Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is my obsession normal?

• 07-08-2011 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭

Hello, everyone!

I'm an American born, Brazilian raised student currently living in California. This is my last year in high school and I'll be applying to colleges here in America.

Now, what does it have to do with Ireland?

EVERYTHING, because I'm OBSESSED about Ireland!

This is how my obsession started:

During the 2002 World Cup, in elementary school, we were randomly assigned a country to make a drawing. I wanted the U.S., but my teacher gave me Ireland instead. I didn't know where or WHAT was Ireland at that time (remember, I was in elementary school!), so I just drew a guy with a soccer ball under his right foot wearing a green, white, and orange shirt. This is when I first got to know about Ireland.

As I grew older, I learned bit by bit about Ireland through TV shows (I fell in love with the red-haired protagonist from Foreign Exchange :P), music (The Cranberries and recently Ash, although the latter is Northern Irish), movies, and what my dad would tell me (he knows a s***load about history from EVERYWHERE, it's incredible). And the more I learned, the more fascinated and obsessed I became.

It came to the point that it influences my decision on where to apply for college and what to study, with my top choice being the University of Notre Dame, the only university in North America with a Irish Language & Literature department, and the only place where I can actually MINOR in Irish Language & Literature and Irish Studies.

I love Ireland. I don't know why.
    Maybe it's because of its red-haired women (I know, I know, there aren't just red-haired women in Ireland). Maybe it's because of its literature (I really enjoyed reading The wild night company: Irish stories fantasy and horror by Ray Bradbury, but stopped in the middle of Dubliners by Joyce 'cause it got really boring... and I also prefer novels over short stories collections). Maybe it's because of the image I have of Ireland, of an ideal place for me in the future for its people, culture, lifestyle, etc...

My plan is to graduate from Notre Dame, then move to Ireland (hopefully get a PhD from an Irish school), then get a job doing what I love (a.k.a. writing), then marry an Irish woman (*-*), then live there and be happy.

I know there will be difficulties and stuff (economy is not doing so well over there, yup, I read your newspapers :P), and I know my plan sounds naive, but this is what keeps me motivated to do my best now so I can be in Ireland in the future...

I love Ireland for no apparent reason; I just do. Is this craziness of mine too much? Should I be more careful before going on with my plan? Does anyone believe that things will be better 5, 6 years from now? And where should I start to learn more about Ireland (this forum, but where .-.?)?

Thank you for reading this biiig post!
    p.s.: if it's posted in the wrong area, please move it, mods

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

O' oooo... here we go again!
    Has our new Canadian friend got relatives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Your views intrigue me, Im sending $5 to subscribe to your newsletter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭crfcaio

^what?
    foreigners are not welcome over here? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I enjoy the effort put into this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

second one of these threads today...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

You may have falling in love with an image of a country and it's people which may not live up to your expectations but you wouldn't be the first and sure we all go through periods of loving other countrys and nationalitys,even if we haven't visted them so to answer you question yes ,it's pretty normal .

Unless your a troll ...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

crfcaio wrote: »

Oh... If you're looking for actual answers...

Just don't believe 90% of what'll be posted here! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭c-note

ehhh.. its not that great. seriously.
    but if you want to come so badly, your welcome:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I love foreigners.....as often as they will let me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

See these foreigners not only take our jobs and our wimmins, they plan it for years in advance.

anyone available to do the "legal,medical,financial,relationship" advice talk ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭crfcaio

^oh, I didn't know...
    I wrote it with the best intentions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Ireland is just a bunch of cynic's, stick around AH and you'll know what I mean bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

dbl post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

So the monkey inhales this misty stuff and managed to say the word "no"...he looked fairly pissed off too.

Moral of the story: Lock your fridge.

Oh... If you're looking for actual answers...

Just don't believe 90% of what'll be posted here! :P

pfft....90% ? its 96% these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

It's not that great here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

^oh, I didn't know...
    I wrote it with the best intentions...

Oh I know, just this a forum rarely gives serious answers, don't expect much! :P:)

are the executions of "left handed" people finished for the day ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

hang on Im just getting this in now, Ill be back after Ive read the rest

Saila wrote: »
    hang on Im just getting this in now, Ill be back after Ive read the rest

just leave your pet ostrich at the door..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

You're going to love it, this is a must visit:
    http://www.aidenoreilly.com/img/ballymun.jpg

Hello, everyone!

I'm an American born, Brazilian raised student currently living in California. This is my last year in high school and I'll be applying to colleges here in America.

Now, what does it have to do with Ireland?

EVERYTHING, because I'm OBSESSED about Ireland!

This is how my obsession started:

During the 2002 World Cup, in elementary school, we were randomly assigned a country to make a drawing. I wanted the U.S., but my teacher gave me Ireland instead. I didn't know where or WHAT was Ireland at that time (remember, I was in elementary school!), so I just drew a guy with a soccer ball under his right foot wearing a green, white, and orange shirt. This is when I first got to know about Ireland.

As I grew older, I learned bit by bit about Ireland through TV shows (I fell in love with the red-haired protagonist from Foreign Exchange :P), music (The Cranberries and recently Ash, although the latter is Northern Irish), movies, and what my dad would tell me (he knows a s***load about history from EVERYWHERE, it's incredible). And the more I learned, the more fascinated and obsessed I became.

It came to the point that it influences my decision on where to apply for college and what to study, with my top choice being the University of Notre Dame, the only university in North America with a Irish Language & Literature department, and the only place where I can actually MINOR in Irish Language & Literature and Irish Studies.

