Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you carry your licence?

• 10-08-2011 10:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

Just reading this thread here Link in legal discussion and I found myself asking why do people not always carry their licence? So How many of you guys always carry a licence when driving?

Do you carry your licence when driving? 189 votes

Always, without fail
    0% 0 votes
    Sometimes I forget
    87% 166 votes
    I never really give it a thought
    12% 23 votes

just the one car so the licence stays in the glove compartment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Always have it with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Always on me as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Carry it everywhere, leave it in my wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Bill G

Almost never have it with me. I have two cars, so can't put it in the car, and the number of times cars have been stolen or broken into, i would not carry in the car even if I only had one car.

Would carry it in my wallet if it was not so ridicuously too big.

Whatever happended to the credit card sized licences promised by the government??? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

The Irish licence is a joke,the sooner the better they introduce a credit card size licence the better.My licence is in my car but some days i drive the wife's car and forget to bring it with me,it would be handy to have one that fits in my wallet.
    I got asked for ID in a new york bar before and the bar man would not believe me that the piece of paper we use as driving licence was legit :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Never leave anything in my car cos all too often I need to travel to the father's house which is a very bad area and all too prone to break ins for anything not bolted down so to speak.

Too big for wallet and for the first couple of times I did bring, I sometimes left his house without it. I would much rather leave it in a locked box at home and produce at station if need be. Haven't needed to show it once (touches wood) as any checkpoints I've come to, I've never been stopped or questioned or breath tested. tax, insurance, nct and even parking permit is up to date :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

I always have it with me, after a while it became one of those things I don't leave the house without.

Wallet
    Licence
    Phone
    Car keys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

I still have my UK licence and carry the photocard part leaving the paper counterpart in my filing system.

If I had an Irish paper licence and carried it in my wallet it would be in rags by now, been through the wash a couple of times:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Keep it in car. slightly hidden under steering wheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Rumple Fugly

Usually carry it in my pocket if i remember, never in my wallet though because it would be destroyed in no time.
    Got stopped for speeding in the US when on holiday a few years ago, the cop couldnt believe his eyes when i produced this parchment as my drivers licence. Got away with it though, think i must of confused him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

never in my wallet though because it would be destroyed in no time.

?? I carry mine in my wallet, I don't see a problem.

I very, very seldom have to take it out. Last time would have been a month ago, when asked for photo ID to use a credit card while on holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

In the car in my super secret compartment. :)

I always have it on me but that's mainly because I have a UK credit card style license which I carry in my wallet, Its also handy to have for id the very odd time I'm asked.

When I had an Irish one I would have it in my own car, but would never bother bringing it when driving my parents or sisters cars, which I do fairly often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

It lives in my wallet so I always just ensure to bring my wallet with me when I'm getting in the car. It also helps to have money to, you know, buy stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Yup mine lives in my wallet also - though it does become a bit battered over time.

Please please please Mr/Mrs government person responsible whoever you are - introduce credit card style driving licenses!!!!

?? I carry mine in my wallet, I don't see a problem.

I very, very seldom have to take it out. Last time would have been a month ago, when asked for photo ID to use a credit card while on holidays.

Its slightly too big for my wallet and would end up all bent and frayed if i had to squeeze it in and out a few times.
    Would much prefer the more sturdy and portable credit card style licence they have basically everywhere else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Its slightly too big for my wallet and would end up all bent and frayed if i had to squeeze it in and out a few times.

I took the bold step of folding it so that it fits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

It stays in the car.

I'll carry it in my wallet when they give us the credit sized ones they promised us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

I cant find mine! :(
    I know its in the house somewhere which is why I hate applying for a replacement but I just cant find it!

I took the bold step of folding it so that it fits.
    Fair play to ya. I just dont want to wreck mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

I've mine folded in my wallet for the past 7 years and its in an ok condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

In my wallet.. It just fits in so no edges are protruding resulting in no damage.. always with me as my wallet never leaves my pocket!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

In the glove compartment. The difficulty arises if driving the wife's car.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

It's in my everyday car. I tend to forget it however when driving my other machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

Always carry mine in my wallet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

I had to use it as ID a few times so I lost it.
    Found it now and with a nice proof of age beard on me now so it stays in the wagon at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Keep it in the sunvisor in case im pulled by the 50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Lives in the sunvisor of my van. Rarely remember to take it out when I'm using my own car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

In 20 years of driving I've never been asked for my licence except for this year when I was asked for it twice in the space of a few weeks - I always carry it in the sun visor anyway.

