get into the fast lane to go round a roundabout and back up the other side! There were quite a few near misses, but unfortunately a colleague was killed which put a stop to it.
    http://www.ukpoliceonline.co.uk/index.php?/topic/31288-cycling-on-a-dual-carriageway/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

darkman2 wrote: »
    It is the M4. Even more bizarre - firstly a Garda is aiding them in breaking the law, secondly the English cyclist says "you would not see this in England" on a motorway.:rolleyes:

I thought better of my post and deleted it, but not quickly enough...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭weehamster

Who every allowed slow cycling on a 120kph Motorway regardless if the Garda were there, needs their head examined. It was a reckless decision. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Holy cow when I seen the thread title I thought someone seen the regular cyclists on the M8.

I got a shock when I see them all going down the slip road but when I seen the Garda on the bike in the driving lane....:eek::eek:

I drove in the UK and continent for a few years, if that happened they would be locked up..:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

There's cyclists on the M8 constantly. An unmarked Mondeo squad car passed two cyclists on Tuesday morning and did nothing ahead of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

There's cyclists on the M8 constantly. An unmarked Mondeo squad car passed two cyclists on Tuesday morning and did nothing ahead of me.

I am sick of ringing Glanmire Garda Station about them. I think we should log each time one of us calls the Gardaí, and then, after the twentieth attempt, we should all co-sign a letter and send it in to a newspaper and to the RSA. One of them will get killed some day if they are allowed to continue cycling on the motorway.

Tremelo wrote: »
    I am sick of ringing Glanmire Garda Station about them. I think we should log each time one of us calls the Gardaí there and then, after the twentieth attempt, we should all co-sign a letter and send it in to a newspaper and to the RSA. One of them will get killed some day if they are allowed to continue cycling on the motorway.

I'm seeing them constantly between Dunkettle and Watergrasshill. I have no idea whether it's the same 2 or 3 cyclists but I'm constantly seeing them.

Me too. Constantly. I think there are at least three different guys, all wearing cycling sportswear. Occasionally, I see a scruffy chap on a clapped out push bike.

Is that a motorway now? I thought it was a DC with 120kph limit, like the Ballincollig bypass.

EDIT: Never mind, was getting confused between M8 and N25 for some reason. I'm tired.

Is that a motorway now? I thought it was a DC with 120kph limit, like the Ballincollig bypass.

according to google maps, the M8 starts just south of Watergrasshill. The section down to the tunnel roundabout past Glanmire is shown as N8. Looks like you'll have to leave those poor cyclists alone Lads,and stop annoying the gards with phone calls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

according to google maps, the M8 starts just south of Watergrasshill. The section down to the tunnel roundabout past Glanmire is shown as N8. Looks like you'll have to leave those poor cyclists alone Lads,and stop annoying the gards with phone calls!

The blue signs are at the roundabout indicating the start of the M8. In any case they shouldnt be on a DC that has a speed limit of 120 KPH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

OSI has it as motorway
    http://maps.osi.ie/publicviewer/#V1,575981,586044,3,10

you'd assume they were right over google Id say.

It used to, they extended it a while back, now it ends just before the Dunkettle interchange.

As regard the OP, while I agree that cycling on a motorway is not to be condoned, a charity cycle on the hard shoulder with a Garda escort forming a rolling road closure on the driving lane is a completely different kettle of fish.

100% it is a motorway.

It becomes motorway 400m from the Dunkettle Roundabout. This little quirk is to facilitate local traffic coming onto the N8 from the Ibis Hotel sliproad.

So technically, that OSI is actually wrong as it has that sliproad as being motorway.

you'd assume they were right over google Id say.

You'd be very wrong to trust Google in this case. Anyone who has driven the Glanmire and Watergrasshill bypasses since September 2009 *must* know that it is a motorway, or they don't have a clue of the rules of the road.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Cyclists who take it upon them self to use the motorway is one thing but it's crazy getting upset about a charity cycle on the hard shoulder with a Gardai escort using the inner driving lane as a buffer.
    weehamster wrote: »
    Who every allowed slow cycling on a 120kph Motorway regardless if the Garda were there, needs their head examined. It was a reckless decision. :cool:
    Alun wrote: »
    You can see a blue motorway sign at about 0:50 onwards. They seem to have a garda motorcycle escort at the start as well :eek:
    SeanW wrote: »
    It seems the Guards were overseeing this! :eek: WTF? It looks like Junction 6 or 7 on the M4.

I'm reasonably sure that the Gardai are and were able to slow traffic and move traffic into the outside traffic lane safely enough.

A barrier of a whole lane between the cyclists and (slowed) motorists makes its safer than most other larger roads.

