Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most improved golfer 2011

• 08-08-2011 8:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭

Anyone got a link to the standings for the most improved golfer 2011 or know where I can get them? Been looking at the Irish independent website and having no joy ..cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭wilfitz

Think it does be in wednesdays paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/wanted-most-improved-golfers-2164577.html

You can check out the top 10 across all four handicap categories only in the 'Tee To Green' column in the Wednesday edition of the Irish Independent. The key to entry is via your new GUI membership card, jointly sponsored by the Irish Independent and Chartis Insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Tobes

Does anybody know if the Top 10 in each category go forward for the playoff or is it just the top player from each category?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

Tobes wrote: »
    Does anybody know if the Top 10 in each category go forward for the playoff or is it just the top player from each category?

Just the top player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Just the top player.

Nope. From golfnet's terms and conditions ...

"The top 10 most improved players in each Handicap Category from 1st April 2010 to 5th September 2011, inclusive, will qualify to attend a National Final at Carton House on Thursday 29th September 2011, followed by a gala dinner."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Any sign of you on the list Myksyk?

Don't really understand how it works, from just looking at the list in the article, I've dropped more shots than most people called out in Cat 2/3 and according to GolfNET I am entered into it.

Would have thought you have dropped even more?

Ah - just read it.

Every club in Ireland is in the process of distributing the latest membership cards to their golfers, and using this card, you can register on the GUI website for the 'Amateur Golfer of the Year' competition. Already, almost 3,000 golfers have registered, and this week we present our first weekly and year-to-date list of most-improved golfers.

Number 8, cat 2 jabberwocky! Hope to move up with yesterday's cut.

Good stuff - you'll definitely make some ground after your last round. So you just need to check the Indo every Weds for the latest list yeah?

Still eight in cat 2 this week and that's with a 0.6 cut since last Weds. Not so sure now that I'll hang on for the next two weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Had quick flick through paper today, remember seeing one guy who was down something like 10 shots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

How many shots would get you into Cat3 could anyone tell me. One of they lads I play with had a really good year I was wondering of he had a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

Top spot in category 3 is down 10
    Bottom spot is down 6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 dublin_luca

any chance someone could post the full lists of the different categories ? interested in seeing what the top 10s are looking like

Category1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 dublin_luca

thanks myksyk .. so people have made huge leaps this year

Some massive changes there in handicaps since start of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭J6P

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/warrenpoint-target-treble-2861959.html

TODAY we can announce the names of the elite golfers who have qualified for the final of the 2011 GUI-Irish Independent 'Most Improved Golfer' competition.

Since April, we have been monitoring the handicaps of the thousands of golfers who entered this unique challenge to their skill and persistence.
    The Central Database of Handicaps doesn't lie.

If you play well in club competition you get cut and that's the standard that truly reveals the quality of an amateur golfer.
    ................................................................................................................

Anyone able to post a pic of the final results from cat 1?

Got from 5.5 down to 2.6 myself but didnt qualify because i started in category 2. Think i would have made it if i had started the year at 5.4.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

J6P wrote: »

TODAY we can announce the names of the elite golfers who have qualified for the final of the 2011 GUI-Irish Independent 'Most Improved Golfer' competition.

Anyone able to post a pic of the final results from cat 1?

Think they're premature, the terms and conditions of the competition states:

"3: Competitors shall enter on the GOLFnet web site. The deadline for entries shall be 31st July 2011. The Most Improved Golfer will run from 1st April 2010 to 5th September 2011, inclusive."

There's still another week to go before the final 40 are decided. Besides away records in Golfnet for August won't be processed by handicap secretaries until tomorrow or Fri.

Would appreciate also if someone could post the 40 names in today's paper since the online section doesn't bother for some reason. In contention for category 4 although waiting on a number of away records to be processed which will have a big bearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Kid Charlemagne

thats weird because according to their own conditions as stated on the indo panel giving the weekly update, the qualification runs til 05 09 11.

Can anyone clarify why its been ended a week earlier than planned or is that a mistake in the indo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Kid Charlemagne

beat me to it Dr C.
    yeah im in the heel of the hunt myself for this - was plannin an assault this weekend coming to try to squeeze into one of the lower spots...

couldnt find the t's n c's myself - dya have a link?

beat me to it Dr C.
    yeah im in the heel of the hunt myself for this - was plannin an assault this weekend coming to try to squeeze into one of the lower spots...

couldnt find the t's n c's myself - dya have a link?

http://golfnet.ie/member/compterms.asp
    The 5th Sept is mentioned twice in the conditions and makes sense since it gives people a chance to process away records for Aug etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

fairplay to yer man who dropped 13.5 shots from 19 - 5.5. That's some decrease

There was a guy from cobh in cat 1 who seemed to be leading the list but didn't appear any place on yesterday's list, wonder what happened there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭pinseeker

big_drive wrote: »
    There was a guy from cobh in cat 1 who seemed to be leading the list but didn't appear any place on yesterday's list, wonder what happened there.