Some might say that perhaps it's a clampdown to catch drivers out and get yet more money into Govt. coffers. I couldn't possibly comment. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

Always in the glove compartment. No reason to take it out as I no longer get asked for ID in Pubs. I always thought I would be happy about that but strangely no.. :(

As already said, a credit card style one would be much more practical. Then again I'd probably still keep it in the car! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Carry it everywhere, leave it in my wallet.

+1, same as myself
    Bill G wrote: »
    Would carry it in my wallet if it was not so ridicuously too big.

Bit of an exaggeration there! It's not exactly that big. A credit card style driving licence would be much better though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I carry mine in my wallet so it is always with me.

With resp. to credit card licences, the tender was offered about six months ago, so there is a process running. Iirc, the licences are for issue in 2012/3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Lost mine more then a month ago, the county council still haven't got round to replacing it over a month later........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭bittihuduga

i have the scanned copy of my license in the car. kept the original at home. i am sure copy of the original is enough when we are stopped by gardai. we can show the original at a local garda station later on if required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭bittihuduga

i have the scanned copy of my license in the car. kept the original at home. i am sure copy of the original is enough when we are stopped by gardai. we can show the original at a local garda station later on if required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

At the grand old age of 27 I still get asked for ID all the time so it lives in my wallet - fits in there better than my passport. Otherwise I'd keep it in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Bill G

BDJW wrote: »
    +1, same as myself

Bit of an exaggeration there! It's not exactly that big. A credit card style driving licence would be much better though

It is at least 6 times bigger than a credit card licence, so it's no exaggeration. Would you carry around a passport that was 6 times larger than normal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Bill G wrote: »
    It is at least 6 times bigger than a credit card licence, so it's no exaggeration. Would you carry around a passport that was 6 times larger than normal?

What kind of licence do you have?! :eek: It's slightly less than twice the size of a credit card when it is folded the way it should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i think we should all be tattoo'd with a mini bar code or number at birth that can be updated when new information/licenses need to be added and can be scanned by the authorities like the gardai when needs be. no atm cards or pin numbers

and 6 times bigger? are you carrying around the a4 sized application forms for the license maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Always have it in my purse although it doesnt quite fit. Have had to replace it 4 times over the last 10 years as the crease is on the picture and it comes away from the paper backing. Would love to get a credit card sized one as I look about 15 so need to carry around ID and would feel a bit silly getting a Garda ID card cos they is just for kids:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

I really don't see why anyone wouldn't carry their driving licence with them when going in the car... what the feckin point of even having the damn thing if you're not going to have it with you when you're driving?

I would NEVER leave my driving licence in the car, ever. Or my insuramce cert as some people do. If the car was stolen or broken into there's too much potential for people to have your name, address etc, essentialy your identity, to do what they like with.
    I have had a few cars broken into and one stolen so i'm quite wary of such things. My father also had the credit card we used in our business stolen out of a car along with some other stuff and it was fraudulantly used to buy all sorts of things like hotel rooms, a concert tickets, a TV and various other things, when previously it had only ever been used to buy office supplies, fuel, business expenses and other automotive related items.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

^ Yeh but i know more people who have lost/had stolen their wallet/purse than those who have had their car broken into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

It lives in my wallet so it's with me all the time.

Only time I forgot it was 3 years ago when I changed wallet. Then went to Spain and realised I'd no license with me....when I got to the car hire desk :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

There's no 'NO' option in the poll which is what I would have selected.

I don't carry it with me because I sometimes change cars quite frequently so the possibility of loosing it is quite high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

crosstownk wrote: »
    There's no 'NO' option in the poll which is what I would have selected.

I don't carry it with me because I sometimes change cars quite frequently so the possibility of loosing it is quite high.
    I didn't think that anybody would make a conscious choice not to carry it so I didn't think a "NO" would be needed. I suppose it takes all kinds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Always have it in my car but sometimes find myself driving other cars and in that case i pretty much always forget to bring it. :o Too big and awkward to fit in wallet too. Credit card size would be perfect:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Crackle

I take it everywhere I go as it's the only form of ID I have (aside from my passport of course).

Like everyone else here, I would be thrilled if a credit card style license was introduced. I know there are fare bigger issues in the country to be dealt with, but it would be a good idea nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭booth70

Why is it when a country like India with its zillion or so people has credit card type driving licences that Ireland with it's population of 4 million can't?!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

It's kept in my glove compartment. Take it out once in a while such as to collect a parcel at the post office, then it goes straight back in.