Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

payment for stalking

• 08-08-2011 7:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭

farmer offered to pay me to cull some deer for him
    told him id be delighted to do it for nothing
    i was just wondering do any of you guys
    get paid for shooting deer
    sorry if this is a stupid question

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Don't get paid myself. I'm happy to get the permissions and my fox control and occassional day helping them during the off season keeps them happy.

He must be plagued with Deer. Fair play to you for not taking the payment. I'm not saying anything about anyone one who does get paid more power to ya, but if its doing the land owner a favour and you're getting deer out of it i'd say thats a happy medium between the two.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

badshot wrote: »

Well I am happy that I got plenty of Dinners and even once got his son to drive down the fields to collect a pricket and me so i did not have to drag him a mile back to the wagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

not only do i not get paid for it but i would drive the length of the country for a good stalk..:D

i do find that most farmers are only to happy to have you shooting their land for them.

its nice to get a big salute and a big how did you get on today any luck. thats usually payment enough.;)

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    not only do i not get paid for it but i would drive the length of the country for a good stalk..:D

i do find that most farmers are only to happy to have you shooting their land for them.

its nice to get a big salute and a big how did you get on today any luck. thats usually payment enough.;)

You saw the craic i have with some of my permissions ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭zlezlius

I've been shooting for a while now, mad to get into deer stalking lately. Unfortunately not many deer around my area, so hard to get permission.Wouldn't mind travelling, but still don't know any farmers away. I would offer farmer some money just to get the permission to be honest with you, rather than getting paid...What I'm trying to say hare man, you are so lucky to be in the position you are:)

• Site Banned Posts: 179 ✭✭JasonBourne

A farmer offering to pay you money to shoot deer is like having a super model ask to pay you for sex!! you couldnt accept it, the BRAGGING right are much more important....! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Lot of farmers around me are revoking all permissions and putting their lands to tender, so the idea of being paid to stalk is just incredible to me. I'll second the supermodel shagging offer comparison above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

A farmer offering to pay you money to shoot deer is like having a super model ask to pay you for sex!! you couldnt accept it, the BRAGGING right are much more important....! :D

I'd be happy if only one of those things happened to me :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Don't shoot deer, but get the odd few quid for knocking over red lads. Which doesn't get refused as it helps offset costs.

No shortage of lads shooting here, but very few are bothered about catering for specific problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

johngalway wrote: »
    Don't shoot deer, but get the odd few quid for knocking over red lads. Which doesn't get refused as it helps offset costs.

No shortage of lads shooting here, but very few are bothered about catering for specific problems.

Thats what puts you a cut above the rest mate....
    You know your stuff and get the job done..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Must have quare soft farmers in your neck of the woods.

• Site Banned Posts: 179 ✭✭JasonBourne

dwighet wrote: »
    Thats what puts you a cut above the rest mate....
    You know your stuff and get the job done..;)

huh?? the thread is about shooting deer and getting paid for it. what you on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Declined a bit of cash tonight for shooting a few stray dogs that had taken up residence on a neighbours farm and were starting to chase his calves...
    I often try for a few phezzies and ducks on his land so the way I looked at it I was just returning a favour

I gave my permission a tow today, he has combining and needed the header drawn from one end of the field to the combine.

Then I gave him 5 Muffins for his wife and family and shot a few birds for him.

It's an Honest ta god Country barter system :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭yukon

Loki you in mi case is the other way around ; i have to pay 250 e every year for my permission letter . still happy ,last season i shot 17 deer out there.

yukon wrote: »
    Loki you in mi case is the other way around ; i have to pay 250 e every year for my permission letter . still happy ,last season i shot 17 deer out there.

Thats cheap;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

yukon wrote: »

i never paid for deer permissions before and i have shot plenty. all i do is rotate threw all the permissions so as not to over do one area.
    when i find a new area that looks good i ask for permission that way my stalking is constantly evolving.

this year is the first year i have joint a coilte let and i am hoping it is worth the money otherwise i wont be back on it next year.

before anyone says anything by worth it i mean i am looking for new challenging stalking to complement my existing stalking.

i never paid for deer permissions before and i have shot plenty. all i do is rotate threw all the permissions so as not to over do one area.
    when i find a new area that looks good i ask for permission that way my stalking is constantly evolving.

this year is the first year i have joint a coilte let and i am hoping it is worth the money otherwise i wont be back on it next year.

before anyone says anything by worth it i mean i am looking for new challenging stalking to complement my existing stalking.

Dont give up on it in the first year mate....
    That shoot your in isnt like popping fallow out of paddy farmers field...
    Its hard work but very rewarding..Woodland stalking...Cant beat it..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I hope things never go the same for you as they're going up here. Farmers are revoking all previous permissions and letting their lands go to tender for the sporting rights. Signs are going up everywhere. Might be the last year to get good free stalking for me, so may have to take a let next year. However, if you're talking about Dwighet's let outside Killarney, I wouldn't worry. I don't think you'll ever get bored of stalking it. Like the man himself says, it'll take you a long time just to learn it.

Dont give up on it in the first year mate....
    That shoot your in isnt like popping fallow out of paddy farmers field...
    Its hard work but very rewarding..Woodland stalking...Cant beat it..;)

Paddy the farmer can have woodland too you know.

I have several areas of conifer and broadleaf woodland stalking belonging to farmers.

I'm sure Paulo may have too.
    I am asked to shoot bucks because of the damage they do to young trees which causes the tree to fork and become useless for logging

Although the farmer calls them Stags ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

I have several areas of conifer and broadleaf woodland stalking belonging to farmers.

I am asked to shoot bucks because of the damage they do to young trees which causes the tree to fork and become useless for logging

Your on the ball Tack ...Lots of the very best of free stalking out there ,all it takes is a bit of good will with the farmers.

Im sure Paolo does aswell...
    And thanks for educating me on the damage deer can do...I never knew that.I thought they ate steak dinners like myself and then put there dishes in the dish washer,watched a bit of tv then off to bed.:DI must of been asleep when I did that Hcap thing...:p

Youll see what I mean when you come out to Kerry;)

Still love ya Tac:P

Im sure Paolo does aswell...
    And thanks for educating me on the damage deer can do...I never knew that.I thought they ate steak dinners like myself and then put there dishes in the dish washer,watched a bit of tv then off to bed.:DI must of been asleep when I did that Hcap thing...:p

Youll see what I mean when you come out to Kerry;)

Still love ya Tac:P

steak dinners indeed, not to worry D. I will be stalking with Paulo in Kerry this year and Tipp and Paulo will be stalking with me in the midlands.

I have the week off work. I never did the HCAP, but I am sure I'll muddle through.

I treked many mountain ranges in Eire with 40kg on my back, I'm sure kerry will be challenging, but not over the top.

steak dinners indeed, not to worry D. I will be stalking with Paulo in Kerry this year and Tipp and Paulo will be stalking with me in the midlands.

I have the week off work. I never did the HCAP, but I am sure I'll muddle through.

I treked many mountain ranges in Eire with 40kg on my back, I'm sure kerry will be challenging, but not over the top.

All in good fun;)