I love Ireland. I don't know why.
    Maybe it's because of its red-haired women (I know, I know, there aren't just red-haired women in Ireland). Maybe it's because of its literature (I really enjoyed reading The wild night company: Irish stories fantasy and horror by Ray Bradbury, but stopped in the middle of Dubliners by Joyce 'cause it got really boring... and I also prefer novels over short stories collections). Maybe it's because of the image I have of Ireland, of an ideal place for me in the future for its people, culture, lifestyle, etc...

My plan is to graduate from Notre Dame, then move to Ireland (hopefully get a PhD from an Irish school), then get a job doing what I love (a.k.a. writing), then marry an Irish woman (*-*), then live there and be happy.

I know there will be difficulties and stuff (economy is not doing so well over there, yup, I read your newspapers :P), and I know my plan sounds naive, but this is what keeps me motivated to do my best now so I can be in Ireland in the future...

I love Ireland for no apparent reason; I just do. Is this craziness of mine too much? Should I be more careful before going on with my plan? Does anyone believe that things will be better 5, 6 years from now? And where should I start to learn more about Ireland (this forum, but where .-.?)?

Thank you for reading this biiig post!

would you be interested in running as a presidential candidate..? you got all the right qualities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

OP:

The economy's kind of in two halves at the moment. The IT sector, pharma, biopharma, high-tech companies, the food industry and most of the "productive economy" is doing better than it is in most of Europe and even the US.

The large scale unemployment problem is largely confined to the construction sector and support services like civil/structural engineering, architecture, law, banking etc. There is also a problem with anything that is directly state-funded, and that includes universities as the state is a tad financially embarrassed due to a combination having to bale out the banks and having based some of its more lavish public expenditure on windfall taxes on the housing bubble.

The only thing I would have concerns about is that Irish-language / culture / heritage related courses will tend to be ones that are very dependent or entirely dependent on state funding. As such, doing a PhD over here might not necessarily lead to a teaching job in the short/medium term anyway.

Check out the kinds of skills that are in demand here and perhaps aim towards those. There are plenty of serious job prospects here and the economy is actually pretty good, if you are not dependent on state funding or construction industry related things.

BEASTERLY wrote: »

Pfft, not as bad as Wexford, anyway. At least they have swings in Ballymun.

mattjack wrote: »
    just leave your pet ostrich at the door..?

no the bears will eat her :(

Few questions to ask:

Are you female?

If so, how old are you?

If you are old enough, are you hot?

And if you're hot, will you ride me?

One of these days it'll work ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

would you be interested in running as a presidential candidate..? you got all the right qualities

We don't need a dreamer, we need Mary. ( new Mary not old Mary )

A few hail mary's wouldn't go amiss either

your country is fooked right about..................................now
    so it wont be much worse here than when the **** hits the fan over there :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

you want to move to Ireland with the state the country's in?

<insert facepalm>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Few questions to ask:

Are you female?

If so, how old are you?

If you are old enough, are you hot?

And if you're hot, will you ride me?

One of these days it'll work ...

Now THATS an example of extreme optimism kiddies! :D
    Off ye go, class is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 passion

Maybe take a few trips here and see it for yourself before making any big decisions:) I love my Ireland and wouldn't move no matter how bad it got, but it has changed over the years and it mite not be the same as you've read about. A trip or five while on hol's mite do you the world of good in your decision making:) good luck tho:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

You live in California and want to move to Ireland???
    Disappointment awaits...........

Saila wrote: »
    your country is fooked right about..................................now
    so it wont be much worse here than when the **** hits the fan over there :p

I don't know if you've realised yet, but we're pretty dependant on the US. Most of our MNCs are American. If the American economy nosedives, so does ours.

Senna wrote: »

crushing disappointment

yeah thers no earthquakes, landslides or bear attacks here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

BEASTERLY wrote: »
    "Ders more ta Oireland dan dis"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

Have you now or at any stage in the last 12 months unsuccessfully applied for the Rose of Tralee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Top of the mornin' to ya my young american friend!

decisions wrote: »
    We don't need a dreamer, we need Mary. ( new Mary not old Mary )

A few hail mary's wouldn't go amiss either

Mary Byrne..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

Ah sure come on over now to be sure. Many a jobs be. A great bunch of lads. Awaits a thousand welcomes you. Sure know you what we're like, a great bunch of lads be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Wanna buy a house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Sounds like you should just marry Ireland if you love it so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭mark17j

been to all parts of California, spent months over there - give me Ireland anyday, never been as happy to get home. :)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

It's the way we use the english language dats made us famous and if the english people learned to speak gaelic they'd become famous too.....well they'd sound interesting which is what we do have to because we listen to sound more than meaning most of the time.That's why tings move very slowly in oireland because nobody feckin listens half the time.You have to use sign language here.We understand dat indeed.Bring over a good rumour with you if you hav'nt the looks .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

amdublin wrote: »
    Top of the mornin' to ya my young american friend!
    '' Ahh...is it yourself '' ? Or has somebody else hacked into your account ?

/puffs on pencil thin pipe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

OP, you could just go to an underdeveloped, technologically backward part of the Bible Belt and pretty much get the same experience as living in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

Mary Byrne..?

Hail Mary (Byrne) full of snack Boxes,
    the job centre awaits thee,
    Limited are thou amongst women
    and limited is the name of thy manager Louie
    Swollen Mary mother of covers (versions)
    Sing for us punters now
    and at the hour of last orders; "would ya like chips with that pet".
    Amen

I,m just trying to think of something other than water that Ipanema beach and Dollymount strand have in common......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

and recently Ash, although the latter is Northern Irish)

^^ Spoken like a true Irish man.

OP, make sure you visit Kerry, one of the most beautiful places in Ireland. Also the Phoenix park and the small village of Chapelizod.