Stark wrote: »
    SeanW wrote: »
    1. It's called a MOTORway for a reason, car drivers will not expect to see a large number of (or any) cyclists on the route.
    2. The section has a 120kph speed limit, which most motorways do.
    3. Even on an HQDC with 100kph speed limit, cycling wider than single file is a questionable thing to do.

Thus why Gardai were there warning and slowing down motorists and using the inside barrier as a buffer.

monument wrote: »
    Cyclists who take it upon them self to use the motorway is one thing but it's crazy getting upset about a charity cycle on the hard shoulder with a Gardai escort using the inner driving lane as a buffer.

I'm reasonably sure that the Gardai are and were able to slow traffic and move traffic into the outside traffic lane safely enough.

A barrier of a whole lane between the cyclists and (slowed) motorists makes its safer than most other larger roads.

Thus why Gardai were there warning and slowing down motorists and using the inside barrier as a buffer.

If anything I find it crazier that the Gardai thought it was a good idea to let the cycle go on the motorway. Cyclists have no business on a motorway, end of.

For their to be a motorway, there must be an alternative route. Are the Gardai that stupid not to realise that the cyclists should have take this alternative route ?

If anything I find it crazier that the Gardai thought it was a good idea to let the cycle go on the motorway. Cyclists have no business on a motorway, end of.

For their to be a motorway, there must be an alternative route. Are the Gardai that stupid not to realise that the cyclists should have take this alternative route ?

And what if this alternate route was a narrow, twisting country road with poor sight lines, Do you really think it would be safer for a large group of cyclists to be on that road, as oppossed to a straight road with wide hard shoulder and excellent visibility.

If there is any motorist who cannot see a large group of cyclists, on a straight road, in broad dayligt, complete with garda escort replete with flashing blue lights, it is they who should not be on the road.

And what if this alternate route was a narrow, twisting country road with poor sight lines, Do you really think it would be safer for a large group of cyclists to be on that road, as oppossed to a straight road with wide hard shoulder and excellent visibility.

If there is any motorist who cannot see a large group of cyclists, on a straight road, in broad dayligt, complete with garda escort replete with flashing blue lights, it is they who should not be on the road.

The R148 which is the alternative route is not a twisting country road and for the most part, has a hard shoulder to cycle in.

If it was me, I would have preffered that route, but I don't see why everyone is getting their knickers in a twist about this.

Some things are dangerous, but not illegal.

Some things are illegal, but not dangerous.

I believe this fits more in the latter category. In fact the presence of a Garda escort may mean it's not even illegal.

Are the Gardai that stupid not to realise that the cyclists should have take this alternative route ?

Probably. Fermoy Gardaí last year allowed an enormous, slow-moving combine harvester to use the M8 unescorted. It almost caused a fatal accident on the viaduct.

Enough said.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Comping this to your normal law breaking cycling on a motorway is much like comparing somebody running in the middle of the road to a organised race, or boy racers pelting along to an organised race.

While I think the Gardai are good in general, from some experience both personal and otherwise, they sometimes seem overly concerned with "keeping traffic flowing".

Doing a rolling closing off one lane of the motorway could be easer, quicker, less disruptive and could be safer than closing off at least Kilcock, Maynooth, and Leixlip and using the sections of the roads between them. Is hard shoulder on the R148 even suited to a large group of cyclists? Had a quick look on street view and parts of it look a mess. In any case, I don't buy that what is show in the video was "dangerous criminality."

Quite a difference between unescorted and not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭yllw.ldbttr

I drive the M8 6 or 7 days a week from north Cork into the city, I see cyclists on that road pretty much every time I drive, they have zero regard for the law. I've even seen a cyclist ride past a garda speed trap, and since the coppers were parked on the hard shoulder the cyclist had to move into the left traffic lane to pass them... cops didn't even stop the guy. I regularly see tractors on this stretch of motorway as well. Someone will be killed, it's only a matter of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭marmurr1916

I've even seen a cyclist ride past a garda speed trap, and since the coppers were parked on the hard shoulder the cyclist had to move into the left traffic lane to pass them... cops didn't even stop the guy.

Do you still remember the rough time and the exact date this happened? If you do, you can make a complaint to the Garda Complaints Board that the Gardaí in the patrol car failed to uphold their duty by failing to stop the cyclist and remove him from the motorway.
    Who can complain?
    If you are directly affected by the conduct of a member of the Garda Síochána that you believe is misbehaviour you can complain to the Garda Ombudsman. You can also make a complaint if you are witness to such behaviour.

http://www.gardaombudsman.ie/gsoc-garda-ombudsman-complaints.htm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Cyclists really need to learn the rules of the road. Go to 5:30 mins....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

A sizeable portion of Irish cyclists are just like their car driving counterparts, they pick and choose what parts of the ROTR they wish to follow or ignore. Boards is pocmarked with threads about cyclists with delinquent cyclists practically boasting about how they break the law and get away with it.