Ya big drive,only heard from a buddy that ive vanished off the planet ha.Not sure should i contact any1 or just take it as an error.
    Last year when top for any 1 of the weeks you got gift,yet been top for about 3 or 4 at least and nothing recieved.
    Im worried now ha,maybe you cant be in it each year or something:confused:

I'm in as things stand so hoping that things stay as is!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 jamesbolger

Hi pinseeker,
    I was in second position for a good few weeks and then all of a sudden i was not in the paper. I checked my golfnet and my handicap was appearing as if i had no cuts this year, which is why i was not in the paper. Rang my club and they had issues with the system on there side where all the data for the year was lost. they rectified the situation a few days later and on the following week i was back on the paper in second position. As is am in fourth position in Cat 3 so looks good i think. Carton house bring it On.

Just checked today's paper and don't see any mention of the Most Improved Player. Anyone know what's going on?

Results were to be published based on golfnet handicaps deductions from 01/Apr/11 to 05/Sep/11 inclusive with the top 10 in each category going through to the final in Carlton House on 29/Sep/11.

Last week my golfnet handicap was showing as 16.8 since a number of away competitions for Aug hadn't been processed and I didn't make it into the Cat 4 top 10. Now following month end and the away competitions having been processed my golfnet handicap is showing as 13.8 which should be sufficient for a top 10 finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Tockman

Link to Finalists here.
    Looks like they finished a week early!
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/finalists-prepare-for-big-day-2868600.html

Tockman wrote: »
    Link to Finalists here.
    Looks like they finished a week early!

Thanks Tockman, no that looks like the correct list based on the golfnet handicaps as of 5th Sep. I'm on the Cat4 list anyway which I wasn't in last week's premature newspaper article.
    Couldn't see the results in the sports section of paper itself today with the breakdown of the handicap adjustments which had me worried. Will go through it again in case I missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Avant Garde

Dr Collussus there's no breakdown of the handicaps in today's paper, just a list of qualifiers on page 66.

Qualified from Category 4 myself, can't wait! Was away for most of August but just managed to hang in there!

Managed to stay in the Cat2 list. Got contacted today by the GUI with the details etc. Categories 1&2 tee off in threes between 11.40 and 12.20 as I recall. Clinic with Neil Manchip around 4pm ish. Sit down dinner at 7.00. Practice rounds €50 on the Montgomerie. Nice one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

Managed to stay in the Cat2 list. Got contacted today by the GUI with the details etc. Categories 1&2 tee off in threes between 11.40 and 12.20 as I recall. Clinic with Neil Manchip around 4pm ish. Sit down dinner at 7.00. Practice rounds €50 on the Montgomerie. Nice one!

What tees will ye being playing off? Blues would be very tough

peepee wrote: »
    What tees will ye being playing off? Blues would be very tough

She said whites.

Did you get letter or call myksyk?
    Think i got call last year to confirm i would be available,then letter with time sheet and who your playing with.
    The clinic was on before you played.Was pointless waste of half hour or so really.
    Thing ran savage late last year due to long round,dont think we sat down till well after 8.They commented on fact pace of play would have to be addressed for following year.

It was played off the whites last year so guess same again.
    Was lucky enough to win cat2 last year so maybe you can take it this year myksyk.
    Gonna be lowest player this year.Me nerves ha

pinseeker wrote: »
    Did you get letter or call myksyk?
    Think i got call last year to confirm i would be available,then letter with time sheet and who your playing with.
    The clinic was on before you played.Was pointless waste of half hour or so really.
    Thing ran savage late last year due to long round,dont think we sat down till well after 8.They commented on fact pace of play would have to be addressed for following year.

Was lucky enough to win cat2 last year so maybe you can take it this year myksyk.
    Gonna be lowest player this year.Me nerves ha

A phonecall Pinseeker. Now, i did make the initial contact but she said she was in the process of contacting clubs for peoples phone numbers and she did ring me back in the afternoon with more information. I thought myself that the time she gave for the clinic would be really pushing it for time.

Need to sort out some significant creases in the game before then if I'm to win anything!

Setting up for a nice weekend of golf if I can talk my better half around. Our club's annual weekend away starts the following day with a round in Adare Manor on the way down to Killarney to play O'Mahoney's Point and Killeen on Saturday and Sunday.

Good luck with it Pinseeker. Doesn't seem like there are too many creases in your game to iron out at the moment.

Now that is nice run of courses to be playing Myksyk.
    Always few creases to be ironed out in the game.Never will we master the fecker.

Good luck to yourself Myksyk.

