Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does dressing up for a court appearance make much of a difference?

• 07-08-2011 7:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

Dose dressing up in a suit make a big difference in front of a judge during a hearing?

I pass by Dunlaoghaire Court regularly and see guys outside the courthouse, some in tracksuit bottoms and jeans etc. Surely a judge would take a dim view of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I reckon it does depending on the case and the sex of the Judge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 370 ✭✭bath handle

Dose dressing up in a suit make a big difference in front of a judge during a hearing?

I pass by Dunlaoghaire Court regularly and see guys outside the courthouse, some in tracksuit bottoms and jeans etc. Surely a judge would take a dim view of this.
    It does make a difference. There is a judge in Tallaght who frequently criticises defendants with regard to their clothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

It does make a difference. There is a judge in Tallaght who frequently criticises defendants with regard to their clothing.
    There's no excuse for not having a suit with all the charity shops about the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

There's no excuse for not having a suit with all the charity shops about the city.
    A fella could rob a suit out of a charity shop easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Q. What do you call a northsider in a suit?

A. The defendant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

There was a case here where a crook robbed a tie from a car outside court to attend. The judge saw the crook in his old college tie and had to excuse himself but not before ordering the accused arrested for theft. So I would say yes. I also once instructed a accused to cover his bum in court major brickie bum going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Yes it does. Suit collar and tie for males and appropriate dress for females.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

2 men charged with a crime. Only one man is guilty.

Man 1- Wears a shiny 3 piece suit, shiny shoes,clean shaven and overall respectable looking.

Man 2- Wears adidas tracksuit, hair spiked at the front, a bumfluff moustache, rebok classic runners.

Fair trial my hole, I know who im picking as guilty.

The Suit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

There is also a school of thought that suggests that well dressed defendants get fined bigger amounts.

I remember Judge Mary Martin in Portlaoise DC remark after the Electric Picnic drugs cases, "it has been a good week for the tailors!"

Which is precisely the point - it all depends on the judge. The best person to ask is your solicitor, he or she will tell you if it's going to make any difference.

Sometimes just as important is the defendant's attitude, you may be told that you should stand up straight and speak clearly to the judge when called upon to say your name and plead guilty or not guilty and that that will be far more important that the clothes on your back.

Going back to clothes, there was a DJ in Dublin years ago who was an ex Army legal officer and he was a stickler for dress, especially with the cops. If a Garda turned up to give evidence in his motor cycle leathers the judge took an extremely dim view, he expected regular tunic and trousers and shiny black shoes and he'd tell the Garda straight that's what was expected in his court in future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭bob_lob_law

Funny you should mention this, my local DJ said in a recent drug case that the accused was clearly a big player as only a drug dealer could afford such a nice suit. Shocking stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 987 ✭✭✭Kosseegan

It is not so much the quality of the suit. It is the look of taking the proceeding seriously and showing respect. When it comes to being believed on a conflict of fact or getting the judge to exercise some discretion in favour of someone, appearance counts!

Kosseegan wrote: »
    It is not so much the quality of the suit. It is the look of taking the proceeding seriously and showing respect. When it comes to being believed on a conflict of fact or getting the judge to exercise some discretion in favour of someone, appearance counts!

That is definitely true in the case of a witness of fact. If I had to go to court to give evidence to backup someone in a case like a traffic accident where there was likely to be a conflict of evidence I would definitely throw on the best suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

wear what ya like its not a job interview after all imo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Hoffmans wrote: »

It could be a lot more important than any job interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Best thing to do is go in your school Uniform. Makes you so innocent when your on the right side of the judge :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Hoffmans wrote: »
    Receive a criminal record and see how you get on at your next job interview.