Now that is nice run of courses to be playing Myksyk.
    Always few creases to be ironed out in the game.Never will we master the fecker.

Good luck to yourself Myksyk.

Cheers. Might see you there.

Dr Collussus there's no breakdown of the handicaps in today's paper, just a list of qualifiers on page 66.

That's crap, any idea why not? It was really easy to follow in previous weeks and see where you stood. Was hoping to have the table with the breakdown of the handicap moves just as a memento.

It really looks like the Indo really messed up with last weeks premature article and are trying to not raise the issue by slipping in the results this week unnoticed. There are 11 qualifiers in categories 1,2 and 4 with 12 in category 3. That to me looks like they had to include everyone they mentioned last week along with the additions this week.
    Myksyk wrote: »

They're segregating the different categories? Bit unfair on the rest of us higher handicap golfers. As a category 4 player was hoping I'd get paired with a category 1 player and see how the game is really played.
    Practice rounds at €50 don't sound too enticing either.

That's a pity to hear the clinic wasn't very valuable. Was hoping it would be sort of a brief golf lesson and then pointers regarding the short game. At least where you'd learn something and have something to work on for the following weeks.
    Well done last year on the win, what were the prizes like and was there much different places.

Practice rounds at €50 don't sound too enticing

Yeah, my 'nice one' comment did not apply to that practice rate. Fairly pathetic given that another thread on here talks about the Montgomerie fees at €55. five euro deduction? Hello!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Avant Garde

Practice rounds at €50 don't sound too enticing either.

God bless student discounts, only €37.50 for me! Personally I'm kinda glad us Category 4 players will be playing with each other, its disheartening playing with a single digit handicapper when I'm hacking around and making silly mistakes!

Out of interest Myksyk, what number did you call when you made the initial contact? Haven't heard anything from them yet.

God bless student discounts, only €37.50 for me! Personally I'm kinda glad us Category 4 players will be playing with each other, its disheartening playing with a single digit handicapper when I'm hacking around and making silly mistakes!

Out of interest Myksyk, what number did you call when you made the initial contact? Haven't heard anything from them yet.

Just the contact number on the GUI website. Ask for Laura. .

They will ring lads so dont panic ha,you then get letter which will let you know time your out at and who with.Will give time of clinic also and details about allowing caddie and black tie and so on.
    Like you Dr Colossus i was hoping clinic would involve few min each with manchip,maybe give few tips and pointers on something you were struggling with.
    Il tell you exactly how pointless it was.
    You went in sat down and each introduced yourself and handicap run down.
    Then had the pleasure of watching Manchip hit few drives whilst telling us it was case of oh im just gonna hit it,could go left,right,fat,thin but dont worry about outcome.
    Proceeded to do same with mid iron and wedge.Few chips then from grass infront of bay.
    That was it.Didn't see the point in watching guy hit shots acting as if free your mind all will be well ha.

Each cat played with there own.cat 4 out first and so on down the line.
    There was overall prize and then prize for top 3 in your cat.Dublin crystal plate as prize.Size depending on first,second or third.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 theputter

Well done to everyone who qualified :)

I also qualified out of category 4, although, as of yet, I've not been contacted by my club or the gui. Hopefully at some stage over this weekend.

I shouldn't be disappointed but I figured those who qualified may get a reduced rate of green fees i.e. members guest rate, which I think is €35 (it is for the O'Meara course).

A friend of a friend knows somebody who is a member there so if it's a case that I can get a tee-time and it's circa €35 then I could probably offer a couple of spaces to anyone who has qualified and is interested in a "practice round" the same day as me, which would likely be the week after next (week commencing 19th sept).

I can't guarantee a booking from this contact but I'll do my bloody best :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Tobes

Hi folks. Does anyone know what the improvements were for Cat 3. have been there or there abouts all year. I'm down 6.6 so thought I'd be close. Congrats to everyone who qualified! :cool:

If your names not down you're not getting in :D

Has anyone received their information pack/letter from the GUI?

theputter wrote: »
    Has anyone received their information pack/letter from the GUI?

No nothing yet but only got the call from the GUI last Fri and the person on the phone said it would probably take a week or more to send out the letters as they were still trying to arrange numbers and accommodation deals with Carton House.
    They already had a number of cancellation and people not able to attend due to work commitments which begs the question why isn't this being held on the weekend to give players the best chance of attending.

No nothing yet but only got the call from the GUI last Fri and the person on the phone said it would probably take a week or more to send out the letters as they were still trying to arrange numbers and accommodation deals with Carton House.
    They already had a number of cancellation and people not able to attend due to work commitments which begs the question why isn't this being held on the weekend to give players the best chance of attending.

Cheers

If you look at photos posted you'll see that 6.1 drop in cat 3 was in top 10 two weeks before comp closed so u must have been close.